Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS

Founded 2007 • With Angi since December 2008

Southern California's (2009,2010,2011,2012,2013 & 2014 Super Service Award Company!) Residential & Commercial Professional Concrete flat work, Engineered Masonry Retaining Walls, Free standing Masonry Walls, Interlocking Paving Stones, Clay Brick, Natural and manufactured Stone applications. Family owned. Cost is determined by the job. Award winning.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(159) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 159 reviews
andrew N.
5.0
09/25/2019
We could not be more pleased with the work done by Falcon Construction! The owner, Val Mataele, was accessible from the very beginning. He answered all our questions and addressed all our concerns in a thoughtful, patient, and professional manner. We knew from the outset that his exceedingly high rating on Angie's List was well founded and absolutely justified. His crew, headed by his very capable brother, completed the project in the time frame they had stated before they began. And the result? Well, it was amazing. The value of our home has been enhanced tremendously and we have a rugged, durable, and gorgeous parking section for our vehicles as well as another cosmetic section that is simultaneously strong and beautiful. Without hesitation, we would recommend Falcon Construction to anyone looking for peace of mind in the selection of a company specializing in the highest quality Concrete-Masonry-and Paving work!
Description of Work
We needed a parking pad put in constructed of Turfstone (x-pattern) pavers as well as an additional non-parking section.
Category
masonry, hardscaping
Jin K.
5.0
09/08/2019
Falkon construction provided efficient, fast, thorough job to the hardscaping that I needed. In summary, they were the most professional team that I have worked with. Previous Condition - Size: 800 sq ft - Level: not leveled - Content: dirt, 4" concrete underneath, small section of grass What Falkon Construction Worked on - Summary: 800 sq ft that had to be excavated first, leveled, concrete poured in, 24 x 24 travertine stones were put on top. A+ - Timeline: 7 days, A+ - Crew Management: when the job started, everybody (3-4 crews/day) showed up on-time ready to work and cleaned up after each day. A+ - Planning: on the first day of the job, Charlie asked detailed question on where the hardscaping ends and verifying corners and lines for each. Consultative, professional, A+ - Equipment and preparedness: they have all the equipments, trucks, other necessary machines to do the job efficiently. A+ Price $10,995.00
Description of Work
Hardscaping
Category
concrete repair, excavators, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Anna C.
5.0
04/14/2019
The work was done on time, safely, and the job site was neat and clean. I couldn't have been more delighted with the workmanship. Even our very particular neighbor was pleased and asked for their business card for future work.
Description of Work
Replace a 70 foot block wall adjoining neighbor's yard that was hit by a truck.
Category
masonry
Misti O.
5.0
08/23/2018
Val quoted the front (driveway and porch) well below the 2 other bids received, so had him do an area in the backyard (700 sq ft) and it still came out less than the other bidders. Took about 8 working days to demo and install the paver system. Looks fantastic. Added a sealer when the job was done to protect my investment that requires a 3 day cure time. Couldn't be more pleased with the work, the team and the overall experience. Shop around before making your decision. You can't beat Falkon!
Description of Work
Replaced concrete driveway, front porch and backyard patio area with pavers.
Category
concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping, patios
Gary S.
5.0
08/17/2018
I usually don't use the cliche "we couldn't be happier," but we really couldn't be happier with our new paver driveway installed by Falkon. We solicited three bids from companies found on Angie's list. One estimate was really high. A second estimate seemed too good (low) to be true. Based on the Angie's List ratings, I expected Falkon to be about halfway between the two, but the Falkon was almost the same as the "too good to be true" estimate. After researching more and viewing the Falkon website which included past project photos, we selected Falkon for the project. Honestly, at first, I thought Val kind of rushed through the estimate/walkthrough, especially when compared to the experience I had with the other two contractors we spoke with. I'm not saying this to complain. I'm bringing this up to suggest that if you have a similar experience/feeling, don't let that scare you away. Val was always responsive to our needs throughout the decision-making process and the actual project. He never blew us off or made us feel like we were bothering