Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Evans Mechanical

Founded 1995 • With Angi since January 2009

4.6

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2930 Broadway

Eureka, CA 95501

Description

Complete Water Heater - Furnace - Plumbing Services - Decades Of The Best Heating, Furnace, Water Heater, & Plumbing Service and Sales In The Area!- Competitively Priced and Services Guaranteed. Call Us To Discuss Your Project.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/22/2020


Diana M.

The 2 nice young men did a wonderful job, and cleaned up after themselves very nicely. Knew their stuff!

Description of Work
Replaced my propane residential heating system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

02/06/2018


Chris S.

Sadly, I cannot recommend Evans Mechanical. I had some heater work done and some additional duct sealing was also needed, but could not be done for 9 weeks. The tech that repaired the heater(he did a good job), spoke on the phone right in front of me with the scheduler and placed me on the schedule for the first week of February, 2018. Since they hadn't called me prior to this week, I called Evans to only find out I was never put on the schedule at all. I was then told I would need to be put back on the schedule for another months wait. The scheduler acted like it was my fault, no apology. Needless to say, I am not pleased at all.

Description of Work
Heating ducts needed to be sealed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

2.0

03/06/2017


James A.

They offered to do the replacement for $300 which I can get online for only a $100. And also, they are going to charge $90 for a $7 capacitor.

Description of Work
Replacement of controller.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I want to make sure you understand those prices include our labor and are what we need to charge to continue to provide the service to our customers. We certainly never claim to be the cheapest or compete with online pricing, but we do strive to give excellent service and stand behind our work. I'm sorry that we were unable to show you the value that would match that cost. Regardless, thank you for the opportunity.
5.0

02/13/2017


Darrell J.

The tech fixed the ignitor very quickly, and the furnace is working great. The cost was quite reasonable.

Description of Work
My Bryant furnace would start up sporadically. The technician quickly identified that the problem was the ignitor, which was dirty.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

02/03/2017


M. E. S.

By the time the guy left, he had shut down our furnace saying that we needed a whole new one because it had cracks in it. I was asking him to show me the cracks. He really couldn't point to anything so we called his manager first. He told him to go ahead and turn it back on but that we should call the gas company to check for carbon monoxide, and they checked and said everything was fine. We didn't need a whole new heating system. It's still working to this day. He probably did the work but he tried to get us to pay thousands of dollars more than what was necessary. I think they were dishonest. What they actually did was fine, but what they were recommending of course was outrageous. We will probably never use them again. We actively tell other people not to use them. I don't know if that was just one bad employee or if it was a company thing so it's hard to say, but we're obviously leery of them.

Description of Work
We used Evans Mechanical. They had a special a couple of years ago where they would do maintenance on the heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I could not find where we have worked for you since 2007, and we haven't ran a maintenance special in several years. I don't feel we deserve to be slandered over something that took place almost 10 years ago. Regardless, I'm sorry your experience was so poor. Hopefully, someday, we get the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
5.0

01/25/2016


Adriana B.

Our plumber Curtis ensured that our home was not experiencing a water leak due to recent spike in water bill. He was extremely professional and courteous. He confirmed that all plumbing was fine with a diagnostic pressure test. He made suggestions that would protect us from water theft, but was also kind enough to be honest and state that he was just as confused as to what could be leading to water loss. He could have easily given us the run around, or made up some need to do work. Instead he took his time to assure us that all was well. Thank you Evans Mechanical. Great customer service and quick response, as well as a great price.

Description of Work
Pressure Test

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
5.0

11/04/2015


Viktoria B.

