River Rock Outscape

About

Founded 2000 • With Angi since February 2012

In House Construction Crews. No Outsourcing. We own our own equipment. Free Estimates. 30% off entire project. We're a locally owned company, knowledgeable and experienced, in our second decade of servicing Southern California homeowners....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+29 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(75) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

59

4

5

3

8

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

hardscaping (66)lawn & landscaping (29)Patios (14)concrete driveways (12)masonry (11)outdoor kitchens (8)concrete repair (17)decks & porches (5)stamped concrete (1)landscape lighting (1)
Showing 1-25 of 75 reviews
5.0

01/10/2022


Christopher A.

The estimate process was great with them. They were professional, courteous, punctual and wore masks.

Description of Work
Had decomposed granite installed and the installer did not provide any drainage, so the area flooded. Secondly the DG installed was not stabilized (as we had requested) so open to either ripping and replacing or using what is there as a base and installing stabilized product over it. In addition pavers were put down and one has split in half so we will need to redo those as well.

Category hardscaping

Work Completed On 01/10/2022

5.0

04/23/2021


Judy K.

We had an excellent experience with River Rock Outscape. Alex Molina and Octavio Garcia were both professional and patient. We used their service three times - in June of 2018, October of 2019, and December of 2020. I thought they were very responsive in answering any of my questions, and in going the extra mile to provide excellent service.

Description of Work
Adding veneer stone and cap to California room, BBQ, and patio walls; replacing lawn and tropical plants with drought tolerant landscape; building outdoor fireplace; outline of path with rock border

Category landscaping, masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2020

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 39306169

+1 More

5.0

12/19/2020


Steve P.

They did a large patio for us and a front walkway and steps. They were very professional and worked with us to get the design we wanted. They were delayed to start due to some equipment breaking down and they were occasionally slow to respond to email, but not too bad. The patio and walkway look great and their recommendations on the pavers were perfect. I can recommend them to anyone in San Diego.

Description of Work
Large patio, front walk and steps

Category hardscaping

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

5.0

08/27/2020


Tessara A.

I am very satisfied with the work River Rock Outscape performed. Their price was reasonable (not the lowest nor the highest bid I received) and they were helpful and professional throughout the entire job. They worked with me to accommodate new or modified requests as the project progressed, and everything came out looking fantastic. They also took the time to clean up each day before heading out, sweeping any dust or gravel, so that the impact to my neighbors and neighborhood was minimal. They also did a pavers job for my parents 6 years ago and their work from then still looks great.

Description of Work
I needed a back yard overhaul, including removing existing structures and dirt, replacing yard drains, pavers installed, and steps built

Category concrete repair, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2020

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 38833883
1.0

06/09/2020


Dena M.

Alex Molina came out and looked at my front and back yard. He said he would email me a quote. Email never arrived. I called and left a message asking for the quote. No response received.

Description of Work
Yard Grading and Drainage

Category concrete repair, landscaping

Work Completed On 06/09/2020

5.0

05/29/2019


Diane G.

Alex at River Rock was responsive and patiently answered all my questions. The work was completed in time. The result is a beautiful new driveway!

Description of Work
Redo driveway with pavers

Category hardscaping

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2019

5.0

02/12/2019


Farah D.

We chose River Rock because of their willingness to price out the job before we committed to a contract. They were willing to write in terms to make sure I was satisfied that the job would be completed on time and within the quoted price. We did end up having to make a couple of minor changes to the plan because of odd city regulations, but other than we knew the cost of every item and knew how much our changes would add or take away from the total price. Our project manager kept us up to date on the process and we didn't not have to manage the workers. We worked with the project manager to come up with a design we would love. While, I gave him an initial idea, he spent a lot of time with us making sure it was right; i.e planning the layout of the design in a visual program, making sure pillars weren't in the way of views, helping choose durable products, and giving us previous project ideas.We are so pleased with the end results and everyone comments on how beautiful and function our back yard is! When you are hiring a company, don't be fooled by premium landscape design companies who can't tell you what you will get for the price they are quoting. You will end up with nothing. Make sure your landscape designer does not subcontract out the work, but hires in house. Make sure that there is a guarantee in the contract of when the project will be completed and on budget. Make sure the company has insurance. Make sure your landscapers guarantee their labor and products longer than 1 year When you have a project, consider River Rock. They exceed all these requirements and really care about the project and the customer!

