Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN

Founded 2005 • With Angi since November 2009

4.8

(74) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 2251

La Mesa, CA 91943

Description

San Diego Master Craftsmen is a design/build general contracting company in the San Diego area specializing in large scale, high quality residential remodeling. We boast the best record in San Diego for accuracy in pricing and timing. We have a very unique and thorough approach to planning and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/20/2019


Karen R.

They did a really good job, were on time, and were on budget. We would highly recommend them and we would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen, bathroom and bedroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/11/2019


Philip E.

This extensive renovation began with various "baseline" objectives prioritizing structural integrity for my hillside home (strapping down all the posts and beams, reframing the roof, adding structural reinforcement where necessary and where required by current code, etc.). In time, the scope also included expansion of floor space. Throughout the entire process, Jon Hammer of San Diego Master Craftsmen was candid, transparent and willing to work closely with me on meeting my objectives. In short, I would describe him as someone many of us look for in a General Contractor: honest, responsible, creative and timely. More than anything, he listens to his clients, and tries to meet their expectations wherever he can. I am very satisfied, both with his responsiveness, and the quality of the work undertaken. The benefit of working with a design/builder like Jon Hammer is that he can look at a project and give you a good sense, ex ante, of what's involved, so you have a more accurate assessment of cost up front. Jon works closely with a seasoned team of sub-contractors and tradesmen. In my case, many of them were consulted in the design phase. In particular, we spoke at length with the engineers (I used structural, geotechnical and soil engineering services) to ensure the structural integrity of the renovation, and that it would meet all current codes. Jon talked me through these discussions in a very patient and comprehensive manner. I also worked with Jon's interior designer at this stage so that we could get a feel for end design requirements. During construction, Jon was very responsive and communicative. Our principal form of communication was by email, as I was living abroad at the time. But during my visits, Jon made himself freely available to meet with me, repeatedly and sometimes at the spur of the moment. I was always given a chance to provide feedback, every step of the way. Jon's sub-contractors did a superb job on the framing, masonry, plumbing and tile work. One important thing to keep in mind is that Jon directly assumes any responsibility arising from the work of the sub-contractors, occasionally at his own expense. The budget was a bit higher than initially forecast, due mainly to numerous enhancements identified during the course of construction (some of which were focused on meeting higher engineering standards). To Jon's credit, he provided me with full explanations of each change order, every step of the way. And he offered alternatives, which I appreciated. Overall, I have been very happy with the end results and would re-hire Jon for future work. Indeed, after this job, I hired Jon again to renovate my outside decks.

Description of Work
Whole House Renovation

Category ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, architect, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

03/01/2019


S A.

This is my 2nd time utilizing John and his company (San Diego Master Craftsmen). The first time I contracted him was to build a massive deck in my back yard. The deck he built is nothing more than grand, magnificent, and glorious. It transformed my backyard from a yard to a sanctuary! So I didn't hesitate to hire him again for my downstairs remodel. The following are the reasons I would suggest you consider using John Hammer and his company: 1. Integrity- John is the quintessence of integrity, He says what he means, and he means what he says. 2. Patience- John is patient with his clients. He understands there will be questions and concerns, and he will patiently take the time to explain anything and everything until you understand and are satisfied. 3. Knowledge- John knows his business. He knows what he's doing! 4. Humility- given the aforementioned attribute, John would have every right to be conceited. But he's the polar opposite! He exudes humility. 5. Commitment- John is committed to you! His yes means yes and his no means no. He won't tell you he can do something unless it's feasible and attainable. 6. Morality- John will NEVER up-sell you. He's a man of morality! For the aforementioned reasons, I highly recommend John Hammer and San Diego Master Craftsmen.

Description of Work
Downstairs remodel (Kitchen, hallway, and bathroom)

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/12/2017


Scott L.

This was a huge job and Jon Hammer and his company did an amazing job, always providing professionalism and quality work. I would recommend San Diego Mastercraftsmen to any residential or commercial project.

Description of Work
We had a complete remodel of the interior of our facility. It was a very complicated remodel with many areas of need. From electrical, to the construction of walls, doors, window installs, ceiling beams, flooring, plumbing, etc.

Category contractors, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors

5.0

09/07/2017


Dr. Nate L.

We could not be happier with the end result! Our deck was structurally unsound and unsafe for children and pets. SDMC developed a plan to secure the structure that was ascetically pleasing, cost effective, and sound for the long term.

