Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since January 2007

Concrete pouring, curbs & gutters, sidewalks, driveways, patios, residential foundations, retaining walls, grinding & cutting.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(68) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 68 reviews
Jill M.
1.0
09/26/2018
Practically begged this contractor to do my job, kept getting put off. Finally got him to show up for an estimate. A week later, when I still hadn't received the estimate, I had to call and follow up. We agreed on a price. The day he was to start, he showed up (late) and wanted over 50% of the estimate. I pointed out that the State Contractor's Licensing Board allows up to 10% of the job. Things went downhill after that. He became very confused about the job itself (though we'd been over it twice) and said he would return the following day. He never did and that was fine with me, but a colossal waste of my time. I encourage you to not waste yours and call another contractor.
Description of Work
Retaining Wall
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping
Jordanna F.
5.0
07/06/2018
Efrain came several times to the property so we could discuss design aspects. He was so patient with me as well as the changes I made each time before I got a quote and he started work. We had a difficult area to have work done in Venice being in the middle of the block and our back alley too small for a standard construction truck to fit. Efrain investigated and figured out the best way to get the excavated soil out as well as the pavers and road base onto the property. Efrain is a man of great character. Once work began, he and his staff were incredibly respectful of our tenants, the property, and our neighbors. He was an artist in several areas, he leveled each and every paver by hand as well as used his expertise in concrete to direct areas for water to drain from the property during rainfall. When I decided to do change orders, he didn’t take that opportunity to charge me a vast amount of money because he knew I had no choice if I wanted the work done. He and his staff always cleaned up after themselves and made sure no one would be in danger of walking across an unsafe area. His work made such a huge difference to the quality and value of the property – it easily paid for itself. If you want an artist who prides himself on his work, Efrain is your guy.
Description of Work
Pavers installed along a walkway and large parking area and bike racks installed into pavers.
Category
concrete repair
DOUGLAS W.
5.0
12/06/2017
This job could not have gone better. From beginning to end, this was fantastic. From the first call that was made, Efrain called me back that same day. We made an appointment to see the property and he arrived right on time. He did a thorough review of the situation and made a couple of different suggestions as well as hearing my thoughts and ideas. He was able to provide an estimate right away. It was clearly written out and itemized the process for payment and work to be done. My neighbor and I reviewed the estimate and agreed to the price and terms. Efrain was able to begin within a couple of days. He was right on time, every day, for the entire project. He would communicate each day and inform what the next steps would be. He made sure we understood the process and answered any questions. He also did not hesitate to ask us questions when he needed us to make a decision on some finishes for the fence and gate. EGALD Concrete was outstanding. Each day, the workers would clean up the entire area, prior to leaving. Some items would be piled neatly to the side, but this was an amazing site for a construction site. When the job was completed, right on time and on budget, the wall and the fence look GREAT! I have already asked Efrain to bid on another job at another one of my properties.
Description of Work
The wall/Fence between my house and my neighbors had begun to deteriorate and fall apart. We needed the wall to be fixed/replaced and a new fence placed on top of it. The wall had a graduated elevation with various areas holding back dirt from one property to the other
Category
concrete repair, fencing, masonry
Deborah B.
3.0
09/17/2015
Efrain arrived on time on Saturday, 7/18/2015, and we walked him through our job requirements. We liked his professionalism, and he offered additional ideas that improved on our basic requirements, so after already having 2 contractors turn down our job because they were too busy, we were eager to see his proposal, which he promised within 2 weeks. On 8/1 (2 wks later) I texted Efrain to ask when we could expect his proposal; he said he was 2/3 done with it, and said it should be done "in a few days" (he needed to take time off for his son). We understand that family's important & we weren't in a big rush, so we were OK with that. On 8/16 (2 more wks later) I texted Efrain again asking when he expected to be able to submit his proposal. NO RESPONSE. This is discouraging: if we have to chase after a contractor just to get a proposal, I hate to think what it would be like to get the job completed if it stalls. We were impressed by all the good Angie's List reviews, and by his understanding of the job & good ideas - but the outcome was disappointing.
Description of Work
Came to our home on 7/18/2015 to review our job requirements: 1) Replace a cinder block wall; 2) Extend & heighten a second cinder block wall; 3) Put capstones on a third cinder block wall; 4) Build planters on 2 sides of the house; 5) Replace front steps & walkways; 6) Install pavers on 2 sides of the house.