Description of Work
Entire Backyard Project

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios, outdoor kitchens

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2018

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 37709686

+4 More

5.0

02/06/2019


ryan P.

From concept to completion Ben was extremely helpful; gave us multiple options for every aspect of project and computer simulation helped us picture the project in our head very effectively. Was given a time frame to finish project and finished ahead of schedule. Crew was very hard working, courteous and respectful of property.

Description of Work
replace driveway, walkways, retaining wall, front entry, artificial turf

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2019

5.0

02/04/2019


Vidya G.

We have our entire front and back yard rebuilt from River-Rocks Outscape, and we are extremely happy with the work of entire team including the designer, manager, and workers. NO areas to complain!! Starting from planning, to end everything was done neatly, exactly as per the plan on time as per schedule. We never had to wait for the people to come and start their work also everyday before leaving they used to clean up everything even though it was all outside work. Even they are going our of their ways to help us with some extra work. Basically you get more than 100% returns of the money you spend. I strongly recommend River Rock Outscape for the work. Just give them the contract and they take entire responsibility.

Description of Work
Full front Yard and Back Yard Re-building

Category concrete driveways, landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

3.0

11/18/2018


Donald C.

Very nice person and punctual. However quote without discount was about 45-60% more than other 4 quotes and was still more when the "30% discount" was applied. Should just get rid of the coupon and give a legitimate first quote.

Description of Work
Backyard to include desert scape and artificial turf

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Work Completed On 11/05/2018

5.0

10/20/2018


Don M.

Fabulous, Demo of patio much more difficult than expected because underneath the tiles was about 6" of concrete. Though they didn't ask for it, I paid them more than was due under our contract. The new patio is even better than I had hoped for. Workmanship is perfect and clean-up was very good. Can't recommend them highly enough. Don M, La Jolla

Description of Work
demo and replace patio

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

3.0

10/05/2018


Matthew H.

Their Price was $50,000.00 higher than the other landscaping company for the same work!

Description of Work
Complete landscaping

Category hardscaping

Work Completed On 10/05/2018

5.0

09/15/2018


Aaron H.

Alex Molina and the entire River Rock Outscape team were personable, knowledgeable, professional, and efficient. Thank you for a completely pleasant home improvement experience. I look forward to my next project with this team!

Description of Work
Back yard drainage, pavers, turf, and river rock.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2018

5.0

08/16/2018


Randall S.

We worked with Ben. He was very helpful and professional. He helped with the design and quoted a fair price. The job was mostly pavers and block planter walls. The crew was punctual, and very skilled at the prep. and installation. We are extremely pleased with the result.

Description of Work
Back yard landscaping

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2018

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 37327980
5.0

07/22/2018


Dennis D.

Well worth the investment, we gained a great entertainment area. We are genuinely pleased and satisfied with the barbecue Island. The work crew was hard working and did a great job. Would hire them again for any future work.

Description of Work
Outdoor Barbecue Island

Category hardscaping, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2018

5.0

07/20/2018


Steve V.

River Rock did an excellent job. From the initial meeting with Alex through the demolition and new landscape construction to the final walk through, they consistently demonstrated professionalism. The onsite work team showed up on time every morning and made an effort to keep us informed of progress made. Alex and Octavio were very responsive to our questions and provided additional ideas, as needed, as they worked through the landscape redesign. We found this particularly useful in determining the exact location and look of the artificial turf. River Rock held true to the initial bid. We experienced no hidden charges. Plus, they held true to their initial timeline. Our project was quite large, and it was completed in six weeks. The finished project, from the extensive paver work, to the new front porch, to the fire pit/wall, to the artificial turf, looks amazing. We will enjoy it for years to come.

