Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service

4.7

(119) Verified Reviews

Founded 1978 • With Angi since June 2006

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
672968
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California CSLB
Trade License Expiration
02/28/2018
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

1244 Berryman Cyn

Encinitas, CA 92024

http://www.chgardens.com

Description

12 Time Super Service Award Winner! C & H Gardens has been providing residential and commercial property landscape and arboricultural services since 1978. We specialize in creating tranquil, practical and functional outdoor living spaces. Whether you enjoy entertaining, recreation or relaxation we can bring Beauty and Tranquility to your world....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(119) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

94

4

4

3

9

2

7

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (94)tree service (49)irrigation system (35)hardscaping (23)lawn care (19)concrete repair (18)mulch delivering (17)hauling (12)landscape lighting (11)excavating (11)stone & gravel (10)architect (8)
Showing 1-10 of 119 reviews
5.0

09/10/2021


Julie G.

Excellent! We extended 2 areas on each side of our pool to make it more usable for lounge chairs on one side and a table with 6 chairs on the other. I can highly recommend Kent Horner and his company for many reasons. They started the work quickly, showed up daily and on time until it was completed, had a large crew and fixed any issues that we had due to moving sprinklers and lights. Kent used a large excavator to level the areas himself over 3 days. When this part was done, the crew took away the grass and dirt and disposed it, prepped the areas and put in the retaining walls, pavers and drains. I really appreciated that Kent showed up every day to check on the progress and address any concerns. He said the job was priced a bit low because there was so much compacted hard soil. He didn’t try to up the price, he did the work for the price he quoted. Thank you so much Kent and CH Gardens for the wonderful job! It’s awesome!

Description of Work
Paving areas in the backyard

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2021

Images

Review for C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service - 1244 Berryman Cyn, Encinitas, CA - 39469774

+1 More

5.0

06/03/2021


Suzanne S.

Easy to work with and did a wonderful job

Description of Work
complete front yard landscape

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] is the kind of client you hope for. She paid on time and let us do our work! What a great person. Glad to make her happy!
5.0

08/27/2020


Phillip B.

I couldn't be more pleased. He was the only person that gave us a written quote and performed the job beyond what was expected. In fact we actually negotiated a slightly lower price that his initial quote, but because his crew went the extra mile and did things that were not on the quote we paid him the original quoted price. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Landscaped the backyard hill side, which has fruit trees.

Category lawn treatment,architect,outdoor lighting

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2020

5.0

07/28/2020


Kent M.

Our front landscape was in desperate need of makeover landscaping. C&H Gardens has trimmed and removed many very large trees for me, over the last 6 years. It was an easy decision to choose Kent and C&H to do our landscaping project. Design was agreed upon and work began in mid-May 2020 and completed as designed in 3 weeks, on time and at cost projection. The professional work crew and design elements that added great visual quality to the street view was more than we expected. Our family and friends agree the work and view was fantastic. We will have an easy choice on our next project for the back yard...C&H is our contractor. Thanks Kent Horner, job well done.

Description of Work
Front yard landscape makeover

Category concrete repair,concrete driveways,excavators,landscaping,pavers, gravel,drain pipe,architect,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

Images

Review for C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service - 1244 Berryman Cyn, Encinitas, CA - 38752375
1.0

04/26/2020


Maggie F.

TOTAL DISASTER We hired Kent (C&H Gardens owner) to do our backyard makeover. We showed him pictures of garden ideas we would like to incorporate in our project. He wasn’t very receptive (first red flag we ignored), but because he was available right away we gave him the job. He came up with a rough design and asked us to trust him…this is not my first BBQ he said. What a mistake we made… the whole job was a total disaster. After a few days 3/4 of our backyard was covered with ugly, cheap mulch and a whole bunch of small, poor quality plants. Many of them were brown and looked like they were dying. His response was: they will come back. Eventually he replaced a few box woods and said if you want me to replace more I will have to charge extra. Some other plants he simply planted in the wrong areas, for example roses in the shade,so they quickly started to suffer and we had to replant them. We were very specific about the color of the gravel we wanted, so it would match that which already existed on the property, but he brought a totally different color stone and then told us they are close enough. Kent turned out to be very unprofessional , was rude to me and my husband and extremely unpleasant. His attitude in the end was: I did what you wanted. He has no sense of landscape design. All materials and plants were picked randomly and of poor quality.Be very careful and very specific if you decide to hire him. He’s very overpriced for what he does. We wasted tens of thousand of dollars and ended up having to spend even more to make our garden livable again.

Description of Work
backyard makeover

Category mulch,pavers, gravel,architect

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2020

5.0

01/19/2020


Leslie H.

Very well.. Would definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
Landscaping in front of curb.

Category pavers, gravel

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2019

5.0

12/17/2019


Michael M.