him. Besides, what really counted was the execution of the project and the results. Both were outstanding. Val's crew appeared very experienced. They were punctual and professional. The progress they made each day was phenomenal. We have a pretty large driveway - approximately 1200 square feet with some curving on the borders. Day 1 - Demolished and removed/hauled away old asphalt driveway. Graded soil. Day 2 - Placed underlayments and compacted/graded again Day 3 - Placed all pavers - except for border. Day 4 - Placed bordering pavers and cut inner pavers meeting the border. We requested angled pattern requiring more (and angled) cuts. (By the way, we love the angled paver pattern. Worth the extra effort and cost.) Day. 5 - Filled in gaps between pavers. (about half day). Day 6 - Originally planned, but not needed because everything was completed on Day 5. We highly recommend Falkon Construction for any paver project you are considering.
Description of Work
Replaced asphalt driveway with paver driveway.
Category
masonry, hardscaping
Sue O.
5.0
05/30/2018
Falkon was professional, timely and completed high quality work.
Description of Work
Large driveway project (pavers)
Category
concrete driveways
Patrick B.
1.0
03/19/2018
Called and left a message asking for an estimate on getting a concrete pad poured in addition to leveling and installing gravel in a large yard. Did not receive a call back.
Description of Work
Concrete and hardscaping
Category
concrete repair, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We sincerely apologize for not having the opportunity to return your call. It is a very rare occasion that we do not have the opportunity to call our potential customers back. We will certainly take note of this missed opportunity as we value your needs for our concrete & masonry services. If you happen to still have a need for our services, we will be more than happy to visit your property and provide a free estimate. Take care.
Martha Q.
5.0
01/15/2018
Val is dependable, professional and knowledgeable. His crew is the same. Their clean up after the job was very good. Most contractors do not clean up well.
Description of Work
Demolish and replace concrete posts in preparation for wrought iron gates. Redo front walkway with stone paves.
Category
masonry
Charles H.
5.0
10/02/2017
Superb. On time, on budget, impeccable results. Val was very knowledgeable, worked with us to meet our desired outcome, identified and resolved issues before work began. The work was completed in an efficient and professional manner. The crew was very organized and did superb work. The neighbors also commented on their friendliness and professionalism.
Description of Work
Driveway replacement - Demo of existing 400 sq. ft. driveway, installing brick ribbons and pouring/finishing of colored concrete.
Category
concrete driveways, masonry
arif S.
5.0
09/07/2017
It was very good. They were good guys. I give them the highest grade. Actually I referred them to my neighbor and they used them to do their pavement. Very pleasant experience. About 4 workers came to do the job. They left everything clean.
Description of Work
They did my pavement. They repaved my driveway.
Category
concrete driveways
John S.
5.0
09/02/2017
While we didn't end up hiring Falkon (we obtained a few estimates), Val was very professional throughout the estimate process. He was punctual in arriving for the estimate appointment, did a good job of explaining the work and emailed me the estimate as promised. Further, when I emailed him informing him of our decision to use another masonry company, he sent a email thanking me for considering Falkon for the work.
Description of Work
I needed a front brick path on the parkway (grass area between sidewalk and street) to match the front entry walk to my house. I also needed a brick extension to a side patio.
Category
masonry
Cynthia R.
5.0
08/12/2017
The owner set an appointment with me and provided an estimate promptly thereafter. Both I and my neighbor felt the price was good for the work. The necessity for me to consult with my neighbor, and later to wait for my neighbor to clear vegetation, and finally my own vacation, interjected delays into the process. There were also some minor delays and schedule changes from Falkon's end, but I figure these cancel each other out. I obtained the city permit myself (otherwise there would have been an extra charge). There was one sprinkler pipe broken off and not capped, which resulted in the trench filling with water. This caused some stress until the cause was sorted out, but then they took care of it. Once work begun, it only took a few days. We did not need to be continuously present. End result a very nice-looking, serviceable wall and a good experience.
Description of Work
68-foot long, 6-foot high plain concrete block wall between properties
Category
concrete repair, excavators, masonry

