Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABRIL ROOFING INC

Founded 2003 • With Angi since February 2008

4.6

(42) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3490 Pacheco Blvd B

Martinez, CA 94553

Description

Our Abril EcoFoam™ products might be state-of-the-art, but we’re proud to be an good old fashioned family business. You call, we answer. We say we’ll be there at 9am, we’ll be at 9am sharp. Dad’s always said, if a job’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

01/09/2018


Robert C.

After a month and a half, the brand new roof is already leaking in multiple places. When I called yesterday to have someone come out, I was told someone would be here by 11AM today. Having not heard anything back by 11, I called all of their phone numbers (including the two supposed "emergency" numbers) for over three hours leaving multiple voicemails and emails with no response. Finally at 2:30PM, someone picked up the main phone and told me that the dispatcher had made a mistake and that nobody would be able to show up until tomorrow, all the while my roof is leaking, dripping on my brand new floors, and leaving water stains on my freshly painted ceiling. There seems to be little to no care for customers after installation, they just collect your transfer fee and push off your work until it is convenient for them.

Description of Work
They completely replaced the roof with a polyurethane foam roof, provided a 10 year warranty that cost $375 just to transfer to me, the new owner (even though the work was done during escrow for my purchase of the house).

Category roofing

5.0

12/04/2017


Mary Anne S.

It took awhile to set up a date to coordinate with the other company that was installing the Solatube. But once we had a date that worked for both companies and it was not expected to rain, it went very smoothly. The roofers came the day before to power wash the roof and gutters, then the next morning the Solatube was installed and that afternoon Abril's roofers returned to seal the entire roof and protect the new hole edges from the Solatube. David kept in touch with the other company so that the timing was just right. I was very pleased with the professionalism once we got it all set up.

Description of Work
I already have a foam roof (old about 25 yrs) but I was installing a solartube which needed to be sealed with foam.

Category roofing, pressure washing, skylights

5.0

11/12/2015


DEBRA J.

My wife and I agree that Abril Roofing provided excellent service regarding our foam roof installation. If you are considering a new roof or experiencing problems, do your diligence and research. If foam is an option, then Abril Roofing has the experience and expertise. Now we have no roof or rain water worries.

Description of Work
Replaced tar & gravel roof on a low pitch house. Repaired dry rot, installed gutters, and removed masonry chimney.

Category roofing

5.0

09/03/2015


carol C.

Installers prepared the area meticulously and cleaned up beautifully afterward. Their bid was by far the lowest to reroof with insulating foam. Love the new roof and our house is now cooler in the summer and warmer in the winter.

Description of Work
installed foam low-slope roof

Category roofing

2.0

01/28/2015


Ann S.

THEY SENT A FEW WORKERS OUT WITH A HAND DRAWN SKETCH OF WORK TO BE DONE! IT WASN'T ALL DONE AND HAD TO CALL THEM BACK FOR COMPLETION. GUTTERS WERE NOT CONNECTED TO GROUND PIPES EITHER. POOR EXPERIENCE.

Description of Work
HAD WOOD ROT ON FASCIA BOARDS. ROOF NEEDED REPAIR AFTER WORK DONE. HAD GUTTERS REPLACED AND HOLES IN ROOF ENLARGED.

Category roofing

5.0

12/30/2014


Fred H.

Restored and refurbished foam roof. Removed old surface and prepped roof. After solar mounts were installed, came back and sealed mounting areas and installed new foam surface. Cleaned up.

Description of Work
Refurbished foam roof and sealed solar mounts

Category roofing

1.0

09/04/2014


vivian C.

The woman I spoke with on Wednesday said that the person who usually does estimates was out of town, and was due back on Monday. When she offered to set up a visit for later that next week, I told her that I would have to check on my schedule and get back to her. She then asked me to hold on for a moment while she spoke to someone in the office. She said that they could come out the following day, Thursday, between 3-5 pm., that it wasn't the usual guy who did estimates, but that he could do one. I said great and confirmed it with her. No one showed. No one called. Not only that, but no one returned my call when I left a message explaining that I was still interested in scheduling an estimate!

Description of Work
I called Abril Roofing to get an estimate.

Category roofing

5.0

06/10/2014


David C.

The work went well. They gave me an estimate, I chose them and they showed up on time and did the work. They had to come through the house to get to the deck and they were careful not to make a mess as they moved their materials and themselves through the house. They did the work over a two day period as promised and cleaned up after themselves on both days. They gave me clear instructions as to how long I had to wait before I could walk on the deck and clear warranty information. They also called back a few weeks later to ask whether I had any questions. My wife and I were completely satisfied with the work.

