Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ACS Roofing

Founded 1989 • With Angi since February 2008

4.8

(69) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9255 Survey Rd #4

Elk Grove, CA 95624

Description

Whether you are here for a new roof, roof repairs, roof inspection, siding, dry rot repair, gutter cleaning, whole house fan, rainwater tank, consultation, ventilation issues or just looking, you are sure to find everything you need with our Elk Grove and Sacramento area roofing company. Enjoy your

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/13/2020


Edmund P.

I found Mark, Amos, and the other ACS Roofing staff easy to work with. They initially answered my questions and then provided a quote for supplies/labor and a timeline for completion within just a few days of my initial email, which I appreciated. Work was scheduled a week later, and my re-roof was completed within 4-days -- after which they appropriately cleaned up. The pricing was reasonable enough and the work was done professionally.

Description of Work
Re-roof on two story home

Category roofing

1.0

08/27/2019


Victor L.

Total waste of time. I made it very clear when they came I needed the inspect *and* repairs done. It took two weeks to get the estimate--I was told it would be two days. When it finally came there was no price. One more week after a call and email only to be told they "couldn't get the job done in time for rainy season, but you can use our quote for other vendors." When asked when they could do the repair there was no response. Look elsewhere for inspection and repair. They gladly took my money for the inspection and I was told it could be applied to the repair work. Hi Victor, sorry about the late response. After reviewing our schedule, our inspector informed me that our schedule is full for the upcoming season, so we wouldn't be able to perform the repair work before the onset of winter. You can definitely use our report to get other bids. We apologize about this. Thanks

Description of Work
Gutter repair and leak repair

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Good day Mr. [Member Name Removed], We would like to address some details regarding the response you made on Angie’s List concerning your experience with our company. Per your signed Service Call Agreement, your appointment was a service call for our Cause of Leak Inspection, specifically for the following according to your original email: 7/11/19- one of our gutters was mangled by hoa and needs repair/replacement, we would also like an inspection of a possible leak area on our roof where the gutters meetup. thanks! Our office technician contacted you and an appointment was scheduled for 7/29/19 7/29/19-Cause of leak Inspection performed. In addition to the leak area around the gutters, the inspector found multiple unsealed areas present as shown in your detailed seven page report. 8/2/19: Doc, the office technician emailed the inspection report as follows: Hello [Member Name Removed], please see the following attached file: • Roof inspection Please let me know if you have any questions Doc Office Technician 8/12/19 Ten days after receiving the report you contacted us as regarding repairs 8/ 21, 2019 our office technician responded to your request Our company apologizes for the lapse of 9 days to respond to your request for repairs. This does not represent what typically happens with our customers; but rather it was a rare occurrence of oversight on our front office’s part. Summary Your service call was for a cause of leak inspection near damaged gutters. You paid 89.00 for this inspection and received at no additional cost, a standard roof inspection that we normally charge 129.00 for. You received this inspection report 4 days after the inspection appointment, not 2 weeks. You responded to the report ten days after you received it. We responded 9 days after your email for an estimate which was an unfortunate oversite on our part. We sincerely apologize for the longer than usual lapse of time in getting back to you and we want to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
5.0

03/30/2018


Andrew H.

This was a small job but the team came out and made a fix before heading out for the rest of their day. The work was attentive and careful and a competitive price. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Leaking gutter joint repair

Category gutter repair

5.0

03/13/2017


Jeff G.

Excellent service...very professional

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

5.0

02/14/2017


Barbara N.

Mark came out the day before the first "atmospheric river" was to land in Sacramento in January and repaired a leak that appeared as a bubble in our kitchen ceiling that morning. It was the first sunny day between storms and they came out and fixed the leak same day and then scheduled the repair and complete assessment of the remainder of the roof. The repair and maintenance work was done promptly and professionally with supporting before and after pictures and explanation of repair and materials. The professionalism and attentiveness of everyone we dealt with in the company was outstanding and welcomed.

Description of Work
Roof repair and roof maintenance

Category roofing, roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review of our company. It was likewise a pleasure for our company to work with you. We so happy that you are satisfied with your roof! Sincerely, ACS Team
5.0

12/02/2016


Pamela S.