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! We greatly appreciate your honest review as we too had a positive experience working with you and [Member Name Removed]. Thank you again!
janice F.
5.0
05/22/2017
I'd hire Val and Team Falkon again and would highly recommend to others.
Description of Work
Due to our extreme rainy season here in So. CA my place of work experienced water damage due to water leakage at ground level. Falkon fixed that problem with expertise while maintaining professionalism and ethical business trust!
Category
concrete repair, masonry
JASON W.
5.0
05/01/2017
It first starts with Val. He was not only professional, but you immediately get a feeling that he knows exactly what he's doing when quoting the job. We didn't use an architect or designer, but rather designed our front and backyard design ourselves. Val was patient in advising us on how to make it all work. His team is hard-working and very efficient with their time. I could not be happier with the pavers and sitting wall/retaining wall they constructed. The concrete banding around our new pavered driveway is fantastic. Most importantly, they sloped the backyard pavers perfectly to allow run-off to funnel perfectly to the two drains nearest the patio. There are no high-points between pavers. The walls are stuccoed beautifully, and the wall caps are very well done. They did trenching for my future electrical needs in both front and back. The price was very fair for the entire project when looking at dollars psf and in fact more competitive than several competitors I had estimate the job. Since Falkon Construction completed the work I've installed a 350 sq ft putting green in the backyard where Val's team expertly crafted out the spot. I also repainted my entire house to show off their great work. It took me a while to get this review posted, but if you have any question about whether to choose Falkon Construction ... I say do it! Feel free to come visit my house and inspect their work up close, or see the pictures I posted. Reach me at jasonwroth@msn.com
Description of Work
I'm the original owner of my house built in Chino in 1998. My wife and I decided to let the grass go due to the drought in California. We decided we wanted pavers throughout the back and side of the house leading to the front. We also wanted a sitting wall/retaining wall in the back, and another in the front, with a walkway leading to the front door.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, masonry, drain pipe, hardscaping
Rodney L.
5.0
03/20/2017
Val was excellent and meet with me days before to ensure we were clear as to the scope of work. The crew worked with me to ensure the wall would be constructed on the legal, recorded property line as established by the ground monuments and the County records. They worked fast and the workmanship was excellent.
Description of Work
Construction of a concrete masonry unit (CMU) wall and manufactured used brick wall extension along the property line between my property and neighboring property.
Category
masonry
Randa S.
5.0
01/16/2017
Their work was excellent. All portions of the process was handled in a professional manner.
Description of Work
They reconstructed brick planters and a brick porc An old sidewalk was removed and a new walkway was completed.
Category
concrete repair, masonry, hardscaping
CONNIE P.
5.0
10/26/2016
I had done quite a bit of research before contacting Falkon Construction. I appreciated that he is licensed and had good Angie's List reviews and BBB history. From the first interaction with the owner, Val, we were pleased. When he came out to assess the project he was knowledgeable and easy to talk to. He made a number of suggestions that we incorporated. He provided a proposal within about a week, which was thorough and detailed. He was able to start within about 3 weeks, but due to some family health issues on our end, we had to push the date out further. Val was very accommodating. Once the job started, Val was here for key dates, but otherwise his foreman, Charlie, was in charge. Charlie was a great guy and really cared about the quality of work and that we were happy. There were a couple little things that came up during the job for which we needed to make adjustments (as there always are) and Charlie was great with solutions and options. The end result for both the wall and driveway was excellent and finished on time and within budget. I will say that this firm may not be the least expensive, however, they do things right. The reinforcement materials and construction practices and methodologies will ensure that this fairly significant investment will last a very long time. If you get multiple quotes from other providers, be sure you understand the approach each firm will take so you're comparing apples to apples. This company is worth the money!
Description of Work
We contracted with Falkon Construction to replace an old asphalt driveway with concrete and we replaced an old decrepit wood fence with a new block wall.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, fencing, masonry
Tuk C.
3.0
06/15/2016
Val is the owner of the company. First proposal price was good. But Val came back with the final proposal as about 20% more. We hope they will do a very good job and on time. Unfortunately, it was not. Val did not order the stone at the time he told us. It delayed for one week. Val did not communicate well with his crew about the GFI outlet on the ground professionally. Otherwise, we can move to different location base on the electrical technician. On top of that Val tried to avoid responsibility to fix the GFI, but we talked to make him pay 25% of the new GFI replacement. Also, he made us pay for an extra stone, which should be on his own estimate cost that he gave us in the contract. His crew did not perform a good job on laying drain pips system on the ground. We sent him pictures of drain system that did not work after the rain. Val avoided responsible again. we had to fix the drain system by our own. He is pretty much a nickel and dimed kind of person. His golden word is "it is not in the scope of work" We will not definitely recommend.
Description of Work
retaining wall and drain system
Category
masonry, drain pipe
Jared H.
2.0
02/25/2016
My wife called the company on 2/11/2016. No one picked up the phone so left a message. They called back that day and set up a schedule to estimate the project on 2/20/2016, nine day wait time. Estimate went quick and good, the guy was very nice and acted as a professional while showing up on time. however at the end he asked my email and said they will email me a quote on Tuesday or Wednesday coming up. Mind you this quote was being taken on a Saturday so I understand the whole weekend thing, just a little annoyed it would take that long after the weekend for a 455 square foot area with wanting a plain concrete slab with brush fisnish, nothing fancy at all. It is now 2/25/2016 and i still have not herd from the company at all. I will admit I haven't tried calling them, i just don't want to hire a company that I have difficulty with just getting a quote from. I don't feel like i should nag for a quote. I have found other companies through Angies List that did a quote the next day and gave me a quote that day, that i will be hiring. Mind you the grade "F" on here equals Lousy as per the websites definiton. Which is why i gave them the grade. They were did well on responding the first time, just not any time after that. **UPDATE 2/26/2016** Few hours after i wrote this review, the company did email the quote. It was a really good price, and did get me to second guess it a little. However the quote did take 5 days to get, and it was late in the evening that i got the email. the twice i've emailed it has taken at least a day to get a response. For those reasons I still choose not to use their service. If they were on time with the quote, and not everything taking long times to hear back from, i would of probably hired them. In one of the reply's i got they did say they were unhappy with my review. here is what they stated, "Btw, I'm disappointed with negative review on Angies List. I will reply accordingly on Angies List in hopes of sharing more about our business and creating a better understanding for not only you but future clients that may read the negative review." This review is based off my thoughts and my decisions for having work done to my house and reasons and thoughts of my own. I'm sure the company has a reason to why they were late and took 5 days just to give me a quote on less then 500 sq ft of concrete. I hope this will help them see the flaw, and others. I did upgrade my ratings slightly since now i have herd back from them.