Description of Work
I had a flat roof off the ,master bedroom with a "skin" on it that needed to be replaced. They removed the old "skin" and did replaced it with a new one.

Category roofing

5.0

02/07/2014


geraldine H.

Abril was on time, new what he was doing and did it efficiently

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

5.0

01/01/2014


Chuck H.

The contractor's crew arrived on time and was very efficient. They worked steadily at a workmanlike pace and each of the crew members put in a full day's work every day on the job. At the end of each day any trash and debris was picked up and hauled away. As the end of the project neared, it became necessary for me to remind the crew of small portions of the job that were left undone. Once identified, these were finished in a timely manner. A subcontractor that installed new gutters and downspouts had to return to correct a minor problem and that was completed in a timely and satisfactory manner. Overall, the job was finished satisfactorily but I had to prod the crew to pay attention to detail near the end of the project and I had to insist that the prices of added work be invoiced at agreed sums as it tended to creep upward.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced dry-rotted eave (fascia) boards, repaired damaged portions of soffit, fitted new drip edge, repaired damaged foam roof edges and blisters, recoated entire roof.

Category roofing

2.0

10/09/2013


Andrea O.

I had a good experience with them over the phone when I made the appointment for an estimate. He came out and looked at the roof. He was friendly, punctual and provided lots of information. He was also nice enough to leave a sample of the foam roofing material. Then he drove away and we never heard from him again. I have called twice over a 4 week period to try to get the estimates and I was assured each time that they would be forthcoming. We've never heard from them again and now I could never give him the job, even if I had an estimate, as I don't have any faith they'll do what they say.

Description of Work
They came to provide an estimate for a new foam roof and an estimate for a shingle roof to replace a tar and gravel roof.

Category roofing

1.0

02/15/2013


Adnan H.

She made an appointment for me twice and they didn't show up both times. The third week I called to find out if they had gone out to do the estimate and she said that they did not like to do shingle roofing. I asked why it took them so long to tell me that, and she didn't have an answer.

Description of Work
Roofing estimate.

Category roofing

5.0

12/10/2012


Rachel G.

We shopped around for a foam roof when we heard of the advantages foam gave to flat roofed homes. We had several companies bid, but because there were as yet undetermined damage to deal with under the old roofs, Abril was the only company that gave us real numbers to work from before launching in on this project with many unknowns. They were as clear as one could hope about the costs of dealing with various scenarios.They were also forthcoming about scheduling, as we were on the cusp of the rainy season and they had many roofs to schedule in. The people who came to consult with us were knowledgeable, helpful with information and suggestions for solutions to many problems, and undaunted by the plethora of details involved. Someone would always reply to our called in questions on a same day basis. When the crew arrived, they were very hardworking and agreeable. They were also agreeable to our additions and changes even though they had a schedule to work under. In fact, I have never seen a bunch of fellows work with such dedication and energy in my life. They got there at sunup and would work hard 'til dark. What ever wrinkle that arose...carpentering, plumbing, electric, arborist, there was always someone there who could handle it. They powered through the whole project and finished on time, right before the heavy rains. There were a few drain details to be worked out at the end, mesh drain caps to add, and a specially ordered skylight that took a while to come, but they handled the last details in a timely fashion. We felt we were in good hands, and although the roof cost alot, we got a good job for our money.

Description of Work
We had Abril Roofing replace the tar and gravel roofs on our low-pitched fairly flat house roof and barn. The house had been added to over the years, and there were different levels and pitches for Abril to deal with. Both the house and barn had suffered dry rot over the years as the tar and gravel roofs had , though patched, suffered some neglect especially of late. The whole job entailed many little conundrums and sticky details. Plus there were skylights to replace, skylights to remove, skylights to add, pipe vents to close over, damage to fix, solar panels and the associated electrical and plumbing details, and a ton of very large tree branches dropping leaves to remove. As the roofs were not pitched much, drainage was an issue as well. We were attracted to the idea of foam roofing as it would entail a single contiguous single sheet a couple of inches thick that would defy onslaughts from the elements with joins to worry about. The property is also in a country setting, and the threat of fire is always a crucial consideration, so we needed a roof with a good rating. Foam is also an excellent insulator, and as we were removing many of the tree branches that shaded the house, we needed to have a roof that repelled the heat. The job went smoothly and was completed in a timely fashion, with all our various details, additions, and changes in plan taken in stride. When we did add something, we were not made to pay a penalty by a huge price addition....just the cost that covered the addition. We were very happy with the result and the roof is performing admirably.

