WOOLSEY CONSTRUCTION

About

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2013

Woolsey Construction is a full service residential and commercial construction company. We specialize in everything from new home builds, ADUs/granny flats, kitchens, and baths, to decks and patio covers. We provide our clients with high quality workmanship, attention to detail and a pleasant experience from start to finish....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+108 more images

Home Addition and Remodel

Home Addition and Remodel

home remodeling202092020
A complete exterior remodel and addition of a master suite that added an addition 600 sq ft. to the home. Project also includes a full interior remodel and rearrangement of the living room and kitchen to an open-concept design.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(34) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

32

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home builder (3)home remodeling (13)decks & porches (11)electrician (7)drywall (7)roofing (6)Patios (5)door installation (5)woodworking (5)lighting (5)flooring (5)stamped concrete (3)
Showing 1-25 of 34 reviews
5.0

11/19/2019


Sharon G.

It went extremely well. On time and under budget. Although Woolsey Construction was not the cheapest, they were absolutely the best. Would we recommend them, in a heart beat. They were very professional and still friendly, both office people and the guys getting dirty. They take a lot of pride in their work, something you don't see much of anymore. Thank you Woolsey Construction.

Description of Work
Replaced a 31 year old deck. Approximately 900 sq ft.

Category decks, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2019

Images

Review for WOOLSEY CONSTRUCTION - 1934 JOHN TOWERS AVE, El Cajon, CA - 38242014

+2 More

Service Provider Response

You were great clients and we really enjoying working with you! Thank you for the feedback.

5.0

10/30/2019


Kristiana W.

We started the job hoping to get it done before the winter rains, but unfortunately the rains came early and often. Overall ended up with a really great deck.

Description of Work
I wanted my flat roof converted to a deck

Category decks, remodeling

Cost $115,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was a pleasure working with you and hope work with you again in the future.

5.0

10/23/2019


Mary Ann T.

Very pleased with the interactions with Luke and his generosity with his time and expert suggestions. I wish I could have hired him to work on our project. However, we met him during the middle of discussions with other gc’s. And it would have been more complicated to withdraw from these. If I were to do another project again, he would definitely be one to call and meet with! I appreciate everything that he had done and helped us with!

Description of Work
Luke was very kind and very responsive and professional when he came to talk to us. He spent quite a bit of time explaining to us what to expect from the company including time frame, cost and even mad some suggestions about how to deal with the contractor whom we had previously hired prior to us meeting him. He made great recommendations!

Category decks, remodeling, home remodeling, patios

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback. We wish you the best with your project and are happy to help you with any future projects.

5.0

05/29/2019


Sarah P.

Woolsey was contracted to build a small addition to our single story home in Chula Vista. We needed to re-roof anyway so we decided this was the right time to add a master bathroom. Staff at Woolsey were very professional and easy to communicate with. We were fortunate to be able to connect with project manager, Seth, on an as needed basis via phone call or text message Questions were always addressed promptly and with attention to detail. Leah and the office staff took time to answer billing and contract questions. Work was completed June-October of 2018. The only minor complaint would be that very little work was completed in August 2018 due to a staff shortage. We wish there had been more communication about that delay. However, we are very happy with the completed project. Minor adjustments were needed to a few things after the project was complete and Woolsey was prompt to respond and fix those issues.

Description of Work
Home addition

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you [Member Name Removed]! We are so glad you are pleased with the final product. We apologize for the delay in August. During this busy season we have been working on hiring the right people who fit into the culture we envision here at Woolsey Construction. We look forward to working with you again in the future!

5.0

11/01/2018


Matt K.

It went very well. The project was done in 9 months and it was fantastic. We had a great experience with them. If given opportunity I would use them again.

Description of Work
They built a second home on a property. They are also doing the patio and putting custom railing system.

Category remodeling, home builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

5.0

09/28/2018


Dawn O.

The end result is amazing! The process went smoothly, the crew that we worked with was well qualified, conscientious, and worked collaboratively with us. In addition, they were all great guys and we enjoyed working with them. We felt very confident that all of the structural issues were handled appropriately. If an issue came up, alternatives were discussed and agreed upon before moving forward. We would absolutely use Woolsey Construction again and highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Remodeling kitchen and opening up structural walls to link kitchen to dining room and family room.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

5.0

05/16/2018


Ken H.

This is our second experience with Woolsey Construction. The first was with our commercial property, which was a great experience from start to finish. We were so pleased with the quality of work and the responsiveness of the team that we hired them to work on our own home. Once again, they did not disappoint. They re-finished our hardwood floors that run throughout our entire home, painted some interior bedrooms and hallways, as well as painted all of the baseboard and interior doors. They were respectful of our belongings and left the jobsite spotless. We were very pleased with how everything came out and have never seen our floors look so good. We highly recommend Woolsey Construction for all types of projects, from large commercial renovations to home remodels.

