Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & J Tree Service Inc

Founded 1978 • With Angi since September 2005

4.6

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17328 Ventura Blvd Suite 178

Encino, CA 91316

Description

Preferred contact method-CALL-818-784-8537 OR EMAIL at jandjla@yahoo.com. For over 30 years, our highest-class professional services have enhanced properties, increased home value and created peace of mind for our clients. Our fully-guaranteed services leave you free to tend to other matters. We

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/20/2023


Dan C.

Unreliable customer services. Been chasing the owner for 2 weeks now to have keep a promise made at time of service. Do not waste your time with this company. There is plenty of tree trimming services company in valley that will do the same job and provide the basic customer services to their paying customers.

Description of Work
Basic tree trimming services

Category tree service

5.0

07/20/2018


Andrew S.

It went very well, they did a professional job, reasonable price and I highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They cut down 2 trees.

Category tree service

1.0

07/03/2017


Martin H.

Bad no one showed after 3 attempts I found a competitor to come out but I found someone else

Description of Work
No one ever showed up

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

05/25/2016


Daniel H.

This was my first time using a company through Angie's List. J&J Tree Service called me promptly to schedule an estimate, came out quickly, analyzed the job, and gave me a price that I was very happy with. We scheduled the service for the very next day. They arrived promptly, worked extremely hard, showed me everything they were doing, and cleaned up fabulously. I was very very pleased, and will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Heavy trim on Chinese Elm tree, plus cut dead fronds on very tall Palm Tree.

Category tree service

5.0

10/02/2015


Darlene A.

They did very good work. The trees look really good. They worked really hard all day and really cleaned up the yard before they left.

Description of Work
Cut back and trimmed a large oak tree. They also trimmed another tree that was going into are neighbors yard.

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

09/02/2015


Larry M.

I bought an old house as an estate sale and it hadn't been maintained for years and had 100 years worth of stumps and falling down fences and decay. Initially, I had J&J cut down 2 trees that were 50+ feet tall with 12" stumps, 10+ trees that were 4-6" diameter and up to 20 feet tall, trim another 20 or so remaining trees and remove all the weeds and brush down to the dirt on a 8,500 square foot lot. Their $1,200 bid was a low price and they still did everything well. I did have to ask them to come back a second day and trim a lot more on the trees, when they thought they had the job complete. Rene was reluctant and seemed irritated by my request, but he did bring the crew back and they did it exactly how I wanted it. Long term, I want 3 more large trees cut down and 10+ stumps ground out. That will be a much more expensive job, but their service, performance and pricing almost guarantees that I use them for the larger job.

Description of Work
Tree trimming, tree removal, brush clearing

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

08/27/2015


YUE L.

They were professional and provided good service. The price is the best as well.

Category tree service

4.0

03/19/2015


Christine M.

great but so long ago i don't remember sorry

Description of Work
trimmed trees

Category tree service

5.0

08/12/2014


Robert H.

They were able to schedule the job right away, and their price was less than half that of another company. They cleaned up the roof and surrounding area thoroughly.

Description of Work
Removed a medium-sized tree and ground down the stump.

Category tree service

5.0

03/19/2014


Joanna D.

Great. Good service, on time, courteous, thorough...cleaned up nicely.

Description of Work
Trimmed about 12 trees, some of which are huge, and removed a diseased tree.

Category tree service

5.0

03/15/2014


Darlene A.

The work went very well. They showed up on time and asked me exactly what I wanted. They worked hard and cleaned up the yard before they left. Now I am ready for fire season.

Description of Work
Cut down pine tree and trimmed oak trees and other trees that needs it.

Category tree service

5.0

10/25/2013


judy S.

They are really good, fast, and their price was economical. They cut the tree, and they were real pros in the way they did it. They didn't damage anything, cleaned out everything, and were out of there.

Description of Work
We used J & J Tree Service. They removed an apricot tree that we had in the yard, and had been dead for 35 years.

Category tree service

5.0

06/17/2013


David N.

The guys were very quick and efficient. It took them about an hour to cut and remove most of the tree. A different team came by later and removed the stump. Everything worked out just as they promised.

