Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Contempo Floor Coverings Inc

Founded 1976 • With Angi since December 2005

4.1

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

902 S Barrington Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90049

Description

Contempo has been in business since 1976. We have two flooring showrooms in Los Angeles to serve your needs. We install all the floors we sell, so there is no need to hire an outside contractor. We have always been part of new residential developments as well as larger commercial projects. We also cater to trade professional such as architects, interior designers, and contractors. We do our best to serve the needs of our clients. Our main focus is to provide the right recommendations based on your project requirements. Communication and sharing information are a key factor to our success. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

12/18/2014


Kenneth S.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

05/13/2013


HALLE R.

Mentioned most above. It's a great place to start looking for flooring but probably not the place to buy.

Description of Work
Very professional. Great selection of product to pick from. They spend a lot of time with each customer helping them to pick the right product. The biggest stumbling block was price. Found them to be much higher than others. Even tried to just buy the floor outright from them and use someone else to install. Still couldn't make it work.

Category hardwood floor

2.0

11/29/2009


steve L.

The Bad 1. They don't hand sand the wood before the last coat of polyurethane is applied. Instead, they use a rotary sander and it caused swirl marks to be seen with the gloss finish. They told me that there was no way to avoid this but I learned otherwise. 2. They dragged this process out over a long period of time. They put the first finish down Sept. 7th and took over 2 1/2 months to take care of the issues that my wife and I raised. 3. I told the installers that some of the sub-floor beneath the old linoleum may be loose and to please check and fix before laying the new wood. I didn't see him ever do this so after they left, I peeled back some of the felt in the area not yet finished and found loose sub-floor boards. I nailed down what I could but by that time they had already put down much of the wood. 4. Some sloppy work(but some good work too). They left a sander burn mark and on the floor at the entry to the living room and it was so obvious as you enter the room. Sometimes they didn't do a very good job at wood filling the holes in the new wood or wood fill over nails. They used my kitchen cabinet as a fulcrum for their crow bar to peel the old linoleum off and they dented the cabinet in the process. They dumped their unused polyurethane in the planter bed. They didn't haul their trash/old linoleum. 5. They did the wrong finish the first time and don't seem to know how to control their finishes. It came out looking like satin the first time and too glossy the second time. In the bath, they got it perfect with semi-gloss but it didn't match the kitchen. The good 1. They do a good job at fitting the wood around tubs/ toilets and base cabinets. 2. The existing wood floor and new wood floor blend together seamlessly. Follow Up We are now experiencing popping, flexing and creeking in a few spots and I think it is in part to loose sub-floor boards that they didn't secure. I had another company redo the last coat and they told me that they always hand sand with the grain for the final coat. It only took about an extra hour for one person to hand sand and there were no swirl marks. They did a great job! Something I learned Both companies used Bona products for the finish. According to Bona's website, it isn't necessary to abrade(sand) between coats if less than 48 hours passes. We experimented on our own in an area that will be covered with cabinets and found that when we did abrade, the finish may have been a little smoother and when we didn't abrade the finish was glossier.

Description of Work
Remove linoleum flooring in the kitchen area and 2 baths and install new wood floors integrating into the existing wood floors. The product was 2" wide red oak. Sand the existing finish on existing wood floor down to wood, sand down new wood floors and refinish existing and new wood floors.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

03/23/2009


SUSAN H.

We got estimates from 2 places- theirs was initially higher, but when we added the cost of binding the edges, they turned out to be the same, as Contempo included the price of binding. JT was great at finding the correct carpet for us- they arrived right on time for the measureing and installation- beautiful job on installation, it involved a tricky curve on the landing, but they did great-= clean up was thorough

Description of Work
Replaced carpeting on stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/13/2009


JOHN L.

The salesman was very good. Any problems we had he handled right away. The price was high but with hardwood floors all the places we went to were about the same. The installers were good and that was key. We had maple floors put in.

