Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ski's Tree Service

Founded 1994 • With Angi since July 2006

4.9

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5012 w. Athens Ave.

Fresno, CA 93722

Description

We have been in business since 1994 and are fully insured. Our contractor's state license number is 753448.We are a member of the BBB with a rating of A+....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/24/2019


tom W.

They quoted a great competitive price and cut down our 70ft tree, removed the brush and ground the stump in one day. Very responsive.

Description of Work
Dead redwood tree

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank You, John
5.0

07/27/2019


Betsy T.

This was a project of several trees on a property that had not had attention in 20 years. This was the best experience I’ve had with a tree service. I found Ski’s Tree Service because I had to keep looking after previous tree services did poor work and actually killed a tree. I could tell when interviewing him and comparing the estimates that he was the most professional and most of his crew had worked for him for at least 12 years. He had equipment and a bucket truck to get to the highest limbs for safety. The trees were beautifully trimmed bringing out their natural shapes. The crew was so talented and worked fast, cleaning up immediately. It was such a pleasure to get such a great outcome compared to the previous disappointments I’d had with other services. I have more work for this company on other properties and I will stay with him for all future tree maintenance needs.

Description of Work
Tree trim and dead tree removal

Category tree service

1.0

07/22/2019


Dale G.

They did not even bother to contact us with an estimate. There was no contact at all.

Description of Work
tree trimming

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

I appologize for not calling you. I'm 64 now and when you are busy you may forget chores. I have never forgot to be at a job site to work on time unless it is raining quite a lot. Thank You, John
5.0

06/14/2019


Linda O.

They did a really good job. They were very friendly, cut everything and left looks nice. Pricing was reasonable and quality was excellent. We would use them if we need them,

Description of Work
They cut down trees and shrubs.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much and I now have been in busines for 25 years.
5.0

01/11/2019


Steve P.

These guys are amazing! John and Josh are super friendly an professional!!! VERY happy with my experience with them!

Description of Work
8 trees removed

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, very much for your review. I have worked for many Angie List Customer's and you are one of the best. Also thank you for mentioning my son Josh. He is doing a great job. John
5.0

08/16/2017


Margaret N.

The 5 men arrived about 15 minutes early and worked steadily throughout the day. They knew their job and worked together as a team; 1-3 each on a separate tree, bucket or climbing, using small gas-powered saws and 2 on the ground putting the dropped branches into the chipper. They cleaned up afterward and left the driveway and yard tidy. We spoke to 2 of the team and both were pleasant and customer oriented: they walked to meet us in the yard and inquired whether or not we liked the job and whether or not there were questions. This happened each time either my husband or myself would go out to check on their progress: very professional and courteous. We would rate them as an A+ (110%) and would ask them return next time. You can hire Ski's Tree Service with confidence. NOTE: the Owner calls to make an appointment, comes out himself to look over each tree and gives a written estimate. He is the reason the team is what it is; we chose Ski's Tree Service based on what others said about them on Angie's List, and we were not disappointed. They do not top trees; they thin out entire limbs and trim, thin and raise, thus improving sun and air circulation to the center of the tree. They have the equipment for tall trees (bucket on a very long arm) and we have tall trees. They bring a chipper & grinder and trucks to carry away the debris. When finished, the overall appearance is pleasing and there is more sunlight in the yard and garden than before. The men worked on these mature trees for this 2-day job: 3 cork oaks, 2 catalpa, 5 tallow, 1 liquid amber + 1 liquid amber removed & stump ground down, 4 Raymond Ash, 1 Bartlet Pear, small palm tree removed & stump ground, 2 crabapple, 2 other trees...don't remember their names. Great Job! 110%! :-) Well worth the price-tag.... not as expensive as we were expecting.

