Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Scudder Roofing

Founded 1982 • With Angi since December 2009

4.7

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3342 Paul Davis Dr

Marina, CA 93933

Description

Scudder Roofing Company is a full-service roofing, waterproofing and roof repair contractor serving Monterey, Santa Cruz and San Benito Counties since 1982. BBB A+ rated, with certifications from some of the top roofing manufacturer's in the industry, we offer complete roofing replacements, leak

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/11/2018


Karen R.

Great job Great response. Totally happy.

Description of Work
Roof leak repaired.

Category roofing

1.0

11/28/2018


James L.

Companies on Angie's List are to busy to respond, so, I am to busy to write a review.

Description of Work
Gutter replacement

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], We're very sorry if we somehow missed a message from you or there was some mix up and no one got back to you. We do our very best but sometimes and on some days we make mistakes...after all, even though we are on Angie's List, we are indeed still human. We would be happy to help you if you are still in need. And if you've already moved on, we wish you nothing but the best.
1.0

07/07/2017


Catherine P.

You mean besides their did a lousy job, told them I wasn't going to pay them, filed a Mechcanic's Lien, hired an attorney. Paid the attorney half and Scudder the other half. "A" rating OMG

Description of Work
Re-roof a two story house

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for writing. I'm sorry that you feel you had such a negative experience with my company. After more than 35 years in business and thousands of satisfied customers, we do our best to make sure that quality service and satisfaction is our number one priority, however, I fully understand that we may not be able to please everyone we serve, even though we certainly try. With that being said, I did a lot of digging trying to locate the project you reviewed as the date you specified did not match our only record of work for you which was back in 1999. As I'm sure you are aware, I spoke briefly with your husband by phone several weeks ago trying to get to the bottom of this and unfortunately, didn't get very many specifics from him. From my own research, the only county record I was able to find was a property lien that we placed on your home due to lack of payment, and that was later released on August 8th, 2000, after we received your payment. Though this review perplexes me after 19 years (especially when your husband mentioned the roof we installed is still in place and we have never been called for any service or repairs since), I want you to know that I am still disheartened that you obviously feel you were not treated well. I wish things had turned out differently because I truly do care about each and every one of my customers, no matter how many years go by. I wish very much that this issue had been brought to my attention all those years ago, and I could have personally helped to resolve any issues you felt needed resolving. All I can tell you now is that our goal for 100% customer satisfaction is the same today in 2017 as it was in 1999. And on that goal I have never wavered. I am sorry that you feel that we did not live up to that goal and I thank you for your feedback. If you have any other questions or comments or you would like to discuss things more specifically, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 831-373-7212. Pete Scudder Scudder Roofing Company
2.0

06/15/2017


Cynthia S.

I'm a property manager who wanted to get an estimate for 2 rentals. The owner of the homes had used Scudder for their Monterey home and wanted an estimate for their rentals. The first time I was to meet with Scudder, the office messed up communications so no one showed up, I commute an hour so was disappointed. The 2nd time, a Scudder representative did show up; however, receiving a bid was harder than pulling teeth---after follow up calls, I only received a bid for one home, and none for the other. The representative was always courteous, but it appears Scudder is just too busy or not interested.

Description of Work
Two homes needed roof replacement.

Category roofing

2.0

03/06/2017


Doug D.

They never even returned my 3 calls asking for an estimate. They were very polite when I called in but somehow they must have lost all 3 messages.

Description of Work
I needed a new roof.

Category roofing

5.0

12/22/2016


Lee M.

Scudder always does a fantastic job. The Owner's are extremely helpful and their Staff who do the Roofing work are fantastic. They are reliable and do outstanding quality work. They have done 3 of our Roofs and all jöb performace is perfect.

Description of Work
Put new Roof on our Sunroom and inspected other Roofs on our Home

Category roofing

5.0

12/09/2016


Sally B.

Everybody was so helpful from the office staff to the evaluator who had the utmost patience and experience. He explained everything thoroughly and helped me make the best decision for my house and budget. The job involved new 30 yr shingles and conversion of an old tar and gravel portion of the roof as well as several new skylights & new gutters + replacement of several rotten roof areas. The roofing crew and supervisor were great and job finished on schedule. They were careful w/ plants & scrubs and cleanup was excellent. Not a single problem. As a side note I had a problem w/ racoon's or possums in my attic area. I had no idea who to call so I called Scudders and they came immediately and assessed the situation and started working on it. It really wasn't a roofing issue but they repaired the side of my house and didn't charge me anything!! Who does that these days?

Description of Work
New re-roof w/ shingles and conversion of old tar & gravel portion + several new skylights & gutter replacement.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

5.0

12/08/2016


Tom N.

