Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

First Cabin Construction Inc.

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2015

4.8

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16458 Bolsa Chica St # 294

Huntington Beach, CA 92649

Description

As a general contractor I generally I do remodels from complete house to kitchens. I do not have any employees I use licensed subcontractors that I have used for many years. I bill weekly or by a phase of job completed. I do not provide financing for customers.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

12/18/2019


Eva Y.

Mr. Perumean subcontracted the toilet replacement to another person, and I had only ok 'd the $118 toilet from Home Depot to be purchased. The plumber made his own decision to purchase a high end toilet without my consent. 11/9/19 was the initial start date, the final completion was 12/11/19. The primary proposal amount we had agreed upon was exactly equal to the final invoice. I have had a very hard time to get Mr. Perumean to email or text me copies of the supplies. I still am lacking the kitchen sink fixture copy of purchase receipt. upon further research, he had charged for double the average time that the average construction PROFESSIONAL could finish the work. Before sending a certified, return receipt check of $1172.25, and still not having the receipt copies of the garbage disposal and kitchen sink fixtures, his tone had changed and he threatened that I needed to see him personally so he could have immediate payment. I have sent a secondary check of $47.71 to fulfill the final amount of his wrongly added Invoice of $$1,290.96 which should be $1289.96. Please tell him that he needs to stop harassing me by his multiple texts and annoying phone calls. I have copies of his Proposal 11/18/2019 and Invoice dated 12/11/2019. He had simply hung up LED shop lights instead of fixing the kitchen fluorescent ballast lights. My payments have been fully paid according to his invoice. Please courteously tell Mr. Perumean to quit harassing me. I have copies of all proposals, contract, and my payment check and cerified mailing. If you would give me an email, i would gladly send you all of the infomation, pictures, and text messages. Sincerely, Eva Yong, M.D.

Description of Work
Requested replacement of toilet with least expensive products because renter does not take care of my rental condo. Repair of ballast of kitchen bank of lights. Bathroom sink fixture and kitchen fixtures were added on, along with garbage disposal.

Category electrician, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing feedback on the service we provided. We strive to meet the expectations for all of our clients. I feel I made decisions that were considerate of your finances while taking into account the physical needs of your tenant. The original toilet model purchased was too tall and I could not, with good conscious, leave a person without a toilet overnight. I have provided physical or photographed copies of all receipts and even offered to meet with you to review all the items purchased.
5.0

09/26/2019


Paul D.

Dave helped my wife and I with a home renovation project with a lot of different components and a very aggressive schedule. He steered it to completion like a champ. At the planning stage, he was very creative and not only helped us figure out our options, but found us ways to save money. Once the project started, we discovered what a great set of people he has to work with — great craftspeople across a whole range of skills (he had go-to people for pretty much anything we could think up). Dave was on site every day, and was extremely communicative, keeping us up to date with everything, including while we were traveling. We are delighted with the results… and with coming in right on time!

Description of Work
Plumbing, Handymen, Electrical, Remodeling - General, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Painting - Interior

Category ceramic tile, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

06/27/2018


Tim Dowling A.

If you're considering to hire Dave Perumean at First Cabin Construction for ANY type of project, the first & most complimentary thing I can say is that, if you decide to do so, your life will get a whole lot easier. I hired Dave to oversee a large project that primarily focused around deferred maintenance to an apartment building in Long Beach, CA. From the very beginning to the very end, Dave was the utmost professional, making himself available whenever I needed to communicate with him, & it didn't matter if it was via phone, text, or email. He was fantastic & would respond immediately. Also, from the onset, the project encountered multiple unforeseeable obstacles, but Dave was able to identify, diagnose, & present a solution very quickly. Below is a comprehensive list of the work I had First Cabin perform: *Overall foundation replacement & repair of four 3-story balcony decks (this portion of the project was massive). *Concrete & pebble deck work. *Install & relocate rain gutters & redirect exterior courtyard drainage (in front & behind building). *Demolish & re-pour concrete walkway & 4/stairs leading into exterior courtyard. *Repair & replace drywall in subterranean crawlspace. *Remove rust, paint, & weather protect safety railings. *Install lattice to further support & safeguard railings. *Design, construct, & concrete small supporting wall to help with exterior courtyard (rain) water drainage. *Coordinate with the property management company & work with the city of Long Beach to pull the necessary permits & maintain constant communication with the city inspector. *Constantly checking on the work site (even on his days off!), keeping it safe & as clean as possible. I cannot begin to explain how stressful this project was. The size & scope was simply overwhelming; however, Dave was able to make it as painless as possible, & he will always be my first call when I'm in need of a contractor for anything!

