Cosmos Roofing

About

Founded 1975 • With Angi since November 2004

Family owned and operated since 1975. We give a 20 year guarantee, transferable, on all residential reroofs. We do all types of roofing including, tile wood shake and metal roofing. Also one of the few roofing contractors that do quality built up roofing work, including tar and gravel, modified,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(203) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

174

4

7

3

4

2

8

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

roofing (201)gutter repair (57)skylight installation (13)roof cleaning (9)
Showing 1-25 of 203 reviews
1.0

10/25/2022


Barbara F.

The initial work was fine. However, tree trimmers damaged a gutter just as it was finished. Alex said they would come out and fix it for a nominal price. However, they did not. They said they would come out several times but never showed up. I have emailed, I have texted, I have tried calling the office multiple times. No replies. I have been trying to get this fixed for almost a year.

Description of Work
Cosmos replaced a shake roof with a new composition roof as well as installing new gutters and downspouts and replacing several skylights.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2021

5.0

10/23/2020


James A.

We could not be happier with Cosmos Roofing, and our new roof. Alex is responsive, knowledgeable, and knows his business inside and out. The work was done on time, with a professional crew with an on site foreman who was able to answer any and all questions, concerns, everything about the work and roof. Communication is key to me on all big jobs, and again, I could not be happier. The cost was far better than the other 4 bids I got, and the roof is really nice. My highest recommendation to Cosmos; I will recommend them strongly to my friends.

Description of Work
New Cool Cap Energy Star roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2020

5.0

08/21/2020


David W.

Cosmos did everything asked without issue and on time. They even got the concrete color to match perfectly. They used special ladder attachments to ensure there was no gutter damage.

Description of Work
Remove Peak/Hip curved cement tiles, add nylon/rubber under-membrane, re-seat tiles using color matching concrete. Then fix and broken/cracked field tile.

Category roofing

Cost $8,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2020

5.0

08/16/2020


Annette L.

Cosmos removed the fan and repaired the roof. They did a great job. If I need more roof work done in the future, I will be calling Cosmos.

Description of Work
Remove solar fan from roof and repair roof.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2020

1.0

10/15/2019


Danny B.

We've been trying for about 3 months to get someone to come out and fix a leaky roof. The roof is still under warranty. We either get no response to our messages or "it's on the list to call you." It's getting close to rainy season and this is unacceptable.

Description of Work
Repair roof leaks on warranty

Category roofing

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed]. I’m sorry to hear that we’ve had some changes in the office recently please contact my cell 650-400-2415 as well as your address so we can get someone to take care of you right away thank you
5.0

09/24/2019


Nathaniel S.

They showed up on schedule with a big crew, worked hard, and got it done. Competent workers. The job looks great. It hasn't rained yet, but it looks to be water tight. We'll see.

Description of Work
Re-roofing

Category roofing

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2019

5.0

06/28/2019


CHUL-SOO J.

The estimate was very reasonable with the details, and the communications through text messages was easy and Alex is very responsive. Just finished the roof and it's really great. The work schedule for multiple teams was very well coordinated and the crew members had been working diligently and professionally.

Description of Work
Re-roofing

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2019

5.0

03/21/2019


Michael H.

Alex and his crew were able to schedule our roof replacement around all the rain storms and got it done on time. Everyone was very polite and easy to communicate with. Cleaned up every day so there wasn't a big mess. Worked without any loud music or shouting which is good for me since I work from home. I think the price was fair. They also coordinated with our solar installer to make sure everything got done right.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2019

5.0

01/24/2019


Ted K.

My wife and I would like to recognize the incredible job Alex Oceguera and his crew did on installing a new roof at our Hillsborough house. I started with four Diamond Certified roofing contractors. They each visited our house and provided their quotes. From the start, Alex was incredibly responsiveness with phone calls, emails and text messages. His deep roofing and licensed contractor experience, integrity, practical advice was very evident. This was both on the right roofing materials and related items (gutters, stainless steel leaf covers, down spouts, etc) as well as expert workmanship in terms of proper roof protection and details on under-laments, etc. Alex gave us many pages of customer addresses where he had installed a new roof. This helped us a great deal in choosing aesthetically the best roof material design and color. Alex ‘s advice on the type of roofing materials and choices gave us all the information we needed to make an informed decision. The Cosmos team of expert craftsman, their attention to detail, including always cleaning things up at the end of each way, was very much appreciated. We are very pleased with our new roof and receive generous compliments from our friends and relatives who visit us. All factors considered, roofing materials, workmanship, warranties, delivery to estimated costs and timeline, Cosmos Roofing and Alex delivered the best value we could have imagined. We are very impressed and appreciative. We give A+ rating to this very positive experience, the Cosmos team’s expertise, and lasting value we feel we have received. We very highly recommend Alex and the Cosmos dependable team.