Description of Work
San Diego Master Craftsmen successfully designed our family's back deck project and saw it through to the end with excellence. The level of professionalism demonstrated by their company built high trust and put us at ease. They obviously care personally about the quality of work and the people they serve. I recommend them wholeheartedly with no reservations whatsoever!

Category decks

5.0

08/29/2017


S A.

I contracted San Diego Master Craftsmen to build a MASSIVE deck onto the back of my house. I had preconceived ideas regarding aesthetics and materials. Thank God for John's wisdom and experience regarding all things construction. He made logical recommendations and suggestions that extended beyond my "limited" perspective and perception of what I envisioned the end result to be. What I was left with was a deck that should be listed in "San Diego Home and Garden Magazine". It was very intricate. John had to overcome hurdles such as an uneven slope of the property, and fabricating a way to cohesively tie in the deck to the existing landscaping. What he was able to accomplish was nothing more than miraculous. John suggestions not only saved me money (which proves his ethical business practices), but they were for materials that actually elongated the life of the deck, and gave it a richer, more luxurious look. Start to finish, the deck was done faster than predicted, and this was during the rainy season when delays seemed imminent. My wife and I couldn't be happier with the the service we received. Start to finish, John met every expectation. To say that he comes highly recommended by me would be an understatement. He is the BEST!

Description of Work
Detached 700 square foot deck, with pergola, 7' tall reclaimed wood privacy wall, and shade cloth built onto a slope at the back of my property. BEAUTIFUL!

Category decks, picture framing, home builders, woodworking, architect, hardscaping

5.0

02/26/2017


Janet M.

From our initial meeting with Jon Hammer, it was clear that he is a highly professional contractor with excellent communication skills and attention to detail. His focus was on meeting our goals and working within our established budget. His process of detailed planning before our project began, enabled the work to proceed smoothly. Our remodeling was completed within the established timeline and within our stated budget. He demonstrated excellent supervision and communication with his work crew. Additionally, the crew then communicated with us well and took our concerns into account. We would definitely work with Jon again.

Description of Work
Extensive home remodeling, including kitchen, dining room, master bedroom, two bathrooms.

Category custom cabinets, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/20/2017


ryan R.

Jon and his crew did a fantastic job. We felt we were in good hands from the outset, and we worked from budget to completion very efficiently and with high quality results. Jon stands by the work and made sure everything was done to perfection, we would hire him again without a doubt. The craftsmen were not only skilled but friendly and courteous and it made the process a lot easier to handle.

Description of Work
Full exterior remodel, HVAC and some interior touches

Category countertops, decks, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plastering, remodeling, stucco

5.0

12/11/2016


Tatyana S.

I am very pleased with my experience with San Diego Master Craftsmen and highly satisfied with both, the process and the end results. They worked on remodeling my kitchen and 2.5 bathrooms. Everyone at SDMC who I dealt with was very professional, committed to quality, attentive to details, committed to customer satisfaction, and pleasure to work with. I picked SDMC for my project not only because of all the good reviews and recommendations provided, but also because I liked that they work with you starting from the designs. I needed help on figuring out what exactly I wanted, I did not even know where to start. Their designer Heidi works with you on the designs, understands you taste and style, provides suggestions, helps to select the right option and pick products and materials. When we were done with the designs, I already had a picture in my mind of what the end result will look like, and at the end I actually got what I was expecting. Jon diligently works with your budget to make sure that cost of the project will fit into it. And when I realized that the scope of work was too much for my budget, he worked with me on eliminating and changing some items, adjusting the scope of work back and forth until I was happy with the project and the price. And I ended up paying the exact amount that was quoted upfront, no hidden fees or, no unexpected expenses, etc. The only change from the original cost was that we realized that one of my bath tubs was in bad condition and had to be replaced. But this was all discussed and agreed with me at the time, and it was not a surprise or unexpected cost change. All the work was performed while we were living in the house, and workers made sure to keep it as clean as possible on a daily basis, and they always made sure that we had an access to at least one shower, toilet, and were able to perform our daily activities. I was really impressed by the job done by their tile setter Jason. The way the tiles are measured, cut and positioned is just a work of art. Very nice work. Jon and Rick were very attentive to every remark I made, every question I asked, and every little (or not so little) change or fix I asked them to do, and when I was not happy about something, they kept redoing it for me until I was satisfied. San Diego Master Craftsmen is not the cheapest option you can find, but the quality of their work matches up with their prices. I definitely recommend them to everyone, and I would for sure hire them again.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bathroom remodel.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/23/2016


Tim S.