I had three new toilets installed to replace those originally installed with the house in 1993. The service went very well. From the polite and efficient office administrators, Karen and Rachel, to the competent plumber, Rachel. An aspect that truly stands out about Evans Mechanical is the attention they provide to the customer. Prior to the toilet installation, I had had Evans replace the furnace (a bigger and more expensive job), and I was pleased with their professionalism every step of the way. Communication matters a great deal, and Karen and Rachel are excellent communicators. Curtis, the plumber, was kind, respectful of my home, worked efficiently, and showed me how to clean the tank so that I can hopefully preempt any fungal buildup to which toilets in this humid forested area are prone. He had also found the best possible match to the existing tile in my bathrooms, so we special-ordered the "biscuit" porcelain (for about an extra $100 per toilet). I'm very pleased that I went with Evans Mechanical both for my plumbing needs and the new furnace. I felt that I was dealing with a responsive, reputable company that understands the importance of treating customers well.

Description of Work
Installation of three new toilets.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Wow, that is a great review, thank you. It is a pleasure serving a customer that appreciates it.
5.0

10/22/2015


Ann G.

The employee notified us of when he was coming and showed up on time. He was professional, quick and thorough. Price for the job was a little high, but you get what you pay for. These guys are courteous, knowledgeable and experienced and do a very good job. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
We contracted to have our heating system ducts cleaned. We have a three story house with a complicated ducting system and Evans Mechanical did a great job preparing us for winter. It made a real difference in the air quality.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
5.0

10/03/2015


Alexander M.

, We had Evans Mechanical replace our 16 year old propane furnace and on demand hot water heater with heat pump, air handler and and on demand electric water heater. The job also required some new duct work with insulation and cleaning of the existing heat ducts. We selected Evans because they had done the installation of our original furnace and water heater and we were very satisfied with the quality of the service and responsiveness. Joe, the sales representative provided us with a bid for the job and oversaw the installation by coming to the house regularly during the week the technicians completed the job. The techs were great and we felt comfortable to have them working in our home. Nothing but positives about Evans Mechanical. Definitely recommended.

Description of Work
Sale and installation of heat pump, air handler, duct work and insulation, installation of on-demand electric water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and your review.
5.0

09/08/2015


Mervin H.

Today it is 90 deg outside on Kneeland and it is 76 inside; we are happy! First day they arrived and removed the old heater and some piping. Second day they installed the new piping and the heat pump. The third day was spent adjusting and testing the system and removing the old stove, piping, insulation, misc. other trash. One final trip was required to install an earthquake restraint (personal request) on the heat pump. Pleasant hard working pair of young men did the work. The young men always covered their feet when entering the living quarters and left a neat site when they left for the day and pristine site when they left. All in all a very positive experience.

Description of Work
Removed previous LP gas central heater and replaced it with a heat pump heat exchanger for both heating and AC. Additional air piping and control for three regions in the house together with controllers. were installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review and for your business.
5.0

07/01/2015


Quanah G.

It went extremely well. After removing the blower, it was found a bird had somehow made its way all the way through the exhaust pipe and gotten stuck inside the blower.

Description of Work
Evan's mechanical technician came to my house to determine why my furnace was no longer working.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and your business. We look forward to serving your heating and plumbing needs.
5.0

06/20/2015


Patti B.

I purchased a new furnace from Evans last September and was very pleased with the experience. My meeting with the salesman was primarily focused on identifying a system that would work best for me within the budget I set. No high pressure sales tactics. The installation crew arrived on schedule, worked efficiently and were very careful to clean up after themselves. In addition to installing the new furnace they strapped, sealed, insulated and cleaned the duct-work, checked for gas leaks, performance tested the new unit and disposed of the old unit. The entire installation was completed in a single day. I was so happy with Evans I decided to sign up for Double Gold Membership in 2015. I had my first maintenance visit in June and was again pleased with the service. In addition to selling and installing heating systems Evans offers full plumbing services. In my experience the employees at Evans are responsive, professional and very concerned about customer service. I like that Evans is locally owned and that they treat employees fairly. Evans is also large enough that service can be scheduled in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
Install new furnace, strapped, sealed, insulated and cleaned the ductwork.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review; we appreciate the feed back.
5.0

03/23/2015


Carol G.