Description of Work
Wood Flooring, Painting

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2018

5.0

02/26/2018


B L.

Highly recommend Woolsey Construction! After a few personal recommendations we called WC to repair our slab leak. This was our first time hiring a contractor and so glad that we called WC. Luke took the time to help us assess the situation and walked us through our options and the eventual process. The bid was reasonable and we had piece of mind that we were in good hands and working with a good team. The project was completed within the expected timeframe and budget. The work was completed as expected and the workers were respectful, organized and clean. Thank you again very much!

Description of Work
Slab repair

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2018

1.0

07/01/2017


FORREST G.

I made an appointment with Luke and he DIDN'T show up and DIDN'T call. This company should be taken off Angie's List for lack of customer service!

Description of Work
Can lighting in the kitchen and bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 06/29/2017

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry that we missed the appointment with this member. We tried contacting her and left a message apologizing and offered to reschedule.

5.0

06/08/2017


David B.

Woolsey Construction (Luke, brother Seth, and team including Israel & Alan), are the best contractors I've worked with in San Diego, on any project. And this one was big and complicated. They stayed exactly true to their bid (slightly under, in fact), they worked on their predicted timeline, their work was very high quality, and they were uniformly INTELLIGENT and knowledgeable. I collected three different bids and consulted with an engineer and another experienced contractor, and Woolsey was the only contractor whose diagnosis, plan for repair, aesthetic sensitivities, and price estimates seemed reasonable. A special shout out to Israel and Alan, who spent several weeks in our home. They were extremely friendly with our kid, always left the job site clean, and were just generally the kinds of people you want hanging around your house for 3-4 weeks. I've already recommended them to other people, and would do so again.

Description of Work
We had a leak and needed to remove a 4 tonne concrete deck, roofing material, 8 joists, drywall, etc., They did the demo, replaced joists, fixed some electrical issues, subcontracted a team to install roofing material and concrete deck on top of that, as well as new drywall. A big job.

Category concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, stamped concrete, patios

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. Me and my team really enjoyed working with you on your project. It is so helpful to have a client that is responsive and engaged in the process.

5.0

06/07/2017


Roberto J.

Work was performed in a timely and professional manner. I was always kept informed of the progress and plans and communication was very open and frequent. They were always very responsive.

Description of Work
Woolsey built a deck expansion in the back of my home

Category decks, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working with you.

5.0

05/15/2017


Jennifer B.

A small project but good co-ordination was essential because bathroom sinks and toilets had to be removed, work on the floors completed, and fixtures reinstalled. Everything went perfectly and we were able use at least one bathroom and the kitchen throughout the remodeling. Luke arrived promptly and listened to what we wanted! Because he understood exactly what we needed and wanted, the entire project was carried out perfectly, on time, and slightly under budget. All of the workmen were on time, courteous, careful about our cats, bringing-in mud on their feet, and containing the dust. The workmanship was excellent. After 6 months there are no leaks, no loose corners, cracked grouting, or other problems that now must be repaired. I am a restoration architect and have run crews of restoration masons for 20 years and I was completely satisfied and impressed with the professional attitude and workmanship involved in this project. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Replace sub-floorings and floors in 2 bathrooms and kitchen Install a door into closet space

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2017

Service Provider Response

We are so glad you are pleased with the outcome of your project. Thank you.

5.0

04/17/2017


Jerry F.

they were very professional and prompt would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
leaking skylights

Category remodeling, roofing

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you.

5.0

01/29/2017


Niki V.

Luke was very professional and courteous. The job went smoothly and everything was installed and completed as discussed and promised. I appreciated that I was always kept informed of the schedule, due to few rain delays. Looking forward to working with Woolsey Construction on future projects.

Description of Work
Repair to exterior stairs and landing.

Category decks, drywall, remodeling, woodworking, stucco, house painters

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working with you and we hope to work with you again in the future. Woolsey Construction

5.0

10/29/2016


Ken H.

Woolsey Construction finished our project on time and on budget. Their team was professional, sensitive to our work environment, and completed the job with excellent attention to detail. We would absolutely use them in the future and look forward to working with them again. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Woolsey Construction was responsible for various build outs of our commercial property including remodeling and adding square footage.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2016

5.0

10/25/2016


GROFF B.