They were supper professional and did high quality work. We are very satisfied with their work.

Description of Work
Rebuild of our church facility. San Diego Master Craftsmen planned and executed a great rebuild for our new church campus. They coordinated projects and followed through with all construction.

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/10/2016


Adam R.

I've done many projects on different properties over the years, and this project with Jon Hammer and his team stands out for all the right reasons. From the very beginning it was clear this GC has excellent relationships with high quality tradesmen who enjoy working with him, which makes a huge difference. The scheduling was very well coordinated, the crews coming and going were professional, polite and clean, and the finished product is beautiful. They worked quickly, paid attention to detail, and were proactive in solving problems. Great process, great result. They will be my first call for any future project and I have already referred Jon to a number of people.

Description of Work
Extensive remodel to a home in Carmel Valley. New kitchen, structural reconfigurations, flooring, lighting.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

10/31/2015


Philip E.

Jon Hammer of San Diego Master Craftsmen worked with me as a General Contractor on all aspects of a major renovation, from design to construction. Jon brought in a team of specialists, including draftsmen, engineers and other tradesmen to work on the project. These are individuals he has partnered with for many years, and who work together because of their mutual respect for professionalism and craftsmanship (these are comments made to me on more than one occasion by the sub-contractors themselves). He also secured all permits required by the city to undertake the work. The design and renovation work was technically challenging because I own an older home built on a hillside. As such, quite a bit of the project involved structural reinforcement and support. Jon's team conducted itself in a highly professional manner, bringing both experience and expertise to all the challenges we faced during design and construction. Before contracting Jon and San Diego Master Craftsmen, I undertook a lot of due diligence, searching on-line and following up with all the references Jon provided me. I'm glad I did. On a job of this size, I wanted to make sure that the general contractor was someone I could work with, was transparent, approachable, candid and, most importantly, actually listened to my needs (prior to contracting Jon's services, I had interviewed about six other General Contractors in the area). Uniformly, the references Jon provided me had very positive experiences to tell. Without hesitation, I can add my name to that list of positive references. Working with Jon has been a pleasure, from the very start. As with all projects of this size, there have been challenges along the way. But Jon has tackled these in a very transparent and professional manner, and has always been conscious of my budget constraints, working with me to resolve issues in the most cost-effective manner possible. I am particularly grateful for the quality of work undertaken by Jon's team. Structurally, I feel far more secure that the house has been reinforced in an appropriate manner, and meets all current codes. Interiors have been constructed in a manner that specifically meet my objectives. And Jon has given me many good suggestions that we have incorporated into the work along the way. A simple example will illustrate. When we were laying out the split air conditioning units, Jon worked for days in figuring out locations that would work for me and at the same time would be technically feasible in my post and beam home. He and the framer, HVAC team and electrician worked together in putting together a perfect solution that would actually work at a practical level. Not that all of Jon's work is of this large scale. Many of the references I received were of a much smaller scale. But all of the feedback was similarly positive. And all had very positive things to say about Jon personally, as do I. I can, without reservation, give Jon and San Diego Master Craftsmen my highest recommendation. There are many horror stories floating about the internet regarding unfortunate experiences with General Contractors. I am happy to say that I have never had second thoughts about working with Jon and San Diego Master Craftsmen. It has been a pleasure. Philip Erquiaga

Description of Work
San Diego Master Craftsmen assisted me with all aspects of a major renovation, from design to construction.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/30/2015


Scott L.

We are highly impressed by the quality and care put into our project. They went above and beyond with details on the project and I can't say enough about how incredible the quality they put in their work. We are a local non-profit organization caring for the local homeless population as well as families in low income housing in our community. This "shower & shave" facility is a very important next step for people who are struggling to regain dignity and self worth as they rejoin society and the workforce. It will help us have incredible impact in the lives of many in San Diego. SD Master Craftsman donated this project completely and we are so very thankful! We would highly recommend them to anyone! Scott Laughlin Executive Director Project Reach World, Inc.

Description of Work
San Diego Master Craftsman built out an incredible bathroom/shower room, barber shop room and locker room for our facility that we love.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/29/2015


Thomas E. B.

