Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bear Flag Construction

Founded 2009 • With Angi since July 2010

4.8

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Po Box 8026

Laguna Hills, CA 92653

Description

Licensed, bonded and insured general contractor. complete renovation and remodeling of residential and home improvements, commercial tenant improvment, doors and windows landscape,hardscape,custom carpentry and earthquake repair. Additional address - 24611 Creekview Dr, Laguna Hills, CA, 92653.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/13/2018


Tami S.

It went very well! The owner, Keith, called me the same day I messaged him. He arrived on the scheduled day, completed the job in the amount of time he said he would, and cleaned up the area perfectly afterward.

Description of Work
ROOF REPAIR -- We needed some roof repair due to wood rot. Bear Flag replaced the boards (which they primed and painted), replaced the underlayment, and repaired some broken roof tiles.

Category contractors, roofing

5.0

08/15/2016


Justin C.

Keith managed the project through ups and downs in timeline and unexpected setbacks (unforeseen plumbing issues etc) extraordinarily well. Most importantly, Keith kept to the budget and worked with purpose, attention to detail, and integrity throughout the job. Keith was always ensuring that things were done to my utmost satisfaction. One such example: our designer had a specific bath tub spec'ed out and when it arrived, it didn't look right to me. Keith could tell I wasn't happy (not his fault) and encouraged me to do it right even though it meant more work and a delay for his job. He did not charge me extra for the inconvenience, just saying he wanted to make sure I was happy. Keith is an extremely honest guy. He may or may not give you the cheapest bid, but he sticks to the estimate given as much as possible and doesn't cut corners to get there. I cannot recommend Keith highly enough - he always had my back throughout the project and I can rest easily knowing things were done right!!

Description of Work
Full Master Bathroom remodel including demo, rebuilding a shower, installing a freestanding bathtub, painting, tiled flooring, baseboard work, and many other items. We needed a contractor to manage the entire process and bring in subcontractors to fill niche need.

Category contractors, drywall, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/25/2016


John L.

I've been a homeowner for over 35 years and have done lots of projects Keith is one of the best. He listens, provides meaningful input and most of all, he does what he says.

Description of Work
Build and replace wooden gates. Replace wooden facia on front walls.

Category contractors, roofing, siding

5.0

01/18/2016


Justin C.

They did the job right!! Basically, there was a ton more damage than any of us expected, but Bear Flag did the whole job and tried to minimize additional expense. I'd use them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Bear flag basically rebuilt my entire wood balcony after some dry rot issues.

Category contractors

5.0

11/29/2015


Hans T.

All work was done professionally, cleanly and quickly. Very reliable service, high quality work. Very accommodating to change orders. No complaints. Keith is a stand-up guy. Looking forward to working with him again.

Description of Work
Framing, Plumbing, Bathroom remodeling, Tiling, Shower/sink/toilet installation, Flag stone repair, Drywall repair, Repainting, Flooring, Baseboard installation, Electrical, Duct work.

Category drywall, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/17/2015


Vance G.

It went very well. We were please with the outcome. :^)

Description of Work
Drywall texturing, painting, flooring

Category contractors, drywall, interior painters

1.0

03/10/2015


dawn S.

The owner (Keith Misumi) came to my house and gave me a verbal estimate. He said he would send an e-mail with details and verification of cost for the work. I never received the e-mail. I called him about a week later and got his voice mail and left a message asking him to call or resend the e-mail. I did not receive any reply.

Description of Work
Gave a verbal estimate for work to be performed.

Category contractors

5.0

01/12/2015


Dana M.

Response was immediate and professional. Chose another company whose cost estimate was very close to Bear Flag Bid.

Description of Work
Kieth's response to my bid request was very prompt and his estimate was immediate. Very professional approach. I did not use his services and chose another company whose cost estimate was quite close to Bear Flag Const. I would not hesitate to call for another occasion.

Category contractors

5.0

09/11/2014


Valerie J.

I decided not to do anything at this time.

Description of Work
Give us an estimate.

Category contractors

1.0

09/07/2014


Teri P.

I had 1 set of drawings done. No copies. I told him this was my only copy. But he assured me the work could be done, and within next month or so and within my price range. So I gave him the drawings so he could write up a contract and get an exact price. He said he could have his cabinet maker do. The cabinet maker never responded. I asked for my drawings to be scan/emailed, faxed or dropped off. He will not answer me or return them I have now lost a week in not being able to show drawings to other potential contractors/carpenters. He will not respond to email, text or phone! VERY DISAPPOINTED AND I NEED MY DRAWINGS BACK NOW

Description of Work
Came out to look at doing my closet interiors.