Excellent. We are very satisfied with the quality of the work that transformed our home. Our new facias and gutters are seamless and with all new flashings and hardware make the integrity of our home water tight. The craftsmen (roofers) really know their work and were a pleasure to work with. Thank You Pete and Jennifer Scudder and your staff

Description of Work
Replace roof with insulated system

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

11/11/2016

They were fantastic. They were very professional and very accommodating. The workers were excellent.

Description of Work
They did roofing and solar for us.

Category roofing, solar panels

1.0

04/01/2016


David S.

when I first called and someone came out to review the project and they assured me that they would call back, they never did and at that time I posted a negative review on Angie's List, after they saw the review they called me and apologized for the poor service. They gave me a small discount and did the repair. The repair did not work. The roof leaked in the exact same place. I contacted them to come back and they did, I decided that since my roof was 25 years old, to just get a price to replace the whole roof. The men that arrived to do the repair said that in this case they would have someone contact me for a bid. They said that someone would contact me very soon and most likely someone would be able to come out that same day. No one ever called me back and that was 3 days ago. Now, I would never use Scudder nor would I recommend them.

Description of Work
repaired a leak in the roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] comments, as you can imagine, are very disheartening. Our objective with Mr. [Member Name Removed] -- as it is with all of our customers -- is to respond quickly and give the best possible service, even under the most difficult weather and working conditions. Our first encounter with Mr. [Member Name Removed] was to evaluate and give a price for a roof repair and admittedly, we did not respond with a proposal in Scudder’s typical timely manner. The El Nino rains have had our system and people over-loaded and unfortunately, we fell short of our standard response time. In the spirit of cooperation, we attempted to reconcile with Mr. [Member Name Removed] by heavily discounting the repair work that he requested, even despite our advice to him during the initial meeting that he needed a complete roof replacement due to his roof’s poor condition. At the time, it was explained that because of the condition of the roof, the repair could not be guaranteed. This was understood, and when the crew went out to perform the repair, the service tech explained again that the roof was in bad shape. The repair was performed and -- as we had predicted -- the attempt to repair this ailing roof did not solve his roof problem. Mr. [Member Name Removed] called us out again, and we immediately responded by sending our service team out another time to see what we could do to help Mr. [Member Name Removed]. Immediately upon our arrival, Mr. [Member Name Removed] said that he did not want us on the roof again for another “repair” and that he decided to go ahead and get an estimate to replace his roof. He asked the technician if someone from our office could come out that same day to provide him with an estimate and the technician stated that he would have to go back to the office and have someone contact him to schedule a date and time. The breakdown here according to Mr. [Member Name Removed], is that he was told by one of our technicians that we would have an estimator out possibly the same day. If this comment did occur, as Mr. [Member Name Removed] says it did, then my technician was completely out of character and should not have promised or predicted what the estimator’s schedules were that day. I personally apologize to Mr. [Member Name Removed] for any expectations that he feels we did not achieve. I work diligently along with my team to help solve issues and problems that customers face. Although my goal is 100% customer satisfaction, I also know that no matter how hard we try to make things right for all of our customers, we are not going to make every single one happy. And although we tried very hard and admittedly made some mistakes here, I regret to say that Mr. [Member Name Removed] and my company are not a good fit for each other. I’m confident, though, that Mr. [Member Name Removed] will find another contractor he can work better with. Please note that I will not be billing Mr. [Member Name Removed] for the return trip to attempt another repair and I wish him the best results with his future project. Sincerely, Pete Scudder
4.0

03/05/2016


Dustin M.

The estimate went well, they were timely and fair priced. When we scheduled the work I thought we would get Scudder, but we got a sub contractor. The gutter guys showed up on the wrong day which caused issues as I had planned to take off work. They left trash after the job and didn't run the drains in the proper direction. After a call to Scudder the sub contractor came out to fix the uses and even commented that Scudder only assigned the jobs and never actually consults with them on how things need to be done. I had to have the sub contractor come back on numerous occasions for a vibration when I gets windy. For the most part it's fixed but we still get some on high wind days. It did take Scudder months after the work to actually contact us and bill us. Overall I'd use them again and plan to when I need vents added to the roof.

Description of Work
I contacted Scudder for gutters, they send a subcontractor.

Category gutter repair, roofing, roof cleaning

5.0

02/19/2016


BILL K.

I was contacted right away and the work was measured and the samples were left. The installer followed up by email about colors and gutter style. When we were on the same page for the work, it was done on time and the gutters have been great in the last couple of rains and wet, foggy mornings.

Description of Work
New gutters all around the house, with four downspouts, and an extra section where a sloped section of roof comes down to the older, flat section of the roof. Left color and style samples, followed up by email about color and style.

