Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Swords Construction

Founded 1970 • With Angi since September 2010

Swords Construction is a small family-owned & operated business which has served Northern California for more than 30 years. On occasion and depending on project, we employee subcontractors chosen by specialty and past track record of quality, price and performance. Please phone for any pricing or to request a bid proposal. Our pricing is amoungst the most competitive you will find in your area. Thank you! Michael D. Swords, Contractor License #347893

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

3.9

(11) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews
Norma T.
5.0
07/25/2020
The work was completed timely. Mike followed his estimate to the letter. The mfg home company asked me for his name and they hired him also. We were very happy with completed work and no issues with any of his work or workers. Now a year later every thing is still perfect.
Description of Work
Manufactured home installed and concrete slab and Block foundation. Decking and stairs too.
Category
concrete repair, decks, excavators, masonry, plumbing, home builders, drain pipe, architect, doors, mudjacking, stamped concrete
Bob A.
1.0
09/02/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Michael Swords of swords construction was hired to remodel my home. The work included plumbing, electrical, drywall. All work was done wrong, illegal, not to code. Everything he did had to be removed and redone. He's a "hack". Currently I am taking legal action to re cope costs.
Category
drywall
Theresa F.
5.0
05/14/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Great job
Category
drywall
Jennifer M.
4.0
03/15/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
drywall
Gary W.
5.0
02/01/2016
Looks great. Everything went as planned. Michael is a great contractor. His work is superb. However contractors work with a range of skilled people and some of his employees are better than others. When we pointed out any issues he was always willing to bring the work up to our expectations.
Description of Work
Installed Roof gutters
Category
drywall, gutter repair, roofing
Jennifer M.
3.0
04/29/2015
.
Description of Work
Remodeling motor home. Add deck which I have yet too see. Re-do mud room. Seems that he subs out most work.
Category
decks, remodeling
Mary C.
1.0
11/13/2014
First appointment "the guy" did not show up and no phone call. I called the business line and left msg over the weekend. Boss called me back and said "the guy" did not have the correct phone number so could not call me to tell me he would not be able to make it. Apologized for that. Made a second appt. "The guy" came, discussed details, said he would send me a quote for the job in the next couple days. Weeks went by. No response. No quote received I called the owner again and chewed him out over my frustration. He was very sorry, did not know what had happened. "The guy" called a few days later and apologized. He had gotten sick and completely forgot!!!! I said I accepted the apology and would he please go ahead with the quote and send it to me ASAP. NEVER received the quote or any further follow up of any kind from SWORD CONSTRUCTION. How disappointing. Would not recommend this company. Repeatedly they did not follow up on the status of my job. All actions prompted by my phone calls. Guess they really don't need the work.
Description of Work
NOTHING!!!! FAILED TO COMMUNICATE OR FOLLOW THROUGH WITH ANYTHING.
Category
drywall
Jonathan H.
5.0
10/01/2013
We have been very impressed with Michael Swords and his fine crew. They are all very professional, kind, friendly, polite, punctual - all were always there when they said they would be - , always called if he or his crew were running at all late' - crew members were always there when promised. Asked for payment only when the job was finished, so we paid in increments. We always felt we could trust both he and all his fine crew and subcontractors - all extremely hard workers. Excellent work, craftsmanship. Spent extra time getting special permits we needed. He is almost finished with transforming our 'fixer' into a beautiful and comfortable home. We have been extremely pleased with his work on both our Shingletown house and Shasta Lake house (extensive exterior and interior work on SL house). We originally found him on Angie's list llast March. What a blessing to find people you can trust!!! Thank you Troy, David, Joe and Michael for your honesty, integrity, talent and hard work. You guys are something else! A+++++ Bonnie and Jonathan
Description of Work
Michael prepped and painted the exterior/interior of our house in Shingletown, fixed a very old ceiling and made it look fantastic, plus put up some new siding, doors and gutters. The lst buyer that saw the home made an offer. We moved to a 'fixer' foreclosure in Shasta Lake, and of course asked Michael and his crew for help. They have been doing all kinds of work - you name it - plumbing, concrete, painting, new flooring, put in new closets, built a deck, new landings, about to start on a garage - too many things to mention here. Excellent sub-contractors.
Category
contractors, closet systems, concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, excavators, garage doors, gutter repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, garage builders, ceiling fans, house painters, interior painters, doors, drain cleaning, mudjacking, mobile home remodeling
Jonathan H.
5.0
06/11/2013
This is a wonderful company. Michael, the boss, was very friendly and helpful, as were workers David and Troy. They did a lot of good and necessary prep work. They started very promptly, and were friendly, helpful and professional - always on time, willing to stay late to finish. Very responsive to our requests. Excellent. We will use them again. Got the work done in a very timely fashion with no delays. Cost was very reasonable for all the work they did.
Description of Work
Exterior painting - entire house and garage; installed new seamless gutters; built new doors for garage-shop; replaced dry-rotted siding; texturized interior ceilings
Category
drywall
Linda I.
1.0
08/07/2012
He was awful. I would never hire him to clean dog poop. He was terrible at everything he did. It was a disaster. The work involved construction and plumbing that he totally messed up. Pretty much everything he did was messed up. It was a remodel and addition of a master bathroom and porch. The drywall he put up had to come down and be redone by some one else. I would tell people not to use them.
Description of Work
I hired Swords Construction to do a couple small additions to my house.
Category
drywall, plumbing, remodeling
Mike S.
5.0
09/26/2010
Since the home is very old, and the existing paint was 20 plus dingy and peeled, my wife and I did not expect the final result to be as beautiful as it was and stills remains over a year later. Swords did superb on the trim and paint in a short time of less than a week for 2 men to complete. We were astonished how nice the home was when complete. Being home the entire time the paint and windows were done, we know there were no "cut corners" in completing the job. Much attention was spent to detail. Mr Swords and his partner were courteous, professional, worked extremely clean (made no mess so to speak) and did not upset my property or neighbors in any way. The job was done excellent. Mr Swords has also replaced our old windows with beautiful new (high efficiency) storm windows. They are perfect and have save us money with our heating and cooling costs. Done perfectly! In the past year since meeting Swords Construction, my wife Julie and I have had them do several other construction and projects (remodel and emergencies) for this house and our other investment home. Swords Construction seems to be the whole package for our paint, remodel, construction, repair and maintenance needs. We are so happy to have found him and while we always bid our projects, Swords consistently beats out any other contractor for price and quality. We don't hesitate to call Swords when we need something bid or done on an emergency basis. We tell all our friends to give them a try!
Description of Work
Complete exterior paint job of 1700 sq ft, two story home and two separate detached 2 story dwellings (workshop and garage). Included all prep work, paint and trim, recaulk etc... Also included new replacement windows (4) for kitchen, living room and bedrooms. Materials were sold at cost which Swords had bid based on the choices we gave.
Category
drywall, replacement windows, house painters