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping
Cynthia W.
5.0
08/02/2015
Efraim and his crew were amazing! I have done a lot of remolding and landscape work over the years and it's rare to find that special combination of professionalism, skill, honesty, and good communication. They cleaned up beautifully each day, and were very careful of my plants, making sure they were watered by hand when the irrigation lines had to be moved. Efraim is a good communicator, and made sure I understood what was going on at every stage of the project. He really knows what he is doing, and best of all - he enjoys his work, making it a pleasure to do business with him. I will use Egald concrete again on future projects.
Description of Work
This job had many parts to it, and took several weeks - constructing several long garden walls on a hillside, a concrete deck and stairway, a 16 foot long water feature.
Category
concrete repair, decks
Leakthina O.
5.0
02/05/2015
We were very happy with their work!
Description of Work
They did some concrete work for us.
Category
concrete repair
elena V.
5.0
06/25/2014
once again this project turned out to be beautiful, to say the least. the patio was graded, and form set with proper elevation, compacted and reinforced with 1/2and quot; metal bars at 2' in the center. the cement was broom finished with control joint spaced evenly. north side planter made of cinder block. reinforced with 1/2'' metal bars spaced at 2' apart, and one foot concrete footing. south side planter made of cinder block - also one foot of footing was applied as well as 1/2'' metal bars reiforcement spaced at 2 feet apart. for for the drainage system. Efrain used 4'' drain was set in the area floor patio next to the garage wall. the drain conects to the 4and quot; pipes to spread rain water onto the lawn area. rectangles walkway were made of concrete, spaced 6and quot; apart. this beautiful walkway serves as access to the back patio behind the garage. the old paint on back porch and stairs was removed repaired damages. i am very happy with Efrain's work; he has brought out the beauty of our 90 year old home. friends and neighbors continue to be amazed and impressed with Efrain's work. i'd be more than happy to share photos with anyone who is interested in seeing Efrain's work. sorry for not writing this review sooner.
Description of Work
designed a patio, 2 planters and graded and poured 3 inches of beautiful gravel on the space betwen garage and poperty line wall to prevent weeds. a drainage system. designed 6 concrete rectangles spaced 6" apart. repaired and removed old paint on existing back porch.
Category
concrete repair
Tom H.
5.0
05/23/2014
They were very professional and responsive. They finished the job within a week.
Description of Work
Egald Concrete Construction put in a 10 x 11 concrete slab for me.
Category
concrete repair
Michael G.
5.0
05/14/2014
We wanted a textured finish, so after the concrete was set up hard enough, etching fluid was poured and left to dry. The next morning Efrain used a power washer to remove the milky white film to reveal the textured surface. When the job was completed, they made sure their work area was all cleaned up real nice. One of the crew even watered the rose bush that had to be removed from the soil and placed in a container. Friendly, professional, and competent, the owner Efrain and and his crew were a pleasure to work with, and we heartily recommend them for your concrete projects from small to large. Care in execution, attention to detail, and customer satisfaction are qualities all occurring in good measure by Egald Construction. I put N/A for the price rating because I'm not sure what "good" or "excellent" means in a price rating. Does "excellent" mean cheapest price, or does it mean, as was the case with this review, there was an "excellent" match between money spent and value received? I'm happy to pay a fair price for excellent work, so to me "fair" is the highest possible rating in regards to price. Anyway, I have no qualms about the amount paid for the job.
Description of Work
Efrain Galdamez and his crew installed a new concrete step to our front porch.
Category
concrete repair, decks
Evan G.
5.0
04/28/2014
I can't stress enough how nice it was to work with Efrain. He is the nicest, calmest, most professional construction person I have worked with. His work was top notch, on time and on budget. I never felt like he was rushing off to the next job, he never complained even though I changed my mind several times and he had to work around other trades. Efrain doesn't just bid the job and run off while others do the work. Efrain was here the entire time watching over the job and getting his hands dirty himself. His workers were equally respectful of me, my family, and my property. I would recommend Efrain to anyone for any size job. You will be in good hands with Efrain.
Description of Work
Guest house foundation, demo and pour concrete decking around pool, demo of old flagstone patio and replaced with broken concrete recovered from driveway, new front stoop with walkway, new driveway, two additional stoops in front of doors, added sprinklers, grading, drainage runs and general landscaping.
Category
concrete repair, decks, concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping
Robert A.