San Diego Master Craftsmen (SDMC), owned by President Jon Hammer (licensed General Contractor), prides itself on thorough project planning and top quality construction. Mr. Hammer is selective in the projects undertaken to assure that the client?s priorities (quality, cost, & schedule) align with SDMC priorities, with quality being priority number one. SDMC limits the number of projects undertaken at one time to assure that Mr. Hammer and his staff will have the time to be thoroughly involved with each project from start to finish. For this house renovation, the project was divided between a design phase and a construction phase, with separate contracts for each phase. The design phase contract was at no cost to the clients as long as the clients proceeded to the construction phase. For the construction phase, this project was split to accommodate the client?s wishes to live in one half of the house while construction was performed on the other half, and then vice versa. Dividing the construction into two phases extended the project schedule as it meant all trade personnel would have to do their work in two different time periods. This scheduling approach was appreciated by the clients whose priorities were quality #1, cost #2, and schedule #3. During the design phase, SDMC worked diligently with the clients to define in great detail the project tasks and materials list. Significant effort was spent to minimize any construction surprises, even opening walls (with permission) if needed. As a method to assure quality, SDMC screened and carefully selected only subcontractors (the ?craftsmen?) that are proven, very experienced, and generally highly rated on various review sites. All of the project subcontractors visited the project site during the design phase to participate in the planning and estimating, thus helping to avoid the risk of construction surprises. This process also enabled the clients to meet and assess the personnel who would later be working on the job site; it was a positive experience. Although the clients spent considerable time and effort to describe the detailed project objectives and do preliminary designs, SDMC provided an excellent designer, Heidi, to work with the clients to refine the designs and assist in the picking of finishing details; she was very helpful and a pleasure to work with. The construction phase was completed without any significant surprises, a tribute to the thoroughness of the design phase. There were only two change orders, both of which were initiated by the clients. The quality of the craftsmen?s work was consistently good to excellent; any call-backs were of a minor nature or touch-ups. Noteworthy outstanding work was performed by the craftsmen in the areas of cabinetry, tile setting, drywall, ceiling finishing, flooring, and stucco. A particularly challenging construction task was the alteration and finishing of the master suite to be aging-in-place friendly including a curbless walk in shower with linear drain; the finished result is both functional and beautiful, and has already served as an example to prospective SDMC clients. There were two schedule impacting problems during the project, neither of which were the fault of SDMC. The first and biggest problem was a high-end purchased front entry door set that would never close properly; SDMC & the clients teamed cooperatively in a ten week dispute with the door manufacturer who finally agreed the door set was faulty and then manufactured a new set which took another six weeks. SDMC adjusted the construction schedule to work around the problem as best as possible, but the door delay did impact project finishing by a couple months. The other problem was with a tankless water heater that sporadically would stop heating water during showers. Again, SDMC worked diligently with the manufacturer, retailer, and plumber to attain resolution for a difficult problem due to its intermittent nature. Both problems must have cost impacted SDMC but never did they balk at standing behind their contract and completing the job as expected. All of the personnel on the project were professional, courteous, did not smoke on the job site, and never gave the clients any concerns about their presence. The clients were especially appreciative and thankful for SDMC?s on-site foreman, Rick; his attention to detail and creativeness reflected his lifetime experience in the field. At times, the clients felt the project cost may have been a little high, but acknowledge that attaining meaningful cost comparisons for a project of this scope is difficult. In the end, the clients recognize that obtaining quality work from professional & reliable trade personnel has a price tag, thus the clients feel the project cost was fair for the results attained. The clients therefore recommend SDMC be considered for any medium to large remodeling project, especially where quality has a higher priority than cost.

Description of Work
Renovation of a 1967 era 2200 square foot single story ranch style home including the following: project planning, design assistance, asbestos & lead testing and abatement, gut & rebuild two full bathrooms & a powder room, fabrication & installation of custom vanities with Silestone countertops plus storage cabinetry, installation of tile floors & tub/shower surrounds in the bathrooms, replace all windows and exterior doors, frame & install three new exterior multi-panel door sets, removal of old siding & faux stone, prep for and apply new stucco, plaster old floor-to-ceiling fireplace, relocate all supply plumbing from slab to attic, install tankless water heater, install additional electrical circuits & multiple LED light fixtures (both internal & external), remove "popcorn" ceilings & skim coat, gut and refinish a 300 square foot patio room, perform multiple small modifications to internal walls plus widening of doorways, significant amount of drywall repairs/replacement, painting of the interior and the external eaves, installation of new hardwood flooring throughout (except baths which were tiled),installation of new baseboards and casings, and perform a myriad of small finishing details associated with a project of this size.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

10/28/2015


Daniel S.

