Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1979 • With Angi since October 2006

4.9

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6399 Wilshire Blvd Ste 218

Los Angeles, CA 90048

Description

Having a friend is a comfortable feeling. Having a friend who's interested in your personal comfort and in saving you money is a good thing too. At GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning, we're here to make you comfortable and save you money, and we've got lots of ways to prove it.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

04/14/2017


Julianne S.

Kept fixing the heater and heater kept breaking over and over. More and more parts were needed. Getting more and more expensive. Waiting for parts during coldest weather in memory. Took weeks. After my husband threatened to sue, the owner came in and apologized. He and a coworker worked for 4 hours straight on the heater and finally fixed it correctly. When there was motivation and commitment they completed the job and we were finally satisfied.

Description of Work
Heater Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/13/2016


carolin B.

Simply the best air conditioning company out there. I give them 5 star for service, timing, price and everything in between. we have purchased a house and the Air conditioning was not working. unfortunately, we realized that too late. we called few companies but luckily we got referred Gama Central by a friend and talk to Robert. He was very attentive, they came in same day. very professional, very reasonably priced and very friendly. we do have few residential & commercial properties and we have switched to Gama Central for good. they take care of all our property Air conditioning and Heater issues. Robert is very trustable I don't even need to show up at the property. he simply handles any problems A to Z and calls me later to explain what needs to be done. Highly recommending them.

Description of Work
We use them for personal home and I decided to use them for our business which is real estate management. They stop by our income properties and do maintenance as needed without my supervision which is excellent. Never trusted another company like this. they are very easy to work with. I have introduced them to few commercial Developers/ builders and they did an excellent job installing A/C and heat system for the entire project. ( the finished the job about a month ago). my client was very happy with them as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/17/2016


Jonathan N.

Informative, honest, nice

Description of Work
Fixed my hear/air that kept turning on and off by itself Turned out the compressor was getting overheated and rusted out and needed to be replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/08/2015


shahla T.

I got a call from our building manager that air conditioner leaks and and damage the carpet ,so i asked him if he knows anybody He said yes and bring one of his friend to check the problem.The manger wants to make his life easy he suggest to change the unit and it cost me around $2300. I thought to look at Angies list and i found The Gama central heating and air conditioning,with only one call they show up and find the problem and clean the air conditioning. that was it and they saved me not only money but a lot of hastle too.I highly recommend them and ask for Robert . He is very honest and very professional.

Description of Work
They clean the blockage of air conditioner and saved me money to buy a new unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/01/2015


Caroline V.

It went very well. I was impressed with the technician. He was extremely communicative with me - explained the issue to me clearly, even had me go on the roof to see what he was talking about.

Description of Work
We came home from vacation to find that our A/C was sadly not working. I called several services and GAMA responded the fastest so they got the job. A technician came over first thing in the morning and diagnosed the problem. He explained everything very clearly to me - we had a pretty bad leak in one of our units and it was also very low on freon. He found the source of the leak and fixed it, filled up the freon, replaced our dirty air filters and gave both units a chemical wash.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/19/2015


Tom B.

Description of Work
We had been using another company (Brody Pennell) to do annual maintenance on the A/C system. Every year they seemed to find stuff that needed fixing. This year's was a quote for $600+ to replace a capacitor, a small length of tubing and "cleaning". I asked a local (we don't live in LA) A/C guy and he thought that maybe 350, tops, was about right. I contacted GAMA, they went out the following day and did a thorough check and reported that no additional work was required.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/09/2014


Micah D.

They were able to get to the bottom of the problem that I have been having with my air compressor for months, which I had several other companies come out and take a look at as well (none of which properly diagnosed the problem). GAMA suggested that the problem was not enough air intake around the compressor, which was causing it to basically recycle hot air over and over again, more or less rendering itself useless. I was able to create some space around the compressor and, lo-and-behold, my problem was resolved! Thanks GAMA!!

Description of Work
Diagnosed and fixed a problem with my air compressor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/11/2014


Peter M.

Description of Work
It went great. The company had to replace the electronic lighting switch on our furnace as it was not lighting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/09/2014


Bruce M.

Description of Work
Serviced existing appliances.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/14/2014


Paul B.

