Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Certified Chimney Inspectors

Founded 1997 • With Angi since July 2005

4.9

(17) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3508 Downing Ave

Glendale, CA 91208

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/19/2020


Marcia B.

Shane was the third inspector that we had and by far the most thorough. He spent a lot of time inspecting the roof, fireplace and chimney, including in the attic. He was the only one of the inspectors who discovered we had a minor gas leak and a rodent in our attic! He provided a very thorough report and video, along with a list of chimney repair specialists he recommends. Most importantly, he took the time to show and explain everything he found to us.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and recommendation of repairs needed

Category home inspection

5.0

03/24/2016


Justin M.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/08/2014


Saam S.

Professional in every respect, Shane performed a thorough inspection of the fireplace and chimney and provided a detailed report with photos. He made sound recommendations and because of his report, I was able to negotiate on the price of the house.

Description of Work
Shane did a complete inspection of the fireplace and chimney in a house I wanted to buy.

Category fireplaces

5.0

05/19/2013


Eunice K.

Shane was recommended to us both by our realtor and another individual. He was professional and VERY knowledgeable. He was about thirty minutes late to appointed time because of traffic and according to my husband, he was professional enough to discount the prearranged price because of that. He was very thorough and meticulous and generous with his time while he was working. I would hire him again for sure and recommend him to family and friends.

Description of Work
He inspected 3 chimneys and fireplaces at our new home.

Category home inspection

5.0

02/16/2013


DeeDee M.

They take photos of everything and use a scope to to research everything inside the chimney. They also get on the roof to make sure everything is all right up there too. They do a very in-depth report afterwards with photographs for your records. They do inspections only, so there is no conflict of interest in them recommending work. Shane is very responsive to any type of correspondence and is extremely organized. He really knows his trade and he takes the time to educate you on the in's and out's of his profession. To give you an idea of how in-depth he is, my report was 11 pages of very detailed information.

Description of Work
We had Certified Chimney Inspectors come to our home to fully inspect our chimney & fireplace.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

01/10/2013


Angela P.

As a result of Shane's work, the guys who installed the new chimneys had to return to my home several times and re-do a lot of work that had been shoddily and in haste. Without spending about $500 for Shane's expertise, I would have been left with two brand new fireboxes that were poorly installed and not up to code, broken roof tiles, and a bunch of other poor workmanship on the part of Greg Butler and The Chimney Experts.

Description of Work
I called Shane at Certified Chimney Inspectors at the suggestion of a home inspector I previously utilized. Shane inspected the work done to replace two chimneys in my home, and he did an outstanding job. As a result of his work, the guys who installed the new chimneys had to return to my home and re-do a lot of work that had been shoddily and in haste. Without spending about $500 for Shane's expertise, I would have been left with two brand new fireboxes that were poorly installed and not up to code, broken roof tiles, and a bunch of other poor workmanship on the part of Greg Butler and The Chimney Experts.

Category home inspection, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

05/28/2012


Caroline D.

Shane was punctual, knowlegeable, professional, and thorough. He explained any issues in layman's terms and used the latest equipment available to get the job done. We were able to see inside the chimney with the camera and equipment Shane brought. His report was detailed with pictures and well-written. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Shane of Certified Chimney Inspectors performed a chimney inspection at a home we are buying.

Category home inspection, fireplaces

5.0

02/28/2012


mary H.

Shane is an experienced, hands on professional that does the inspecting himself and writes the report.He was punctual and surprised me with the very reasonable bid.His written report was thorough, including color pictures illustrating each area that needed work. The report provided definitions, aiding a layman in understanding the technical terms. Beyond that even, he has continued, after more than a year to be available for questions and referrals without charge.He referred several contractors for both chimney and roof repair. I used two from his list and am very satisfied.I recommend and refer Shane and will continue to do so.

Description of Work
Inspection of the chimney and fireplace. Determine if the fireplace and chimney were damanged or contributing to damage from an event, improper use, improper construction, erosion or age.

Category chimney repair

5.0

01/16/2012


CAROL A.

Shane Imburgia inspected our gas fireplace, venting, and chimney. He is extremely knowledgable and is professional. He told us what needed to be fixed in clear, layperson terms. His inspection report is thorough and clear. He has many certifications (CSIA, FIRE, NFI). We had Shane serve as an expert witness in our small claims action action against the contractor who negligently installed the fireplace and we won. Our homeowners association hired Shane to inspect about 30 fireplaces/chimneys/vents in our building.

Description of Work
Shane Imburgia inspected our fireplace, venting, and chimney.

Category fireplaces

5.0

08/08/2011


Kenji O.

Shane was a pleasure to work with. He was punctual and professional and answered any questions we had. He does not perform repair services so we felt the inspection of our chimney was unbiased and thorough. The report he delivered was very detailed and recommended some repair items that we will do prior to using the chimney.

Description of Work
CCI inspected the chimney for a house we purchased.

Category home inspection

4.0

03/26/2011


Anthony K.

I don't know what a standard chimney inspection costs (didn't get multiple quotes), but the price for the service seemed steep. I have no other chimney inspection to compare it to, so I can't say, but seeing as it costs almost as much as a full home inspection, the value wasn't there for me. The response time was a little poor. I was for the most part always leaving messages on his voicemail or email, and responses usually took a full day. Sometimes I didn't get a reply. It also took a little bit of nagging on my part to get the inspection report. This was after I was promised the report the following day. Who knows? Maybe he's a really busy guy, but I'm just pointing it out. Overall, it wasn't too bad of an experience. I'd say somewhere between good and fair (B or C grade).

Description of Work
Standard chimney inspection. The inspector checked the inside with a video scope and checked the outside including the rooftop. He provided a very detailed explanation of the problems I had with my chimney. He was very articulate and provided digital photos of the problems.

