Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2005

4.7

(17) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

26359 S WESTERN AVE

Lomita, CA 90717

Description

Since 1976, Discount Pool & Spa Supply has provided the South Bay with superior service, competitive prices, and a welcoming and knowledgeable team of swimming pool and spa professionals. We have been named South Bay’s Best by Daily Breeze readers and also received the “Super Service Award” by

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/12/2022


jennifer F.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!! My mom upgraded her pool and it took an incredibly long time to complete. Even after completion it has been one issue after the next and the pool has been GREEN the majority of the time and the heater hasn't worked consistently since installation either! When we asked for help, we were told they needed to charge us more and the service manager was incredibly rude on the phone putting blame on us! The area around the brand new heater and pump system is full of debris, and old pipes that were just left there. We were NEVER trained how to properly use the system and again that is our fault! The pool vacuum wasn't even installed in the DEDICATED LINE THEY installed...instead, it was shoved in the filter basket and hanging out! To add insult to injury, they didn't even install the equipment that was requested. Our pool worked better before the $40,000 investment! I have never dealt with a company that didn't guarantee their work or even support their paying customers when issues come up. (Full disclosure (bc I try to find positives in every situation): their tech Sam is the only positive thing about the company! he is responsive, informative and more importantly KIND!!) I try to work things out with companies before posting reviews as I realize complications come up...I have tried on more than one occasion to work this out with them directly for weeks.

Description of Work
Complete pool remodel and upgrade

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/03/2017


Aaron C.

Everybody at the store was terrific - friendly, responsive, and informative. They explained their recommendations well, and did not try to talk us into spending more than was needed. In fact, they steered us away from some of our suggestions that they considered a bad use of our money. Sam, the guy who did the installation, was punctual, polite, knowledgable, and really good at his job.

Description of Work
Install new equipment for backyard pool. The old equipment was between 30 and 50 years old, and the plumbing was kind of crazy. We bought and installed a new pump, heater, filter, and timer.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

12/21/2016


TONY V.

ALL THE SALES REPS THERE AT DISCOUNT ARE SO KIND AND HAVE THAT READY TO HELP ATTITUDE. DEFINITELY MADE ME MORE CONFIDENT IN MY PURCHASE. EVEN WHEN I WAS UNSURE ABOUT MY PURCHASE, THE SALES REPS THERE OFFER SO MANY CHOICES AND PRICES AND SHOWED ME BROCHURES AND EXAMPLES. DEFINITELY MADE ME CONFIDENT IN MY PURCHASE. EVEN OFFERED INSTALLATION. THEY DO EVERYTHING HERE. WILL FOR SURE BE BACK TO DISCOUNT!

Description of Work
NEEDED TO PICK UP SUPPLIES AND PURCHASE EQUIPMENT.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We appreciate the opportunity to help with your pool supplies, repairs or remodeling.
5.0

07/14/2016


DELANEY J.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the " A " rating we appreciate it very much!
4.0

04/21/2016


Robert S.

Jesse the repair man showed up about noon and diagnosed the problem. Gave me a choice of repairing the pump part or getting a new combined model with both motor & pump assembly. I chose the latter since what i had was pretty old and repair parts hard to find. And it also should have made the repair simple & easy to perform.

Description of Work
Verified that the water leak was coming from the Jet pump. Obtained a single unit pump and motor assembly. Installed and reconnected to the water flow system.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the positive review. We appreciate your business.
5.0

10/16/2015


Robert H.

Showed up on time. Quickly replaced motor.

Description of Work
Replaced SPA pump motor.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the "A" rating, we appreciate your business.
5.0

09/23/2015


Richard & Trisha R.

Jim came out the day before and assessed the situation. When we got home the next day, everything was fixed and back to normal. Discount Pool has been taking care of our pool needs (not weekly service) for almost two decades. We met Jim early on and always request him for the work because he does a fine job.

Description of Work
Replaced grate in spa.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Hello, Thank you for your business and for this "A" rating. We are always here to help with your pool and/or spa.
5.0

06/18/2015


Matthew W.

Description of Work
pool

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the "A" rating. We are always ready to assist you with all of your pool and/or spa needs.
5.0

02/02/2015


Neil S.

Performed the job any assistance of questions.

Description of Work
Install variable speed pool pump & Controller.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to help with any future pool/spa repairs or installation if need be and we're pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the work and our customer service.
5.0

10/21/2014


WILLIAM D.

They actually were early from the appointment and had all the equipment with them. The work was reasonable and the tech was personable.

Description of Work
Replace filter for above ground pool. Replaced second jandy valve and replaced second check valve.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience and we are always happy to help!
5.0

05/20/2014


Richard & Trisha R.