Description of Work
They came out to do an estimate |To install a ductless mini-split AC unit in my condo. The guy was really great very helpful as to what I needed to best be situated for him to install the unit. My |Only reservation was that I wasn't informed that the estimate would cost anything, let alone $135 |For what couldn't have been more then an hours time. If i go with them that will be applied to the bill but was completely caught off guard and didn't know how to react but to grin and potentially kiss $135 away. I haven't decided yet, I'd like to go with them just want to solidify the estimate.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/02/2014


Navid D.

See above.

Description of Work
HVAC annual maintenance. Robert, the technician, was very knowledgeable and patient in explaining his findings. He recommends fixing two things that will cost a few hundred dollars.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/25/2014


sergio A.

.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of GAMA Central.
5.0

12/15/2013


Brenda and Peter K.

N/A

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and rating. It will really help us. If you need anything, please don't hesitate to contact us. Have a Blessed Day.
5.0

05/04/2013


Joanne O.

I interviewed and got estimates from 4 HVAC companies and chose GAMA Central Heating and Air and am very glad that i did. Jack came to my house and gave me a estimate and also supervised the installation and permit inspection. The service I received from Jack and his technicians, Steve and Rene was nothing short of extraordinary. Jack, Steve, and Rene were always friendly and professional. The installation was a difficult one since my attic is so shallow, but Steve and Rene were able to get everything done. Everyone always came on time and never left a mess. Jack and Steve always explained what was being done every step of the way as well. The quality of the work performed by Steve and Rene was outstanding. Everyone always made sure that I was happy. I am thoroughly satisfied and would recommend GAMA Central Heat and Air to anyone who needs to have a central heat and air conditioning system installed.

Description of Work
Installed a central heating and air conditioning system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you (member name removed) for your wonderful review. It's also a pleasure to work for an awesome, professional and gracious Client, such as yourself.
5.0

01/23/2013


Marnin S.

I had ordered a new Nest Learning Thermostat and thought it needed to be located in another part of the house. I called several HVAC companies and GAMA was the first to get back to me. After I explain my situation to the friendly receptionist, she connected me to a HVAC tech. The tech asked me a couple of questions and then explained to me why my thermostat was located where is was and that it should stay there. He offer hints that would help properly heat and cool my house. The tech saved me a service call and the cost of moving the thermostat.

Description of Work
Called to have thermostat moved...found out I didn't need to.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/18/2012


Bruce M.

To make up for being their substantial tardiness, they gave me a huge discount. And they work they did was excellent. I have used them before and will continue to do so. They know their stuff and care about customer service. They are exactly what a small business should be.

Description of Work
Service of the two HUAC systems and the replacement of the in-house screens. Plus one machine wouldn't turn on. They diagnosed the situation and fixed it. The other machine need to be washed, which I was told the last time they were here. I had forgotten this. They remembered. This continuity between visits impressed me.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/13/2011


NORMAN B.

It went perfectly from the initial phone call. The serviceman was here when scheduled and performed the service as promised. I will use them again before winter.

Description of Work
They tested the air conditioner, replaced the filter, and cleaned the condenser.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/14/2011


Dan R.

I would recommend their services. He is very conscientious about the work that he does. He takes a very personal interest and he works with the consumer. Initially I did have a problem with one of his workers when he left the site so I called him back and he fixed it and resolved everything. Everything was really, really smooth and they did good work. The product and quality of the work was good. They did cleanup. I am completely 100 percent satisfied. They were very good craftsmen. The breakdown I had with them was in communication. Their English wasn't as good as my English and my Spanish wasn't as good as their Spanish. We couldn't communicate and I needed somebody to mediate. They were on time and the price was satisfactory. I will use them again and I have recommended them.

Description of Work
I used GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/09/2010


Jeanette M.

Very professional

Description of Work
Replaced gas valve in an old heating unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/21/2010


FARSHAD S.