Description of Work
I needed an old Sycamore tree (including the trunk) removed in my back yard.

Category tree service

5.0

06/03/2013


Nick N.

The guy from J & J Tree Service came out and gave me a bid and he was timely.

Description of Work
I asked J & J Tree Service to give me a bid to cut a carrot wood tree.

Category tree service

5.0

05/29/2013


Bob M.

They were the best. Their price was better than anybody else and they were responsive. We will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
We used J & J Tree Service for tree service.

Category tree service

1.0

05/03/2013


Laura O.

I would never use this company, the person who I scheduled with has no respect for anyone else's time. I spoke with him on Thursday 4/25 and we scheduled for the late afternoon on Friday 4/26. He indicated there was a chance he would not be able to come if his other job ran long but that he would call me (key point that he said he would call to cancel). I said that was fine, offered to schedule for Saturday instead and he said no that he should be able to make Friday work. Well Friday he never showed. I arranged my day to be home and he never showed and never called so I just waited around for nothing. Saturday afternoon he called, no apology no nothing and was pushy and wanted to come right then. I wasn't home at the time and at this point between the attitude on the phone and the lack of respect of my time, I didn't want to work with anyone from this company if this is how they treat customers. I wouldn't be able to trust them to show up and get the job done when scheduled.

Description of Work
Called for an estimate to have several large trees trimmed as well as an ivy infested fence removed. Estimate never received as they never showed when scheduled.

Category tree service

5.0

04/08/2013


Windy L.

Great. After giving me an estimate, along with some suggestions, an appointment was made for the following day. Workers were prompt, professional, and clean. I would hire this company again.

Description of Work
Removal of a small,dead tree. Pruning overgrown creeping fig against a 10 ft. retaining wall. plant cleanup.

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

01/22/2013


Mars C.

I think his name was Ivan the project mgr for the brush clearing we had done. Always right on, lets you know where they are in the day so you can plan yours! Gave some good tips about saving money with the company for next time...which we will heed.

Description of Work
Always good

Category tree service

3.0

11/19/2012


holly W.

A friend recommend this company to us and we used their service before we join the angies list the price is fair since they chopped down 10 trees and also flatten the stump. But they didn't trim the trees as they promised. Or maybe there are some communication issue since we asked to leave the fruit trees alone. Anyway, they almost didn't do any trim job and finished all work in one day. We don't know what it mean to trim a tree since we had no experience with trees. we had to call another company and spend a few hundred on two big trees in front of our house. If we know that all job will be finished within one day, we may not have them do tree trimming. Or at least make it clear which trees needs to be trimmed. All staff just got so tired after one day heavy work, no one want to do extra trimming. Maybe we should not include tree trimming in the job description anyway, satisfied with tree removing, but not with tree trimming

Description of Work
remove 10 trees, and flatten the stump, trimmed all the palm trees. didn't trim some ficus/maple trees as we asked.

Category tree service

5.0

10/25/2012


Craig P.

They did a really nice job for us. They were very friendly. They worked very hard and they worked with us. It was all pretty straight forward. They were great to work with. They cleaned up after themselves and they were right on time. They worked long hours and they were hard workers. They were great.

Description of Work
J and J Tree Service worked for us. They trimmed the trees all around the house and property.

Category tree service

5.0

07/30/2012


C Richard H.

From the very first the job went well. The person making the estimate was very knowledgeable about trees in general, in contrast to other companies whose reps didn't know the kind of tree. The workers were careful, efficient, and cleaned up extremely well -- which was extremely important to me as the tree was right on the edge of a neighbor's property. I will use the company again.

Description of Work
J & J removed a huge tree with a circumference of 4 feet in a difficult area to reach.

Category tree service

5.0

07/23/2012


Mariam R.

Given that it was a big job, there were a couple follow up calls to fix sprinklers and cut dead branches that they had left, but they took care of it very quickly and professionally. So I was very happy with their service. They said exactly what they were going to do. I just wished I would find a contractor like that!