Description of Work
A LOT! A LOT!! PLEASE READ BELOW....

Category concrete repair, decks, drywall, gutter repair, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], wow you took a book full of notes. Thank you for the great write up and detailed mention of all the work performed. [Member Name Removed] and yourself were great to work with. Again thank you for your cooperation in helping make the job flow much easier. Dave
5.0

01/15/2018


Jon M.

From the outset, Dave was great to work with. He was able to quote our job out quickly and get started immediately on performing the work. He provided constant updates on progress and any issues he encountered along the way. The punch list items at completion were knocked out with the utmost efficiency, as well.

Description of Work
We engaged Dave and his team to finish off the renovation for a condo we bought after our first contractor proved to be consistently unresponsive and unprofessional.

Category drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], You and your team were great to work with.
5.0

10/17/2017


Ivan S.

Dave is pretty responsive and if he doesn't answer right away he will call you back. He made sure to keep us informed on the progress of the project and made sure everything was done right.

Description of Work
Moved laundry to the second floor. Retile most of the first floor. Removed fireplace and a shower.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/05/2017


Marcy C.

Dave will take the time to discuss all of the details of a project, and both he and his crew operated with integrity through both of our bathroom remodels.

Description of Work
Remodel master and full bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. Both you and [Member Name Removed] made the project much easier by your cooperation in allowing us complete access to your house whenever necessary. It was a pleasure to work on your project. Dave
5.0

08/09/2016


JENNIFER W.

I've worked with First Cabin Construction before and was glad I could call on them when our tenants moved out and we discovered they had damaged the unit. We also need to replace a door and frame that was damaged from termites and dry rot. I wanted to get the work done as quickly as possible so that the unit could be rented. My call for help was answered promptly and everything was coordinated by First Cabin and done in a timely manner.. I thought I had a plumbing problem in the kitchen (no water pressure ) but after examining the faucet they told me to buy a new nozzle and it would solve the problem. I appreciate being able to trust my contractor and know he will try to save money for me if possible.

Description of Work
Repair and upgrade of rental unit, including new travertine and stacked stone on fireplace, replace back door and paint, replace glass tub enclosure.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/09/2016


Matt W.

Dave was extremely attentive to the work and the details. He managed a team of subcontractors on our home remodel. The remodel involved building two new rooms on the house, including a full master suite and bathroom, a study, a backyard deck, and even some landscaping. The workmanship was excellent under Dave's leadership. The job was completed on time (four months) and within budget. Dave and I spoke daily about the progress on the house, and he was always candid and honest - and not once did he pass the buck. If an issue with a contractor arose, he simply took care of it. From my perspective, what could otherwise have been a very stressful situation (like a remodel) was almost effortless because Dave took control of the situation, listened to what we wanted, and then got it done. I would highly recommend Dave and First Cabinet for any job, from the largest construction job to minor repairs.

Description of Work
General contractor on a large-scale home remodel for us.

Category contractors, decks, remodeling, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

08/03/2016


Bobby L.

Overall went well. Easy to work with in all capacities, straight forward and honest professional.

Description of Work
Project management for a full home remodel. Provided general management, coordination and advisory.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/27/2016


Louise S.

This was our third remodel project with Dave and, as always, it was done with care and professionalism. We had recently moved to Pacific Palisades, which is a good two hour commute or more from his home town, but Dave was on the job site at 7am every morning, come rain or shine, prepared and ready to work. Dave always thinks creatively when it comes to finding solutions to problems, which helps a project maintain its momentum and meet its deadline. A recent experience with another contractor only serves to highlight the importance of having decent people working in your house. Dave is always respectful, sympathetic and fun to be around. His subs are loyal and meet his own high standards of deportment. This was a particularly stressful remodel for us due to an unplanned move and I could not have contemplated going through it with anyone other than Dave at the helm. I recommend him unreservedly for any remodel project.

Description of Work
Upstairs remodel of three bedrooms, including construction of new wall in one bedroom. Downstairs remodel of living room, kitchen, office, laundry room and hallway.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/24/2016


Eric B.

We were referred to First Cabin Construction and Dave Perumean by friends whose home had recently been remodeled by Dave. He had done a great job with their home and we knew ours needed extensive work. Much of the home was still original, i.e. almost 30 years old. Dave was professional and courteous. His prices were fair as were those of his subcontractors. His quotation was reasonably accurate and while we ran into the typical unexpected construction issues, the extra money Dave requested were for things that could not have been anticipated. Dave's subcontractors also were reliable and Dave was regularly on site to supervise the construction. No doubt this made a big difference in the performance of the various trades. Dave was very interactive with us, listened well and was careful to be sure he understood exactly what we wanted. The quality of the work was top notch. In areas where we wanted to address an important aesthetic, Dave was very helpful in finding materials that looked good and were durable, but were not outrageously priced. The remodel transformed the house and added significant value. Our experience with Dave was such that we hired him again several years later to complete a much smaller project. Like the remodel, the second project was completed on time and on budget and was completed to a high standard of workmanship, notwithstanding its small scope. Dave is a honest guy who takes pride in his work and his goal is satisfying his clients and customers. For much smaller projects, Dave has provided us with referrals to some of his subcontractors and they too are excellent. We are glad Dave is out there and we certainly would use him and First Cabin Construction again.

Description of Work
First Cabin Construction (Dave Perumean) remodeled our 30 year old home in 2006. The remodel consisted of the entry, living, dining family rooms and kitchen. There was extensive electrical and HVAC work completed as well.

Category electrician, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/18/2016


Barbara B.

The remodel job went very well and the Contractor was easy to get along with and very good with details. HE REPLACE EVERYTHING IN OUR BATHROOM. AS FOLLOWS: 1. Installed new sink and cabinets 2. Put a new floor and flooring in. 3. New Shower doors 4. Light Fixtures 5. New Toilet 6. New Exhaust Fan 7. New Bathtub This Contractor has done many other odd jobs at different times too sch as installed new paneling installed new ceiling fans in our home. Dave had always kept me informed of progress and timing. Good Contractor.

Description of Work
Remolded my Master Bathroom and has previously done other odd jobs for me.

Category custom cabinets, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Carroll Building Solutions

    Our company invites you to experience prompt service and superior attention to detail. With over 12 years of experience our customer satisfaction is our top priority! We will earn your trust for a lifetime. We believe in making all clients repeat clients. You can be assured you're in good with our company working on your home improvement project. If you are looking for a contractor that follows business practices such as promptly returning phone calls, arriving on time for appointments and following through on promises then call our reputable company today.  

    Angi Certified

    Sturdy Services

    We can take care of all of your painting needs!  

    Angi Certified

    Finest Touch Painting

    I'm a professional painter with many years of residential and commercial experience including custom work. My experience focuses on exterior & interior painting, cabinet painting, paint removal, trim & base board painting, wall paper removal, pressure washing. I'm very passionate about the work that I do and would love to speak with you and answer any questions.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    873939
    Trade License Locale
    Orange County, Calif
    Trade License Authority
    Contractors License Board-CA
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Renovation of residential structures that includes rough and finish plumbing, Decks & Porches, framing, electrical, stucco, roofing, and painting. I also do handyman jobs.

    Services Not Offered

    Architectural drawings. Engineering drawings. Landscaping. Swimming pools or ponds. Surveying.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about First Cabin Construction Inc.

    How is First Cabin Construction Inc. overall rated?

    First Cabin Construction Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does First Cabin Construction Inc. provide

    First Cabin Construction Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does First Cabin Construction Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, First Cabin Construction Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does First Cabin Construction Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, First Cabin Construction Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does First Cabin Construction Inc. offer a senior discount?

    Yes, First Cabin Construction Inc. offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by First Cabin Construction Inc.?

    Yes, First Cabin Construction Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does First Cabin Construction Inc. offer?

    First Cabin Construction Inc. offers the following services: Renovation of residential structures that includes rough and finish plumbing, Decks & Porches, framing, electrical, stucco, roofing, and painting. I also do handyman jobs.

    Are there any services First Cabin Construction Inc. does not offer?

    Architectural drawings. Engineering drawings. Landscaping. Swimming pools or ponds. Surveying.