Description of Work
New roof, gutters and downspouts installed

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2018

5.0

05/17/2018


Lei Y.

Alex and his crew did a fantastic job. We got a quote with a detailed breakdown of the costs after Alex came by for a thorough inspection. He was very straightforward with no sales pressure. Alex also provided with a list of properties that had the roof work done by cosmos roofing for reference. Because I was out of town for a while, Alex was very accommodating and we were able to change the date to fit my schedule. During the roofing process, the crew was quick and professional. They also made an extra effort not to disturb us in the house. Alex's dad, who's also the owner of cosmos dropped by every day to make sure things are on track and to answer any questions we had. The whole time we felt at ease with what's being done to the house. After the roof is done, the crew cleaned up everything and removed all debris around the house. Alex informed us about the date the inspector is going to be over and what documents we need to get ready for it. On the day of the inspection, Alex personally came by in the morning and made sure we had everything correct. Overall, Alex and Cosmos crew did a phenomenal job. We couldn't be happier with how smooth the whole process went. And couldn't stop looking at our new roof with joy every time we come back home.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

5.0

03/13/2018


David A.

The crew showed up on time every day. They were able to make small changes to the roof and gutters after the work had started.

Description of Work
Replaced old roof and gutters.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2018

2.0

12/27/2017


John L.

Contract was signed 7/7/17 and work started 10/12/17. First day went ok. Workers (2) arrived on time and they removed the old tile into a large truck that hauled it away. Another truck arrived with the plywood, tar paper, and new vent material. They proceeded to unload the material onto the roof. Second day not much done. The workers (2) arrived on time but had to leave after an hour or so and came back 6 hours later and proceeded to install some of the plywood on the back side of the roof. Third day better. Workers (2) arrived on time and proceeded to install most of the plywood to the roof. Another crew (different company) arrived in the afternoon and they installed the new rain gutters. They completed the work in a couple of hours and did a nice job. Forth day good. Workers (2) arrived on time and finished installing the plywood, covered the roof with 2 layers of tar paper, and installed the rows of wood for the tiles. In the afternoon a large truck arrived with the tile and they unloaded the tile onto the roof. Fifth day ok. Worker (2) arrived in the morning and started laying the tiles in rows. Sixth day ok. Worker (1) arrived and continued laying the tiles. Seventh Day ok. Workers (2) arrived and installed new fascia boards that I requested as part of the new roof. After that they laid more tiles. Eighth day slow. Worker (1) came late and started laying more tile and the end caps on the edge of the back part of the roof. Ninth day slow. Worker (1) arrived and finished more end caps and parts of the ridges. Not much done on this day. Tenth Day (actually 9 days later) better. Workers (1) arrived and tried to finish the project. All of the rest of the end caps were installed, ridge caps, and vent covers. This pretty much finished the installation. During the nine day gap in day 9 and 10, there was one day that rained pretty good. I talked with the owner about my concern that the roof was not finished and he assured me that the roof is sealed and would not leak. The day after it rained, I checked inside the house and there was a large water spot on one of the bedroom ceilings. I called the owner of he came out and looked at the roof above where the leak occurred and he told me he could see why the roof leaked and he would come back and fix the problem. While he was at my house I showed him many places where the work was not finished properly. I also pointed out where defective tiles had been used and needed to be replaced. The 2 owners came back about 3 weeks later and fixed what they could in a few hours but still left a few defective ridge covers on my roof. I also pointed a few spots where you could see material sticking out from underneath the ridge tiles. They told me that was "normal". I told them it doesn't look ok to me. After that they needed to leave. While they were here, I asked the other owner how big a crew should be for a house like mine? He told me 4 workers. The whole time I had 1 or 2. From start to "finish" it took 40 calendar days to complete. Still some eyesores up on the roof. Maybe small to the company but not to me.

Description of Work
Remove old tile roof and install a new tile roof including new rain gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed]. I’m sorry to hear your dissatisfaction. If there’s anything we can do to make it better please let us know. We did stay in contact with you during the entire project, also kept you up to speed on why the delays. Most of which were out our control. To which you understood was out of our hands. The ridge piece that you were referring to was also out of our hands because the manufacture no longer makes a pre-molded piece for that particular area on your roof. To which you also understood and did look into it yourself and concurred. I am happy to note that your roof does look nice we even took pictures of it. Unsolicited you commented on how nice your roof looked in comparison to others in your neighborhood. Honestly I’m surprised at this review based on our last several meets and conversations. Please contact me see if there’s anything we can do to help you have faith in us and our unprecedented 20 year workmanship warranty. Thank you
5.0

10/24/2017


Brendan G.

