Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Decks Plus

Founded 1999 • With Angi since June 2010

4.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

243 Murdell Ln

Livermore, CA 94550

Description

Decks Plus is a family owned & operated business. We have been building quality decks and covers for over 10 years. We specialize in composite materials such as Timbertech and Trex. DBA Top Notch Decking

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

10/23/2014


Martin M.

The kids(20's/30's) he has as builders... overall worked like slugs and were potty mouths in my yard. I have kids and they smoked and used foul language every day. They argued... was very wearing to have them around. They were supposed to come back to complete a final portion, called email, no response. I hired someone else to finish... I WIL NOT HIRE THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
They designed and built a deck. The designer and estimators was good...

Category decks

4.0

06/04/2014


Dorothy H.

For the most part the work was excellent. However, they made the steps too narrow and had to come back and expand them. I had them come back to do some additional work (a second set of steps) and they fixed the first set of steps at that time. Some of the trim is coming off and I just haven't called them back to fix. They were prompt and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Replaced my wood deck with a timber tech deck including steps and lighting.

Category decks

5.0

08/12/2013


Edman C.

I was really pleased with Deck's Plus, especially after some really frustrating experiences I have had with other contractors. Deck's Plus is a family run business. Matt Anderson, the dad, takes care of the design elements and the actual construction is handled by his sons operating under the name of Anderson Arbors. We were working with a design that a previous contractor had come up with for us and Matt made some good suggestions for improving upon it. Construction was FAST and I'm pleased with the overall quality of the work. Pricing was competitive with other bids and communication was decent throughout the course of the project.

Description of Work
Built a pool cabana and an arbor

Category decks, sunrooms

5.0

06/11/2013


Kathleen D.

The person who came out was very thorough, gave us detailed diagram on what our deck is going to look like when it was finished and detailed information when we decided to turn it into a sunroom. He was very receptive to our phone calls when we had additional questions or when we thought of something that we didn't mention to him. The people who came out to work came out at the time that they said they would arrive and left at the time that they said they would leave. They were very careful of the plants, flexible and cleaned after themselves. The owner had great insight and was able to actually improve on some of the designs we suggested. We were very happy with the quality of their work and their price was competitive. We would absolutely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
We used Decks Plus for porch remodeling and they added a sunroom.

Category decks, sunrooms

3.0

04/30/2013


Paul R.

We were obtaining quotes for a new backyard deck, and Decks Plus was one of the companies we chose. An appointment was made and a young man showed up on time, and indicated that his dad was a little sick and that he would be filling in. The young man listened to what we proposed and took all the measurements. He said he would need to give all the information to his dad, and that he would get back to us with the estimate. That was last month and we have not heard back from Decks Plus. This is not the first time over the years that a contractor does not get back to us with an estimate...not sure if the job is too small, or its not to their liking in some way. I just would rather someone would just say they didn't want or have time for a particular job.

Description of Work
We made an appointment for an estimate for a backyard deck

Category decks

5.0

12/10/2012


glen H.

Contacted Matt at Decks Plus to come out to the house and take a look at our redwood deck that had obvious wood rot in the joists and framing. I told Matt I was interested in a composite deck such as Trex or Timbertech. We had a discussion on the various differences of the two and was provide samples of each. Matt stated that he had extra stock of a particular color and would include the installation of additional steps from our driveway at no additional cost if we chose that particular color. The color wasn't our first choice but it was second so we went ahead and had it installed as the savings was significant. The installation went smoothly except for a one day delay due to the heavy storms we had during that time and had nothing to do with Matt's crew. They basically tore out the old deck, joists and framing and reinstalled everything with a superior product. When they were finished, we were extremely pleased with the fit and finish of the deck and the color turned out to be perfect. Would recommend Decks Plus enthusiastically and will use them most definitely again for a larger deck project.

Description of Work
Replaced my front entrance deck which also required brand new framing and joists on a hill side slope.

Category decks

5.0

06/27/2012


Gary P.