It can be hard to find a roofer that will respond to your call and come out to look at your roof. It's even harder to find a roofer that is competent with tile roof repairs. Prior to hiring ACS Roofing I had other roofers come to the house and try to repair an area where a major leak was. None had succeeded. ACS Roofing exceeded my expectations with their professionalism and how thorough they were with identifying the problem and completing the roof repairs. The area causing the major leak needed extensive repairs and ACS Roofing was upfront about what needed to be done, how long it was going to take for the repairs, and how much it was going to cost. I was also provided with a report of other problem areas on the roof and what needed to be fixed. The team was very professional the entire time. I was always contacted from them in a timely manner, from my initial call for an inspection to the final contact of the completed roof repairs. All my questions were answered in person, on the phone, or via email. They showed up when they were suppose to be at the house and let me know if there were any delays and why. All the trash was either cleaned up at the end of the day or put into a small pile away from where anyone would walk or drive. There have been multiple storms since the repairs have been completed and I am happy to say that there are no more leaks. I am completely satisfied with the work ACS Roofing has done and would recommend them to anyone needing help with their roof, especially tile roofs.

Description of Work
Repairs for multiple water leaks and broken tiles. Inspection of entire roof for general upkeep and improvements.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing, roof cleaning

5.0

06/08/2016


Harlene A.

These folks know their business! Compared with the two other estimates I sought, the ACS crew understood the source of the problems, saw alternative and best solutions, knew their materials, and were on the job and finished in short order. The added bonus was that they took initiative to check out the entire roof of many peaks and valleys, corrected other minor problems, and cleaned out all the valleys and crickets that can hold water when cluttered with debris. Mark Tate, the owner, personally climbed all over the roof and made the thorough inspection and provided documentation and clear photos of all trouble spots. Over the two or three days of work, he stayed on top of the job through his very efficient and amiable employees, returned to consider alternative solutions to the condensation arrangement and we settled on a solution better than the original, and he made a final inspection as well. Considering a complex roof, some necessary creative invention to solve the runoff problems, and the range of issues to be dealt with, I felt the price was reasonable. They clearly value their customers and respond as readily as an emergency unit on-call because, as Mark said, "You are now our customer; we need you to be satisfied." I will hire this company again whenroof issues arise.

Description of Work
Two main tasks were reconfiguring and repairing a roof plane transition and re-sealing it to prevent a perpetually overflowing, unuguttered roof corner, and diverting flow from rooftop HVAC condensation pipe into nearest gutter. They also rescued loft trim, re-secured flashing, re-secured plumbing vents, replaced existing leaf guards, sealed exposed fasteners, and cleared roof valleys and crickets of lodged leaf and pollen debris.

Category roofing, roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your kind words about our company. We are glad that you are satisfied and happy with the work. That is our #1 goal. Thanks, ACS team
5.0

01/09/2016


Omar S.

Really great experience all around--all communications were timely and professional, the folks that did the work we also punctual, conscientious and friendly. Never really happy to have to write a $2K check, but these folks made me feel like I got my money's worth--highly recomended.

Description of Work
Evaluate roof, clean out debris, replace underpayment and flashing, and repair/replace a few tiles.

Category roofing, roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], We greatly appreciate your kind and honest review. We understand that construction can sometimes be costly, which is why our approach is to identify and repair the underlying systemic problem (and not just perform temporary repairs that will not hold up). We're always happy to hear that our customers are satisfied, and we also had a great experience working with you to repair your roof! Sincerely, The ACS Roofing Team
5.0

11/26/2015


Bill N.

The company owner came out personally to do the estimate. Prompt and very professional. I really liked them. I ended up choosing another very good company to do the work, but it was close.

Description of Work
Provided a reroof estimate.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thanks for the kind review! If you ever need any roofing or home improvement services in the future, we'd be glad to work for you. Sincerely, The ACS Roofing Team
5.0

05/11/2015


Sarah W.

I highly recommend ACS Roofing! From our first contact with this company they have been professional and courteous. They provided us with updates and communication throughout the project. They even impressed my dad, a retired contractor who is very difficult to please. No surprises, straightforward paperwork and excellent work earns this company an A+!!!! Roof looks fabulous and we have received many compliments from friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Reroof - Removed old shake roof and installed new Owens Corning Cool Roof.

Category roofing

5.0

05/03/2015


Ronald R.

ACS gets 5 stars for punctuality--other contractors could take a lesson. I was promised an initial inspection between 3 and 5 PM; Mark arrived at 3:10. His estimate/bid arrived by email the next day--it appeared to be in good order and at a competitive price, so I accepted. Work was scheduled for the next business day starting at 9:00 AM and that's precisely when the crew arrived. The workers appeared to be highly skilled and professional. As for the quality of the job, that's going to take the next heavy rainstorm to fully judge, and that won't happen for several months. At least, in observing the work in progress, I'm left with an expectation that they did what needed to be done, about as well as it was possible to do.