Category contractors, closet systems

5.0

03/21/2014


Chris J.

They did a good job. If there have been any issues, they came out right away and fixed them. There have been issues three months down the line and they have been very responsive. He calls back and I would use them again.

Description of Work
Bear Flag Construction did roofing,siding, windows, doors and interior bathrooms. They also did insulation and electrical.

Category picture framing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

5.0

02/24/2014


Bruce S.

file:///Users/Bruce/Pictures/iPhoto%20Library/Originals/2013/Dec%2030,%202013/IMG_3620.JPG Keith Misumi of Bear Flag Construction has been the contractor for three of my projects--one commercial and two residential. All of the projects have turned out very well and I always appreciate his attention to detail. He copied the casings for windows and doors for our 1908 bungalow with great precision and craftsmanship. He also finds the best craftsmen to work with him on projects like restoring the original hardwood fir floors for the bungalow. He offers ideas yet respects the wishes of the homeowner. He is great with paint colors and has offered paint suggestions that have worked out very well. He understands and respects older houses and really has that craftsman touch (he personally does much of the finish work and is on the job site most of the time). His prices are reasonable and his work has always been finished on time and on budget.

Description of Work
Remodel of historic 1908 Craftsman bungalow. Replaced electrical wiring, plumbing, trim. Removed walls and upgraded kitchen and refinished floor.

Category contractors

5.0

07/09/2013


Lynne H.

There was a little mix up about the starting date. Once that was straightened out, the crew was punctual, professional and friendly. We had removed some shingles that were on the outside of the house because of termites. My husband replaced the shingles with plywood and bought siding to install. My husband realized it was more work than he thought and we hired Keith to both put the siding on and paint the whole exterior. Keith's labor price to replace the siding was very reasonable, especially considering they had to remove some of the plywood that had been put up incorrectly by my well-intended husband. Their attention to detail was great. They caulked everything after washing the whole house, in preparation of painting. Keith double and triple checked to make sure the color we were using looked how we wanted it to look. We had received another estimate to paint the house and finish the siding and it was more than $1000 more than Bear Flag. I believe Bear Flag knows their business and I would definitely recommend them and hire them again if needed.

Description of Work
put up siding and paint exterior of house

Category contractors, siding, house painters

5.0

04/19/2013


Marie C.

Keith was really nice, and came back later to check out and fix a small issue. They were always on time and would stay late if needed, and even pointed out that we had termite droppings on our roof. He was very accommodating and his crew was very clean and nice as well.

Description of Work
They did dry rot repair.

Category woodworking

5.0

03/27/2013


james C.

He was very responsive and professional. He did an excellent job, and his prices were much lower that I was quoted elsewhere. I would not hesitate to recomend his services, and we are having him look at some other jobs for us.

Description of Work
Keith came to our home and finished the instaltion of an entry door and the trim around the door.

Category contractors, woodworking, doors

5.0

01/01/2013


Anne-Becky H.

I wouldn't hesitate to call Keith again for any of the construction or fixes i have here in my home. I have referred Keith to my son for work on his newly purchased home.

Description of Work
Keith has done a tremendous job on several problems and/or fixes in our home. He has always been professional, punctual and trustworthy. He has worked on roof leak walls, patching and installing new baseboards to match what we already had. Painted them as well. He rehung a rear door and put in safer/new hinges. He replaced existing ceiling/light/fan, installed bathroom vent/fan and many more things.

Category contractors, drywall, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, doors

5.0

08/31/2012


Mike H.

Keith the owner was very professional, on-time, honest and dependable. He did the work as described and the quality was excellent. He showed me pictures of the work in progress and explained some of the underlying issues to me. Overall I would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
I had 2 sections of facia boards replaced on my house. They were on the second floor so it was difficult. The work included painting.

Category contractors, house painters

2.0

08/23/2012


Nedalee R.

I was disappointed in Bear Flag Construction being that they came so highly recommended.

Description of Work
Keith came to my house early in the week to give me a quote on a job. He told me that he would have it ready for me later that evening. He knew I was in a rush to have work completed. It was not ready as promised. I had to follow up with him to get it the next day. We agreed on a start date of the following Monday but then he says that he would be able to start yesterday. I was happy to have him start early. He brought a crew of 3 guys with him and after 3 hours he said that he was declining the job.