Very well,

Description of Work
Deck Plus - Did an outstanding job building a new deck for our home in Peasanton. The price was reasonable, i compared with three other contractors and did a supply cost estimate. Matt, and his son did the job in a little over one week and were very professional. They not only removed the old deck but built a new composite material deck with little extracts that make it special. We were very pleased with the results and service. Gary & Maria

Category decks

5.0

01/05/2012


Juliette M.

Matt Anderson is a wonderful contractor to work with, he listens to your concerns or ideas and gives plenty of suggestions and solutions to make it work. His team of workers are professional. Shaun is especially good with working with intricate cuts and fitting all the pieces together, and did the majority of the work. My husband is handicapped, So we had part of our existing pavers raised up in a ramp like fashion to meet up with the new deck. and another ramp was made to allow my husband to get down to the dock with his power wheelchair. My husband and I just love our deck. We would definitely use Matt's services again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Added a new deck approx 16' by 30' using Gossen gray deck material. Had Timbertech railings custom made so our yorkies could not get out in between the spindles, plus 2 custom gates made. The deck was cantilevered another 3' the length of it. Two outside electrical outlets added to railings. Part of the existing pavers on the side yard were ramped up to meet with the new deck. Our existing picket side yard fence was raised to match the slope of the pavers

Category decks, fencing, remodeling, hardscaping

5.0

04/26/2011


Michael S.

Matt who is the company owner gave the estimate. He clearly explained the pros and cons of various materials and was quite candid in his advice. In the end we choose 2X6 Con Heart Redwood as was the original. At the time of the estimate I had already removed most of the decking allowing inspection of the underpinning (Frame). Other quotes I received recommended it too be replaced but Matt believed with some repair it could be reused with a reasonable life span. This saved added expense. We signed on the agreement with an estimated 1-2 day completion period. Day 1: The crew arrived on time and completed the remainder of the demolition and frame repair. During this it became apparent that one of the rim joists needed replacement which was not visible at the initial inspection. Being unanticipated, they did not have the material to replace it but said they would when they returned to install the decking. Day 2: I was informed the remaining materials would not be on hand until day 3. While assuming the 1-2 day completion were consecutive I had other commitments on day 3. We have a Zero Lot Line property and must be present for access. Once Matt understood this he was more than willing to work around my schedule. Day 3: The crew arrived at the pre-arranged time and completed the remaining repairs and decking on time. There was no extra charge for the unanticipated rim joist replacement. Side Note: The quality of lumber used was good by today's standards but not good objectively. Con Heart these days contains many knots and many flat grained boards.

Description of Work
Replaced redwood decking on a simple 200 sq. ft. ground level deck.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

02/12/2011


Vicki M.

Deck looks great. Had to build around hot tub which is embeded in deck so more complicated than straight decking. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Resurfaced wood deck with Trex using original wood frame and core rail posts.

Category decks, remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Living Window Fashions

    At Home Living Window Fashions we believe that your home should be one of your favorite places on Earth. Everything we do is organized around helping you make that vision a reality. We offer the highest quality Shutters, Motorized Window Coverings, Retractable Awnings, Outdoor Shades, Sail Shades, and other products to help you love where you live.  

    Angi Certified

    Strider Construction Inc

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    California Sunrooms, INC

    We are a family owned company that has been in business for over 30 years serving California. We offer many options in financing as well as monthly sales and deals.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Ask for Details

    Services Offered

    Decks building, maintenance, repair, railing & stairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Decks Plus

    How is Decks Plus overall rated?

    Decks Plus is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Decks Plus open?

    Decks Plus is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Decks Plus provide

    Decks Plus accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Decks Plus offer free estimates?

    Yes, Decks Plus offers free project estimates.

    Does Decks Plus offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Decks Plus offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Decks Plus?

    No, Decks Plus does not offer warranties.

    What services does Decks Plus offer?

    Decks Plus offers the following services: Decks building, maintenance, repair, railing & stairs.