Description of Work
I have a property on the hill side with huge old trees. There must be at least 8-9 trees and at least tree of them were unusually long, higher than 150'. J&J trimming service sent about 13 guys to my property, with two or three huge trucks that shredded the trees. Because this was my first time doing it, I didn't realize I should notify the neighbors. The equipment were very loud and almost on all day. The street was pretty much blocked as the streets are pretty narrow but at the end the neighbors were very happy because they got their views clear. As for the workers, they were fast and great. Actually they were pretty impressive. Tree trimming at my house is not an easy task. They came about 8am and left at 4pm. The only thing was that their supervisor had told me they'd stay until the job was done. He only stopped by for few minutes and left. At 4pm the crew seemed to be set on finishing up and leaving even though I didnt feel they were completely done. They had left some woods at the end of the yard but when I showed them they took them out. After they left, my gardner told me that some of the sprinklers were broken by the falling branches. I called the supervisor, Renee back and he came and took a look. I also showed him some of the dead branches way up in the air, like about 100' that they hadnt trimmed off (and my gardner couldnt get up there). He sent his crew back, trimmed the trees more and fixed the sprinkler lines. Over all it was very quick and painless. My lot is almost 9000 and is got huge trees, they got a whole crowed in and nibbed the job on the butt. I really liked their quickness and professionalism.

Category lawn service, tree service

3.0

07/16/2012


HELEN C.

They cleaned up very well. The quality could have been better. They were very responsive and right on time. The professionalism was very good.

Description of Work
I used J&J Tree Service to trim two trees and to shape them.

Category tree service

5.0

05/30/2012


Lillian C.

They were very honest and they told me to just get another tree.

Description of Work
I had a 100 year old tree that needed to be removed.

Category tree service

5.0

05/07/2012


kevin M.

It was excellent. They were prompt and their estimates were accurate. I thought their plan for what needed to happen was fair. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
They cleaned parts of a tree instead of removing the tree, and it worked.

Category tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Miltee's Sprinkler and Valve Repai

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate.  

    Angi Certified

    BIG Outdoors

    With 7+ years of FULL service landscaping experience such as lighting, irrigation, hardscaping, paver experience and more, we are here to help meet and exceed your needs and dreams.  

    Angi Certified

    Green Republic Landscape Design Services

    Green Republic Landscapes is an exceptional landscape designer/builders firm specializing in bringing our clients an outdoor construction experience. We dedicate ourselves to design and the installation of the naturalistic garden you have always dreamed of. We take pride in design, installation, work quality and deliver premium customer service. Our experienced and professional crew will help put your worries to rest by completing every job on time and making sure it is done right. We strive to make your project a pleasant experience from start to finish by paying close attention to the smallest details and by being accessible throughout the job so you constantly have peace of mind. We love what we do and have developed our unique design, installation and project management skills to bring you superior customer service. We can provide you with a range of services, including Garden Design and Installation, Planting, Landscape lighting, Irrigation, Flagstones, Pavers and many more highly quality services. We use only the finest quality materials, sound horticultural practices, and the latest technologies available, allowing us to provide you with a customized landscape plan that can then be installed.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    For over 30 years, our highest-class professional services have enhanced properties, increased home value and created peace of mind for our clients. Our fully-guaranteed services leave you free to tend to other matters. We service most of the San Fernando Valley and the West Side of Los Angeles. We take great pride in our work, which can be attested to through references from customers in your very own neighborhood in Los Angeles.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & J Tree Service Inc

    How is J & J Tree Service Inc overall rated?

    J & J Tree Service Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & J Tree Service Inc open?

    J & J Tree Service Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does J & J Tree Service Inc provide

    J & J Tree Service Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does J & J Tree Service Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, J & J Tree Service Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does J & J Tree Service Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J & J Tree Service Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J & J Tree Service Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, J & J Tree Service Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does J & J Tree Service Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, J & J Tree Service Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by J & J Tree Service Inc?

    No, J & J Tree Service Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does J & J Tree Service Inc offer?

    J & J Tree Service Inc offers the following services: For over 30 years, our highest-class professional services have enhanced properties, increased home value and created peace of mind for our clients. Our fully-guaranteed services leave you free to tend to other matters. We service most of the San Fernando Valley and the West Side of Los Angeles. We take great pride in our work, which can be attested to through references from customers in your very own neighborhood in Los Angeles.