Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CLARK CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1984 • With Angi since November 2008

4.5

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Po Box 908

Foresthill, CA 95631

Description

Please, no requests for handyman work until further notice. OWNER OPERATED. OCCASIONALLY USES SUBS FOR LARGE JOBS. COST DETERMINED BY JOB.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/25/2017


Alan S.

Jim did a great job and shows excellent craftsmanship. It turned out better than we expected. Jim did all the tile work, bathroom floor and shower walls. He took his time and did a great job. Also, Jim keeps the process interactive and values your input and feedback.

Description of Work
Convert a master closet into a master batch / walk in closet.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

1.0

06/20/2017


Kirk K.

Terrible,called 3 times left a.message each time. No response back on any of the calls.

Description of Work
Drywalling of a room.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Nothing about this individual is familiar sorry for your bad experience. I would have given an f also. That wasn't my still or how I conduct my business. James
5.0

05/04/2017


Liz B.

The end product was great and Jim and his contractors did a fantastic job. There was a point that we had to be very patient due to contractors not showing up on time.

Description of Work
Our basement was finished, walls were put up, drywall was done, and flooring was put down.

Category contractors, decks, handyman service, lighting, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

03/31/2017


Gerald M.

We saw his work at a neighbors house, we liked what we saw. We hired Jim Clark, he did the job to our satisfaction. Very pleased. We love it!

Description of Work
Demolished 2nd floor bathroom and remodeled it. Tub/shower vanity, mirror, toiler and drywall.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/21/2017


JUDY P.

Within a month the room was under construction . . he, alone constructed my dream room. During the construction changes were made with ease and he didn't hesitate to add his thoughts on how to achieve the relaxed, open room that I wanted . . wonderful suggestions which I readily accepted. The room is gorgeous, all that I could hope for. To finish off my room, he constructed a small deck which is full of plants and flowers . . makes the room feel very open. Thanks Jim!

Description of Work
Clark Construction is without a doubt the best. Jim has done many repairs and updates in my home, i.e., new kitchen counters and sink; painted interior and exterior, new baseboard throughout. Although a bit skeptical, but hopeful, I asked Jim if he would consider building a three season room on the back of my home.

Category contractors, decks, flooring contractor, gutter repair, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, ceiling fans, interior painters, doors, sunrooms, outdoor lighting

5.0

11/28/2016


Jerome M.

came the same day and job was completed

Description of Work
electrical work

Category electrician, handyman service

5.0

11/15/2016


Jerome M.

done with a ton of small projects in 6 hours

Description of Work
electrical work in 97 yr old house

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting

5.0

10/03/2016


Beth W.

He was our second estimate after hearing from a drywall-only guy. He was very upfront and honest, actually telling us to go with the guy specializing in drywall. He made other suggestions for cost-effective renovations in basement. Will hire for other projects.

Description of Work
New drywall in basement after flooding.

Category drywall, remodeling, basement remodeling

1.0

08/05/2016


Laura S.

Awful, never heard from the company.

Description of Work
Paid to have some architectural drawings done on 2 separate rooms. paid twice for the service. Contacted the business through AL, never have heard back from them. So I gave them free money basically. What a waste!

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] purchase this for her son who lives in Edgerton I did meet with the son & his wife and looked at their bathroom their kitchen and storm doors. and called them to follow up on two separate occasions never heard back. Must not have been good communication between the mother and son.
5.0

05/25/2016


Katalin J.

Everything went smoothly. It was done before I knew it. He was extremely efficient and the mailbox looked better than new. I've used him in the past and he's always been superior then too with his performance.

Description of Work
He repaired my mailbox.

Category handyman service

1.0

12/04/2015


Kathleen L.

The guy who came out was a recovering alcoholic and addict, and he parked his trailer in my driveway for about 3-4 weeks. Then, when the door was finally installed, I can still hear the highway traffic through it, which means he did terrible work. Other people, including the door company representative, came out and said the door was installed wrong, but that there was nothing they could do about it since it was already in.