Description of Work
They put in brand new hardwood floors. They did five rooms.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/26/2006


SUSAN H.

Excellent selection, great advice and really a unique quality carpet. it was expensive, but worth it for a special product. I have also used them for lower end carpeting and the selection is good, more expensive than home depot, but better service and advice

Description of Work
Ordered a custom carpet

Category carpet installation

4.0

12/15/2005

IT WAS FINE. EVERYTHING WENT WELL. THEY CAME IN, DID THEIR JOB, AND WE WERE HAPPY. THEY HAD TO OPERATE ON A FLOORING THAT I HAD RADIANT HEATING UNDER THE FLOOR. THAT WAS UNUSUAL FOR THEM. THEY DIDN'T PUNCTURE ANY OF MY HOSES. IT WAS REALLY IMPERATIVE WHEN THEY DID THE WOOD FLOOR THAT THEY WOULD NOT RUPTURE ANY OF THE HOSES THAT WERE LYING IN THE FLOOR. THEY DID A REALLY GOOD JOB OF BEING REALLY CAREFUL TO NOT INJURE ANY OF THE RADIANT HEAT IN THE FLOOR.

Description of Work
THEY LAID BRAND NEW HARDWOOD FLOORING IN THE KITCHEN, LIVING ROOM, AND BEDROOM.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Prime Tile Works LLC

     

    AAA 1 Carpet & Upholstery Care

    Welcome to AAA 1 Carpet & Upholstery Care, we are a full service carpet and upholstery cleaning, tile and grout cleaning and water damage restoration company. We are fully trained in both steam and dry carpet cleaning, upholstery cleaning, pet odor removal, stain removal, tile cleaning, grout cleaning, and water damage service.  

    Valley Carpet Cleaning

    For over 31 years, Valley Carpet Cleaning has been keeping homes and businesses in San Fernando Valley and surrounding areas throughout LA County fresh and clean. Whether it’s tile and grout, carpet, hardwood, All Types off Area Rugs Done on premises or picked up and Brought to our Facility and complete wash,or upholstery, we’ve got you covered. No matter the job, our experienced staff has seen it before and can help you deal with it now. We don’t shy away from the even the toughest projects! Upholstery and carpet cleaning in San Fernando Valley and Most off LA County CA are important parts of keeping your space looking its best. More importantly, however, routine professional cleanings will eradicate germs and extend the life of your materials. Our team leverages top tools and techniques to leave your floors and upholstery looking, feeling and smelling their freshest. No matter the size of your space, the nature of its use or the last time it was cleaned, we guarantee results that are undeniable. Take a look at just a few more reasons our customers recommend us to their friends and family for thorough and exceptional carpet cleaning in San Fernando Valley most off LA County CA:  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Valley Carpet Cleaning on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Los Angeles Flooring Experts Specializing in: Solid & Engineered Hardwood Flooring, Eco-Friendly Products, Ceramic & Porcelain Tiles, Organic Carpeting, Rubber Floors, Leather Floors, Vinyl Flooring, Marmoleum Floors, Commercial and Residential Floors, Bamboo Floors, Drapery, Upholstery, and much more...

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Contempo Floor Coverings Inc

    How is Contempo Floor Coverings Inc overall rated?

    Contempo Floor Coverings Inc is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Contempo Floor Coverings Inc open?

    Contempo Floor Coverings Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Contempo Floor Coverings Inc provide

    Contempo Floor Coverings Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Contempo Floor Coverings Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Contempo Floor Coverings Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Contempo Floor Coverings Inc?

    Yes, Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offer?

    Contempo Floor Coverings Inc offers the following services: Los Angeles Flooring Experts Specializing in: Solid & Engineered Hardwood Flooring, Eco-Friendly Products, Ceramic & Porcelain Tiles, Organic Carpeting, Rubber Floors, Leather Floors, Vinyl Flooring, Marmoleum Floors, Commercial and Residential Floors, Bamboo Floors, Drapery, Upholstery, and much more...