Pool Filter and spa filter not working, called store on 4/4/14 and first opening was 4/9/14 with repair man "jim". He is familiar with our filter and he flyer it. we like him.

Description of Work
Cleaned pump impeller.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

02/23/2014


Anthony M.

Good.

Description of Work
Troubleshoot and repair broken pool filter.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

01/16/2014


darlene B.

They are very good and honest. I highly recommend them to others. The prices are terrific as well.

Description of Work
I hired him to fix my pool.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate the feedback!
5.0

12/10/2013


Leonard G.

came and did it correctly

Description of Work
pool filter clean and chemicals

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review and want to thank you for choosing us to maintain your pool equipment. We always make an effort to provide outstanding service and it is great to hear that you were happy with the service that we provided.
5.0

10/05/2013


Daniel P.

I installed the pump & didn't were a right. He showed me what was wrong and then fixed it. Friendly, fast competent.

Description of Work
Pool pump rewiring & programming & orientation, friendly, fast competent.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

08/18/2013


Richard K.

Had a brief, to the point call and they gave me 3 price options. I picked mid price. They came out 3 days later and put it in. Did not compare shop.

Description of Work
Replaced an existing pool heater with a new one.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your input! We strive to satisfy our customers so it's nice to hear that you're happy with the services that we provided.
5.0

09/29/2005


PAULA Q.

I REALLY LIKE THIS CO. THEY DID A GOOD JOB AND THEY CAME ON TIME. THEY BRING ALL THE TOOLS (BRUSHES AND NET) TO PERFORM A GOOD JOB. THEY EXPLAIN WHAT KIND OF CHEMICALS I NEED TO CHANGE IN ORDER TO GET A DEEP BLUE COLOR WATER. I REALLY LIKE IT.

Description of Work
THEY CAME TO CLEAN THE FILTERS AND SWEEP THE BOTTOM OF THE POOL. I REALLY LIKE IT, BECAUSE THEY DID A GOOD JOB.

Category pool cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling

    There’s A Reason Over 30,000 Families Have Trusted Alan Smith Pool Plastering Since 1981 We Always Insist On Doing Every Job Exactly Right. *No cheap sub standard cements, aggregates or pigments in our pool finishes *No sub-contracted, unqualified & inexperienced plastering finishers(We only have an “A” team) *Every job is run by a team of experts and has a dedicated project manager. *No inflated pricing, all estimates come from a company price list. Quality work at a fair price. What a concept! Yes you have dozens-maybe even hundreds of options- for resurfacing and remodeling your pool. And the question we get all the time is “why should we go with Alan Smith Pool Plastering?” To be up front with you, we’re not the cheapest contractor. We’re also not the fastest. If you are looking for fast and cheap, head down to the Home Depot or Lowe’s or call around to some of our competitors. That being said, our work is not exclusively for the rich and famous either. In fact, our typical customer has a 15,000 gallon pool, makes between $75,000-$100,000 in household income, and spends between $5,000-$15,000 with us on their pool and spa renovation.(yes several choose to upgrade and remodel their entire backyard with pavers, patio covers, masonry and outdoor lighting) In other words, we cater to people who can afford to do the job right the first time. People who want the job to outlast their lifetime, and we don’t want to save a few dollars by using cheap materials and labor instead of quality products and an experienced work force. Here’s what your really need to know. Our pool surface warranty is 10 YEARS because once we resurface your pool it is NOT coming off since we use advanced pool prepping technology that creates a high strength bond. Most of our jobs are from past customer and referrals from friends, neighbors and family-they like us enough to come back. We do a really good job-and we have since 1981. We DO NOT clean pools. Call us to discuss your project.  

    Absolute Pools Resurfacing Inc

    Absolute Pools Resurfacing Inc. specializes in pool resurfacing using our top of the line Absoluteglass (fiberglass). We have over 26 years experience and also do pool and spa repairs. Our main focus is to please our customers with our amazing, and detailed work. :)  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Absolute Pools Resurfacing Inc on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial pool and spa service, repairs and remodeling, energy efficient equipment, salt systems, automation, filters, pumps, & heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    Repairs on Jetted bathtubs, fireplaces, & BBQs. We do not sell patio furnature.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY

    How is DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY overall rated?

    DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY open?

    DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY provide

    DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY offer free estimates?

    No, DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY does not offer free project estimates.

    Does DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY?

    Yes, DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY offers warranties.

    What services does DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY offer?

    DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY offers the following services: Residential and commercial pool and spa service, repairs and remodeling, energy efficient equipment, salt systems, automation, filters, pumps, & heaters.

    Are there any services DISCOUNT POOL SUPPLY does not offer?

    Repairs on Jetted bathtubs, fireplaces, & BBQs. We do not sell patio furnature.