Category contractors

Service Provider Response

Upon 1st visit for estimate she was doing a complete remodel;expressed that unable to get previous contractor to return; the home was full of items & was being painted; she wanted to move in 10 days. We agreed on a rate I wanted to help her get moved in and I started on the agreed start date with the appropriate crew. Everywhere I noticed items were incomplete and installed improperly. on that day I realized she was scheduling the job, the flooring installer she scheduled was there and it was the wrong day. He express to her things he needed to complete the job were not in place. She continued to belittle and threaten him and he was right. The shower/Tub surfaces that were to be tile were stated and waterproofed incorrectly needed to be removed and started over, a wall was installed without being anchored supporting a pair of solid wood doors and more. As she went over each item one by one her approach to addressing them superficial and uninformed she wanted short cuts to be used wanted it done her way. I realized within the first few hours that my approach and hers was not going to work. So much that we left, I paid my men at my expense and asked for no money. I did call her at work as I was leaving letting her know very nicely that we would not be able to help her. I am motivated to do a good job because I love what I do, I take pride in my accomplishments, and put forth a high standard of craftsmanship. I have been in this for over thirty years. I treated her with respect and received no money.
1.0

08/06/2012


Lydia B.

He came out three times for an estimate and never called us back. He came three separate times and gave a partial bid. The main thing we wanted done was masonry. He brought a general contractor and two subs to look at the job and we never heard back. He came across impressive the first visit and then it just deteriorated after that.

Description of Work
Bear Flag Construction was supposed to give us an estimate for masonry work.

Category remodeling, garage builders

5.0

05/09/2012


Pete V.

Everything was great from start to finish. Keith was running a little late for our initial estimate appointment and he was quick to call and let me know that he was stuck in traffic coming from the San Diego area. I really appreciated his call since other contractors I've worked with to get estimates either didn't bother to call me or just didn't care if they were running late. (In fact the window company I was working with didn't bother to show for our scheduled appointment that day). When he arrived, he understood the scope of what we wanted and provided some good ideas since I had not done a project like this before. We bid this out to several contractors and I picked Bear Flag because I felt the most comfortable with Keith. Also, Keith noted that he would be here to work on the project - which was different than many of the other contractors that I got bids from.A week before the job was going to start, Keith called to confirm. The day before the appointment, he called again to make sure that the next day still worked for me. He showed up at 7:45 am and started working right away. I was really impressed by the care and attention that Keith and his crew (Tim) took for the job. Rather than just rushing through breaks/lunch/etc. to try to get this job done as fast as possible, Keith and TIm took the time to do the job carefully and correctly. We've had issues with other guys coming in and just working as fast as possible to do another job/maximize margins, often times resulting in some pretty sloppy work. Not Bear Flag. I really got the feeling that Keith cared about doing a great job for us. (Which sadly, other people we have used didn't seem to care nearly as much about the quality of their work). In fact, I went up to take a look at the storage area when they were almost done and Keith seemed really happy that I was excited about how it was looking. The best part of the experience was the end of the job. Keith didn't have the exact thing he needed to secure a wire that neither of us anticipated needed to be secured after the fact. He told me that he would come back the next morning to secure the wire correctly. Keep in mind that the job is really 99.9% done. Storage attic looks great, ladder works great, etc. Did Keith ask for some payment? Nope. He wanted to get payment when the job was complete - after the wire was secured. Solid. He also got there first thing in the morning and finished up. We've got a few projects in mind for our home and I'm expecting Keith and Bear Flag to be involved in a majority of those projects.

Description of Work
Bear Flag Construction built a storage attic in our garage. There were some existing beams and some particle board that Keith replaced with studier 2x6 beams and a nice thick plywood floor. He also installed a pull down ladder.

Category contractors

5.0

03/02/2012


LaVonne H.

Keith arrived on time not only for the estimate, but all during the entire process. The area was clean after his work for the day was finished and Keith was very much interested in doing the best job possible for me. The work had to be extended due to some unepected difficulties that were at first visible to us. No change in the price occurred. All the work was finished in a very timely and professional manner. I have recommended Keith to several of my neighbors. Keith will be retained again in the future for seferal other projects that I have for him.

Description of Work
Keith replaced several of my fascia on my second story as well as the lower levels due to sun / termite damage.

Category contractors

5.0

12/10/2011


Gina S.

He was very professional and nice. I would definitely have him out for another bid in the future.

Description of Work
He came and gave me an estimate for some work.

Category contractors, stucco, house painters

5.0

09/01/2011


Robin R.