This was the THIRD project I enlisted Jon Hammer of San Diego Master Craftsmen to take on over a 4-year period. I wanted to renovate the guest bathroom (I did not have it done originally because I thought I would do the work myself once I moved in). Jon is busy with large projects but he made room in the schedule (as he always does) to take on the project. I had seen a photo of a bathroom on HOUZZ similar in size to my guest bathroom and it was exactly what I was looking for. Jon and his team of craftsmen made it happen and my guest bathroom is nearly identical to the photo I showed him. There were a few delays and follow up issues but Jon took care of them almost immediately. I love the result.

Description of Work
Guest bathroom renovation

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/26/2015


Sarah K.

SDMC owner Jon Hammer thinks creatively and has a great business sense. Because of the amount of planning prior to construction Jon was able to give us a clear,honest picture of what our project would cost,how long it would take and what to expect along the way.That attention to detail allowed us to relax and enjoy our remodel. Our house was built in the early 1950's and suffered through a homeowner remodel sometime in the 70's and we had some funky challenges to overcome.Jon's creativity allowed us to maximize what we love about our house and minimize the funkier aspects. The most heard comment from passersby has been that the house looks like it has always been this way even though we've added 2 bedrooms,a master bath and a second story deck! Last but not least,the relationships that Jon has with his sub-contractors are respectful,productive and pleasant.We live in a neighborhood where the houses are close together and having a construction project going on impacts our neighbors. All possible steps were taken to minimize the impact from maintaining a clean worksite to maintaining clean language.Each and every trade worked hard to produce a high quality result in a timely fashion. We have a beautiful remodel,completed on time and on budget-we are customers for life!

Description of Work
We added two bedrooms,a bathroom and a second story deck

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

06/27/2015


Scott I.

never performed the kitchen remodel

Description of Work
He never followed up.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately this review is not correct. I have a documented email conversation with this person. They didn't respond after several emails back and forth, so we assumed they were no longer interested in our services. We keep detailed records of everyone we come in contact with to make sure to provide excellent service and communication.
5.0

03/14/2015


Kathryn R.

Jon presented a comprehensive proposal, something that others we interviewed did not. He included all the items we wanted and kept it within our budget. He presented a realistic timeline and cautioned us that things can happen that may change the best made plans. We agreed ahead of time what would happen when unexpected things came up (and they will) and he always kept us updated. Jon seemed to be already in the process of correcting an issue by the time I noticed it. An important thing for us was his advice and experience. We had never done a complete renovation on a house before and Jon's experience kept us from making mistakes and forgetting details. He also stands behind the work, even when it was a sub contractor's item. There were two things in particular, one of the electricians damaged the heating ducts in our attic. When I showed it to John, he personally went and bought the replacement parts and did the repair himself. Later when we had an issue with the painting, Jon brought in new painters who had experience with the type of issue we were having and re-did the trouble areas. He is a man of good character and knows his business.

Description of Work
General Contractor for a house renovation.

Category electrician, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/25/2015


Chessa G.

I contacted Jon regarding kitchen work I wanted done (replace countertops and backsplash). It was about a 5 minute conversation that had a huge positive impact on my kitchen job. He very politely told me that he wouldn't be able to do the work, and recommended a company that he's used in the past that would be a better fit for what I needed. Jackpot! His referral was right on! The company ended up doing a wonderful job on my kitchen (finished within two weeks) and saved me a few bucks too. It really takes a standup professional to refer work elsewhere. Plus, the outstanding professionalism of the company he referred is a good indicator of his own quality and how he conducts business.

Description of Work
Provided upfront and honest recommendation and solid referral.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/03/2014


Ken K.

Jon was very outgoing and worked hard to keep the project on task and worked with us on some of the pricing to keep within our budget. He can prepared with drawings and was always open to hearing our concerns and making the changes. Our lead foreman Rick and the interior designer Heidi were both awesome -- always friendly and did just about anything and everything. It was a great comfort knowing Rick would be there to meet and direct the subs for each phase of the project. All of the subs were easy to work with and did a great job - it was awesome to see how Jon schedules his work so that the subs are constantly moving in sync with the various projects and there wasn't any down time where we were waiting for work to be finished at another location so they could work on ours. When we had a color issue with the stain on the stairs, the team worked quickly to re-stain them to match the floors and when there were small cracks in the tile of the fireplace, they were right there to patch the stucco. We've received tons of compliments on our remodel (we had one couple even stop by our place hoping the address for the house next door was wrong because they wanted to purchase our home after seeing the remodel) and have no doubt gotten our moneys worth with Jon and San Diego Master Craftsmen. We definitely recommend Jon and San Diego Master Craftsmen team.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of the upper floor of a 2-story home (street level) which included the family areas, staircase, custom cabinets, kitchen & dining area, garage and other hosting areas (including a bar).