Description of Work
estimate on patio and side of house cemented
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Falkon Construction Inc with it's wonderful partnership with Angies LIst has grown tremendously since inception in 2007. We have maintained a very high standard for customer service and delivering to hundreds of our customers a finished masonry & concrete product that have always exceeded their expectations. Our tremendous growth has impacted our small company in many positive ways. We now support both the Commercial & Residential construction fields. This positive growth as in any growth capacity will often draw some negative aspects or otherwise known as "growing pains". Although we are never happy to see diminished performance ratings, we're always thankful for them as they remind us of how we can become better. We appreciate your patience and greatly look forward to continue providing excellent customer service and a finished concrete or masonry product that we can be proud of. Best regards, Val Mataele Principal
Mike P.
5.0
02/16/2016
We used Falkon Construction to replace our driveway with pavers. Prior to deciding on Falkon Construction we had six companies come out and provide us a price estimate. At that point we were looking to replace our concrete drive way with another concrete driveway. We intended to replace the driveway two years ago but had to wait. When the driveway got to the point that we could not wait any longer we started getting price estimates again. During the first round of price estimates, one company said they would not need to use any rebar which was counter to all the research I did and what every other company I spoke to said. Another company would not stop calling me. They continued to call me even after I told them we decided not to do the work. I had to block their number to stop the calls. A third company never bothered to follow up on the price estimate. The other two companies and Falkon Construction?s estimates were within a few hundred dollars of each other. We decided on Falkon Construction because the reviews we had read about Falkon Construction and when Val Mataele came out to do the price estimate he also recommended pavers. The reasons he gave for using pavers made perfect sense and when we finally did decide to replace the driveway, we went with Val?s recommendation to use the pavers. When we told Val we would have to wait on the driveway, he said no problem and he hoped we would consider his company when we decided to do the work. His personal note as to the reason we decide to wait was also appreciated. During the next round of price estimates about 3 months ago, we had a company come out based on a friend?s recommendation. They never followed up after their visit. When we contacted Val, he said he remembered us and could come out two days later to do the price estimate. The work was completed in about a week to include demo of the old driveway. Prior to starting the demo of the old driveway, Val brought his foreman and demo crew out to our house. He introduced them to me and went over some last minute details with everyone. Every day the worksite was clean and no debris were left out. Val did on site checks and contacted me at least twice during the week to make sure there were no problems. We would definitely recommend them in to our friends.
Description of Work
Replaced old concrete driveway with pavers.
Category
masonry
Stephen T.
5.0
10/14/2015
I contacted Val, the owner, of Falkon Construction for a bid for this small job, as I did several other contractors. The area of pavers to be installed was appox. 12 X 25 feet (300 square feet). All the other contractors had a minimum of around $4000 to $5000. Val suggested I email him some pictures of the site and he got back to me the next day with a quote of $4600. He was very professional and was glad to answer my questions. I decided to go with Falkon, Val came out the next day to inspect the site, I had decided to add a small additional area so his final quote was $4700. I agreed and he was able to start work the next day due to a window he had between larger jobs. The whole project took only three days. The work was excellent, he was able to match the pattern of the existing pavers. I am very pleased with the results, I would highly recommend Falkon Construction Co.
Description of Work
Installed a paver side extension to my driveway.
Category
concrete driveways, landscaping, masonry, driveway pavers, hardscaping
John S.
5.0
09/17/2015
Falkon Concrete and the crew did a great job. Their attention to detail from the initial consultation to the completed product was excellent. The team always arrived on time and communication was clear and concise. In fact, every day the owner would give me a call to update me on the process and ask if I had any questions. Great experience and a fantastic final product.
Description of Work
Removed old broken driveway and poured new concrete driveway and garage pad
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, masonry
Robert B.
5.0
06/17/2015
Very helpful with referrals.
Description of Work
Could not do my specific job but was extremely thoughtful, courteous, and responsive on my exploration call.
Category
masonry
Guy B.
5.0
05/18/2015
It went great. Val and his team were on time, worked super hard, and created a great wall. They were efficient and did a great job on the final cleanup. They were also very careful with some plants that were close to the wall. (Note though that we did remove as many plants as we could to give them room to trench and lay the wall. But there were a couple of very unique trees that they did their best to avoid damaging.)
Description of Work
Removed existing (and rotting) wooden fence, posts, and concrete. Trenched some very hard clay soil for a concrete base. Erected about 70 feet of new block wall. (Complete with rebar and concrete for proper reinforcement.) Wall is standard yellow colored block with a cap on the top.
Category
fencing, landscaping, masonry
Richard T.
5.0
04/22/2015
His crew showed up when they said they would. they did a great job and cleaned up when they were done. It took 3 days. One to tear out the old concrete. One to put in footings and replace patio support posts and one to pour and finish the new concrete. Val Mataele and his crew were great to work with.
Description of Work
Tore out and replaced a section of my concrete patio
Category
concrete repair, landscaping, masonry