Description of Work
Repaired leak under eaves over garage. Removed many tiles, fixed improperly installed flashing, sealed ABS underlayment, added new water-resistant sheeting and runners, replaced tiles.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for noting our punctuality. Please let us know if you experience any problems.
5.0

04/06/2015


Step T.

I like their thoroughness. They were very good about inspecting and in fact when we had a little rain scheduled they came over before they were due to start just to make sure they took care of the worst of the leaks so that there were no further interior damage. They were very thorough and gave very clear explanations of options. I asked them to make me an estimate for patching the existing roof and completely ripping it off and installing a new one; they did that. When I elected lower cost option they didn't pout about it, they got started right away. They have excellent employees. They were courteous and quiet sometimes I didn't know they were working up there until I walked outside and saw them. They cleaned as they went. They didn't block people's driveways in the neighborhood. They were very attentive in explaining what was going in and where they were. They pretty much finished the whole job in about four days. They were prompt in finishing and in general it was another good experience. I've recommended them to several friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
They rebuilt skylight, installed low sloped roofing around the skylight and replaced several hundred shakes and found other leaky places and patched those.

Category roofing, skylights

2.0

03/30/2015


Richard F.

I was disappointed. While I initially contacted them for a repair to our gutter guards (which they had not installed). I made it clear that I was going to be re-roofing the entire house and also wanted a bid. They charged me a service charge just for coming out - but did not come prepared to do the repair work. Instead, they had another guy come out later in the day who arrived 2 hours later than scheduled. In my experience, the service charge is usually included in the work to be performed. It's a safeguard against making a service call but not being hired to do the work. I found this annoying because roofers generally do not charge to come out to do a roofing estimate. They charged $350 or so for the actual gutter guard repairs which took less than 15 minutes - plus the initial service charge. They gave me a roofing bid in pretty good time, but never any follow-up contact. I certainly did not feel like a valued customer and went with a different roofing contractor.

Description of Work
ACS did some very minor repairs to my existing gutter guard system and gave a bid for the re-roofing of our entire house and garage.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Good afternoon (removed member name), We are saddened to read about your expression of disappointment with our company especially since we feel we provided a valuable service to you at a time when you needed and wanted it done. Our records show you initially contacted our company and made an appointment for some gutter issues. These gutter issues along with a re-roof estimate request, as listed on the service call appointment sheet are as follows: 1) Gutter-water overflowing -front of living room 2) Gutter-leaking at end cap 3) Evaluate gutter guards- installed 4 or 5 years ago by Weather Right-N/A 4) Re-roof estimate- will probably re-roof sometime this year Upon making your appointment with a time range for Mark to do an onsite evaluation of your gutter leaking issue and to provide a fix or remedy if more involved, we gave you our lowest service call fee that we offer for gutter issues, 45.00. The re-roof estimate was free. Some gutter leak issues can be repaired at the initial visit, others are more involved and require further time or materials that are unique to each job like yours did. Although we almost always charge by the job not by the hour, our technician reported 1 hour and 15 minutes to perform your repair. Of course there is much more time involved with a job than the actual labor. Taking into consideration the initial call and appointment setting, onsite evaluation, material procurement, technician scheduling, drive time and paperwork, I estimate that your job probably took 8 hours of our companies’ time. With the type of repairs that your gutters needed, it required additional assistance and more materials. When we get an initial call for a service, We cannot always determine what it will take to do a repair and most times the customer does not know either, so that is why it is important to get the problem properly evaluated which is a service that we are in business to provide and thus have a service fee for. In most cases we will apply the service call fee to the repair work invoice. Many times a customer will have us do a repair that same day or soon after, so essentially there is no charge for the service call and no collection if it. In that case you just get billed for the repair work. In your case we billed you 385.00 for the actual repairs and you sent in your 385.00 payment by check. We have no record of you paying for the service call of 45.00. However, if you did pay it under another name by check or credit card, we are happy to look into it and get that corrected. When we provided you with your service it was in January. This is a time when we receive a huge number of leak calls, for the obvious reason that it has either rained, is raining or will be raining and homeowners do not want to expose their home to further damage. We believe, as do experts in the industry, that inclement weather time periods are not a good time to re-roof unless of course for emergency reasons, when a roof is in a failed condition. We therefore reserve this time of year to fulfill the many requests we get for leak/repair issues and we have hundreds of customers who have expressed thankfulness to us for this service. Why are they thankful for this service? This is what that service includes: 1) A live person when you first call to make your appointment with options that are convenient for you. If you don't get a live person, you can leave a message and someone will return your call in a timely manner unless a severe weather system has created an unusual amount of leak calls in which case it will require more time to process. 2) An experienced leak repair technician/contractor who will show up for the appointment, take the time to look at the problem and provide you with a written recommendation for repairs. More than likely that person will be Mark, a certified Haag roofing Inspector. Haag trained inspectors are the most highly qualified individuals in the roofing and gutter industry when it comes to evaluating and recommending a remedy for leak issues. 3) A no pressure to hire us philosophy. We do not use sales people who get a commission on the amount of work they sell. Our focus is on what is causing the problem and what will it take to fix it. With your written recommendation for repairs in hand, you can take your time to look it over, get an estimate from another company or not hire us at all. 4) A company that comes back to do the repair. We often have customers tell us that they hired a contractor to do the job but they never showed up and would not return phone calls. If you do decide to have us do the repair, we will arrange a day and time range that is convenient for you, return at that pre-arranged day and time range with the necessary materials and complete the job in as timely a manner as possible. Although they work quickly and efficiently, occasionally our repair technicians will find that a job is more complex and will take longer than expected to complete. When this happens they stick with it, sometimes working into evening hours and under very harsh weather conditions. Although your leak issue turned out to be minor, many of our leak calls are very serious and some require emergency assistance. For most homeowners, this is when calling and securing a roofing company who can provide this assistance for a small service fee, is priceless.
3.0

