Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co

Founded 1936 • With Angi since August 2005

4.5

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3310 Verdugo Rd

Los Angeles, CA 90065

Description

Additional phone - (800) 346-7663, (323) 254-2888, fax (323) 245-2888. Additional contact name - Bruce & Steve Radenbaugh. Family owned & operated. Additional DBA - Bilt-Well Roofing....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/04/2013


Warren H.

It's been years since they did a job with us. They did a great job. It's a family or relative business. They are a little bit pricey. They are not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. When they do the job it's done right. They are quick and efficient. We had solar panels put in afterwards so they have to come back just to work with the stand of the solar people did. They were very effective and efficient in doing that also. They worked with us well when we have extra need for the roof. They went above and beyond. They were very professional. I will recommend them to others.

Description of Work
I used the roofing service of Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co. They did our garage and house roof. We had a leak which turned out not to be in the roof but at the side of the house that has a crack. They still fixed it even if it was not a roof problem.

Category roofing

5.0

02/05/2012


RICH A.

these guys work fast. They only do roofs so they are good at it, they spotted some bad work by my previous contractor

Description of Work
total new roof

Category roofing

5.0

12/13/2011


Michael L.

They did a great job in a quick, and very timely manor.

Description of Work
They repaired a roof leak.

Category roofing

5.0

10/25/2011


Therese C.

I only wanted one tile fixed and I wanted to get a second opinion before I invested $11000 and re-did the whole thing. I did think a company should be able to do minor work. The roof where the tile had fallen off was just an end piece. It was not like the middle of the roof, it was the end piece. So my feeling was, I thought, if they wanted to have happy customer they should have said that in their website that they did not do anything under a $1000, in the sense don’t bother to call if it was not over a $1000. So that we knew they don’t do minor repairs. Otherwise, I am sure he was a gentleman. He was very professional and he came on time. I just thought it would had been nice if he would had said something or his secretary had said something regarding minor roof repair. I wish they either said something in their advertisement or their secretaries would had said that it sounds like you needed just one tile replacement and we don’t do minor work. It would not have been a waste of time for him and me. I would possibly go to them for another quote. The reason I said that was, I would not go to him again if I found out that the roof did not need to be changed. If I got a second opinion and they said I am going to need this year or next year to re-tile the entire roof then I would use their services to get a quote. It was not his fault in a sense because, he showed up on time, he made the appointment and he did his evaluation. I thought he did his job. It was not his fault that, I had a minor problem and his company did not take care of minor problems. That was why I gave him an “A” for professionalism but I did think that it was misleading to have called and talked to the secretary and said I had a tile, a end tile that fell down and I wanted it replaced. They sent somebody out and could not fix it unless I paid a $1000, which was their minimum. Something was majorly wrong there, the secretary did not do her work or it should have been posted on their website. Maybe most works were over with $1000, I don’t really know. But for one end tile, I could not get them to do it. I had to call someone else to do the tile. I could not use them because for one tile not being $1000. I did not want to take it out on the person, the company sent him out and he showed up. He did what he was supposed to be doing and he did his evaluation. He did not want me to pay a $1000 and do it either. Either the secretary should have screened what the problem was, if it was a minor problem then they should have said they don’t fix a tile or they had a basement amount.

Description of Work
I used the services of Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co. I had an estimate and I needed to have work done. However, they had a minimum amount, which was a $1000. We had one tile that was off. However, he said that maybe we could re-do the whole tiling altogether, which was a $11,000 job. Therefore, I had to call someone else to actually put the one tile back because they would not do that. The last time I used their services was about a month ago. They estimated it over a $1000. They said they did not do any job that was not over a $1000. He said he could put that tile back but it would cost me a $1000. Then he said we would need re-roofing in the future and that would be $11000.

Category roofing

5.0

08/08/2011


Brian P.

These guys are good. They show up, they do the work. Professional all the way. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Would use them again without reservation. (work done under the name Schmidt)

Description of Work
We have used them twice. First time was a mystery leak which the found and repaired. Second time was general repairs on a large section of our roof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/18/2011


Judi R.

