Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area

Founded 1996 • With Angi since May 2005

4.8

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

21063 Cabot Blvd Ste 6

Hayward, CA 94545

Description

Additional phone number - (510) 887-1100.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/05/2019


Christine S.

It went very well did a really good job

Description of Work
Inspection for Termites

Category pest control, home inspection

5.0

07/10/2018


BRIAN L.

I would highly recommend their services. When I telephoned for subterranean termite extermination services they a team of three came the following morning and performed their work efficiently and thoroughly, explaining beforehand what they would do and answer all my questions. Their work is guaranteed 3 years with annual inspections with any remedial serve covered within that period.

Description of Work
Termite Extermination

Category pest control

5.0

03/20/2017


Linda A.

Great! The technicians were all very courteous and easy to work with.

Description of Work
Pest inspection, treatment and repairs.

Category pest control

3.0

02/13/2017


Darrell M.

Representative showed up on time and I showed him around the house. He did not go under house saying the area was tight. Other companies actually went under house and performed inspections. Never received get detailed report that he said he would send. Left a quote but the quote was not as detailed as other companies.

Description of Work
Called for a termite inspection.

Category pest control

5.0

10/21/2016


Alicia B.

Well, we did need treatment. We had spot chemical cleaning performed. The treatment appointment was available immediately and the technician showed up exactly on time. I do not know pricing for these services so cannot provide accurate price comparison information. My only advice is to make sure the technician goes into the attic.

Description of Work
We had termite evidence in our house. Dropping were seen in a bedroom. I called Hi Tech Termite and they scheduled an appointment right away. The inspector did a thorough review of the house and spent about an hour on his inspection. He even went into the crawl space under the house.

Category pest control

5.0

09/26/2016


John W.

Hi Tech was very professional in their inspection, bid and termite control. We had 3 inspection/estimates (the two other big names in the industry). Hi Tech was just much more professional and very competitive in pricing. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Termite inspection and control.

Category pest control, home inspection

5.0

03/15/2016


Corey G.

On time, efficient and understood the situation

Description of Work
Estimate only

Category pest control

5.0

05/20/2015


Giel W.

In the process of selling their home to us , the former owner was told by another termite company that $7,000 worth of work was needed to kill both dry-wood and subterranean termites in the house and detached garage. Having had some previous experience with termites, I went under the house and looked for myself. I could find no evidence of them there. So I called Hi Tech, who had done termite work for me in the past. They don't currently advertise in Sebastopol, but they said they would come up for a small travel fee. Jim came out and did a thorough inspection. I was very impressed with his knowledge and honesty. I have dealt with several termite inspectors in the past 30 years, and he is the best I've seen. It turns out that there were a few termites in exterior the trim boards and siding, but none under the house. The other company wanted $7,000 to tent the house and garage. Hi Tech said no tenting was needed, and quoted a price less than one quarter of that amount.

Description of Work
Termite Inspection

Category pest control

4.0

10/08/2014


LORI M.

All went well. Very professional and friendly workers. The dry rot repairmen even helped move soil away from right next to the foundation in my front planter one area and suggested putting in a piece of wood to prevent future problems. They were very nice to do this. However, the bids were updated because the first one did not have all the dry rot areas we had looked at when the inspection was done. What we thought we were paying was not correct. We ended up with $950 additional for dry rot repair which was not clear due to not having a final bid with all the correct figures. We would probably have had another company do the dry rot repair had we known this. But they did a good quality job with the repairs. I would have given an A or B for the price if this problem had not occured with the bid.

Description of Work
Applied Terminator for subterranean termites. Drilled holes around foundation of house and also did work under house to apply. Repaired dry rot areas.

Category pest control

5.0

01/01/2014


Dorothy Kay R.

They were prompt, professional and very helpful. They treated the crawl space, trenched where ever possible around the house, and neatly drilled through the concrete where they couldn't trench (they replugged the drilled holes). They used Termidor which should kill off all the nests, colonies or whatever. The price includes a 3-year follow-up plan. They'll come out once a year to inspect and re-treat if needed. They'll also come out if we call with concerns.

Description of Work
Treated our house for subterranean termites.

Category pest control

5.0

08/16/2013


Kathleen S.

They were professional, explained all my options thoroughly, did not pressure me to choose the most expensive option or address more issues than the one I called them out for. When they returned to perform the service, they were once again on time, efficient, courteous, and professional. Other companies just wanted me to tent the house at a higher cost. I was against that because I didn't want to layer pesticide on every surface of my home and yard, but I had a hard time getting another company to quote me any other options.

Description of Work
We had termites in three spots along the same exterior wall of our house.

Category pest control

4.0

07/02/2013


C L.