01/20/2015


Don J.

Based on great AL ratings, I contacted ACS. I would simply suggest it is more helpful to make it known the company is not currently performing re-roofing work, except in the case of an emergency. This alternate approach should enable the customer to make contact with other great companies who are ready, willing and able to perform the desired work. Had I known the company was not performing re-roofing work until February, I would not have contacted them. Of course this is a minor issue and I don't intend to unfairly disparage ACS. However, it is not productive to communicate with a contractor who cannot meet your needs in a timely manner.

Description of Work
To their credit, ACS quickly returned my initial contact with email and a call. Unfortunately, I was told they were not scheduling re-roofing work until the end of February.

Category roofing

5.0

01/07/2015


Travis L.

I was looking for gutter and roofing materials for a gazebo project and wanted the materials to match what was on the house. Contacted several companies and ACS Roofing was quick to respond and was extremely helpful in getting the gutter and roofing materials that I needed. I just let them know the specifics and they were able to order and deliver everything. They could have just ignored my requests since they were not going to be performing the work necessary to install everything, but they were very accommodating to all the particular requests that I made. I would work with them again and refer them to anyone needing gutter and roofing materials and/or services.

Description of Work
Provided materials for completion of a octagonal gazebo.

Category roofing

5.0

12/31/2014


Ronald P.

Very well. we were pleased with the entire process . ACS was very professional provided detailed quote and change orders during the entire process . Provided a number of options for material and samples were provided . Work was performed on schedule weather permitting. Communication with project manager was very good, we were informed of each step of the process . I would highly recommend ACS .

Description of Work
Replace entire roof, make required repairs install new gutters and facia boards install attic fan

Category roofing

5.0

10/17/2014


Nicole S.

It was time for us to replace our roof and gutters. We contacted four roofing companies who we found on Angie's List. ACS Roofing was the third company to give us an estimate. Mark Tate of ACS Roofing was very knowledgeable and went over all of our options with us. After meeting with the fourth roofing company we decided to chose ACS Roofing and we are so happy we did. They did a fantastic job. We could not be more pleased with our new roof and gutters. I will recommend ACS Roofing to all of my family, friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
New roof

Category gutter repair, roofing

1.0

10/02/2014


Charles G.

I requested the free estimate advertised by ACS Roofing for installation of a suitable attic ventilation fan and was merely offered their WHF/Attic Ventilation Assessment for $189, with a $25 Angie?s List member discount--- although, they did stipulate that the full amount would be credited against the cost of work they ultimately performed. The person responding to my Angie?s List inquiry didn't have expertise with regard to services they offer and purportedly specialize in and seemed more interested in cross-selling additional services than addressing my immediate needs, even after I explained we already have a WHF, had recently replaced our HVAC system and had additional insulation blown in by a SMUD approved contractor. After this experience, I would be skeptical of doing business with this contractor.