Great experience. in working with Bear Flag Construction, they were great on making suggestions on what to do and not to do. I did not feel as if I was improperly "upsold" for any reason. At first the price was merely competive and then became a better value once the work began and other projects related to the door installation became needed. It was still allincluded in the original estimate.

Description of Work
Installation and finish work of french doors, including staining, removal/haul away of old door, stucco and painting of outside.

Category contractors, doors

5.0

06/13/2011


Mary N.

I would have hired Keith immediately, but unfortunately the insurance company did not come through with a settlement and we have to do the repairs ourselves because of financial considerations. Keith was willing to work with us, but we just couldn't do it. From what I could see (as the ex-wife of a general contractor) Keith is very knowledgeable about his work, fair and honest in his dealings, responsible and reliable. I recommend him highly.

Description of Work
I live in the canyon area of Orange County and suffered debris-slide damage to my garage and an office attached to the garage in the slides before Christmas 2010. We had already removed dry wall and carpet to the slab. I was looking for someone wiling to do a smallish repair job consisting of drywall, doors, trim and paint in both the garage and the office. I spoke with Keith Misumi who returned my initial phone call promptly. Keith was straight-forward about his time commitments and we set an appointment for him to review the damage and give me an estimate. Our constraint for having the work done was payment by an insurance company, and he agreed to work with us. Keith called in advance of his arrival and showed up promptly for the appointment. He was very professional, noticed repairs that we had overlooked and definitely knew what he was doing. He gave us details of everything he would do and made excellent suggestions concerning the work. He left and emailed us an estimate for the job the next morning. The estimate was VERY reasonable, and I was willing to hire him to perform the repairs.

Category contractors, remodeling, doors

4.0

04/20/2011


Elvira S.

They were a little pricy. My problem with them was he wanted somebody else to paint the whole and I was not even interested in that.

Description of Work
I had some interaction with Bear Flag Construction. They gave me a quote about 3 weeks ago for siding.

Category siding

    Other local Pros in your area

    Carroll Building Solutions

    Our company invites you to experience prompt service and superior attention to detail. With over 12 years of experience our customer satisfaction is our top priority! We will earn your trust for a lifetime. We believe in making all clients repeat clients. You can be assured you're in good with our company working on your home improvement project. If you are looking for a contractor that follows business practices such as promptly returning phone calls, arriving on time for appointments and following through on promises then call our reputable company today.  

    Angi Certified

    GT Pavers

    GT Pavers has a team with over 60 years of combined construction and interlocking Paver experience. When it comes time to choose an expert paver installer, it’s important that you trust your project to an experienced paver company that has the team and expertise to get the job done right. Whether it’s a driveway, walkway, patio, backyard remodel, fire pit, pool decking or other similar projects. GT Pavers has years of know-how experience to handle highly specialized projects. GT Pavers will not only get it done right, but we’ll be more efficient and cost-effective than any competitor. We also offer a best-price guarantee, and we have been providing the highest quality work for Southern California customers for over 10 years.  

    Angi Certified

    Black Diamond Paver Stones & Landscape Inc

    Black Diamond has been family owned & operated since 2004 with local offices in San Jose, Novato, San Mateo, San Ramon, Santa Cruz, Carmel, Sacramento, and Thousand Oaks. With an exemplary reputation of being the leader in paver stone and landscape design & installation throughout California, our company's ultimate goal is to provide an exceptional client experience. Our family of experts will create your custom Dreamscape with a commitment to professionalism, quality, value, and customer service. We work with "Experts Only" to achieve 100% customer satisfaction by offering the highest quality work, including a 27 year warranty on paver installation & a lifetime warranty on paver stones.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home renovation, remodeling & commercial utilities,mechanical, plumbing, electrical, framing, demo, drywall, doors, windows, moldings, fireplaces, ceramic tile, flooring, roofing & landscaping.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bear Flag Construction

    How is Bear Flag Construction overall rated?

    Bear Flag Construction is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bear Flag Construction open?

    Bear Flag Construction is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 AM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 AM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 AM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 AM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 AM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Does Bear Flag Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bear Flag Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Bear Flag Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bear Flag Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Bear Flag Construction?

    Yes, Bear Flag Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Bear Flag Construction offer?

    Bear Flag Construction offers the following services: Home renovation, remodeling & commercial utilities,mechanical, plumbing, electrical, framing, demo, drywall, doors, windows, moldings, fireplaces, ceramic tile, flooring, roofing & landscaping.