5.0
03/06/2014
They did the work on-time. I couldn't be more pleased with Efrain Galdamez. He was cooperative, friendly, had great communication and was willing to accommodate any changes. He did everything he could to stay within the estimate. I will definitely use their services again.
Description of Work
They installed a flagstone deck and seating area on the westside of the property, a smaller flagstone area on the northside of the property. On the southside of the proper, they installed flagstone steps to the pool decking.
Category
masonry, hardscaping
VERNA G.
5.0
03/06/2014
Smooth, on time and in accordance and contracted throughout entire job.
Description of Work
Laid a slab of concrete in my back yard. Assembled a supply shed without being hired to do so. He and staff were professional and polite at all times.
Category
concrete repair
Patricia M.
5.0
02/28/2014
Ephraim was very professional and punctual when he provided an estimate for replacing the garage floor, driveway, and assorted other repairs. When I sent him the first message thru Angie's to arrange a visit to estimate, he answered my email quickly and then also called me to make sure I got his message and to see if he could arrange an appointment to see the site. He arrived on time, and was very cordial and enthusiastic. He also had some very good suggestions for us to eliminate any flooding problems. While we decided to accept another proposal, Ephraim was given much consideration.
Description of Work
Provided an estimate
Category
concrete repair, masonry
Joanna M.
5.0
01/18/2014
He was very responsive, thorough and professional. I ended up selecting another provider but I would definitely consider him for future projects.
Description of Work
I wanted an estimate on removing and replacing a garage floor.
Category
concrete repair
elena V.
5.0
01/16/2014
The wall is made of cinder block 6"x8"x16" -- with a footing of about 10" deep. Used #4 rebar to reinforce the wall. Cement and stucco (white) were used to cover the cinder block giving it a nice finish look. Front porch was repaired by grinding the existing surface to remove old paint to expose the original cement finish. He also repaired cracks. It was left smooth and very clean. The side of the porch was also repaired with cement and stucco to match the new wall. I continue get a lot of compliments from family, friends and neighbors who are impressed with the great work that Egald Construction performs.
Description of Work
Built a planter retainer wall 70' long and repaired the entire porch.
Category
concrete repair, decks, masonry
Paul G.
5.0
11/11/2013
I had some friends of my dad start the job and quickly had a nightmare on my hands. Efrain came in and took over, finished the removal of the old slab, and got the new slab poured in a matter of days. Always friendly, punctual, and committed to his word, Efrain was a pleasure to work with. The end result was done well and came out exactly as I wanted. I highly recommend EGALD Construction and would definitely use their services again.
Description of Work
Replaced the concrete slab in my garage
Category
concrete repair
Joe L.
5.0
10/15/2013
He was fabulous, showed up on time, and he actually was the one doing the job. Great work ethic unlike so many of those folks out there. Would definitely use him again if we needed to.
Description of Work
Pouredna section of my driveway that was cracked by tree roots.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways
elena V.
5.0
09/20/2013
basically the job consisted of removing very old glue, polished it smoothly and finished it off by applying cement sealer/floor coating (sorry i don't recall exactly the terminology) that resulted in a beautiful glossy floor. the floor now is naturally pretty and easy to maintain; just sweep and mop with clean water. from an unsightly concrete floor to a smooth, shiny and clean garage floor!
Description of Work
clean, resurface and polish garage concrete floor.
Category
concrete repair
elena V.
5.0
09/13/2013
the following work was done for the driveway: it is 68' long, 11' wide by 4and quot; thick. the following steps include, elevation set up, wood form setting, compaction, set steel bars at 2' on center with 2and quot; x 2and quot; concrete blocks under. control joints were set evenly along the entire length of the new driveway with broom finish. the original concrete is actually close to 90 years old and i really wantd to recyle parts of it so i decided to use some of the broken, antique concrete for the walkway on the southside of the house which is 30' long by 4' wide. it was set on 2' of concrete mix and agrout in between. i love everything about the job but the highlight is the walkway. it's a work of art and it turned out beautiful!!! friends, family and neighbors absolutely love it. Efrain is hands-on, a perfectionst and love his work. his crew work just as hard as him and never left a message behind.
Description of Work
new concrete driveway and a walkway on the south side of the house.
Category
concrete repair
elena V.
5.0
09/13/2013