Description of Work
No work was performed.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], We have carefully read and considered your review, as we are very concerned with customer satisfaction. However, the statements you make in your review are inconsistent with our one phone conversation and the actual emails we received from you, and sent to you. Let us show you why and jog your memory with the actual emails we exchanged. You are alleging that your initial request was for an estimate for installation of attic fans and that we only offered you another service, our WHF/Attic Ventilation Assessment. We give out estimates all the time when customers "ask" for them. If you will recall, your first email was not a request for an estimate but merely the question " Do you install hard-wired (not solar), gable mounted, thermostat/humidistat controlled attic ventilation fans -- RE: SFR 1,954 sq. ft. livable space and 580 sq. ft. 3-car garage." My email answer was "Yes we do install these attic fans. Do you already have a model in mind that you would like to have installed?" Your response to me was. [member name removed]. 9/29/2014 “Thank you for your reply..., from your website it's obvious an attic ventilation system's not as simple a trip to Home Depot--- I was hoping to have ACS Roofing survey our specific needs, make a recommendation and provide an estimate. Is that possible?” My answer to your request to "survey our specific needs” was “Hello [member name removed], Our WHF/Attic Ventilation Assessment which is an evaluation of your home’s ventilation needs may be of interest to you. We are a qualified ASK THE EXPERT contractor for AirVent and a certified installer for AirScape. All ventilation assessments are conducted by the owner, Mark Tate.* Any retrofit recommendations he makes for your home; attic fans, whole house fans, radiant barrier, cool roofs or additional ventilation, will be according to building science principles, providing optimum energy efficiency with the goal of a reduction in heating/air conditioning bills and a more comfortable living environment. We strongly recommend the WHF/Attic Ventilation Assessment before purchasing a whole house fan, gable attic fans, solar attic fans, HVAC, wind turbines and insulation. This is the easiest way to plan how to reduce your home's energy usage and prolong the life of its components. Please see attachment for more information on how this assessment can identify and correct the cooling and heating issues in your home. Let me know if you have any more questions and would like to schedule the assessment. The regular price is 189.00 for a standard sized home without a steep pitch. As an Angie’s List member we can offer you a 25.00 discount for this service. We also credit you back the full amount if we install an attic fan or provide ventilation work.” Thanks, Rebecca Tate ACS Roofing So you can see that I did offer you the Ventilation Assessment and attached a PDF form describing it after you expressed your ventilation needs in your statement “--- I was hoping to have ACS Roofing survey our specific needs, make a recommendation and provide an estimate.” 9/29/14. What you were asking for is a paid service that we provide to diagnose overly heated homes or attic ventilation issues. The process to provide this custom report can take an average of 4 hours. It includes the physical gathering of data, entering that information and performing calculations to arrive at recommendations based on building science principles. When it comes to the addition of whole house fans, any kind of attic fan, retrofitting or remodeling, having an adequate amount of ventilation and a balanced system cannot be over empathized. When these needs are not met, there will be over heating, moisture buildup in the attic, more energy usage and accelerated aging of the roof. We use our Attic Ventilation Assessment to troubleshoot these issues. We charge 189.00 for this service and at times will offer Angie’s List members a discount. After reviewing this Attic Ventilation Assessment description, you initiated a phone conversation where we discussed your home’s heat issues and the improvements you have made to make your home more energy efficient. I believe you said that your whole house fan was installed without additional ventilation, you recently had insulation blown in, you have gable solar attic fans on each end of your house that you feel are not adequate and you want to replace them with powered fans but you first wanted to know if we thought that would make a difference. The technical answer to that question was not something that I was familiar with but I did get your answer from the owner who has much experience with assisting homeowners in making ventilation improvement choices that get noticeable results. Below is a copy of that: Hello [member name removed], I spoke with Mark about your question on weather a powered gable attic fan would be better than the solar gable attic fans. His answer was yes, for a couple of reasons. 1) The CFM capacity of powered attic fans is much more then solar. 2) They are hard -wired and can be used with an on/off switch and timer He also mentioned that many of the whole house fans (those that are belt driven and with a very high CFM capacity) that are installed by the fan companies in this area require a more substantial amount of square feet of Net free area then the direct drive fans. Without enough exhaust, the hot air that the fan forced to the attic will come back to the living space. Even so, when your whole house fan is not in use, it is still important to have a balanced intake and exhaust ventilation system for optimal home comfort and moisture control. Hope this information helps, let me know if you have any more questions. Thanks, REBECCA TATE OFFICE MANAGER ACS ROOFING Your last email finally asked for an estimate: “Thank you, Rebecca. Given my situation, is ACS Roofing able to provide a "no-cost" estimate for an appropriate installed attic ventilation fan, with the thermostat and humidistat controls referenced on your website? Although possibly outdated, your website is nevertheless very informative and what impressed me about ACS Roofing (in addition to Angie's List rating). I assumed ACS Roofing would have the most efficient options for an attic ventilation fan--- as opposed to Home Depot and/or Lowe's.” My response to your request: Rebecca/ACS Roofing Sep 30 (7 days ago) “Hello [member name removed], I have forwarded your information to Mark for pricing on the type of gable attic fan you are needing. He is more knowledgeable regarding efficiency of these fans as well. He should be getting back to you tomorrow. Thank you for you interesting questions” REBECCA TATE OFFICE MANAGER ACS ROOFING [member name removed], It is unfortunate that you misunderstood our entire communication together regarding your ventilation needs. Our company has a keen interest in energy efficiency, sustainable living and ethical business practices. Our positive Angie’s List ratings from customers that we have actually done work for, which impressed you, are evidence of this. With our Attic Ventilation Assessment, we have assisted many homeowners in making ventilation improvement choices that get noticeable results. Per the end of our phone conversation discussing what improvements you have made, my only intention was to get you information on the powered attic fans you were asking about. Your free estimate for those fans was just an email away. One more thing about your review that is inconsistent is that you said I did not have expertise with regard to the services we offer and specialize in. Notice what you mentioned here in your last email: "your website is nevertheless very informative and what impressed me about ACS Roofing (in addition to Angie's List rating).” Yes, I, the one who assisted you am the author of most of the content for that website you were impressed by as well as writing the description of the Attic Ventilation Assessment. Thank you for the compliment!
2.0