Evans Mechanical installed my home heater and On-Demand Water Heater three years ago.. I bought the maintenance package from them. I am happy with the installation and maintenance program. It was more expensive than that of the other local businesses in the area. However, they have an excellent employee benefits and retirement plan, and are committed to the training program for their new employees. As a retired teacher, I appreciate that happy employees do a better job. The employees are always positive and take the time to see that I am satisfied with the work. With other companies in the area, the staff seems frenzied to get the work done fast and sometimes defensive when I ask questions. But, Evans Mechanical employees took their time, explained to me the functioning of my system, cleaned up thoroughly, and put all my stuff back without me having to do anything! I didn't even ask them to do that. The employees are always friendly and professional, not pushy or fast to get outta there. They were in constant contact with the store with any questions I posed about future plans in my laundry room, and used a cell phone and a small computer to do instant financial transactions. Never once did they say, "I'll have to get back to you on that." Three years ago, I took advantage of a financial plan they offered with a no interest loan. This made my purchase easy and affordable. I used to have to worry about the heater I'd purchased through another local company. Because of a poor installation, I always had roof issues, that seemed to have been installed with geared obsolescence in mind. Rust moved through my old heater and hot water heater that eventually rusted the whole system out before it's lifetime. That ended up being far more costly in the end than Evans Mechcanical costs. I am so glad I switched to Evans Mechanical. They put in a system that, with annual maintenance. will last long after I'm gone. It elevates the value of my home and makes it easier to sell, when my boys inherit it. That's important to me. They fabricated my system in my backyard to fit it perfectly into the small space in the room. Its built it to last. I recommend Evans Mechanical highly and will use them soon to put in a water filtration system.

Description of Work
*Cleaned dryer venting *Regular maintenance for On-Demand Water Heater *Regular maintenance for home heater *Advice for restructuring of laundry room

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review; we look forward to serving you in the years to come.
5.0

01/21/2015


Lew B.

Used the email in ANGIE'S LIST to request service early last night. Within minutes, I received a reply that someone would call in the morning to schedule an appointment (wasn't an emergency). Early today, I received a call that a tech would be at my home between 4-7 PM. EXACTLY at 4PM, their repairman, Jim Nunes, was knocking on my door. Wow! We walked through the problem and as expected, I needed a new thermocouple. He cleaned out the gas line; installed the part and waited to make certain that it functioned properly before departing. Only one tiny glitch (which was resolved quickly & cheerfully): He didn't know about the 5% discount for ANGIE'S LIST members posted on their site. A call back to the office manager revealed that it was news to her as well but they applied the discount without hesitation. I wish that all service techs for other companies were as professional, competent and personable. Use them again? You can bet on it!

Description of Work
Replaced the thermocouple on my home furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for your review, and I will make sure everyone is aware of the 5% discount for Angie's List members.
5.0

11/08/2014


Barbara K.

This company did a great job. We are very satisfied and we would recommend this company.

Description of Work
Installed new high efficiency heating system in our home. They removed old heater from under house and reinstalled new high efficiency 2 stage heater in attic. The boots were sealed and relocated gas line.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

07/08/2014


Cynthia P.

They are great but a little high priced. Their service is exquisite and they do what they do very well. They are really reliable and easy to work with. They gave me some great tips on maintenance of the machines and cleaning the dryer vent. They are professional, timely and provide great service. They are not the cheapest in town. I have been to their showroom before looking at things and they have installed a gas heater for me years ago. I called around looking for someone who cleans dryer vents and not many people did.

Description of Work
I used Evans Mechanical for cleaning a long dryer vent that snakes under the house.

Category air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
5.0

06/18/2014


Jim H.

They did a really good job. They were prompt and they did what they said they'd do. It was a good price at that time.

Description of Work
Evans did work for me. They put in a heater for us.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
4.0

06/04/2014


Dawn F.

I like that it was same-day service because the toilet was an emergency. I had no problem with the quality of their work. It was just the price. This was the first time I'd used them. I know other plumbers wouldn't have charged me so much. I think they took advantage of my urgent situation.