Originally called them for my Air Conditioning problem not blowing cold air. They came very quickly and DID NOT charge me for emergency call. He diagnosed the system for $68 and told me the compressor needs to be replaced. When they gave me the price for replacement of the compressor, I almost had a heart attack and obviously said NO. I called their office when the tech was still in my house, to possibly get a bettter price, and they did tell me their price is 100% guaranteed to be the lowest I can get and cannot be discounted further. I did not believe and paid them the $68 and was very upset. But, then I called 2 other companies, one charged me $35 and one did not charge me for estimate. They both came and one recommended to replace my whole unit and told me it's not worth replacing only the compressor. His price for compressor replacement was over $400 more than GAMA anyways. The other one's quote on compressor replacement was even higher by another $250 (and this guy was the free guy... now I know where they make up for the free checkup). When I called back GAMA to come and do it, they told me to save my money because the summer heat is kind of over and if there would be hot days, it would be a couple of days here and there until next Summer. They actually convinced me to wait until next April or May to fix it, before the Summer season, so that I don't spend it right now when I don't have to. I said what about heating and they said heating is independent of cooling and if I had a problem with that to call them. Sure enough I had to call them since my heating was not working a few days later. They came back and gave me an estimate for $940 and again my eyes popped out, but knowing they had the best prices, I decided to have them fix it. They waived the diagnostics fee and fixed the unit with $726 on the same day, which was $214 less than what was originally quotted earlier that day. Their technician was so up front and knowledgeable and he said he is NATE Certified. I did not know what that meant until a friend of mine told me that NATE Certified is one of the hardest certifications for any technician to acquire. I was even more amazed when he personally called me last Friday and asked me if the system's working good and if I had any concerns or questions. I asked him to come back for the unit's routine maintenance and filter change, when he infomed me that it is part of the service, and was done at no additional charge. That did it for me and I decided to come to Angie's list and put a good remark for them. I love GAMA.

Description of Work
Diagnosed the system to find the problem, going over the details and estimated at $940. Replaced the gas valve, thermocouple and ignitor. After installing these items and testing the unit, they realized that one of the items orignially quotted does not need replacement. They actually told me it is $214 LESS THAN what was quotted earlier. Considering my unit is about 18 years old, they did a great job of salvaging the heating part of the unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

09/16/2010


Susan R.

Gama was one of five companies I called for an estimate for new heating/air. The guys arrived on time and were professional and helpful; they spent nearly an hour looking at everything. They told me to expect an estimate in a few days. The estimate never arrived. I called to inquire about the status of the estimate, but no one bothered to call me back. They wasted my time and their's.

Description of Work
Scheduled an estimate for a complete new air/heat system, including ductwork.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/06/2008


Sharona Y.

A friend of mine told me about them and how reliable they were, and it was true. We had other bidders come in and I liked one of them. Then when my friend told me about GAMA, my husband said we already chosen a company from the 4 companies that gave us bids. But I told him, we can just check them out as well. We had them come and they quickly sent someone over to give us a quote. He told us a much more cost efficient and cosmetically nicer way to install the units which saves us about $3,000. They came in and did the job. Very clean company and professional. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
They installed a 5-ton super efficient air conditioning and heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/18/2007


FARSHAD S.

I think that they do more than what is expected of them. I like that they don't charge anything for emergency calls since we signed a contract with them. Whenever we call them, they are always there within two hours. They are fantastic and we would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
We signed a contract for them to come in every 3 months to service our air conditioner. They change the filter, put oil in it and service any damages if there should be anything is wrong with it. We pay them per month.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/22/2006


FARSHAD S.

Very clean and quick work with the least interference with our everyday life. All went as planned and they actually quoted me more than what they charged at the end, because the work was less costly than what they have anticipated.

Description of Work
Installation of rooftop packaged air conditioning unit with all the ductwork, registers and diffusers and a fully automatic user friendly thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gold Star AC & Heating Service

    We are an experienced HVAC company here to help you with any repairs, maintenance and new installations.  

    Angi Certified

    Air-Tech Air Conditioning & Heating Inc

    If you're looking for comfort you can count on, you've found the right place! Whether you need service-and need it fast-or you're looking to replace or invest in new equipment for your home, Air-Tech Air Conditioning & Heating can help. Ask around... our name is well known and respected in because we care about impressing you so much that you'll want to call us next time and every time. Award-winning Air Conditioning & Heating Company including the Angie's List Super Service Award. Free estimates on replacement systems, new installations and duct cleaning/air purification. Servicing all major brands, makes and models for central and ductless/mini-split systems. Financing is available. Air-Tech is a participating HERO contractor.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    74 Degrees Heating & Air, Inc.

    74 Degrees Heating and Air Inc., specializes in warm-air heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning services. With over 15 years of HVAC experience we have provided clients with quality home/commercial air comfort needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating, Air Conditioning

    Services Not Offered

    Window Air Conditioning, Geothermal & Radiant Heaters

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    No, GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer free project estimates.

    Does GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offer a senior discount?

    Yes, GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning?

    Yes, GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

    What services does GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Heating, Air Conditioning

    Are there any services GAMA Central Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer?

    Window Air Conditioning, Geothermal & Radiant Heaters