09/05/2014


Mark S.

I called and asked for a bid on a re-roof job. I stated I was in need of an estimate in a timely manner. I was told the soonest they could send someone out was a week away, and that it would take at least another day to get the estimate. Two weeks passed and I had not heard from anyone. Finally, I called them back and they acted like they had never heard of me. In all of my conversations with them I never got the impression that my business was important to them. I even asked them at one point if they were interested in giving me an estimate, or if I was bothering them. I have no idea if there quality is good, but my experience was not good.

Description of Work
Did not use.

Category roofing

5.0

07/15/2014


Isla C.

ACS roofing (Mike, Amos, John and a few others) came at day of install and completely described the process. This product and install was exceptional . Great professional and clean up afterwards

Description of Work
Replace wood shake roof to composite shingle, with new gutter and down spouts, with under layment. Install new whole house for.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/22/2014


James A.

The service was excellent all around. After installing a new roof for us 4 years ago we had a small leak a year later . They came and fixed it within 24 hours of our telephone call. Last year they cleaned our gutters. They arrived on time and completed job quickly, cleaning up when they were done. Today they came to fix a noisy wind turbine on our roof. It was fixed within 24 hours of a telephone call.

Description of Work
ACS installed a new roof for us 4 years ago. A year later we had a small leak. They came and fixed it within 24 hours of our telephone call. Last year they cleaned our gutters. They arrived on time and completed job quickly, cleaning up when they were done. Today they came to fix a noisy wind turbine on our roof. It was fixed within 24 hours of a telephone call.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

3.0

05/13/2014


Megan W.

We asked the contractor to our home to look at a roof leak due to the recent rain. He was very quick to show up and provide what seemed like good customer service. He sold us on what seemed to be the cause of the problem and told us his associate would perform the repairs the following day. His associate came to the house and spent about 15-20 minutes on our roof. Later we would find out we still had a leak, they never performed services that were in the repair agreement, and they refused to address the problem. We hired another contractor to come out and look at this contractor repairs and fix the roof problem, In conclusion, we were overcharged, the problem was not fixed and the contractor failed to provide his service guarantee. We think that he is writing his own Angie's list reviews.

Description of Work
Failed to identify, diognose and fix the cause of the roof problem. Performed services not needed, overcharged for services not done and failed to return or address problem when identified with contractor.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

This customer, (Remove member name) hired us on 2 separate occasions for roof repairs at two different locations. We completed both our contracts 100%. We had provided written estimates before the jobs started. We also provided written details regarding the work to be performed in the contract and verbally explained it to the customer before she signed. Our technicians completed everything as outlined in the contract. We are confident that there would be no water penetration in either areas that we repaired and we will always make a return call if there is a problem. We stand by our work. Our company is very reasonable and honest in all of our business dealings. We especially strive to go above and beyond customer satisfaction and work quality. The customer who left us this review was completely satisfied with the work we performed until it was made evident that we could not meet her one demand. That demand was that we word our invoices in a way to show that any leaking was due to weather damage not lack of maintenance, to support a claim with her homeowners insurance. (Remove member name). kept putting off payment with the stipulation that we word her roof damages as weather related. In our viewpoint, this was unethical and was not an option for our company. Unfortunately, (Remove member name) decided not to pay us the 3,376.28 she owes us for both contracts. We have never had to appear in small claims court for non- payment from a customer before, but this was the only recourse we had with (Remove member name) The night before her court date she posted her review. Except for the good customer service mentioned here, this review is flat out spurious, inaccurate and slanderous. We can back this statement up with estimates, contracts, digital photos of before during and after the jobs, employee time cards, material receipts, emails and a copy of the A review with a Page of Happiness on Angie’s List that (Remove member name) gave us for the first job we did for her. That being said, in regards to (Remove member name) claim that we write our own reviews, does anyone really think that Angie, with her high standards, would allow a business to write their own reviews on her List?
2.0

03/20/2014


Jeff K.