my patio was divided into two designs; i used vintage brick for half of the pation and the other half of concrete mix (2,500 PSI). prepared with 1/2 inch rebar spaced at 2 feet on center. around the concrete patio he built 2 feet planters using cinder block. the preparation for both patios include elevation set-up, grading compaction, and form setting. he carefully selected and cleaned the best brick that was already in the old patio and the new design turned out beautiful!! we discussed the planters before construction began and since Efrain has a good eye for design, i completely trusted his idea and i'm glad i did. he takes everything into consideration - for example, the orange tree and the two palm trees in the yard are now surrounded in good soil and i still have plenty of space for flowers, shrubs, herbs and other foliage. Efrain and his crew are hard workers and every evening the crew left the area clean and tidy.
Description of Work
construction of a new patio.
Category
concrete repair, stamped concrete
Robert A.
5.0
07/02/2013
;Mr. Galdamez met me. We went over the needed work. He took measurements and emailed me his bid. He was very punctual at our first meeting and asked very precise questions. He emailed me the date and time that his crew would arrive. They were here on time. Mr. Galdamez kept me fully informed during every step of this project and was on-site most of the time. I was very pleased with the work of his crew; his precise description of work to be accomplished; his patience in answering my questions; his suggestions of alternatives; and the accomplishment of the work on schedule. He made this a very easy project to complete.
Description of Work
Repaired and replaced parts of concrete pool deck; built concrete box for pool cover; repaired foundation of house; applied moisture proof stucco to repair; and compacted ground around foundation.
Category
concrete repair, decks, stucco
Kathy E.
5.0
07/02/2013
This man is a professional. Hire him. A pleasure to work with, loads of experience and creative solutions, skilled workers and beautiful, precision meticulous brick work.. I had concerns about blending with existing angles, levels, brick trim strips...no problem. He figured it all out beautifully. He took extra care to preserve the lawn for later use. The project was about four days.
Description of Work
Built a retainer wall 75 feet long and 18 inches high by 6 inches wide, with a brick cap on top (bricks to match existing bricks on driveway). Widened driveway, Extension of driveway 7 additional feet wide by about 38 feet long by 4 inches thick, with half inch rebar. Brick ribbons on new extension were continued from existing driveway. The area of driveway extension included excavation of dirt and preservation of sod. The dirt and sod were used to level lawn area after the building of the retainer wall. Front porch steps were also widened. Another area similarly treated was on neighbor's property, directly next to driveway. That area was about 23 feet long and about 3 feet wide, which was poured and angled between the properties, with brick trim. Some brick repairs were also done next to the neighbor's driveway. Also allowed for good drainage at the base of the retaining wall to avoid water retention.
Category
concrete repair, hardscaping
Laura E.
1.0
06/22/2013
Nothing - they never returned my call.
Description of Work
Nothing - they never returned my call.
Category
concrete repair
Sara S.
5.0
06/01/2013
We were SOOOOO happy with the work that was done. First of all these guys worked their butts off. They were at our house every morning at 7 and some days stayed until later then 7 pm. Removing the concrete deck was backbreaking work. Efrain came up with a genius idea to use the broken concrete to create terraces in our steep hillside back yard. He also came up with an idea to use railroad ties to create flat areas to plant garden and safe spots for my young kids to play. I am THRILLED with the results. This has definitely increased our property value and it is so beautiful. I also liked how Efrain was working along side his crew. He was always there to answer questions. As they were working I had a few changes that I wanted made. Efrain seemed so eager to make me happy and made the changes with a smile. I am so happy that I hired him and would not hesitate to do so again. Please feel free to contact me for before and after pics. You will be BLOWN away!!!!
Description of Work
I hired Efrain and his crew from Egald Construction do a TON of work in my back yard. Our yard is huge and was a very steep hill. Efrain's guys worked tirelessly demolishing an old crumbling concrete deck, terracing our entire backyard including a path and stairs, poured a new concrete deck and concrete supports for a new wooden deck.
Category
concrete repair, stamped concrete
Sharon S.
5.0
03/15/2013
Efrain Galdamez was very professional and clearly explained what needed to be done. He provided a written estimate and stayed within budget. The project was originally anticipated to take three days, but they were able to finish in less than two. My only regret is that I forgot to ask for the Angie's List discount, but otherwise am very happy with the results of his work.
Description of Work
Repaired a raised foundation that had visible horizontal cracking. Efrain and his crew filled in all of the cracks with epoxy, dug down and added a 17 foot long new foundation adjacent to the existing one, drilling and expoxying rebar into the old foundation to tie it to the new. They then stuccoed the new foundation to match existing. Because this portion of the house cantilevers over the foundation, this new foundation does not detract from the look of the house. They also had to remove several very large bushes that had extensive root systems adjacent to the house as well as ivy to do this work.
Category
concrete repair