Category chimney repair

5.0

05/03/2010


J. C.

Shame is professional, informative and knowlegable in his field. I won't use anyone else for chimney inspections. If you need a detailed report this is the guy! He is/was worth the amount. I tried another company and was highly disappointed in his report thus hiring Shane. We got exactly what I was expecting, a detailed professional easy reading report!

Description of Work
Chimney Inspection. Non Camera job

Category chimney sweep

4.0

12/29/2009


Rachael P.

Shane was very well informed and I trust his assessment of the situation. I did have trouble getting in touch with him - required persistent phone calls, but I was told he is the best and I really wanted to hire him. After a few phone calls (which weren't returned), I managed to get Shane on the phone and enjoyed our initial conversation. He advised me to call John in his office to schedule an appointment. I did leave a message for John, but he only returned my calls after I pressured Shane. Shane was late to our appointment, but did call to keep me posted on his ETA. I was very pleased with the inspection but only received the written evaluation after following up again. Working with CCI required patience but was definitely worth my piece of mind.

Description of Work
Shane came to our home to evaluate the structural integrity of our fireplace/chimney. It appeared to be pulling away from the house (as evident by vertical cracks between the wall and the chimney and by horizontal cracks from the adjacent window to the chimney). Shane and his protege looked under the house, went on the roof and shook the chimney, checked the straps in the attic and used a level to evaluate the firebox. All checked out well and it was determined that we do not need to pull down the chimney and rebuild - what a relief!

Category chimney repair

5.0

02/17/2007


TODD S.

Shane did a thorough inspection of the chimney from top to bottom, including a narrated video analysis of the interior of the chimney. He answered all of my questions patiently, carefully explained his observations, and made considered recommendations about repairing and cleaning our chimney. We also have a second outdoor chimney which Shane graciously inspected for no charge. I would highly recommend hiring Shane if you need a chimney inspection.

Description of Work
We hired Shane from Certified Chimney Inspectors to inspect the brick chimney on the house we recently purchased.

Category chimney repair

5.0

11/01/2006


MICHAEL O.

This vendor's category should be changed as they do NOT sweep chimneys. They only provide chimney inspections. They were very nice on the phone.

Description of Work
None - wrong category

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/05/2006


SHANNON P.

The inspection was very thorough and well worth the fee, as we detected several very serious structural problems with our chimney that actually make it unsafe to use. In fact, we will have to rebuild it eventually. The company videotaped the interior walls of the chimney and gave us a copy of the tape complete with audio commentary from the inspector on the defects found inside. They were also available for follow-up questions.

Description of Work
This company performed an inspection of the chimney in the house we bought in June, before closing.

Category chimney repair

5.0

07/29/2005

IT WAS EXCELLENT. THEIR THOROUGHNESS AND ATTENTION TO DETAIL. THEY ALSO EXPLAINED THINGS TO ME THAT I DID NOT UNDERSTAND. THEY ARE CSIA CERTIFIED, AND I BELIEVE THE FELLOW THAT OWNS THE COMPANY IS AN INSTRUCTOR FOR A FIRE AGENCY.

Description of Work
THEY DID A VIDEO INSPECTION AND SWEEPING OF THE CHIMNEY. THEY ALSO CREATED A REPORT, WHICH SAID THAT I HAD A SPECIFIC TYPE OF CHIMNEY. THEY GAVE US A HISTORICAL REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS OF REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT.

Category chimney sweep

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chimney Sweep Masters

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    California Chimney Sweep

    EXPERT CHIMNEY SERVICE SINCE 1984 (32 Years now) The chimney, fireplace, and even your dryer vent are among the most overlooked causes of home fires. California Chimney Sweep is dedicated to helping make your home safe from fire damage. We are a small, family-owned chimney service company whose mission is to provide quality service and honest advice. We have 30 years of experience, so you can trust that we will give you the best advice and service possible. California Chimney Sweep was started in 1984 by Vince McCauley when he started in 1984 he ran the business out of our VW Bus. We have grown into a professional chimney sweeping service with over 30 years experience. For 30 years we have provided superior service to our customers that keeps them coming back. Many of our long-time customers have been with us for over 25 years. We have obtained an "A" Rating on popular consumer review websites, as a result of the many satisfactory reports submitted by the customers we’ve served.  

    Safe & Warm Chimney Services

    We are a complete Fireplace and Chimney service. All of our technicians are F.I.R.E and C.S.I.A certified. Our Corporation is a state licensed specialty contractor. Bonded and insured. We are offering a promotional deal that includes a cleaning of a one story fireplace with a video safety inspection of the internal portion of the fireplace for $179.99 .  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Ask for details
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Extensive visual inspection, internal video inspection, chimney construction consulting & construction defect evaluation.

    Services Not Offered

    Cleanings or repairs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Certified Chimney Inspectors

    How is Certified Chimney Inspectors overall rated?

    Certified Chimney Inspectors is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Certified Chimney Inspectors open?

    Certified Chimney Inspectors is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Certified Chimney Inspectors provide

    Certified Chimney Inspectors accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Certified Chimney Inspectors offer free estimates?

    No, Certified Chimney Inspectors does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Certified Chimney Inspectors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Certified Chimney Inspectors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Certified Chimney Inspectors offer a senior discount?

    No, Certified Chimney Inspectors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Certified Chimney Inspectors?

    No, Certified Chimney Inspectors does not offer warranties.

    What services does Certified Chimney Inspectors offer?

    Certified Chimney Inspectors offers the following services: Extensive visual inspection, internal video inspection, chimney construction consulting & construction defect evaluation.

    Are there any services Certified Chimney Inspectors does not offer?

    Cleanings or repairs.