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, interior designers, remodeling, woodworking, stucco, home remodeling

5.0

10/31/2014


Carmen C.

SDMC were super responsive and it was a pleasure to work with Jon and Rick. The thing that was most impressive was that they were able to stick closely to the timeline (and we had a very hard deadline for completing the project). Before the job started, Jon and his team carried out a very thorough planning process, going through each step of the project to plan for any on hidden surprises. A previous owner had renovated the house extensively, however SDMC uncovered some items that were not done well and if not corrected could cause greater problems in subsequent years. SDMC used several subcontractor on the job and three of them were exceptional - electrical, stucco, and hardscape/landscaping. The stucco subcontractor's work was very well done and I understood that re-stuccoing of the house was a bit complex as the existing surface had many many imperfections and required the skill of a stucco professionals. The railing work included 160 linear feet of bass and aluminum railing, including two stairs. The railing company was not local and there were few problems with the timeline, but Jon kept the pressure on the railing company. Because of the previous renovation work, the railing installation was difficult in a few places. However, the railing looks great with the new stucco and paint trim. Overall the process was very good. I think Jon does a really great job on staying on the proposed budget and on time. I give a "B" for price because I think his prices are high compared to other contractors, however the workmanship is high quality and delivered on time.

Description of Work
SDMC did an exterior update to our house which included rebuilding one deck, re-stucoo, paint trim and glass railings.

Category decks, electrician, remodeling, stucco, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, hardscaping

5.0

10/30/2014


GROFF B.

Our house was built in 1960 and the kitchen didn't date from much later than that, it was cramped and poorly laid out and the appliances were falling apart. We hired John Hammer at San Diego Master Craftsmen to redo the Kitchen for us. Apart from the kitchen remodel this was structurally tricky as this included adding an extension (2 stories up as our house in on a hill and the Kitchen is at the top -entry- level) and removing two support posts in the Kitchen to open up a wall between the old kitchen and the living room. The two best aspects of the work were speed and quality. Once we got started (it took the City of La Mesa *forever* to approve the architect's plan) it went nice and fast. John had given us a deadline in the contract and he worked consistently and finished well before the deadline (no large gaps of many days where no work was being done.). They organized it to have the least amount of impact on our use of the house/kitchen and worked hard to keep everything clean and keep the dust away from the rest of the house. There were no major surprises. We are also pleased with the quality of the work. It has now been a number of months since the project was completed and we are very satisfied, nothing has broken and for the one cosmetic crack that appeared in one of the new walls 4 or 6 months out John had his team come over and repair and repaint at no charge. The cabinets are very nice and we get many compliments on how the new kitchen looks. Two items to keep in mind though, Master Craftsmen works mainly on larger projects; I have a colleague who based on my recommendation called them for a bathroom remodel and was told that their project was too small for them to take on. The second item to be aware of is to make sure everything you want is explicitly (and unambiguously) called out in the contract. We had thought that we were OK with 3 paint colors (plus trim) in the interior but the contract was ambiguous; it said we would chose the colors but didn't specify how many so we had to pay extra for that. Also we assumed that the exterior paint would cover the new construction out to the corner (edge) of the existing wall so that the colors would blend in nicely but because that wasn't explicitly in the contract they only painted 1/3 of the wall and because paints never match exactly it looked off. John wanted us to pay extra for painting to the edge. (When the painter who was doing the work saw how it looked after the paint had dried he agreed that it looked wrong and did the extra painting at no charge). John was very good about doing every thing that was in the contract - no complaints about that - just make sure it is clearly in the contract, don't assume anything. Other than that we were very pleased and highly recommend them. We would definitely use them again for a project.

Description of Work
* Built an extension to the kitchen (2 stories up) * Removed posts in the old kitchen * Completely gutted and remodeled the old kitchen * Moved a door from the Kitchen to the Garage

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

This was a nice family with a fairly difficult project. And it came out great! We do projects of all sizes. At the time the client's referral called we were not taking on small projects due to our current volume. On occasion we do smaller projects, but we need our schedule to be available to accommodate the size of project. If we aren't able to help someone, I do try my best to point them in the right direction and do what I can. In response to the painting items and "extra" charges: I have never charged a client more than the contracted price unless they request extra work. In fact, we may be the only company around that has a perfect record of no extra charges (except for client requests). In this case the client was looking to cut costs anywhere they could, so the contract was very specific about what we were painting, and how many colors were included. I had quite a few discussions with the client about it prior to finalizing the contract. Any added costs on the project were requests for additional work from the client. And although the client assumed that the extra painting was done at no cost, I actually paid for it. In fact, there are quite a few things on this project (and most projects) that I choose to pay for because it would be higher quality (but I don't tell the client).
5.0

10/17/2014


Daniel S.