This company uses the Orange Oil* and microwaves to treat for termites; and boric acid (Timborand reg;) on exposed wood to prevent future infestations. They use video cameras to look in the walls to determine which studs are affected. Miguel was prompt on arrival, courteous and did a more thorough examination of the rafters than the previous termite inspector from another company. But it was clear that he was not nearly as experienced as another inspector from a third company that subsequently inspected our home. He did not look in the attic nor check the crawl space under the floor. He relied on the previous inspection of another company that inspected the crawl space and found no termites. He only speculated as to how the termites were getting into the home, and did not verify the entry point. We were quoted $720 to treat the affected studs, and $1260 to treat the affected studs and apply Timborand reg; to exposed wood for termites. (These prices include their 10% internet discount) The whole house treatment includes a 3 year warranty with yearly inspections. There is an option for an extended warranty at a cost of $200/year. The extended warranty is available only if the original warranty has not expired. We considered this company, but subsequently learned from our county Agricultural Commissioner's Office that they see more repeat treatments when orange oil or microwave treatment is used compared to chemical treatment (fipronil aka. Thermadorand reg;, or fumigation). We are concerned this may indicate that the microwave and orange oil treatment are not as effective in eradicating termites despite a controlled study conducted by the University of California [Vernard R. Lewis et al, Journal of Economic Entomology 89(4): 922 - 934 (1996)) that suggests the method holds promise. The county Agricultural Commissioner's Office confirmed that boric acid treatment on exposed wood works well for prevention of termites and fungus. *Addendum: At the end of the inspection we received a hand written estimate from Miguel based on the work and process we verbally discussed and he explained. We did not receive a written estimate until after this review was written. There is a discrepancy in what we believe we were told (that they use Orange Oil) and what the formal written estimate/contract states -that they use fipronil [and not Orange Oil]. We also noted discrepancies in what were told by the inspectors versus the terms of the written estimate/contract with other companies so this is not unique to this company. We would recommend reviewing the formal estimate/contract with any company before committing to any work.

Description of Work
Provided a bid and second opinion termite inspection. We have dry wood termites in one wall of our home presumably in 3 to 5 studs. Estimate was provided at the end of the inspection.

Category pest control, home inspection

Service Provider Response

Good morning, I just wanted to clear up the issue of the orange oil. We don't use orange oil and have not used it in over thirteen years. I found that product not effective and Termidor is the superior product.
5.0

06/26/2013


Marilou V.

They will use a microwave and then inject through the wall. Since this is a townhouse they are not able to do a fumigation.

Description of Work
I used Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area for an estimate for termites.

Category pest control

5.0

05/15/2013


Lucinda G.

We were impressed with Hi-Tech Termite Control from start to finish. We had 3 estimates for termite treatment for our home. All 3 reported the same thing - subterranean termites - yet Hi-Tech seemed to offer the best deal. Their price was the least expensive, yet they were the only ones who guaranteed their work for 3 years, to include 3 yearly inspections following the date of service. Of course, any evidence of termites during this period would be eradicated by them at no cost. Great peace of mind. They were timely and professional in all interactions. So far, we are quite impressed and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Termite inspection and subsequent treatment for subterranean termites.

Category pest control

5.0

05/09/2013


Julie G.

We requested full termite inspection because we noticed softening of wood trim around our basement door. (We last had termite work done 15 years ago, so we could be considered somewhat neglectful. ) Hi Tech sent out a very professional, and pleasant, team who did an impressively thorough job, including crawling all the way to the back of our crawl space even where it gets extremely tight. They found a small area of active infestation (in the part hardest to see , where we would have never gone ourselves), and made what we felt was a very reasonable estimate. They did all the work, (including deep injections around the perimeter of the house because these termites burrow in from deep in the ground) within a couple of days. They adapted the treatment plan when I did not want a hole drilled in an area of cement. They also inspected the softened wood and determined areas of wood trim and rafters affected by dry rot but not termites, and offered us a referral. This price includes annual inspections for the next 3 years, which we have them do. We feel lucky that we caught this before we had a huge problem like the last time. The whole experience was highly satisfactory.

Description of Work
Termite inspection, including window trim and rafters on two stories and along basement door,s and inspection of whole-house crawl space, much of which was difficult to access--really required crawling on a dirt floor! Then treatment of infestation, including injection of house periphery to prevent underground based termites from re-entering the interior of our house which has a dirt crawl space.

Category pest control

5.0

03/19/2013


JACK S.

They were really good and even repaired some of the damages. Their bid was reasonable I thought and they did a lot of work for $1600. I haven't seen any termites since.

Description of Work
They did a routine inspection and decided that tenting the house was the way to go.

Category pest control

5.0

03/18/2013


PAT T.

Our experience with Hi Tech was great from the beginning. We knew we wanted to have the house tented, and after calling a number of other firms we realized that most companies contract out tenting, so we decide to cut out the middle man and go with a firm that does the work themselves, which saved on the cost and let us deal directly with the provider. They were very clear about what we needed to do to prepare. We have a large Bertram's rose bush that is right up against the house that I really wanted to save. They worked with us on that and the plant is still flourishing. On the day of the fumigation, they arrived a bit early and very efficiently started getting ready to put the tent up. When we were allowed back in the house everything was as we had left it. We haven't seen a termite since.

Description of Work
We have a two story house with a garage below, two decks on the front and one in the back. Hi Tech completely tented all of it and fumigated for drywood termites.

Category pest control

5.0

12/12/2012


Donna F.