Description of Work
I used Evans Mechanical. They fixed the thermostat in my rental and changed our toilet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Please contact us in regards to the price and emergency service done. We give a 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 365 day test drive. We are not the cheapest, but we never want to take advantage of emergency situations.
5.0

06/04/2014


Jyl H.

I've been really pleased with Evans Mechanical. They are very good at coming out quickly. They know plumbing situations are usually emergency situations. They also do heating and air conditioning work. They've fixed my furnace before. People speak highly of them and my own experience with them has been very good. They're always professional and know what they're doing. I've never had someone come out that wasn't knowledgeable. They listen to you. They clean up nicely, but don't usually make a mess in the first place. They present me with alternatives. I had a leak underneath my house that they fixed and they had given me three options to proceed with, what the risks were and what each option cost.

Description of Work
My washing machine had backed up and they came out to snake the line. I have a service contract with them, so it was free.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We will continue to strive for excellence as we serve our customers. We won't take your recommendation for granted and will try to give everyone that uses our services based on your review the same level of care and professionalism you've experienced.
2.0

01/09/2014


Roxanne L.

He arrived on time. I did not follow him around and thought it was a better idea to leave him alone. After he left, I discovered that the original leak was corrected but now I have a lot of problems that have never existed before. They blamed the "old" plumbing. The house is old but not all the plumbing was old. Now I can not use kitchen sink at all. I can not use the dishwasher. I can not use the washing machine. Using any of these will cause a flood under the sink. The bathroom sink runs all the time. The shower can not be tempered with any cold water. So I can not use the sink or shower. So as you can see, I am not happy. The plumber is not accepting any responsibility for any of these mistakes. PS. To make matters used the bill is not itemized.

Description of Work
He was supposed to replace all of the washers and cartridges in all of the faucets in 3 bathroom sinks and 2 kitchen sinks. I also needed to replace a spigot that was leaking. I had all the spigots replaced outside.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that your experience with us wasn't our normal level of excellence.
5.0

10/31/2013


Bill R.

On time did work just like service contract stated. Also does professional work when installing what ever item you need

Description of Work
clean filters, serviced on demand hot water heater

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, air duct cleaning

5.0

09/12/2013


Monica B.

Although Evans was a little more expensive than other bids, they were the first to explain exactly how the system works. They answered all my questions thoroughly. Other companies just came out and gave a bid but did not take the time to answer my questions well. My only complaint with Evans is that the technician left a bit of a mess under our house, packaging and tape, paper and some insulation scrap.

Description of Work
clean vents, clean heater, replace insulation around all vents, sealed all vent outlets into house, moved a drain

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, air duct cleaning

4.0

07/29/2013


blair D.

gave a discount for my removal of old heater. very good quality and friendly service. a little expensive but if you want the best you must pay for it

Description of Work
replaced hot water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

07/15/2013


Steve J.

I spent 10 minutes on the Internet, found the part from a reputable dealer for a fraction of the price Evans quoted, had it shipped overnight. Arrived on time with clear instructions. Save bundle and had heat by the weekend.

Description of Work
Identified the part to replace. Said it would take weeks (in the winter) as the manufacturer was out of stock. Said part was very expensive and we should really look at buying a new system from them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

06/03/2013


Jim H.

Didn't take the bid. To expensive.

Description of Work
Bid for a gas heater and on demand water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Air Duct Cleaning,Heating Equipment & Systems,Water Heaters,Plumbers

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Evans Mechanical

    How is Evans Mechanical overall rated?

    Evans Mechanical is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Evans Mechanical open?

    Evans Mechanical is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Evans Mechanical provide

    Evans Mechanical accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Evans Mechanical offer free estimates?

    Ask Evans Mechanical for details on free project estimates.

    Does Evans Mechanical offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Evans Mechanical offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Evans Mechanical offer a senior discount?

    No, Evans Mechanical does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Evans Mechanical?

    No, Evans Mechanical does not offer warranties.

    What services does Evans Mechanical offer?

    Evans Mechanical offers the following services: Air Duct Cleaning,Heating Equipment & Systems,Water Heaters,Plumbers