Description of Work
I hired them to put a new door on my patio

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Wow I completely forgotten about Misses [Member name] it was so long ago. A very troubled lady she introduced herself saying my husband killed himself but it wasn't my fault. As far as the door installation it was done properly she was worried when I was there so I called Marling Lumber the provider of the door they agreed the door was installed properly. She needs prayer lots of prayer
5.0

08/17/2015


Mary Y.

Jim was excellent to work with. He offered a lot of different solutions to different issues.

Description of Work
bathroom remodel

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/08/2015


Todd F.

The work went very well. We worked with Jim on every detail, changing some things as we went. These jobs tend to evolve as they progress and this wasn't an issue. The new space is being used every day and will surely increase the value of our home when we go to sell. Thanks Jim!

Description of Work
Jim remodeled a portion of our basement into a livable space. This included framing in a wall and door, subcontracting electrical work, moving some piping, installing drywall on walls and ceiling, putting up dim-able LED lights, putting a nice built-in shelf in place, and prepping for carpet install.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, doors, basement remodeling, outdoor lighting

1.0

07/26/2015


Eileen B.

There has been no follow up from him. I tried to work with him, so he could schedule several jobs together. He wanted to stay in the area and complete 3 jobs within a time frame, I have not been contacted since. The coupon he posted which hooked me in has been of no value. The job remains incomplete. I'm very disappointed.

Description of Work
Mr. Clark looked at the job. He told me he could do the task in about 6 weeks. He had 3 jobs in the area.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/26/2015


Jayme S.

He did well. We tried to get all the items needed but the vanity had a crack in it and since we were both at work he exchanged it. He also spoke with the person at Menards on my phone so I was sure we were getting the right parts needed.

Description of Work
He redid our bathroom and responded very quickly while other handymen did not. He did a good job with our bathroom and came in budget with what we were able to spend. He also kept in contact with us to let us know where he was with our job.

Category countertops, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/16/2015


JUDY P.

I have written many reviews for Jim, most are lengthy . . I will make this brief. As always, meticulous work, finished as promised and looks gorgeous . . I am so pleased! His eye for color made using several colors within the same area fun and made the rooms more interesting. As noted in my last review, I hope that Jim will be available this summer for installation of skylights and my four season room.

Description of Work
Prepped walls for painting which included a large crack across the cathedral ceiling. Painted great room and kitchen, mantel and woodwork. Checked leaking skylights, which he will replace at another time. Also checked insulation in attic, determined that it was not near enough, another future job.

Category insulation, remodeling, skylights, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

04/11/2015


JUDY P.

My home is 20 years old and in need of updates and repairs, Jim has done numerous repairs, etc., in the past 4 years and I could not be more pleased. He makes decision making easy and with his keen eye, and has brought potential problems to my attention. After many years of procrastinating, I finally called Jim for an estimate, and his thoughts, on the best material for my kitchen counters. He immediately made a home visit to see what might work best . . once I made a decision, Jim made an appointment with a distributor who did measurements (with Jim present), the counter tops were ordered. Once the counter tops were ready for installation, Jim called, we set up a start date and were on our way. Jim was always on time, courteous and finished the job as promised. Am I pleased with Jim's work(?), absolutely . . I now have a gorgeous counter top and the kitchen sink I have wanted for years. I hope that Jim will be available for my next project which I hope to have done this summer . . a three season room. We have discussed this, but have not set a date as yet. I have no doubt that this next project will be exactly what I want and with Jim's usual high standards and eye for detail.

Description of Work
Install new kitchen counters and sink along with new faucet.

Category countertops, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

03/16/2015


robert M.

Arrived on time, did excellent, professional job. Easy to work with. Job was more complicated than at first, but stuck to the price.

Description of Work
New bathroom floor, repair kitchen ceiling.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service

2.0

02/05/2015


Alan R.