Three years ago I purchased a "patio-type" home in a planned community. Having served as an officer in the USAF for over 25 years, I was planning on retiring and wanted to find something to move to when I finished up my last assignment. The property was built in 1973ish time frame and had little done to it over the years. A young couple purchased the property after the original owner passed away and tried to "flip it" by remodeling the kitchen and the two complete baths. They put in substandard flooring throughout the house (rang like a bell when one dropped anything on it) and attempted to redo the two bathrooms by tiling them over and installing two cheap sink cabinets. The work was so shoddy; one could even see the bar code on the edges of the tile. In my opinion, they ran out of money and were clearly in over their heads. I knew there was a lot of work to be done but I liked the layout and the location. I was living in Virginia at the time and was unfamiliar with the San Diego area; especially with the contractor community. I turned to Angie's List (now I use the List on a nearly daily bases for anything) and looked up contractors. I found three that seemed to have good references and results. San Diego Master Craftsmen was the first I contacted and when I called I reached Jon Hammer. He was polite, attentive and was willing to meet me on the three-day window while I was visiting San Diego (a short notice visit). Having been stationed in Hawaii, I grew to like the "bungalow" style homes and hotels there and I have a friends who live in Craftsman style homes, built in the 1900s and early 1920s. I wanted the interior to reflect this style but in a more modern way. I described this to Jon and he drew up the plans. The proposal was exactly what I wanted, I signed the contract and gave him the keys to the place and left to return to Virginia. The point here is that I did not even consult with the other two contractors and I trusted him to do the job without any supervision on my part (perhaps a little reckless). I was not disappointed! Everything turned out exactly as I had hoped and envisioned; it was uncanny. His work was so well done, it made the shabby work done earlier (the original "selling points") appear even worse. I could not even look at the master bath and enlisted Jon to redo it. Again, I gave Jon the keys and again he did not disappoint. SD Master Craftsmen is a little on the expensive side but for me and my situation, I could not be happier. I trusted Jon, his opinions and he delivered. I am now retired and living in beautiful surroundings; San Diego is beautiful as well! Clearly I would have Jon and San Diego Master Craftsmen back...the guest bath still needs some work. Jon was always receptive; answered calls immediately or returned calls within the day; and he was clear regarding costs. Jon is proud of his work and frank about what is required. There were few delays (in my case it did not matter) and if there were delays, they were due to the fabrication of the shutters; clearly outside of his control. I had concerns with the master bath project (the second project) because I had some furniture and carpets now in the house; not to mention new wood floors and newly painted walls. I knew that retiling and plumbing, etc. could be dusty and dirty. Jon wrapped and protected everything before starting and there was no indication that workers had been there after the project. I have been very happy with San Diego Master Craftsmen!

Description of Work
Complete renovation of house's interior (except kitchen and guest bath) to include: window replacements and shutters; hardwood flooring and ceramic tiling (1400 square feet); new doors (customized and "real wood"); designed base boards and window/door casings in "Craftsman Style"; painted the entire interior; reconfigured an ugly linen closet to match the other rooms; finished garage with sheetrock; provided customized built-in bookshelves; and removed those ugly mirrored sliding closet doors and replaced with beautiful shuttered doors to match the window shutters. It was a total "face lift" for the interior.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

3.0

09/08/2014


Laura M.

They were okay but we didn't end up going with them. It was about $75,000. They did come out quickly but they wouldn't bother to put together a quote. We didn't get a good feel for them so we didn't end up using them. They were there on time.

Description of Work
They gave us a generalized cost but they didn't bother to put together a quote. We were remodeling a kitchen and two baths, putting in new flooring and painting.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately, this review is not for us. We have no record of this person.
3.0

03/21/2014


Jocelyn S.