Other local Pros in your area

ColorTek Painting

ColorTek Painting Company is a family owned high quality business that has been built on honesty and integrity serving our community and Southern Oregon for the past 30 years. Some of our services include listening to our customers and providing them with the right product choices to fit their individual needs, assisting with color choice and color placement if needed.  

Angi Certified

Vet On The Move

We are an Army Veteran owned and operated moving service with 10 years of quality service to the community. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves in providing quality work and have a destinct 'attention to detail', attitude while delivering great customer service! We possess the knowledge to transport everything you have worked for and cherish in handling and loading all your items with care. Insuring that everything that we loaded arrives without incident by wrapping each piece in moving pads and shrink wrap prior to loading. In turn, creating damage-proof travel for whatever furniture items you may have from small pieces to large, heavy and expensive ones. Our employees are uniformed, friendly, clean and open to your suggestions. We are prompt, skilled in the trade, efficient and provide all tools and equipment necessary for a selection of tasks. Whether it be aiding in packing, disassembly of furniture, moving of large items such as gun safes and pianos, or a simple unloading of household goods, we've got you covered. We offer free local loading estimates, packing services, load and unload, worry-free transport, gun safe and piano moving, house cleaning for move outs and most of all peace of mind. It is understandable that the moving process is hectic enough with equipment rentals, scheduling, storage needs, realtors, maids and cost. We are here to alleviate the stress of safely taking your family to new locations with everything you own, intact. We look forward to aiding you with your move, so please check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

Angi Certified

You Call We Haul

You Call We Haul is a full service junk removal and local hauling company. We offer junk removal, hauling and delivery services for your home or business. Including offices, retail locations, construction sites, real estate foreclosures, property clean-up, and more. We handle the tough stuff for you - and we ensure that your junk gets recycled, donated, or disposed of responsibly, or that your item was delivered safe and secure. Do you have old furniture, appliances, electronics, tires, construction debris, or yard waste you need to make disappear? Did you just purchase a new washer and dryer, sectional sofa, or some other large item that wont fit in your car, with no way to get it home? You Call We Haul can take away or deliver almost any material we can fit in our trucks, without you ever breaking a sweat. We will pick up your junk or deliver your treasure to or from wherever it's located, and we won't leave a dent or a bit of dirt behind. Real Estate Foreclosure Trash removal Junk Removal Trash cleanup Property cleaning Hauling Appliance and furniture delivery Junk vehicle removal Furniture and appliance delivery Moving Soil delivery  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

PO Box 162

Dunsmuir, CA 96025

Other Information

Services Offered

Drywall,
General Remodeling,
Plumbing, Decks and Porches, Concrete Leveling, Doors, Exterior Painting

Services Not Offered

Please call for any services not mentioned.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Swords Construction is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

Swords Construction is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Swords Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, Swords Construction does not offer free project estimates.

No, Swords Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Swords Construction offers emergency services.

Yes, Swords Construction offers warranties.

Swords Construction offers the following services: All Facets of Construction, Remodeling, Repair and Maintenance including but not limited to the following: Custom Designed & Built Homes, Custom Remodeling,Remodels,Repairs,Foundations, Windows & Doors, Cabinets Bathrooms Kitchens Insulation Wallpaper Electrical Plumbing Tile Flooring Decks Masonry Concrete Painting Roofing Fire damage Insurance claims House inspection Project & Site Development Plot plans Utilities Septics Wells Landscaping Driveways Sidewalks Gar

Please call for any services not mentioned.