Cosmos roofing was fast, professional and reasonably priced. I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
New roof on our house in Mountain View

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

5.0

09/10/2017


T R.

Cosmos roofed my house 20+ years ago and I was glad they were able to come out and give the quality service they did. In an age of inferior (fly by night) contractors, Cosmos did an outstanding job.

Description of Work
I was 23 years into a 20 year roof and needed it replaced.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2017

5.0

07/02/2017


Steven K.

Cosmos work crew showed up on time to start work. Had one mixup by a supplier that pushed completion out by a day but not Cosmos fault. New gutters are great and new roof looks like it is doing promised job of reflecting heat and keeping house cooler. The replacement ceiling fan had wiring issue but that was due to crappy documentation by manufacturer and not Cosmos.

Description of Work
Had the roof and gutters replaced.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $17,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2017

1.0

06/21/2017


Jetta T.

Horrible. Their costs were ultra expensive, their crew left metal, nails and crap all over our yard, They put the roofing materials in with nails that were way oversized even in our attic areas. We had long nails sticking down into the area where my head was and I spent over 8 hours folding over all the nails with a hammer. They used nails that were too long that came down through the eves and are visible to everyone. There is nothing I could do about this. The son of this company is nasty to work with, he makes excuses and dismisses anything the customer has to say. They are crooks and their workmanship couldn't be any more unprofessional. Steer Clear!

Description of Work
New Roof Installed

Category roofing

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2012

Service Provider Response

Hello Jeffa, I’m sorry to hear this. Looking at our records we do not see your name come up in any of our files. If we did in fact do this work for you you should have my contact info handy. Please contact me once you receive this. We would like to make things right in anyway possible. Thank you
1.0

06/21/2017


Jetta T.

Horrible. Their costs were ultra expensive, their crew left metal, nails and crap all over our yard, They put the roofing materials in with nails that were way oversized even in our attic areas. We had long nails sticking down into the area where my head was and I spent over 8 hours folding over all the nails with a hammer. They used nails that were too long that came down through the eves and are visible to everyone. There is nothing I could do about this. The son of this company is nasty to work with, he makes excuses and dismisses anything the customer has to say. They are crooks and their workmanship couldn't be any more unprofessional. Steer Clear!

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2012

5.0

05/16/2017


Alan B.

They did excellent work, particularly Jesus and his sons who did the majority of the job. They paid a huge amount of attention to detail to make sure everything was done right. The job did take a little longer than forecasted, mainly due to a faulty insulation blowing machine and an overly patched tube. Cosmos Roofing quickly fixed a small amount of "collateral" damage done to some brickwork in our front yard. I was extremely happy with this response, since most contractors are loathe to fix things they break in the process of doing a job. Additionally Cosmos had the lowest bid of the 4 companies we had bid on the job. I highly recommend Cosmos Roofing.

Description of Work
Replacing our 29-year-old cedar shake roof with a modern composition shingle roof, including new gutters and downspouts and blowing insulation above our ceiling.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $21,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2017

5.0

05/04/2017


Dahna P.

Cosmos was professional and cleaned up well after the job. The roof looks great and I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Cosmos provided a bid for a new roof following a very rainy winter.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2017

5.0

04/30/2017


Dennis N.

Cosmos did a great job. The price was not the cheapest nor the priciest but we chose to go with them due to their reputation, warranty, and the comprehensive quote they provided. Their quote included a list of prior houses that they had done so you can drive by or street view them to see how the shingle colors look. That was very helpful for us.

Description of Work
Had the roof and gutters replaced with Landmark shingles and aluminum gutters

Category roofing

Cost $11,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2017

5.0

04/14/2017


Julie D.

It was a great experience working with the Cosmo crew who were very professional and courteous. In two days, they replaced our old roof on a 3 bedroom single family home and installed a new skylight. During the process, they found rotted wood and replaced them properly. The gutters were painted to match the house. I appreciate their high quality workmanship and flexibility by working with our contractor's schedule and the unpredictable weather. Their commitment to customer satisfaction is obvious as they accommodated many of my requests during the process. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Replace old roof and gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2017

1.0

03/29/2017


Paul M.

I contacted Cosmos. The did show up to do the estimate, and told me that I would receive it within a week. That was months ago. I've called and left messages 3 times, and spoken directly with them one time when they answered the phone. They never called back once. I'm mystified, because the company has been in existence for at least 25 years. It's sad and unfortunate.

Description of Work
I need a new roof.

Category roofing

Work Completed On 02/01/2017

5.0

12/23/2016


Marc F.

Very happy with the work. Alex was easy to work with, and the crew (Larry's team) was great. An A+ experience.

Description of Work
Reroof (shake roof + new gutters)

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2016