When they were inspecting, they pretty much gave me the details about what was going on. They told me what the affected areas were. They gave me different options and told me which option was better in my case. They would let one know if it was more expensive or not. The price did really come into the equation as far as I was concerned because I have a smaller attic, so they had a smaller person come in. They were really good. I would definitely recommend them. After the three-year contract, I can do it annually. They will take care of it, if there is any issue.

Description of Work
I have a three-year contract with Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area for termite control. They also did the inspection.

Category pest control

5.0

12/10/2012


Kyrylo D.

I booked the inspection on a very short notice but they were able to squeeze the appointment in exact time slot I needed. Inspection appeared to be thorough and report was provided promptly both electronically (pdf) and in paper form. Part of the garage was inaccessible due to owner's belonging being stored there and attic was inaccessible because inspector's ladder turned out to be too short, but inspector (John) assured me that they will come back and inspect these areas free of charge once garage is cleared.

Description of Work
Pre-purchase house inspection for termites, dry-rot etc.

Category pest control, home inspection

5.0

11/14/2012


Lin S.

shopped around fora few termite companies after purchasing a house, and found Hi Tech to be the most reasonable. Called and scheduled the treatment, they came on time and finished the job in about an hour or two. The two guys that came were very professional and courteous. They wore booties in the house and did not make a mess. After they finished, they mentioned I am under warranty and encouraged me to call next year to schedule re-inspection. After about a year and a few months later, I noticed some suspicious clumps of dirt or excrement coming out of a crack in the wall. I thought it was termites kicking out debris and called Hi Tech again, The guys came out promptly and treated the area. I was told to call them again to have the entire house reinspected, so I did. Another technician came out and reinspected the whole house for about an hr or so and found no termites. Overall very positive experience, and I felt I got my money's worth. Very professional, no BS company to deal with.

Description of Work
Subterranean termite treatment and attic treatment

Category pest control

5.0

07/01/2012


Sandy M.

The price noted does not include the initial inspection. Hi-tech was on-time and very professional. We would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Microwaving and spot treatment for drywood and dampwood termites.

Category pest control

5.0

04/12/2012


Gabriel V.

Overall it was a very helpful and friendly service.

Description of Work
The agent (Daniel, I think) was very nice, friendly and showed up on time. He looked and gave his opinion about the issue, suggested service. At the time I decided to wait. He did not even charged the minimum fee for the inspection. I would for sure use them if I will need in the future.

Category pest control

5.0

03/01/2012


Anna M.

I called up on Friday for an appointment on Wed and they were able to accommodate me. It was difficult to find other companies that provided a termite report within the time frame that i needed. The one thing that i wasn't favorable towards was that they gave a one hour time frame window of arrival, instead of a specific time. But that isn't too big of a deal. They were going to charge $250 for the inspection, with a written estimate on the spot. I asked if there was work determined would i be able to put the estimate costs towards the future work, and i didn't get a straight answer, she said i would have to talk to the tech who came out. We didn't follow through on the purchase of the new home, and therefore had to cancel this estimate. They were very kind on the phone with no problems about the cancellation, no cancellation fee. I would definitely call them again when we find the right house.

Description of Work
We requested they come out to a house we entered into contract on for a termite inspection.

Category pest control

4.0

07/14/2011


Elisa C.

It was an ok service because a few months after they came out termites did show up again. The company did come back out at no charge but I just thought that the termites should have been taken care of the first time.

Description of Work
Treatment of termite

Category pest control

5.0

05/16/2011


Clement S.

They did a good job explaining the problem and gave us choices on the method of treatment. They were very professional and lowered their quote to meet a competitive bid. They were very thorough when they did the work and offered a 3 year warranty.

Description of Work
They did an inspection for termites and found a subterranean termite infestation. They sprayed to kill the termites.

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    ATCO Pest Control

    ATCO Pest Control, ATCO Termite Control & Home Restoration are full service pest management companies. Family operated and locally owned. ATCO is an EcoWise Certified Provider. Winners of the Department of Pesticides' Integrated Pest Management Innovator of the year 2010.  

    Angi Certified

    Vanguard Termite Control, Inc

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    EcoGuard Pest Management

    EcoGuard Pest Management offers a variety of pest control services to accommodate the needs of you and your family. From general pests such as black widows, ants, or any rodent, our trained staff is always available to assist you. Please bug us today, so they stop bugging you! Additional email - service@ecoguardpestmanagement.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Termite control, termite inspections, microwave treatments, subterranean termite treatments, damage repair & fumigations.

    Services Not Offered

    General pest control, rat control, bird control, ant control, flea control, roach control.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area

    How is Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area overall rated?

    Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area open?

    Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area provide

    Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offer free estimates?

    No, Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offer a senior discount?

    No, Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offer emergency services?

    Yes, Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area?

    Yes, Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offers warranties.

    What services does Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offer?

    Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area offers the following services: Termite control, termite inspections, microwave treatments, subterranean termite treatments, damage repair & fumigations.

    Are there any services Hi Tech Termite Control Of The Bay Area does not offer?

    General pest control, rat control, bird control, ant control, flea control, roach control.