It went well. They were punctual, fairly priced, and experts in their field. They cleaned up nicely and were easy to work with as well.

Description of Work
They completely stripped and reshingled a roof and replaced flashing.

Category roofing

5.0

04/02/2010


Rick D.

They did a great job. We are still ironing out some billing problems with them. They were very professional. They sent one guy out and he told me that it wasn't his area and they had a better guy who would give better information. I was impressed that they did that. They sent me the other guy and he had a lot of good information. I was pleased with that. The process is still going on. They still haven't given me the actual guarantee that they promised me. I have nothing in writing. That's the sticky point right now. Their professionalism was very good. Bilt Well was very clear on what they did and much clearer than the other companies I checked with.

Description of Work
Bilt Well Roofing gave me a quote on some roofing work and did the work in February.

Category roofing

5.0

02/12/2009


ANDREA S.

The did a great job and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
My husband and I dealt with Dennis Vance of Built Well Roofing. They put a new roof on. They had to put down new underlayment. They installed a new tile roof.

Category roofing

5.0

10/10/2008


ELIZABETH A.

This is a reliable company with a long history of doing great work for many years. They are very established and are definitely not like some of the fly by night companies around that do that sort of work. They did re-roof for me in the 90's and did a really good job.

Description of Work
They came and replaced some of the shingles that the wind had blown off.

Category roofing

1.0

08/20/2008


Amy L.

I was utterly disappointed at the poor quality of the service, at the terrible quality of the installation, and the inexcusable lack of follow-through. Later, I asked them to come to re-bid a different job, they canceled the first appointment five minutes before expected, showed up at second visit with a lot of excuses. Ultimately never mailed me a bid. Probably it's just as well.

Description of Work
Roofed our house. Delayed installation while old roof was OFF, because the gentleman in charge said he had a higher-paying gig across town. Sold us a higher-cost product that utterly failed after installation. Did not back up product or work. The roof has leaked incessantly, and they never tried to make it right though they were asked repeatedly.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Bilt-Well Roofing is a member of the National Roofing Contractors Association, Western States Roofing Contractors Association, Californiat Roofing Contractors Association, and Southern California Roofing Association and is considered by all to be one of the nation's top professionals in our industry. Bilt-Well is a customer-oriented business with a long list of very happy and repeat customers, and has been in business for over 75 years. We always respond to our customers in a timely manner and resolve all roofing issues beyond what is required by the professional roofing industry, rain or shine! Bilt-Well installed a roof for this customer more than 20 years ago using Cal Shake, a product that was eventually went into bankruptcy. There was a class action lawsuit with thousands of filings. Bilt-Well informed all customers who had Cal Shake roofs, including this client, of the lawsuit so they could file for monies toward replacing their roof. Because of the history of this product, and the number of years that have passed, Bilt-Well is unable to bid on any repair work involving a Cal Shake roof. We recommend reroofing in all cases because there is not any Cal Shake product available to perform repairs. We regret any inconvenience this may cause our customers, but we have built our reputation on providing quality roofing products and services, and we cannot stand behind repairs to this discontinued product. Bilt-Well Roofing has been in business since 1936. We have a triple A (AAA) rating with the Better Business Bureau and are in perfect standing with the California State Contractors Board.
5.0

07/16/2007


CHRISTOPHER B.

I live on a hillside, so it was very difficult to get the materials to the curb. All the materials had to be carried by hand. The cost for the service was about eight hundred dollars more than the original estimate, but it was not the company's fault. When they were giving me the estimate, they gave me a heads up and said that there could be additional things that would have to be done. These were all things that could not have been told though prior to starting the work. Overall, I was very pleased with this company! I would recommend this company to anyone needing roofing work done.

Description of Work
They tore off my existing flat roof and replaced it with a new one.

Category roofing

5.0

02/14/2007

We have a cottage-style and they had no problems with it. They followed through big time on everything that they promised to do. They had a good price. They provided me with some good information. I trusted them. I do not remember the price.