If attention to detail and professionalism are qualities that you seek in a contractor, Jim Clark is NOT for you! We should have known right off the bat that this was not going to be a smooth transaction. My husband did the tear out of the original floor in the kitchen. He spoke to Jim about what needed to be removed prior to the start of the job. He was not clear on these instructions and my husband ended up removing more than necessary. This ended up costing $700 more to put new materials into the job and more importantly, 20 hours of hard labor that will not be recovered. We purchased our own tile and grout because we were very picky about what we wanted. Jim attempted to charge us for the tile that we purchased because the quote did not separate materials and labor. When there is an allotment of $3/square foot of tile material and the square footage is known, then that cost should be removed from payment from contractor. Jim refused to honor this quote and proposed to "split the difference", when there should have been nothing to split, and argued with my husband and left in a huff. Then during the job Jim blamed some installation issues that we believe that most professionals could handle, and said that we bought a low quality tile. Our tile was middle of the road in cost (we shopped at 5 different stores). Jim was also very sloppy. There was grout on my walls and around the counter support posts that was not cleaned until we insisted it be cleaned. The most frustrating part was that Jim finished up the grout and was wiping it down. He said that he could not do any more clean up that night because the grout was bleeding. He said that a vinegar and water solution the next day would take care of the problem. It took us 7 hours on our hands and knees scrubbing to remove the grout residue that we believe a professional should clean up! Speaking of clean up, Jim dumped the extra mortar in our backyard and failed to dispose of the tile boxes and other debris that comes with a tile job. Initially Jim was okay taking a check from us and did so for partial payment. He then demanded cash prior to the completion of the job because he thought that we would stop payment on the check. He did reluctantly take the check and we did not stop payment. Jim was never on time. He scheduled a Saturday to complete our job as it was time sensitive because it is our kitchen. That morning he called and said that something came up and he would not be there. Due to this he had to work past 10 pm in our home on a school night with our young children. When we pointed out some areas that we wanted him to pay attention to he asked, "Do you want a magnifying glass?" We did not need one but perhaps he did. He also told us that we were the worst customers that he has worked with. Overall, Jim left a very poor impression. We would not recommend his services to anyone.

Description of Work
Kitchen and laundry room tile installation.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Nice young couple but not a clue on construction, First of all i'm a handyman that has installed dozens of floors & ceramic project over the years they excepted my bid because I was $ 900.00 cheaper than the big flooring company's He did want to do some of the work himself to save money removing the laminate flooring is very easy it floats I could have remove that floor within about 1.5 hrs it just unlocks. DONE nothing more required. He tore out some of the sub-floor that should have never been removed only leaving a 1/2" sub-floor . [member name removed] should stick to pushing his pencil!! Pay me now or Pay me later he should have left the job to someone that new what they were doing. I'd never worked with that dark brown grout it left a lot of residue I gave it 3 wipe downs before leaving that day thats normal procedure the wipe down the following day with vinager and water to get the final residue. should have not been that difficult.The removal of the tile boxes they purchased they dispose of If I had purchased the tile that would have been my responsibility the excess mortor I did clean buckets outside in 20 degree weather next to the woods thought I had been more conceintous of that Sorry In my 30yrs in the trades they were one of the worst & unreasonable people I've work for. They had asked me to bid another job I declined think they took it personal. Now there just being childish they updated there review a month after submitting the first ONE. WHAT'S UP WITH THAT !!.
3.0

06/23/2014


Lisa W.

Provide came out to look at the job and provide an estimate. Said would be a couple of weeks before he would get back to us. Three weeks later hadn't heard anything from him so I contacted him again. When he returned my call he said he had been on vacation and asked if he had come out to look at my job, to which I said yes, you came out and talked with both my husband and myself. He said he would have to possibly come out again. Never heard from or saw him again and it has now been another 3 weeks!

Description of Work
Provide came out to look at the job and provide an estimate. Basically the first contact we had with him was the only contact we had with him.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry [member name removed] for my lack of professionalism thanks for the wake up call. Sorry again I will do better with my future clients. James Clark
4.0

06/17/2014


Michael F.

Jim was very responsive and knowledgeable. He provided quick and thorough estimates and was prompt.

Description of Work
Replaced some exterior trim and did some painting. Also worked on garage door surround

Category handyman service

4.0

06/05/2014


Mary P.

He is a good handyman, but I don't like the side business. He is trying to sell ionized and there is no science behind it and it is a $4,000 thing. He did good work if he just didn't start to sell while he was working.