Category gutter repair, roofing, roof cleaning

3.0

01/11/2016


BILL K.

1. I was given incorrect information on the phone; I was told the team would show up ready to work. They didn't. They showed up to do nothing more than take pictures and notes and discuss the job so a P&E guy could work up the estimate. That's OK, except that's not what I was told on the phone. And they were over 30 minutes late. 2. No one ever called back. 3. I finally called them, reminded them about the job and asked if someone was going to call, left my name and contact number (again). I was told someone would contact me. No one ever called, again. If you're that busy, great, at least call. Because I thought I was doing business with Scudder, I didn't call other roofers, so I ended up getting more water into my house from the leaks that I called them about. Terrible customer service and follow-through. Update: Please see my comments in the "What did the provider do?" section. No company is perfect, and Mr. Scudder's response to my experience turned me around on using Scudder Roofing in the future.

Description of Work
Gave me incorrect information on the phone, was late for appointment, never called back with price to do the job, I called them and they still never called back. Update: After posting this negative review, I was contacted by Pete Scudder, owner. We discussed what had happened, he found my file (which had been erroneously closed out) and he apologized for the experience I'd had. Based on that conversation, I went ahead with some other work I needed done and that went very well. I have done a separate review for that action, since the things I've related here did happen and I didn't feel it would be honest to simply remove this review.

Category roofing

1.0

10/01/2015


Julie O.

I'm not going to pay someone $150 to give an estimate without at least a ball park range of what the job will cost me. Makes it extremely hard to compare companies.

Description of Work
Scudder roofing will not provide a free estimate for gutters. They charge a $150 service fee to give the estimate. That fee applies toward the work they do.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Hi {Member’s name}, If you read through our profile on Angie's List you'll find that under "Free Estimates" it asks you to contact us for details. The reason for that is because we offer free estimates for roofing and or re-roofing projects only. For any service repair work or certain home improvement items like gutters or gutter repairs, you are correct in that we don't offer on-site free estimates. This is also very clear on our website in order to avoid confusion like this. I'm very sorry that you didn't realize this, but I hope you will understand now that this is a company policy we have maintained for many years now and nothing personal towards you. If you have any further questions or wish to talk about this with me personally, please don't hesitate to call me directly at the office at 831-373-7212. Sincerely, Pete Scudder
5.0

08/31/2015


John C.

They did a great job. Actually, they started the job with the wrong material and very happily and without complaint took it out and they redid it all with the right material. They always wanted to do the job right. They are the greatest. I would hire them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
replaced ridge vent and installed copper ridge on slate roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words, [Member Name Removed]. Much appreciated. Pete
5.0

08/30/2015


Rebeccca B.

Pete sets the standard for contractors. He came to the house and went over his qualifications and references, explained all of his terms, which were excellent, went over various payment plans, gave me a sheet showing all of his employees along with their photos and years of experience. One of my favorite things about Pete is that he pays for his employees to take English classes! It's a win-win situation: They become more skilled and he gets highly qualified employees, and with a boss like that they stay with the company, so many of them have 10 + years of experience with him. He is respectful of all people, including women. He let me be the boss completely, which any single women reading this know is RARE! He was never patronizing and never over familiar, but professional. respectful and comfortable to work with. I appreciated that he warned me ahead that with a house the age of my house (100 years) it was likely that they would find a second roof beneath the top one. He offered me two options in case they did find a second roof: They could stop work and contact me before approving additional work and costs or we could agree on the price of the additional work ahead of time and they would still call or email me but continue to work. The quality of work is guaranteed and of the very best quality and they communicate with you throughout the entire process and stay in touch with you even after the job is finished. Pete has a Happy Homeowner's Gazette that he sends out each month, but gives you the option of taking yourself off the mailing list if you wish. I stay on because Pete offers you useful tips on taking care of your home each month. The workers completely clean the area surrounding the work site daily, going around with a magnet so that no stray nails etc. are left behind and by the end of the day you cannot see any sign, other than the work on the roof, that the team has even been there. The neighbors said that the workers were so quiet that they never noticed them. This is one amazing company and we are fortunate to have Pete Scudder on the Peninsula. I only wish I had more work for him to do! He is that good!

Description of Work
Scudder Roofing removed and replaced my roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the lovely words about our company and my team, [removed member name]! It means a lot to us. Sincerely, Pete Scudder
1.0

08/21/2015


David S.

they came to check the project after I had to wait for 3 weeks for an available date from them.... someone came on time and surveyed the project and said someone from Scudder would contact me with a price .. that was 5 days ago .. still no reply ... I am going to find someone else to do the project ... this is terrible customer service ....

Description of Work
surveyed the project

Category roofing

5.0

08/21/2015


Courtney S.