Description of Work
They put new shingles on the roof or our 1500 square-foot home. It took six squares of shingles. They put new sheathing under the shingles. They did a good job of cleaning the yard up at the end of each day.

Category roofing

5.0

02/14/2007


Sherry P.

The roofers worked on our roof as fast as possible. They took about a week to get the whole thing done and everything they did looks great! I have not found any leaks in our new roof.

Description of Work
Bilt-Well Roof & Material Company put 15 rolls of composite roofing on our house.

Category roofing

3.0

10/25/2006


Marie W.

I thought I was supposed to get the permit from the City, the company ended up getting the permit. It took months for me to get the receipt from City to show the company that I bought the permit. I only got a partial refund. They had to squeeze me in when they had time to work on my project, and only gave me a days notice. I was not very happy!

Description of Work
I had them come to repair a patch of my roof.

Category roofing

3.0

10/02/2005

I WAS HAPPY WITH THE ROOF ON THE NEIGHBORS HOME BUT FOUND THE WAITING TIME WAY TOO LONG TO HAVE MY ROOF PUT ON ONCE SIGNED (3 1/2 MONTHS) BECAUSE THEY HAD TO APPROACH THE CITY OF AGOURA 3 TIMES BEFORE GETTING FINAL APPROVAL ON TILE MATERIAL. THEN THE MATERIAL WAS ON BACK ORDER. THEY COULD HAVE SAVED SOME TIME IF, AFTER INITIAL APPROACH, THEY KNEW THE WEIGHT LIMIT ON TILE.

Description of Work
THE JOB WAS TO REMOVE OLD ROOF (WOOD SHAKE) AND INSTALL A NEW ROOF (TILE MATERIAL) WITH LIFE LONG MATERIALS.

Category roofing

5.0

08/17/2005


SHIRLEY V.

BILT-WELL ROOFING WAS WONDERFUL TO WORK WITH. THE BEST. THEY WERE NEAT AND CLEAN AND VERY PROFESSIONAL. PROMPT.

Description of Work
I HAD A WHOLE NEW CERAMIC TILE ROOF INSTALLED BY THEM. THEY ALSO PROVIDED ALL THE MATERIALS AND HAULED AWAY THE OLD ROOF.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bresnahan Rain Gutter Cleaning

    We would prefer a call or text for the fastest service. Thank you!!! **Please call and text Pat at 323.314.7837 if you're interested in service. He answers all inquiries very quickly.** Specializing in all aspects of rain gutters and rain gutter maintenance, Bresnahan Rain Gutter Cleaning has valuable experience dealing with common rain gutter problems, such as unwanted water drips, standing water, water that overshoots the gutters, gutters that pull loose from the roof and debris trapped in gutters. We offer a wide range of gutter services, such as aluminum gutter installation, custom gutter installation, gutter cleaning, gutter maintenance and gutter repair and top-notch Commercial rain gutter cleaning. We also provide window washing and window cleaning services. Additional website: https://cleanraingutter.com/ For fastest scheduling please call or text Pat at (323) 314-7837.  

    Offers by Bresnahan Rain Gutter Cleaning on Angi
    Squeegee Clean Home Detailing

    We offer the highest level of detailed window cleaning (inside and out), gutter cleaning, and pressure washing. We are a family-owned company that to date has had 100% satisfied customer satisfaction. We have been in business for over 2 years and are expanding into new territories over the summer!  

    Clean Choice Window Cleaning

    Clean Choice Window Cleaning Has been serving Southern California Since 2021.We pride ourselves On great work so that our customers are extremely happy and satisfied, one of our main goal is to provide you with great service with a great price so that you are happy and you will call us again  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Roofing - asphalt shingles, fiberglass shingles, wood shingles and shakes, tile, slate, synthetic roof products, missing or torn shingles & gutter cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co

    How is Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co overall rated?

    Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co open?

    Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co provide

    Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co?

    No, Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offer?

    Bilt-Well Roof & Material Co offers the following services: Roofing - asphalt shingles, fiberglass shingles, wood shingles and shakes, tile, slate, synthetic roof products, missing or torn shingles & gutter cleaning.