Category roofing

4.0

10/20/2012


Stephan K.

The actual work performed was pretty good, workers were good and cleaned up after work was done. My main complaint is in regards to communication. There was a consistent lack of follow up in response to emails and phone calls starting with setting up an appointment for the estimate to providing the estimate to notification of the actual day the work was to be performed. Their prices are competitive so I guess that's what one has to put up with in return.

Description of Work
Foam coating of two new AC ducts on the roof, sealing two new roof penetrations, sealing new HVAC rooftop unit to existing ducts, fixing three "mushrooms" on existing roof and coating all areas that received new foam.

Category roofing

1.0

10/12/2012


Sharon R.

I called Abril Roofing on 10/5/2012 to request that someone come to the house and provide an estimate for replacement/repair of some exposed wood beneath my gutter line. The receptionist took all of my information and indicated someone would call to let me know "when they would be in the area." As of yesterday, 10/11/12, I hadn't heard from them, so I called back, and spoke to the same receptionist. Turns out that they had me on their calendar to come to the house today, 10/12/12. I asked when they were going to call and let me know that they were planning on coming. She indicated she would have called me later in the day when she had a confirmed time. In any event, I asked her to call me as soon as she had a time locked in, so that I could try to be home. She called at approximately 2:30pm on 10/11 to let me know that Rick, the owner, was scheduled to be at my house at 3pm today, 10/12. At 9am this morning (the morning of the appointment), the same receptionist called to indicate that they were "swamped with work" and they would not be accepting any new orders for asphalt roofs (which I don't have, by the way), and canceled my appointment. I would not recommend any work by Abril Roofing, simply based on how flaky their communications have been. If they cannot commit to taking on new work within 24 hours of an appointment, I have little faith that they would follow through on any repair work they agreed to complete.

Description of Work
I called Abril roofing to request someone come to the house to provide an estimate for repair/replacement for exposed wood beneath my gutter line.

Category roofing

4.0

08/17/2012


Greg C.

Received 4 quotes, there's was the lowest plus had the good reviews. Came on time, was responsive, and fully installed in 3 days. In addition to the roof, removed old and installed new facia at the same time. All went well with the exception of a little slow to put things back together. Took a couple of weeks to reinstall a porch, outside lights, and pool solar water panels. All-in-all, would use again. If I didn't have solar water panels or had the facia work done it would be an A+.

Description of Work
Installed a Spray Urethane Foam roof on a low slope Eichler-type home. Also installed facia around the home.

Category roofing

5.0

04/18/2012


William B.

They did a good job. They are a little pricey, but they do really good work. The quality of their work is excellent. They came out when we needed them to. I wouldn't go any place else for roofing work.

Description of Work
They put a new roof on a large section of my house.

Category roofing

5.0

03/28/2012


Gayle R.

I thought I needed a whole new roof. I had buckets dispersed throughouI my studio addition. Abril responded quickly, even though it was a rainy stormy week. Rick Abril came out and climbed up to inspect the situation. He concluded that we could perhaps get away with just a repair instead of a whole new roof. That's refreshing! He offered to give that a go first and, if the leaks came back, he would apply the cost of the repair to the new roof. I found him very professional and knowledgable and honest. I had him quote the removal of a stovepipe as well. The old woodstove never gets used due to the no burn days and I need the space that it takes up. I hired him to do both the repair and the stovepipe extraction and patch. It was scheduled the following week. However, a new storm was moving into the area and I got a call one morning that they would like to do the job early to avoid the coming bad weather. Yes, I said. They arrived on time and ready to work. The men were great. The job got done and they cleaned up the debris and work zone. I waited, of course, until after the latest storm to write this review. It rained like the dickens with high winds to boot. No leaks! I will now consider Abril my roofer to call. Excellent company.

Description of Work
I had a leaky flat roof and a woodstove that I never use. Abril came out and repaired the leaky roof and removed the stovepipe, also repairing the hole that the stovepipe occupied.

Category roofing

5.0

02/27/2012


Susan M.

We were not ready to purchase a roof, but needed a company to look at our roof for needed repairs and repair a part of our gutters that were leaking. I contacted another company in October who gave us an estimate on repairs and roof replacement, and after several attempts on our part to schedule a time for them to come out and do the work, I decided to join Angie's List and get some recommendations. That is how I was able to contact ABRIL Roofing. He returned my call immediately and came that day to inspect the roof and give me an estimate. I gave him the okay and he told me his crew would be out here within the next three days to complete the work. He called me two days later and said his crew would be out here at 10AM and the job would take about two hours. The crew showed up exactly at 10 and proceeded to clean and repair gutters and any needed repairs on roof. Before completing the work, they asked me if there was anyting specific I wanted them to repair. I will definitely go with this company when we replace our existing roof. They were responsive, polite, fair and professional.

