Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

KURT OLMSTEAD & CO

Founded 1981 • With Angi since August 2005

5.0

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO BOX 8943

Fountain Valley, CA 92728

Description

LICENSE # 494096....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/30/2016


Kathryn D.

It went better than could ever be expected. When we initially met with Kurt, we could tell he was an absolute expert in this area. We really wanted to get it done as soon as possible, but he was totally booked up. However, when one of his customers dropped out at the last minute, he thought of us and contacted us to see if we could slide into the opening. The timing was fantastic and we really appreciated his attention to the details of our timing needs. Our second meeting with Kurt was so that we could pick out the exact details of the handrail, box newels and balusters to be installed. He had loads of examples for us to look through and he was very knowledgable about what changes needed to be made to meet current code. Once installation began, Kurt and his team were onsite every day and were great to work with - they even were kind to our dog, nicknaming her their "shop dog" as she liked to hang around them as they worked. They worked quickly, efficiently and always cleaned up at night to ensure the safety of our children during a home remodel (ie. replaced the railings they took down each night so that the stairway would be safe for my girls.)

Description of Work
We renovated our stairway in our 2 story house. Kurt helped us by removing the existing carpet and rail system and installing detailed skirts to both sides of stairway and under upstairs landing rails, as well as installing tread end caps and risers to open ends of stairway. He also installed a new handrail, box newels and balusters - all up to current code. He finished off all steps to make them carpet ready.

Category woodworking

5.0

08/16/2016


Michael F.

From the first visit at our house all the way to the finishing touches of this project, Kurt and his team did a wonderful job. Kurt is very professional, knowledgeable and his pricing is transparent and reasonable. The quality of the workmanship is outstanding. Kurt, who owns this company does a lot of the work himself, which makes a big difference. He is an expert in what he does and once he and his team starts working you can see that they love what they do. They are very passionate and want to make things right for their customers.

Description of Work
Built and installed a new wood floor staircase and new railing

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the nice review. Greatly appreciated. Please tell your friends and neighbors if they are looking at redoing their old staircase. Kurt
5.0

08/09/2016


Mark P.

I highly recommend Kurt and his crew! Kurt is an expert. He will take the time required to help you chose materials and explain the process. Kurt and his crew are excellent craftsmen! It's been a few months and I still smile when I look at my new stairs, they are gorgeous! Kurt did a great job protecting flooring and surrounding areas with thick pads and creating dust barriers to prevent damage and keep other adjacent areas clean. A+++

Description of Work
Removed and replaced all stair components i.e. balusters, handrails, newel post, nosing etc. Prepared stairs to assure subsequent carpet installation would look great .

Category woodworking

5.0

03/07/2013


Patti C.

We called, he returned calls. He came out a couple of times to go over details. He was great to work with. He was prompt, his estimate of how long the job would take was right on and his work was fabulous!

Description of Work
Kurt helped us redesign our outdated stairs. He and his team did a fantastic job down to the last detail. They were super clean and professional. We are so happy with what a great job they did and our staircase is beautiful.

Category woodworking

5.0

01/07/2013


Suzy S.

Kurt was great to deal with. He was able to swing by our home for a quick look at our staircase and prepare a rough estimate. He returned another time with samples of the balusters and newel posts. The completed project looks great.The stain matches very well with our hardwood floors.

Description of Work
Hardwood and Iron Balustrade System: Remove existing rail system, wall cap and wall rail. Install new maple wall cap. Post to post handrail construction using 31/2” box newel, handrail to bypass wall and continue to landing. Balusters to be a combination of double baskets and double twists with baskets separated by two twists. Shoe rail used for baluster installation. Install wall hung handrail on second section of stairway using deluxe wall rail brackets All material to be maple finished to match new flooring. Balusters to have factory powder coat/satin black.

Category remodeling,woodworking,wrought iron

5.0

06/23/2012


Daniel P.

Excellent work!Took out the 41 old oak balusters and replaced with iron balusters in one day.Great quality and service.

Description of Work
Replaced the 41 wood balusters in our staircase with iron balusters.

Category woodworking,wrought iron

5.0

02/11/2012


Leona D.

We needed kitchen cabinetry installed and he referred us to Brent Ohlmstead, who did an outstanding job.

Description of Work
curt did not perform the kind of work we needed, but he was extremely professional and gave us a terrific reference for someone that did an outstanding job for us.

Category woodworking

5.0

03/31/2009


Carol R.

In late January, I emailed Kurt a bid request for remodeling our stairs. He promptly emailed me a rough estimate, and responded quickly to every question I had by email or telephone. Kurt then met us at our house for a detailed estimate, bringing a large binder of past work-reference photos, stair-parts catalogs, plus an entire truckload of sample materials (spindles, mouldings, hardwoods, stains, newel posts, handrails...). Of the several carpenters we interviewed, Kurt had some of the best ideas, and anticipated solutions to possible problems (such as the floor tile cracking when the newel posts are secured tightly to the floor). He had no goofy or questionable ideas of improving our odd-looking staircase - everything he presented was well conceived, creative and practical. Kurt did the estimate *and* acted as lead carpenter and foreman for the entire job, including the wood finishing process. Thus, we had absolutely no communication problems or issues with anyone trying to do something that we didn't request, or not doing absolutely everything we did request. Kurt and his crew of 2 arrived promptly each day. They moved our furniture and covered the floors & furniture with tarps and plastic. Each day, they completely cleaned up the area for us. They worked non-stop for 4 days, staggering their lunches so someone was working at all times. Kurt transformed our mid-70's, rough-looking, Brady-Bunch-tract-home stairs into a wonderful, furniture-quality work of art. The dangerous wrought-iron balustrades and oddly hard-to-climb steps were all brought up to safety code, and now walking up and down the staircase is a breeze. Plus, the understair storage cabinets are disguised as a fancy wall with moulding. What an immense difference in our home's entryway! The place is gorgeous now. Kurt has been in business as a CSLB-licensed pro for almost 25 years, and it shows. He was a perfect gentleman throughout the whole process, never badgering us, never asking about other bids we'd received, never bad-mouthing his competitors and never pressuring us to make a decision.