Description of Work
The 30+ year-old fruitless Barlett pear tree dropped 2 large limbs and several other large trees needed thinning and raising as well. The trees had been pruned by tree climbers in the past; but the trees were never thinned. They were trimmed at the edges and raised. We needed more done as our trees were beyond 30 years old and were becoming too heavy for their own good. Although we liked our shady yard, the trees seemed to be taking over. We knew something needed to be done, but who? We found Ski's Tree Service in Angie's list & decided that the Owner liked trees and knew how to take care of mature trees without butchering them.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank your so much for the great review.
5.0

05/02/2017


Catherine P.

Really awesome job! He thinned, trimmed and raised the canopy on some large trees and I am really happy with how natural, healthy and opened up they look now. Nice guy to work with, too. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Tree trimming

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the work. John
5.0

04/26/2017


Catherine P.

Ski's did a fantastic job! Trees are beautiful and growing in nicely now that leaves are back. Their shapes are natural and healthy looking. Ski was prompt to respond, pleasant to deal with, got work done quickly and crew totally cleaned up before they left. Recommend highly.

Description of Work
Large trees needed to be pruned, thinned, canopy raised and branches taken off of roof. I was cautious as I've seen bad and/or excessive pruning kill trees. It is important to me that the trees look natural after pruning.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your great review. John
5.0

04/18/2017


Delbert D.

John showed up on time for estimates and to complete the job. They cleaned up everything and done an excellent job.

Description of Work
Trimmed about 45 trees.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your excellent review and all the work you gave us. John
5.0

03/08/2017


Patrice L.

They removed many of the unnecessary branches such as waterspouts, crossed limbs and deadwood. They reduced the overall weight on our Bradford Pear trees and Chinese Elms which are closest to our house. They covered any plants that I was concerned about and our new walkway to protect from any damage. Everything was left spotless, all brush was chipped and even were kind enough to give wood chips to neighbor who requested them. Wonderful crew and amazing service at fair price as we have paid twice as much in the past.

Description of Work
We have several mature trees of various types on our property. They performed a light trimming in 2016 because due to drought we didn't want to do a more involved pruning to stress trees. So this year we had them return and they did a more involved trimming and reduction of 4 of our largest trees in front yard. Service and results were fantastic.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank You, John

    Other local Pros in your area

    Imagine Tree Service, Inc.

    Imagine Tree Service is your one stop shop for all your tree service needs. We pride ourselves in going above and beyond for our customers. We take great pride in our work with focus on detail and what it takes to get the job done safety. There is no project too big or small for Imagine Tree Service, Inc. We specialize in Tree removals, trimming, and stump removals. We would love to come take a look at your damaged, broken or falling trees before disaster strikes! Give us a call today for your next tree service project!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Happy Growing Landscaping

    Here at Happy Growing Landscaping, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. We are experts in our trade and take pride our commitment to quality from beginning to end of your project. We look forward to earning your business. Call us anytime with any questions you may have. Thanks for your time and have a great day.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Mills Tree Expert

    Mills Tree Expert are your tree specialists covering Fresno and surrounding areas. Contact us with all of your tree removal, stump removal, and tree trimming needs.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    753448
    Trade License Locale
    116839
    Trade License Authority
    Licence Board
    Trade License Expiration
    08/31/2016
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Tree trimming, stump grinding and complete removals. Lot clearing of trees.

    Services Not Offered

    Transplanting of trees or landscaping work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ski's Tree Service

    How is Ski's Tree Service overall rated?

    Ski's Tree Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ski's Tree Service open?

    Ski's Tree Service is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Ski's Tree Service provide

    Ski's Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Ski's Tree Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ski's Tree Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Ski's Tree Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ski's Tree Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Ski's Tree Service?

    Yes, Ski's Tree Service offers warranties.

    What services does Ski's Tree Service offer?

    Ski's Tree Service offers the following services: Tree trimming, stump grinding and complete removals. Lot clearing of trees.

    Are there any services Ski's Tree Service does not offer?

    Transplanting of trees or landscaping work.