Description of Work
repairs on roof and gutters

Category roofing

5.0

02/24/2012


Jane M.

I think they are terrific. They were accommodating and they do excellent work. I would say they are reliable, and they are responsive. They are a family run business so they communicate well with each other. I think highly about them. Price wise they are not cheap. I will use them again.

Description of Work
In October last year I used Abril Roofing Inc to add a section of new roof and connected it to the existing roof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/23/2012


Linda Y.

They were really good, but I think the foam roofing is a little tricky to get it drain properly. The only thing that I didn't like was that after they did the foam on the roof, they spray this glandular stuff to reflect sunlight. Some of the it stuck on to the windows on the 2nd floor and they were supposed to come out and clean it off, and they never did.

Description of Work
I had solar panels put up and they had to put the fitting into the foam and then had to re-foam around the footings.

Category roofing

5.0

02/09/2012


Gail K.

Richard Abril was knowledgable, pleasant, price fine, on time.. Just a long way away from my house- I probably shouldn't have asked for an estimate but know he's done other Eichlers in the Peninsula.

Description of Work
Just a really good estimate of spray foam roofing costs and procedures.

Category roofing

5.0

11/08/2011


Bryce N.

Abril was punctual, communicated well, gave good information without pressuring. A+ sales job.

Description of Work
We've only had a bid so far. We'll get to the actual job soon, but Abril helped us understand what we thought was an urgent problem is one that can wait a year or more. We'll then have a bigger "all in one" job for them.

Category roofing, skylights, roof cleaning

5.0

05/31/2011


Elsie P.

We would recommend them. We have an Eichler home which was built in 50's and they are not much in other parts of the countries. We got a news letter recommending them. We had our roofing done about 7 or 8 years ago and we have been through several roofing companies. We moved to this house in the 1970's. They installed the roof years ago but they came back and checked the spot where the birds came down. They didn't charge us for that. They came immediately as soon as we called them and they have always been great. They are a fantastic company. They really do a good job. Eichler homes don't have any insulation and that is why they are found in California and not any other part of the country because you can survive without them here. It has big windows and no insulation. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I used the service of Abril Roofing Inc for roofing about four years ago as the birds made a hole in the roofing.

Category roofing, woodworking

5.0

03/29/2011


Prasad M.

They were very responsive, and it went very well.

Description of Work
They gave us an estimate for partial replacement of our roof.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    IZ Pressure Washing

    2 years I am offering pressure washer  

    E.T.C. Pressure Washing

    Our goal at E.T.C. Pressure Washing is to provide nothing under perfection and transparency for our clients. We are more than just your typical pressure washing business. We use some of the newest machinery, tools, and cleaning agents, to clean and detail an array of surfaces. From businesses and homes, to semi-trucks and trash cans; if it can be cleaned, E.T.C. Pressure Washing had what you need! Our 14+ services to choose from can be located on our website.  

    S & G Window Cleaning

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    POLYURETHANE FOAM ROOFING CONTRACTOR, NEW ROOF & RECOATS FLAT ROOF, LOW SLOPE, DRY ROT & BEAM REPAIRS, SIDING REPLACEMENT, SKYLIGHT INSTALLATION, EICHLER HOMES, COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABRIL ROOFING INC

    How is ABRIL ROOFING INC overall rated?

    ABRIL ROOFING INC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are ABRIL ROOFING INC open?

    ABRIL ROOFING INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 AM

    What payment options does ABRIL ROOFING INC provide

    ABRIL ROOFING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does ABRIL ROOFING INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, ABRIL ROOFING INC offers free project estimates.

    Does ABRIL ROOFING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ABRIL ROOFING INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ABRIL ROOFING INC offer a senior discount?

    No, ABRIL ROOFING INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ABRIL ROOFING INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, ABRIL ROOFING INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ABRIL ROOFING INC?

    Yes, ABRIL ROOFING INC offers warranties.

    What services does ABRIL ROOFING INC offer?

    ABRIL ROOFING INC offers the following services: POLYURETHANE FOAM ROOFING CONTRACTOR, NEW ROOF & RECOATS FLAT ROOF, LOW SLOPE, DRY ROT & BEAM REPAIRS, SIDING REPLACEMENT, SKYLIGHT INSTALLATION, EICHLER HOMES, COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL.