Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES

Founded 1982 • With Angi since July 2007

4.4

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3129 Corporate Place

Hayward, CA 94545

Description

Established in 1982, we have been helping individuals and businesses relocate to their new home and office. We offer full service relocation package including local, national and international household goods moving as well as office and industrial moving services. We also have storage and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Byron J.
5.0
01/14/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I took estimates from several other moving agents for national moving companies in preparation for a cross-country move. Nor-Cal wasn't the most, nor the least expensive. But, I decided to use them because I called all 3 companies around 4:00 on Tuesday before Christmas to ask questions about the estimates. The Nor-Cal agent returned my call before 5:00. The others didn't try to contact me until the Monday after Christmas (6 days later). I figure if they aren't responsive before I actually commit, it's not going to get better. I'll update Angie's List once I've actually made the move in March.
Category
moving companies
Katherine G.
5.0
09/30/2014
unknown
Description of Work
This was a small office move. Crew of 3 arrived on time, worked quickly and efficiently, were courteous and helpful. Estimate from salesperson was straightforward and informative.
Category
moving companies
Kathryn H.
2.0
09/09/2013
This is an update for Allied. There was damage to my expensive coffee table and end tables, as well as flat screen and fireplace grate, but I was going to let it slide. However, after receiving a letter from them saying they were going to do nothing about the item they lost, I have decided to file a claim for every single thing. Takeaway: Next time I'll be using NorthStar, who I've heard from 4 different friends does excellent work, damage-free. Allied national customer service = AWFUL. They truly don't care and just funnel you from person to person.
Description of Work
Nor Cal (Allied) Moving moved me from San Francisco to St. Louis.
Category
moving companies
Carlton W.
5.0
01/17/2012
They were very efficient. The people that actually picked up the material that was to be shipped were very punctual. They got here on time. They got everything taken out, cleaned up and packed securely. They got it delivered way ahead of schedule. I would use them again in the future; in fact, I have plans to use them.
Description of Work
I used Nor-Cal Moving Services/Allied Moving for moving services.
Category
moving companies
Paul L.
3.0
10/20/2011
On the whole, there was very little that was broken. (but then, we made sure to transport valuables and delicates ourselves.) they were able to complete the move on time. Overall, I would not use these guys again based on our experience in San Francisco. But if you were moving out from Sacramento, I would consider getting a quote from them as their crew out there is a million times better and more considerate.
Description of Work
we had used this company before moving to SF from Sacramento and the crew from Sacramento was excellent. They covered everything and provided great service. On delivery, they covered the walls and floors with protective covering. But this crew out of the south bay was nothing like that. From the first day on, they were not friendly, and gave us the impression that they just didn't want to be messed with. The boxes they packed were either unlabeled or labelled incorrectly, so much of the stuff was misplaced in the new house. They did not provide the floor and wall covers that the other crew provided. As a result, there are dents and scratches on our walls. Good thing I covered part of the floor before they came in. There were three other guys that came the second day. They seem to be from a different place and they seemed more friendly than the first crew. Although the first crew was there to help on the second day too. It's been about two weeks now and there are things we still can't find. I'm sure we'll dig them up eventually. It's just a matter of going through the mislabeled boxes.
Category
moving companies
Robert W.
5.0
09/20/2011
The three movers were excellent and went to great lengths to move a refrigerator up a narrow staircase with a tight turn. Please pass this message along to the three movers.
Description of Work
Moving.
Category
moving companies
William L.
5.0
08/04/2011
I contacted three companies. Nor-Cal was a tad higher than the others but was able to make the date I needed. I had gotten a good recommendation from a neighbor who had recently been moved by them. Four Nor-Cal movers arrived when they said they would and treated my furniture with care. They did not have to pack or store anything, just move it from one residence to another, so the job was simple and relatively fast (about 5 hours from start to finish).
Description of Work
Nor-Cal moved me from a two-bedroom condo in Oakland to a similar one in San Francisco. Fortunately, both were elevator buildings located on level ground with reasonably wide streets in front. (NOTE: I used the San Leandro branch of this company, not the San Jose branch shown here, but I didn't see it on the list when I was about to write this report.)
Category
moving companies
Karen T.
5.0
02/08/2011
Our move went very smoothly thanks to the professionalism of the team at Nor-Cal/Allied. Phil Barry, the estimator, even came a second time to itemize our boxes and furniture to provide a new estimate after we got rid of a lot of stuff. The driver, Dave Harris, and his extremely professional and competent packing team in California, increased our confidence that our belongings were in good hands. We were able to be in constant touch with our driver, allowing us to move up our delivery date to avoid a major snow storm that was predicted. The only part that was less than acceptable was the crew in Pittsburgh that unloaded the truck. There was a lot of complaining about all the steps in the house and how heavy everything was. There were a lot of marks left on the walls and rugs. But overall I would rate this moving experience as extremely satisfactory.
Description of Work
Nor-Cal/Allied moved our household goods from Northern California to the Pittsburgh Area.
Category
moving companies
Mitchell B.
4.0
10/21/2008
They seemed to be fine movers, but they were about $1000 more expensive than the company we went with. We also felt that there were a lot of hidden charges that wouldn't appear till the end.
Description of Work
We met with them about moving us from CA to TX.
Category
moving companies
John H.
3.0
09/06/2008
My experience with Nor-Cal/Allied was definitely a mixed bag. On the plus side, my belongings were carefully loaded and unloaded with very little damage. Somehow, half the hardware for my bed got lost, but the company was great about sending out a specialist to locate matching hardware and finish assembling my bed. But my overall moving experience turned into the horrendous story that seems to be typical if not unavoidable with this industry. I arranged for my move 6 weeks ahead of time. Everything appeared to be on schedule as of the load date, but then they hit a snag. The company was unable to get a driver to deliver my shipment for weeks! Ultimately, my things arrived two weeks after my requested date and a full week beyond the company's contractual deadline. So I spent two weeks sleeping on a flimsy air mattress with a sleeping bag in an empty home. Despite this major inconvenience, the company refused to offer ANY compensation. I was simply expected to wait until they could find a driver, however long that might take. I hope folks will agree that this is a totally unacceptable way to treat a customer who had already paid for the services in full. Beyond that problem, the company has some serious internal communication problems. For example, when I was packing my belongings, I called the local office to arrange to come by and get some used boxes; the guy on the phone told me he would have people to help me get them until 6:00 that night. I arrived at 4:30 that afternoon, but I was basically given the cold shoulder. One office worker tried to charge me for the boxes (even though used ones are free) and the guys in the warehouse told me I needed to hustle because they were about to go home! Another example: The agent who provided my estimate, who was supposed to be my contact person throughout the move, simply stopped returning my phone calls. After several attempts to get in touch with someone who could help me, I connected with another agent who was very good about keeping me updated and responding to my calls. If everyone at the company had been as courteous, friendly, professional, and sympathetic as that gentleman, my experience would have been much better.
Description of Work
The company provided an estimate for my move, loaded my belongings, arranged for an Allied trucker to deliver my shipment, and unloaded my belongings at my new home.
Category
moving companies
Tim M.
5.0
08/21/2008
It was excellent. The Nor-Cal folks were three gentlemen. They brought all paper, tape and boxes, and no matter how big, or small, or oddly shaped something was, they packed it well and efficiently. They finished the whole apartment in about 6 - 7 hours. Additionally, not ONE THING was broken on the other end. Allied also did an excellent job. They keep one person (in this case the owner / operator) in the truck at all times with the stuff being packed in. The three men and one women they sent were nice, organized and efficient. They had us fully loaded in about 6 hours, and I received everything on the other side of the country (moving from San Francisco to Virginia) in 5 days. Again, everything was unloaded well and quickly in spite of the rain, they set up the furniture and nothing was damaged.
Description of Work
Nor-Cal sent a team in to pack me out, and then R. T. from Allied did the move.
Category
moving companies
Marina S.
5.0
08/12/2008
They moved me exactly as they said they would. They gave me a maximum quote and they stuck to it. They were professional, friendly, and organized. Exactly what I was looking for. The really cool thing about them was in talking to the account manager she told me they would give me free boxes and wrapping paper. They gave me a huge amount and that saved me so much money and made life so much easier. The entire company was great. They were all exceedingly helpful. I would use them again in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
They moved me in about 6 1/2 hours from one house to the next, which was about 10 minutes away.
Category
moving companies
PAT H.
5.0
10/01/2007
Dwight Dunn came and gave us a detailed estimate/guaranteed highest price quote. He was very thorough. They called to confirm details before the scheduled date and again on day of packing and day of loading. The packers arrived as scheduled and were careful and efficient. The movers hand-carried items from our storage space to the moving truck. Then arrived at our house on schedule. The men were polite, efficient, careful and speedy! They loaded the truck well and gave careful consideration to our "special pieces." The truck arrived as scheduled at the receiving end and not one item was missing. Again the crew was efficient, careful, and listened carefully to our directions. They were very thorough in making sure all of our items had been received. We had no damage to our household goods or either home. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Dwight Dunn came and gave us a complete estimate. Packers came to our home and packed breakable and high value items such as dishes, glassware, china, crystal, and large framed art. (We did the majority of packing ourselves.) The driver and crew emptied our storage space then drove to our home to pick up our household goods. The truck then drove from Oakland, CA to Austin, TX where our goods were delivered. They unloaded and re-assembled anything they disassembled.
Category
moving companies
ELIZABETH O.
5.0
07/16/2007
Allied did not let me down. I have no moving horror stories to tell. They did good work and charged me a fair rate for their services. They did not waste time, they were careful with my things, and they were pretty polite. They made my move go as smoothly as possible.
Description of Work
Allied moved me from my home in Minnesota to my home in California. I moved out of a 1500 square foot home into a new 1500 square foot home. I packed my own items. They just had to move them in a truck. It was about 1700 miles.
Category
moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Advantage Moving & Storage

    We pride ourselves in treating your belongings with as much affection and respect as we would our own.Advantage Moving and Storage is a fully licensed and insured moving company, offering complete relocation services. We believe that every good move begins with the customer being provided professional and accurate information on what they can expect during a move. Each move is different in its needs and requirements. We at Advantage Moving and Storage handle each re-location individually. This allows us to properly assess the requirements before the move begins.Advantage Moving and Storage further distinguishes itself by utilizing its own staff of moving professionals who have gone through extensive training programs for moving, packing, safety and risk management. Our movers take great care while moving your household and office items and provide complete packing, crating and special handling services for your valuable items. Additional phone - (408) 935-9115. Additional E-mail - briank@themovingadvantage.com. Super Service Award winners.  

    Angi Certified

    Anaw Hauling

    We offer quality and affordable hauling services. We specialize in the following services: Apartment or House Clean out (want that deposit back?) Garage and Basement Clean Out Demolition of Decks, Fences, Concrete, etc. Haul Away of any and all Debris Large and Small Appliance Removal Garden Clean Up and Waste Removal Trim Trees and other Garden Work Power Wash your home, etc. And much more, just ask us! We are insured up to 2 million! Anything you need just give us a call!  

    Angi Certified

    Dynasty Dumpsters Inc.

    For commercial or residential use, multiple sizes of roll-off dumpsters all for household junk, construction debris, concrete, dirt, green waste soil, and more, Get a dumpster today  

    Angi Certified

    Storage
    Delivery Service
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    LOCAL, NATIONWIDE, INTERNATIONAL HOUSEHOLD GOODS MOVING; RESIDENTIAL RELOCATION SERVICES; OFFICE, CORPORATE COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL, LAB, SCHOOL, MUSEUM MOVING; OFFICE FURNITURE MOVING; MODULAR SYSTEMS FURNITURE INSTALLATION; OFFICE PANEL ASSEMBLY/DISASSEMBLY; DESIGN/SPACE PLANNING SERVICES; VAULT STORAGE FACILITIES; WAREHOUSE; ELECTRONIC RECYCLING

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES

    How is NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES overall rated?

    NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES open?

    NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES provide

    NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES offer free estimates?

    Yes, NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES offers free project estimates.

    Does NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES?

    No, NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES does not offer warranties.

    What services does NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES offer?

    NOR-CAL MOVING SERVICES offers the following services: LOCAL, NATIONWIDE, INTERNATIONAL HOUSEHOLD GOODS MOVING; RESIDENTIAL RELOCATION SERVICES; OFFICE, CORPORATE COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL, LAB, SCHOOL, MUSEUM MOVING; OFFICE FURNITURE MOVING; MODULAR SYSTEMS FURNITURE INSTALLATION; OFFICE PANEL ASSEMBLY/DISASSEMBLY; DESIGN/SPACE PLANNING SERVICES; VAULT STORAGE FACILITIES; WAREHOUSE; ELECTRONIC RECYCLING