Phone

Address

2340 W 29TH PL

Los Angeles, CA 90018

Other Information

Services offered

Concrete pouring, curbs & gutters, sidewalks, driveways, patios, residential foundations, retaining walls, grinding & cutting.

Services not offered

Staining & overlays.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc is open:

Sunday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc offers free project estimates.

No, EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc offers warranties.

EGALD CONSTRUCTION Inc offers the following services: Concrete pouring, curbs & gutters, sidewalks, driveways, patios, residential foundations, retaining walls, grinding & cutting.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Aff Construction

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Aff Construction

We specialize in drywall/sheet rock, plaster and stucco. Installs, repairs, finishing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Home 2 Renovate, Inc.

5.0

(98)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Home 2 Renovate, Inc.

Home 2 Renovate, Inc. has been a family and friend owned and operated home improvement company since 1992 and is licensed, bonded and insured. We specialize in all types of roofing, exterior paint/stucco/coatings/sidings, windows & doors, whole house insulation, patio covers/sunrooms and gutters. We are a Better Business Bureau accredited company with a A+ rating, a League of California Homeowners member, National Association of the Remodeling Industry member. We are top rated on Better Business Bureau, HomeAdvisor, Angi, Thumbtack, Networx, Houzz, Modernize, Google and we are ranked as one of the Top 500 contractors in the nation with Qualified Remodeler Magazine. We believe that communication is the cornerstone of a good homeowner/contractor relationship. Call today and schedule a free quote good for a year with a product specialist.  

G&L Design Building and Landscape Inc is a licensed general contractor builder who specializes in the outdoors construction, pool and spa construction , deck, retaining wall, gate and fence ,hardscape, landscape, design & build company that has been servicing residential and commercial clients in the Los Angeles and Ventura counties. Although unique and functional design is our passion, outstanding customer service is our number one priority. Our talented landscape designers will listen to your needs and then use their expertise to develop an architectural quality landscape design that fits your personality and lifestyle. Members with the CLCA and Angelus pavers.