Description of Work
River Rock replaced all old concrete with pavers, redesigned the front porch, built a fire pit and corresponding wall, added gas and electrical lines, moved sprinkler system conduit, and installed artificial turf.

Category decks, landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2018

5.0

07/19/2018


Danita H.

This is a great company to use for any of your paving projects. My husband and I had been saving up to remodel our backyard ever since the state of CA had been declared drought stricken in 2014. In 2015, Alex Molina then sales person now Project Manager had given us a quote but, unfortunately, we hadn’t saved enough for the size of our project. Each year Alex would give us a call and check in to see if we were ready to move forward and each year, we would respond not yet. In 2018, we were finally ready but had decided to go with a competitor only to discover how bad that decision was and very early on. We contacted Alex to let him know we weren’t happy with this other company and if he was willing to come over and give us a current proposal. He was more than happy and accommodating to do so. Long story short; Alex (River Rock Outscape) remodeled our backyard with both pavers and artificial turf. The construction crew was amazing!!! Very skilled people and the same crew until the very end of the project. Their work speaks for itself. Alex was available and attentive from beginning to end. We were and are still impressed with the results. I can’t speak for any other Project Managers at River Rock Outscape but I can say that my husband and I were super pleased to have Alex Molina as our Project Manager.

Description of Work
Complete backyard Remodel: Pavers and Artificial Turf

Category hardscaping

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 37253360

+4 More

5.0

06/19/2018


Edna T.

Alex was very professional and was only concerned about what we wanted done in our backyard. Loved how the price was broken down into sections and we were able to get multiple quotes for different things and choose based on our budget what we wanted done. Everything went smoothly and my backyard is now starting to look like a backyard! Needless to say I am already looking at other projects for them to do!

Description of Work
Needed new concrete poured and artificial grass installed in our backyard.

Category concrete repair, landscaping

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2018

5.0

06/10/2018


David K.

Octavio and his crew did a fantastic quality job!

Description of Work
Outdoor entertainment center, fireplace and barbecue

Category masonry, hardscaping, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2018

5.0

06/05/2018


Steve D.

Work went well and was finished in a timely manner. My concerns were addressed with no hesitation from the staff.

Description of Work
I had the front yard done over to be low maintenance with astro turf, rock and stone ledging.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2018

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 37128390

+2 More

5.0

04/09/2018


Alyssa P.

This review is long overdue. River Rock Outscape did a fantastic job on our backyard about 2 years ago. They replaced our old concrete patio with pavers and added a second patio with a fire pit and hot tub in the back corner of our yard. They ran the built in gas line and the 240v electrical line for the hot tub and took care of the permits for everything. Their quote was at or below their competitors and they did a really great job with the project. We had a couple small issues that increased the time/material required, but they honored their original quote and did not charge us more. We couldn't be happier. Attached are before and after pictures.

Description of Work
New patio, fire pit, hot tub install

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2016

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 36964544

+4 More

5.0

11/27/2017


Sarah G.

My husband and I are absolutely thrilled with the amazing job that River Rock Outscape did in our backyard! They did an incredible job with the turf and pavers. We expressed our vision of having planters with automatic watering and proper drainage for our hot tub and for when it rains. We had nothing to worry about with the incredible work that they did. Our backyard is literally an extension of our home! We can’t wait to finish that side yard (which my husband wants to do because gardening is a passion of his), and will definitely be calling them back when we’re ready to do our front yard! The price was fair, the timeline was great, and the work was impeccable! Thank you!!!

Description of Work
Our backyard was completely dirt, we needed drainage, power, and irrigation all underneath pavers and turf.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2017

Images

Review for River Rock Outscape - 525 N. Andreasen Dr, Escondido, CA - 36611614