Apparently with ACS Roofing a "free" estimate actually means $75. The owner showed up on time for the appointment and handed my wife and I a bundle of material which was primarily on composite shingle roofs when we need a tile roof. No problem there, he didn't know before hand, but then he didn't have any information about tile roofs. Essentially he instructed us to do research online and contact him later when we knew the specific tiles that we wanted to use. For a project of this size I expected some guidance and recommendations. For gutters it was the same story. He didn't have any brochures and just told us to "look around" and let him know what kind of gutter we wanted. He gave zero useful information about pricing for either tiles or gutters. Finally he told us that we'd need to order a satellite image of our house in order for him to provide any pricing. The cost for the image would be $75. He made sure to let me know he wasn't making any money on the image, just passing his cost along to me! So much for a free estimate... By the time he left he'd taken up almost an hour of my time (which I took off from work) and I had nothing. No insight into the tile he would offer, no real insight into the gutters he would offer, and absolutely no information about the cost of the job! Just a waste of my time...

Description of Work
ACS Roofing came out to provide an estimate to re-roof and replace the gutters on my house.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Sir, We apologize for causing you any inconvenience. When customers call in requesting a re-roof estimate appointment, we first ask questions about the roof regarding the pitch, walkability, size and complexity. If it is a steep pitch, not walkable in some areas, over 3000 sq. ft. or in addition as we refer to as cut up, we will explain the satellite measurement service. When you called our office, the staff who normally do the scheduling were out and the person who took your information was not familiar with our format thus did not get your roof stats. We are very disappointed that you felt that Mark's appointment with you was a waste of time. Maybe you forgot some of the pertinent information he went over with you. For your benefit or anyone who will re-roof with tile, let me re-cap some of the issues that were discussed during the hour you spent together, and address some of your concerns: 1. Lightweight tile verses standard weight tile- You mentioned you wanted lightweight tile. Mark discussed the benefits of standard weight over lightweight tile, which are: • Less breakage. • 40% less expensive. • Easier to walk on for servicing. 2. Engineer Report/Involvement of a structural engineer for a tile re-roof.-All cities/municipalities require a structural engineer report for tile roofs before they will issue a re-roof permit. Mark did spend some time explaining this to you and did offer to contact the structural engineer that we use. 3. Flashings- All flashings would need to be replaced because tile requires its own unique flashing with hemmed edges. 4. Dry rot- Mark walked the perimeter of the house to check for visible dry rot. None was noted, which is a good sign that there will be none revealed when the roof is removed. Dry rot repair adds a considerable cost to the new roof. 5. Solid sheathing-Having solid sheathing means a substantial savings when re-roofing to tile. Mark looked into the attic space to confirm that the house had solid sheathing. He lifted up a ceiling panel and showed you that your house did indeed have solid sheathing. 6. Elevated Batten System/Underlayment options-The batten system allows airflow underneath tiles. 7. Gutters- Mark discussed at length the benefits of replacing your gutters during the re- roof process, placement of gutters and downspouts which is often an issue with cut up homes, the right type of gutter guards for tile roofs, and the current style and size of your gutters. 8. Satellite service-Due to the complexity and steep pitch of your home, an accurate estimate will require a comprehensive report from EagleView, our preferred service using satellite technology for roof measuring . This information enables us to actually give you a free written estimate which by itself is about a 2 hr. process for a roof your size. 9. Tile profiles/online research- Mark offered to bring back tile samples and in the interim he suggested that you visit some tile manufacturer websites to become familiar with the different profiles available. Free Estimates or Satellite Service: Our company will provide a free re-roof estimate for a roof that is walkable and accessible at each section. With larger homes having roofs that have a pitch of more than 7/12, which are cut up and have areas that cannot be measured, we offer a free estimate with a paid satellite image that we purchase from EagleView, a company that charges us $50.00-75.00, depending on the size of house. This service provides: • 3D image with measurements. • Schematic drawings. • Elevations. • Ridge/ barge rafter/hip lengths. • Lineal feet of gutter, as well as other useful information for the contractor and homeowner. This is all necessary information that an estimator needs to calculate the amount of materials needed and to formulate an accurate estimate for a new roof. It is industry standard to use this service for steep pitched roofs, like yours. If an estimator measures from the ground or throws out a guesstimate, it will not be a true reflection of the scope of work. Our company provides estimates based on measurements only, as calculated guesses are usually disappointing to both the customer and the contractor. Some contractors will pay for the satellite service and incorporate it in their price. We believe there is more benefit for the customer to own the report. This allows them to use it with a variety of contractors and future services that involve the roof. Informational Packets: Our customer roof packets are separated according to composition, tile or IB materials. We also have packets for ventilation, repairs, siding and inspections. Because there are many specific packets for different appointments and they are constantly updated, Mark will only take what is needed for each day’s appointments. If there are extra packets they are usually composition packets as 80% of customers in the U. S. will choose this material. There are no gutter brochures that we are aware of. There is a one page color chart we show to customers when they are ready to pick out their gutter color. Getting Started: Purchasing a new roof requires a major investment of your time and money . The variety of materials are abundant and the selection process can be daunting. Many homeowners get started by doing online research, at least to see what their options are. Once you narrow down the profile, we can assist with colors and other options as well as provide addresses (as examples) with the type of roof you are interested in. Homeowners will want to keep in mind the following: • Re-roofing is a major project. The more time you spend preparing for it, the more likely you will be satisfied with the end result. • Re-roofing with tile requires more preliminary steps, additional resources and will involve more time. • Gathering estimates and meeting contractors is time consuming but a necessary part of the process. • Get an accurate estimate for the job. Make sure the contractor uses measurements not guesses, and make sure you get it in writing. • Appreciate Roofing contractors. If an owner/contractor comes to your home personally verses an employee/estimator, you have a special opportunity with much more to be gained. They are extremely busy people who give a lot of free advice to some people who don't value their time. Hope this information is helpful. Thank you, Rebecca Tate Office Manager ACS Roofing Company
5.0