It went very well and they were very responsive.

Description of Work
They re-did our 2nd floor balcony. There was crack in the interior that caused a leak. They laid down a new barrier, resealed it and the finished product was great. I loved it.

Category roofing

4.0

05/20/2015


George S.

There was some misunderstanding between Scudder roofing and myself which I would like to clear up. I previously rated the company low because our e mails got lost somewhere in the computer or internet cloud and I thought I was dropped as a potential customer..Jumping to conclude the company unfavorably was my error. I decided to go with another roofer with the $32000 estimate versus Scudder's $48000 simply because of the money. No doubt Scudder could have provided me with superior service , yet I am satisfied. You may see above my revised rating of Scudder roofing

Description of Work
The owner came out to give me an estimate to repair a rain water leak in my roof.

Category roofing

4.0

04/01/2015


Jon W.

The company was very good and the workers polite and thorough. We had only two issues. They indicated the used a powerful magnet to clean up any roofing nails that may have landed on our surrounding landscape. They did so but we continue to find nails on occasion. The re-roofing exposed a section of wood fascia which was not painted (not painted). This was not brought to our attention until two years later when a pest inspection noted the lack of sealing was an invitation to burrowing pests.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing, roof cleaning

5.0

02/02/2015


mike S.

They have more integrity and did what I wanted. Other companies were trying to hard sell me. These guys just listened and said, "Okay that is what we will do". They are local.

Description of Work
I used Scudder Roofing for solar panels.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/12/2015


Linda G.

Great work. Installed solar panels on our home.

Description of Work
Solar Panels

Category roofing, solar panels

4.0

09/29/2014


Dennis R.

The work above was completed on time for the amount estimated. Just one rain period of one-half inch spread over six hours has fallen on the repaired roof. That may not be sufficient for a true test of repairs. An extended rainfall over a longer period would be more of a test perhaps but that is not in the weather forecast right now. Contact me in 2015 for an update. It took months to receive the Scudder invoice after the work was completed. No problem for us but maybe for other customers.

Description of Work
Scudder first provided an estimator for fixing roof leaks near front deck and on adjacent garage roof. Same general roof area.

Category roofing, deck cleaning

5.0

08/04/2014


Marvella P.

Everything was handled most professionally and thoroughly. My only complaint was that they were almost too thorough in follow-up. There were several contacts after I thought job was totally completed, but in this day and age, that is probably a very good thing. I certainly know that if there was ever a problem, they would be there to help me.

Description of Work
Removed all old roofing (2 roofs) and replaced with appropriate material. Replaced one board beneath roofing that had rotted.

Category roofing

5.0

07/28/2014


Armando L.

It was very good and they provided a quick response. They were very good. I liked their promptness. They were there when they said they would be, got the job done quickly and left no mess.

Description of Work
I used them to replace the gutters.

Category gutter repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    ABA Windows Inc

    We specialize in windows and doors! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today! We also do all types of shower doors, from standard to Euro-designs with heavy glass. We cut mirrors to any size, and we do all types of glass replacements for homes and commercial. We keep pretty busy with making new screens or repairing your existing ones.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    J.B window Cleaning

    We take great pride in our extreme professionalism, timeliness and superior customer service on every job. We develop lasting relationship so that the next time service is needed there is no question on who to call. Satisfaction is guaranteed! Call us today! Commercial & Residential  

    Angi Certified

    Burkleo Roofing Inc

    Owner operated. Sub contractors used. Cost determined by the hour. *For the most efficient response, please CALL us directly- Thank you!*  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    445118
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial New Roofing, Re-Roofing, Roof Repairs, Waterproofing, Custom Seamless Gutters, Skylights, Sun Tunnels, Ventilation, Siding, Flashing, Sheet Metal Fabrication, Interior Damage and Leak Detection. Free Roofing Estimates.

    Services Not Offered

    Foam Roofing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Scudder Roofing

    How is Scudder Roofing overall rated?

    Scudder Roofing is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Scudder Roofing open?

    Scudder Roofing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Scudder Roofing provide

    Scudder Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Scudder Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Scudder Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does Scudder Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Scudder Roofing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Scudder Roofing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Scudder Roofing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Scudder Roofing?

    Yes, Scudder Roofing offers warranties.

    What services does Scudder Roofing offer?

    Scudder Roofing offers the following services: Residential & Commercial New Roofing, Re-Roofing, Roof Repairs, Waterproofing, Custom Seamless Gutters, Skylights, Sun Tunnels, Ventilation, Siding, Flashing, Sheet Metal Fabrication, Interior Damage and Leak Detection. Free Roofing Estimates.

    Are there any services Scudder Roofing does not offer?

    Foam Roofing