It went great! The work was done on time (once we finally got the permits from the city of La Mesa.). Luke kept us informed throughout the process and was very responsive. Months after the work was complete we discovered some items that needed completion and some that needed touchups. Luke came out promptly and took care of those at no extra charge. We would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Knocked out a wall to combine two bedrooms into one. Created new closets and new doors. Installed flooring. Installed new electrical outlets and new ceiling lamp locations. Painted interiors. Installed new windows. Repaired some plumbing.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plastering, remodeling, garage builders, interior painters, doors

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2016

1.0

04/29/2016


Lauren P.

I contacted Woolsey Construction to add a deck to our home. I talked to someone over the phone about completing the project and he said that they could do it but that they would need someone else to make the plans. He said that he would email me the contact info of someone who could do that for us. I never heard back and ended up talking to a friend that could do the plans for us. I then tried contacting Woolsey Construction again and never heard back from them.

Description of Work
We wanted to add an attached deck and redo our bathroom and kitchen.

Category decks, home remodeling

Cost $50,000

Work Completed On 04/17/2016

5.0

04/08/2016


Thomas R.

We chose another contractor, but we felt confident about Woolsey Construction.

Description of Work
The bid contemplated removing the old flagstone around the pool, digging out an old hot tub, reconfigure three walls, build a fire pit and outside BBQ hookup, AND renovate a small bathroom off the pool area.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, fireplaces, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, hardscaping, stamped concrete, patios

Cost $45,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2015

5.0

11/24/2015


Lauren S.

The process of getting a quote and talking to Luke was great.

Description of Work
Luke Woolsey came to assess my condominium, which had recently undergone a disastrous renovation by a different contractor. I needed to hire someone to fix the many problems created by the previous contractor, and Luke was very professional, knowledgeable, and nice. He spent a lot of time talking to me and my husband about the problems and potential solutions, and he was very honest about what could and could not be salvaged and/or fixed. He gave us a quote but ultimately declined the job, explaining that he would not be able to warranty the work since he would be working off of someone else's errors, which I completely understood (in fact, several other reputable contractors also declined the job for this reason). I really appreciated his honesty and that he still took the time to talk me through the things that needed attention. I really wish I had hired Woolsey Construction from the beginning.

Category remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2015

5.0

07/20/2015


Jesse H.

Woolsey Construction provided excellent service, superior quality and a great working environment. There are a myriad of things that set Woolsey Construction head and shoulders above the crowded field but I'll focus my praise on just a few of the highlights for myself. If you have ever been through a remodel process, especially a kitchen remodel, you know that the inherent nature of this process can be painful and messy. After the project begins and demolition is done, living in a house without a kitchen means eating on paper plates and eating out at restaurants a lot. Many people don't factor these inconveniences in when they consider a kitchen remodel project. Woolsey Construction guided me through the process being up front with the time it would take and what to expect during the journey. Focused on minimizing the painful parts, Woolsey Construction moved through the project with consistency and care which provided a feeling of a partnership rather than a client-vendor relationship. There was no detail left undone and in a project like a kitchen remodel, it is the details that are vital. The finished product was everything my wife and I had hoped for and we couldn't be happier. We would recommend Woolsey Construction to friends and family alike. Thanks Luke for all your hard work!!

Description of Work
Room addition and kitchen remodel

Category remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2015

5.0

06/07/2015


Will M.

Remodel Master Bedroom and Bath.

Description of Work
Remodel Master Bedroom and Bath.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2015

Images

Review for WOOLSEY CONSTRUCTION - 1934 JOHN TOWERS AVE, El Cajon, CA - 30004107

+3 More

5.0

05/26/2015


Kathleen B.

Luke and his crew were great from the start. This was our first home renovation so we didn't know what to expect, but he made things as easy for us as possible. Luke was timely in giving us an estimate and communication was always quick. We were promptly given timelines via email, and when needed, he would meet with us at the house and go over things. They started promptly at 8 am every morning and were always very courteous about noise and making sure they knocked before entering any room. They cleaned up every night and were kind enough to let our dog out on occasion! The project took a week longer than expected due to some bad weather, but Luke was able to fit us in very last minute so we were appreciative of being able to start as early as we did. Our projects turned out better than we had hoped and the work looks amazing. The hardwood looks great and was done as quickly as possible since we were still living in the house. If there was something we wanted added last minute he was always able to do it. He did his best to keep our costs down while still providing quality materials. We can't say enough about how happy we are with the finished product. We will definitely be using him again to do our kitchen!

Description of Work
Removed supporting wall between kitchen and living room, installed hidden beam, refinished hardwood floors in living room and long hallway, installed matching hardwood in kitchen, installed large master closet and constructed shelving and one new wall, installed carpet in master closet and installed new door, replaced baseboards throughout house, removed old master closet wall, installed matching laminate in master bedroom, installed new lightswitches and outlets, removed ceiling fan, replaced kitchen counter baseboards.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, garage builders, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, doors

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2015