Description of Work
I've used Clark Construction for handyman services.

Category remodeling

3.0

12/08/2013


Sue B.

Was never on time for job...had us and several other clients at the same time and we thought quality suffered. He would forget little things like sanding the edge of the door.

Description of Work
Remodeled one and a half bathrooms.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Yes [removed member name] was right on all counts and I deserved that rating sorry thanks for the wake-up call, she has had me back for another repair replaced kitchen faucet. very nice folks
5.0

10/25/2013


David B.

He worked quickly and ran his test. After the test he reconnected the ductwork and retaped it. We chatted for awhile about other projects and then he left.

Description of Work
He checked the duct for my bathroom fan to see it it needed relocating. He disconnected the ductwork in the attic at a distance from the fan that would allow it to be run out the roof. It was determined by myself with his help that no benefit would come from running the ductwork through the roof.

Category handyman service, air duct cleaning, ceiling fans

5.0

08/30/2013


JUDY P.

Not much more to say . . EXCELLENT! Arrived as promised, did nonstop, excellent work at a fair price. Jim is on my speed dial! Work is complete for now, I am hoping he can fit me in to discuss a kitchen remodel I would like to have done this winter.

Description of Work
Repaired large segment of cyclone fence (tree damaged), prepped 2 decks for staining, stained; prepped house (woodpecker damage/general neglect), removed bushes too close to house; stained house; repaired rotting, porch overhang; repaired neighbor's cyclone fence (our tree damaged), installed electrical outlet on my kitchen island.

Category fencing, handyman service

Service Provider Response

thank you [member name removed] I'll pay you later for the great review :-)

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kybrie Construction

    WE SPECIALIZE IN NEW CONSTRUCTION, BATHROOM REMODELING, ADDITIONS,DECKS,SNOW DAMAGE AND MORE. WE HAVE 31 YEARS OF EXSPERIANCE IN THE RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY. WE STRIVE TO GIVE OUR CLIENTS THE BEST EXSPERIANCE POSSIBLE AND ARE PROUD TO OFFER A VARIETY OF SERVICES.  

    Angi Certified

    California Sunrooms, INC

    We are a family owned company that has been in business for over 30 years serving California. We offer many options in financing as well as monthly sales and deals.  

    Angi Certified

    BTS Builders

    BTS Builders is an owner operated small business. We have been licensed since 2016 but in the contracting trade since 2006. The owner, Ben Saunders, has been apart of building multiple homes from the ground up as well as many types of remodels and additions. We now specialize in outdoor structures, pergolas and deck builds. Our crew works on these types of structures on a daily basis which makes us efficient through the job and gives the customer the quality product they are looking for. We would love to connect with you about any projects you might need done and hopefully be of service to you in anyway we can. We appreciate your consideration.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Finish carpentry, cabinets, general construction, kitchen & bath remodeling, general remodeling, door installation, basement remodeling, ceramic work, windows, painting, interior and exterior, ceramic and hardwood flooring, chain link and privacy fences, siding and gutters and all phases of remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    HANDYMAN, ROOFING, CONCRETE POURING OR REPAIR.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CLARK CONSTRUCTION

    How is CLARK CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    CLARK CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does CLARK CONSTRUCTION provide

    CLARK CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does CLARK CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    No, CLARK CONSTRUCTION does not offer free project estimates.

    Does CLARK CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CLARK CONSTRUCTION offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CLARK CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    No, CLARK CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

    Does CLARK CONSTRUCTION offer emergency services?

    Yes, CLARK CONSTRUCTION offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CLARK CONSTRUCTION?

    No, CLARK CONSTRUCTION does not offer warranties.

    What services does CLARK CONSTRUCTION offer?

    CLARK CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: Finish carpentry, cabinets, general construction, kitchen & bath remodeling, general remodeling, door installation, basement remodeling, ceramic work, windows, painting, interior and exterior, ceramic and hardwood flooring, chain link and privacy fences, siding and gutters and all phases of remodeling.

    Are there any services CLARK CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    HANDYMAN, ROOFING, CONCRETE POURING OR REPAIR.