Description of Work
STAIRCASE REMODEL: Replaced balustrades on stairway, balcony and entryway; added wall handrails; added risers, oak tread toppers and bullnose to pine steps; covered and detailed the rough stringers; enclosed the open space under the stairs with a wall of cabinets.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review [Member Name Removed]. I enjoyed working in your home. Please pass on my name if any of your neighbors or friends need a staircase in the future. Kurt
5.0

08/21/2008


Marilyn D.

Kurt Olmstead met us at our home for an estimate. He showed us his portfolio of photos. He was a great help to us for making decisions regarding the types of railings, styles, and wood finishes. He, along with 2 workers started on the date agreed upon. They always arrived on time each morning and worked full time non-stop for 3 consecutive work days. They covered all nearby furniture with plastic and put blankets on the floors. They completely cleaned up the work area after each day's work. Kurt and his employees were exceptionally polite and courteous at all times. The quality of work is exceptional and beyond our expectations. We felt the cost was quite reasonable considering the quality of work and the workmanship. Kurt also kept in touch and coordinated his work with the owner of A&B Flooring (Fountain Valley) who installed the upstairs laminate floors (by the way, A&B Flooring did an outstanding job). Kurt came highly recommended and lived up to the recomendations given to us. This is his specialty. He only works on staircases as far as we know.

Description of Work
REMODEL, RECONSTRUCTION, AND REPLACEMENT OF A STAIRCASE: Demo of existing stringer boards to make stairway open ended, addition of rough risers, kick boards, newel posts, balesters, and wood handrails. Also Installed and painted skirts. Almost a complete re-do of the staircase. Custom stained wood finish.

Category woodworking

5.0

08/21/2005


MICHAEL F.

KURT'S WORK IS ABSOLUTELY IMPRESSIVE. IT IMMEDIATELY UPGRADED THE ENTRY OF OUR HOME AND INCREASED OUR VALUE AS WELL. HIS CRAFTSMANSHIP AND DETAIL IS SECOND TO NONE.

Description of Work
KURT INSTALLED A HARDWOOD BALUSTRADE SYSTEM WHILE COVERING UP OUR OLD STAIRCASE RAILING.

Category woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    Charles James

     

    Carroll Building Solutions

    Our company invites you to experience prompt service and superior attention to detail. With over 12 years of experience our customer satisfaction is our top priority! We will earn your trust for a lifetime. We believe in making all clients repeat clients. You can be assured you're in good with our company working on your home improvement project. If you are looking for a contractor that follows business practices such as promptly returning phone calls, arriving on time for appointments and following through on promises then call our reputable company today.  

    Isaac's Ironworks Inc

    At Isaacs’s Ironworks we specialize in custom work serving the greater Los Angeles area and surrounding for over 19 years. A one time customer is something we try to avoid, that is why we devote so much time and energy to understanding your needs and getting them done quickly and cost effectively. We work with architects and designers and can create a beautiful structural & misc. steel product from blue print or your own design weather you are building from scratch or remodeling. At Isaac’s Ironworks we take much pride at our staff of experienced representative. When you call us you can expect to talk with someone who has knowledge and experience and truly understand your need, and the ability to provide to you when you need it. You can always count on us with innovation and customer service. We have in house design capabilities, and can handle all type of custom work. As Seen on Ellen - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2geYFcqd2Y&feature=player_embedded. Additional fax - (818) 982-1984 wining.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    DESIGN AND INSTALL CUSTOM WOOD & WROUGHT IRON STAIRCASES. INTERIOR STAIRCASES - FINISHING AVAILABLE OFF SIGHT DESIGN CONSOLATION - MANY OPTIONS AVAILABLE

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about KURT OLMSTEAD & CO

    How is KURT OLMSTEAD & CO overall rated?

    KURT OLMSTEAD & CO is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are KURT OLMSTEAD & CO open?

    KURT OLMSTEAD & CO is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    What payment options does KURT OLMSTEAD & CO provide

    KURT OLMSTEAD & CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offer free estimates?

    Yes, KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offers free project estimates.

    Does KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, KURT OLMSTEAD & CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offer a senior discount?

    No, KURT OLMSTEAD & CO does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by KURT OLMSTEAD & CO?

    Yes, KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offers warranties.

    What services does KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offer?

    KURT OLMSTEAD & CO offers the following services: DESIGN AND INSTALL CUSTOM WOOD & WROUGHT IRON STAIRCASES. INTERIOR STAIRCASES - FINISHING AVAILABLE OFF SIGHT DESIGN CONSOLATION - MANY OPTIONS AVAILABLE