02/19/2014


Kelley F.

They did a wonderful job. I would definitely recommend and use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced cracked tiles, re-do of tiles and flashing over garage that were not to code.

Category roofing

5.0

12/21/2013


Jeanne B.

They did more than they were contracted to do and I will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I needed dry rot and other roof/house repairs prior to getting the house painted. Mark Tate very patiently explained the work he felt was needed, after doing a careful inspection. For the work itself, his crew was punctual, efficient, professional, and respectful of my property.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Good Life Construction, Inc.

    We are licensed, insured, and bonded. We have experience since 2009. We specialize in all phases of dry rot repair, home renovation, roofing and siding services, repairs, replacements, installs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Elite Window and Gutter

    Elite window and gutter offers window cleaning, gutter cleaning, screen repair and new screens. We have 20 years of experience to help you with your home maintenance needs! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Heritage Exteriors

    Family owned and operated, Heritage Exteriors offers siding and window replacement services for Residential, Multifamily, & Commercial Projects. We carry a variety of styles, Manufactures, and materials to meet all your needs. We complete all of our own installations without the use of subcontractors. Our installation crews are experts in their fields and are confident in the services they provide to all of our customers. Many Years of experience in the construction industry as a foremen and crew leader of many, in 2018 I met 2 brother with the same history, ambition, morals, and vision of what a business should be and how employees and customers should be treated. From that day our journey began as owners of Heritage Exteriors.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available, American Express
    Senior Discount
    $45.00
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    "HAAG & TRI Certified. Roof Replacement/Repairs/Inspections, Siding, Sun Tunnels & Skylights, Whole House Fans, Water Harvesting, Ventilation Assessment, Gutters & Carpentry."

    Services Not Offered

    ASK FOR DETAILS.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ACS Roofing

    How is ACS Roofing overall rated?

    ACS Roofing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are ACS Roofing open?

    ACS Roofing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does ACS Roofing provide

    ACS Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available, American Express

    Does ACS Roofing offer free estimates?

    No, ACS Roofing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does ACS Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ACS Roofing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ACS Roofing offer a senior discount?

    No, ACS Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ACS Roofing offer emergency services?

    Yes, ACS Roofing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ACS Roofing?

    No, ACS Roofing does not offer warranties.

    What services does ACS Roofing offer?

    ACS Roofing offers the following services: "HAAG & TRI Certified. Roof Replacement/Repairs/Inspections, Siding, Sun Tunnels & Skylights, Whole House Fans, Water Harvesting, Ventilation Assessment, Gutters & Carpentry."

    Are there any services ACS Roofing does not offer?

    ASK FOR DETAILS.