Phone

Address

17124 S Western Ave

Gardena, CA 90247

Other Information

Services offered

Southern California's (2009,2010,2011,2012,2013 & 2014 Super Service Award Company!) Residential & Commercial Concrete Driveways, Pavers, Walkways, Block Wall, Engineered Retaining Wall, Demolition, cultured Stone, Veneer work, Flagstone and Brick design work.

Services not offered

n/a

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
PayPal

FAQ

FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM

FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal

Yes, FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS offers free project estimates.

Yes, FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS does not offer a senior discount.

No, FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS does not offer warranties.

FALKON CONCRETE-MASONRY-PAVERS offers the following services: Southern California's (2009,2010,2011,2012,2013 & 2014 Super Service Award Company!) Residential & Commercial Concrete Driveways, Pavers, Walkways, Block Wall, Engineered Retaining Wall, Demolition, cultured Stone, Veneer work, Flagstone and Brick design work.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Aerations Plus

4.0

(10)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Aerations Plus

Since 1994, Aerations Plus has been serving Southern California residents with top-notch sprinkler repair and irrigation system installation services for residential and commercial properties. Our team of technicians undergoes thorough background checks to ensure the safety of our customers, and we are dedicated to building long-lasting relationships with them through high quality work and exceptional service. Our mission is to be the go-to provider for all your lawn care needs, and to consistently exceed your expectations. Contact Aerations Plus today to learn more about the different irrigation systems available and to schedule a free lawn assessment. With our Water Wise program, our technicians will also conduct regular inspections to make sure your system is functioning properly and not wasting water, helping you conserve resources and save money.  

Aff Construction

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Aff Construction

We specialize in drywall/sheet rock, plaster and stucco. Installs, repairs, finishing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Way To Go Builders

5.0

(14)

Angi Certified

Way To Go Builders

The company was founded in 2012 by licensed contractors Jonathan E. and Daniel S. who have been professionally trained and certified. Way to go builders designs and renovates yards. Transforming yards into beautiful entertainment areas, and more! We take pride in our work and strive to be the best. Our team specializes in most backyard renovations! Our services includes: * Pavers * Concrete/ Stamped Concrete * Custom Concrete * Hardscape * Landscaping * Landscape * Fire Pits * Driveways * BBQ * Outdoor Kitchen * Deck * Pools/ Spa * Pool Remodeling * Patio * Block Wall * Retaining Wall * Fence * Gate * Water Features * Artificial Turf * Backyard Remodel And so much more...