Kent and his team came out and trimmed 10 trees on my property. They did an exceptional job! Very professional and cleaned everything up. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Tree Trimming for 10 trees

Category tree service

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2019

5.0

12/03/2019


Deborah E.

Excellent! Arrived on time, great communication, friendly & efficient service. Kent’s large crew worked as a team, with three climbers, spotters, several clean up workers, word chipper for palm fronds, stump grinders, haul away trucks. Worked safely & efficiently. Highly recommend - neighbors requested bids as well from C & H.

Description of Work
Removal of three very tall palm trees from our home yard - front, back & side

Category hauling services,landscaping,tree service

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2019

Images

Review for C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service - 1244 Berryman Cyn, Encinitas, CA - 38266278

+7 More

5.0

12/01/2019


Ingrid C.

Kent not only provided us a solution, but also restored our sanctuary. He readily took on a remediation project to restore flagstone in our patio area affected by a re-routed buried gas line. Where we were already overwhelmed with the complexity of the task (and the distress from the gas line leak), Kent reassured us that he would take care of everything. His extensive experience, coupled with his genuine passion to restore our space, was compelling. The attention-to-detail was seen from Kent down through each of his team members. Not only was it difficult to match the existing flagstone, but his team laid it in a way that blended naturally with the remaining patio. Each step seemed to have been done with the same care they would do for their own home—from the initial dig to expertly puzzling together the flagstone, it was flawless execution. Also, with their expertise with barbecues, they were able to also trouble shoot our side burners & gas fire pit. Kent is a professional; and his Zen-presence radiated beyond the project, and exceeded our expectations. To him, this may have been a simple job to restore our patio; but to us, he helped us to regain resilience from this whole ordeal. We are loyal to his work and his passion; and would feel privileged to work with him again on another project. With whole-hearted gratitude, J & I (Carmel Valley)

Description of Work
Restore flagstone in the patio slab area affected by re-routed buried gas line

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel,fireplaces,hardscaping,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2019

5.0

07/27/2019


Lawrence L.

The whole project went exceptionally well. They were able to start within 10 days. A full crew worked diligently from about 9am to 4pm daily and on very hot days. The project was completed in one week. My suggestion to anyone who is thinking of a backyard landscape project is to have a design in place prior to meeting with landscapers. This includes not just layout but also the type of foliage, hardscape, irrigation needs you want. Do your research in advance. C & H was the only landscaper that was responsive to my needs and desires and not only was amenable to them, they met those needs without flaw. They didn't try to upsell, were down-to-earth and accommodating. Prior to discovering C&H, I had interviewed a couple of other landscaping firms. One was not communicative and the other was not as interested in my design plan but what he wanted to do. Keep in mind most extensive landscaping jobs can be costly, but if you want to do the job right, be prepared to pay more because you will really not want to have to redo a botched job. I am really happy with the result and I am looking forward to spending more time in my new yard. I highly recommend C & H to anyone who is looking for quality work.

Description of Work
Backyard landscaping and irrigation

Category hauling services,landscaping,irrigation systems,mulch,pavers, gravel

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2019

Services Offered

Residential & Commercial Landscape & Tree Service Contractor, Landscape Design, Landscape Architect, Landscape Installation, Eco Water-Wise Landscape, Softscape, Erosion Control, Hardscape, Ponds, Fountians, Jacuzzi's, Patios, Barbecues, Outdoor Structures, Retaining Walls, Decking, Paths, Driveways, Drainage, Irrigation And Lighting. Tree Service, Arborist, Tree Trimming, Tree Removal And Installation, Transplanting, Pruning, Lacing, Shaping, Stump Grinding, Hauling, Tractor Work & Firewood.

Services Not Offered

Lawn & Garden Weekly or Monthly Lawn Maintenance

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service

How is C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service overall rated?

C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

What days are C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service open?

C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

What payment options does C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service provide

C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Does C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offer free estimates?

Yes, C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offers free project estimates.

Does C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offer a senior discount?

Yes, C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offers a 10% senior discount.

Does C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offer emergency services?

Yes, C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service?

Yes, C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offers warranties.

What services does C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offer?

C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Landscape & Tree Service Contractor, Landscape Design, Landscape Architect, Landscape Installation, Eco Water-Wise Landscape, Softscape, Erosion Control, Hardscape, Ponds, Fountians, Jacuzzi's, Patios, Barbecues, Outdoor Structures, Retaining Walls, Decking, Paths, Driveways, Drainage, Irrigation And Lighting. Tree Service, Arborist, Tree Trimming, Tree Removal And Installation, Transplanting, Pruning, Lacing, Shaping, Stump Grinding, Hauling, Tractor Work & Firewood.

Are there any services C & H Gardens Artistic Landscape & Tree Service does not offer?

Lawn & Garden Weekly or Monthly Lawn Maintenance