The materials were satisfactory. The work done was okay. The first thing that stuck to my mind was the laundry area. There were many cabinets. In order to make room, I was persuaded. It worked out fairly okay. Some of the cabinets were removed. There was a cabinet tall enough to accommodate brooms. It was divided and one section was taller than the other so that we could stack things like canned goods. It's like a mini pantry. It's a place for brooms and cleaning. I told the owner of the company that the washing machine had overflown several times. He didn't know if there's water damage under there or not. He said the only way to tell to tell is when we take off the flooring and we could see if it had gone under the cabinets. There was also a wall cabinet and I told them that I would just like to leave that. They told me it won't match but I told them that I didn't care. They took everything out. The whole demolition crew just took everything out without permission. Whether there was damage under the broom closet or cabinet, I don't know. He told me that he had a replacement for me. Every replacement he offered was not at all what I saw in the beginning. Every replacement that he offered was not compatible with what I wanted. It had shelves that had a glass front. They have foiled back. I guess it's alright if we just looked at it for the cabinets. It wasn't at all what it was good for. It didn't accommodate any kind of tall broom. Then I purchased some extra decorative tile to go with the bathroom. The box disappeared and nobody knew where it went. I knew it wasn't the owner but it was the assisted. They hired people that they subcontracted for different things. They hired people who were okay. The man who put the tiles did the nice work. The painter that they had was a total disaster. He was a young man and he was a primadonna. He had a major meltdown when I told him them the kind of paint that I wanted. They got somebody else. I wasn't too pleased with the paint job in one room. It wasn't a good experience. Some things were nice. I wasn't too happy with the color scheme. Part of that was my fault. They have a decorator who works with them. I should have called her for assistance on colors. Overall, the work was done and I was very pleased with some of the materials like the porcelain floor tiles and hardwood grain. It looked like hardwood and it was nice. There were bright spots. It was a very frustrating experience in many aspects.

Description of Work
I have used San Diego Master Craftsmen. They did our laundry area and two bathrooms.

Category home builders, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

On occasion we work with clients with special needs or personal issues that they are dealing with that we have no control over. We do everything we can to accommodate and help clients with special needs. As you can see from our profile, we do the best work around. We plan every step very carefully, and are incredibly thorough in making sure every product and process is planned for in the designs. We never push a client towards something that they don't want, but help them choose the right design for them...always within their budget. We are a team of the best craftsmen in San Diego, and genuinely care about our clients. Although we aren't trained in ways to help special needs clients with their problems, we can bring a ray of sunshine into their home by being polite, caring, helpful, courteous, knowledgeable, etc. with the clients. Each craftsman spent hours with this client helping her to understand and feel comfortable with what we were doing and the products that we were using (which she had chosen). They cleaned up dog poop, wiped down areas of the house that we weren't in, took her trash out, and just generally cared for her for the short time we served her. This particular client was elderly, and incredibly indecisive and forgetful...and had a household that was in complete disarray. We love to help people, and have done quite a few projects for elderly and disabled people, and are actually really good at it. Our team is very respectful and kind, and is perfect for those with special needs. The issue that arises sometimes is that we don't get the recognition of a job well done - due to the inability of the client to understand or remember why they chose a product, or the reason behind what we were doing. Her comments about the brooms and cabinets and products were not accurate. We very clearly spelled out the exact cabinets we would remove, and the exact model number of the cabinets we would be putting in. She was the one that chose all of the products, and all of the designs. She also changed the design daily...which we accommodated, and helped her with. Then that design would change again later. Once again, this was a special needs situation, and we did an excellent job holding her hand through each step of the project.

    Other local Pros in your area

    San Diego Premier Outdoor

    Pavers, Pool Decks, Driveways, Walkways, Artificial Turf, BBQ islands Pergolas outdoor lighting, fire and water features.  

    Angi Certified

    The Painting Company, LLC

    We are experienced residential and commercial painters, and we are proud to be in San Diego! We are experts in interior and exterior painting, and our team will provide top-notch customer service throughout the entire process. Visit our site, learn more about our painting process, and call us with any questions. We can't wait to meet you!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by The Painting Company, LLC on Angi
    Accurate Grading and Demolition, Inc.

    We specialize in all phases of grading, excavation, walls, drainage, pavers, turf and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! We do everything in house and never subcontract out our services. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    complete custom home remodels, new home construction, design, architecture, large scale remodels, Interior and exterior

    Services Not Offered

    None

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN

    How is SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN overall rated?

    SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN open?

    SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN provide

    SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offer free estimates?

    Yes, SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offers free project estimates.

    Does SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN?

    Yes, SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offers warranties.

    What services does SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offer?

    SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN offers the following services: complete custom home remodels, new home construction, design, architecture, large scale remodels, Interior and exterior

    Are there any services SAN DIEGO MASTER CRAFTSMEN does not offer?

    None