Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Rat Control

Founded 2000 • With Angi since September 2005

4.1

(17) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 5383

Culver City, CA 90231

Description

American Rat Control is a family owned & operated pest control company. From the South Bay to Santa Barbara to the Inland Empire, the American Rat Control team is equipped and ready to help. We are only a phone call away and ready to answer your questions, or schedule a free

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Andrea P.
1.0
12/05/2018
This used to be such a good company. We recently moved from West Hollywood, where we used ARC several times, to the hills between Glendale and Montrose, where we noticed a rat problem a couple of months after moving in. The owner came out and described our problem and we negotiated a solution for rat-proofing, before the critters got inside our house. He said they'd be in touch to seal the place off and set bait stations. I waited, and waited, and waited... I called, and called, and called. We were told there had been a death in the family and of course we understood, but we were promised that someone would be coming out soon. By now five weeks had passed... and then, I heard scratching inside our house, in the walls. And my wife noticed something had been eating from our dog bowl. Clear signs of a rat. I called for the fifth time, begging them to send someone out. The nice clerk, Brionna, apologized and promised someone would come out on Friday or Saturday, and she would call me to let me know. They would come for no additional charge beyond the original $425 for rat-proofing. I waited some more. No call, no visit. And no answer Friday night and Saturday when I called. No one called on Monday either. Finally I called on Tuesday and asked for Brionna. "She's no longer working here," I was told. "Finally I lost it - what is wrong with you guys? This is the SIXTH time I called, and meantime, you've dragged your feet so long, we now have rats in the house!" Now came the response: "Hold, please." The receptionist (poor woman, having to deal with an angry client) calls the owner. After 10 minutes ("your call is important to us!") she comes back. The owner said "we can come out there tomorrow" - and charge me an extra $325 - for a problem they could have prevented if they had come four, three, two, even one week ago. No thanks. I'm going elsewhere. And I suggest you do too.
Description of Work
Rat control
Category
pest control
Max M.
5.0
11/10/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Secured house and got rid of rats
Category
pest control, animal removal
Townson T.
5.0
06/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Rat caught in glue trap, not dead yet but dying. Could not reach trap. They came and disposed of it promptly.
Category
pest control
William G.
5.0
02/19/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Very professional. Explained everything clearly. Rat infestation gone.
Category
pest control
Nadine P.
5.0
02/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Blocked 8 or 9 access points from a large area raccoons has been accessing for years to new doors to crawl space under house and epoxy glue like substance on screen vents that small critters might want to access.
Category
pest control
Lisa B.
4.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They closed all openings from the exterior to eliminate the possibilities of unwanted rodents living under our house. They trapped a few that were trying to make a home and came back one week later to dispose of the caught rodents. We were suppose to receive the service for one year in which they would come back monthly to check under the house. I was suppose to call them to set it up, but did not see the need as all signs of rodents were gone. They did not follow up with me, but nor did I follow up with them. It was on the pricey side, but worth every penny to know I had a piece of mind that there were no vacancies under our home. I would recommend them, but be clear with what you want/expect.
Category
pest control, animal removal
deborah L.
5.0
12/28/2013
they were great. we had tried many different companies and still had rodents. they came in (eric is great ) and found the main source of entrance. ( an unblocked pipe from the sewer) they patched dozens of tiny holes they would squeak through. they continued to check until all were gone and now they service our exterior. the owner even came to service us.
Description of Work
found and patched every entrance they were sneaking into. the check the exterior traps monthly since we haven"t seen a rodent since they started.
Category
pest control
Brian P.
5.0
05/22/2013
This company now goes by American Rat Control. An estimator came out the day after my first call. Carl was very professional and thorough. He searched the entire house for access points, from top to bottom. After the inspection he gave me an estimate and pointed out the 18 points of access he found. Given that we were having serious rat issues and we were at our wits end, we decided that the $1300 was worth the money. They sent out a service man within a couple of days and he spent about 6-7 hours filling and patching all of the points of access. He set traps in attic and crawl space. He set bait traps in the back yard and the company will check and rebait once a month.
Description of Work
Sealed up all points of access from pests. Set traps in attic and crawl space. Set bait traps in back yard.
Category
pest control
Glenda S.
5.0
10/30/2012
I was very pleased with my experience with them.
Description of Work
We had rats. They put up boxes so the rats can't get inside my home. They came for monthly visits after the initial visit and made sure the problem was taken care of.
Category
pest control
John A.
5.0
02/28/2012
A previous exterminator failed to keep the rat population in my house (attic, walls and underneath) under control. Rat Busters exclusion service plus monthly bait station maintenance has done the trick so far. We're on a yearly contract: $50/month for twelve months. I'm in month eight or so. Initial work was approximately $800 (to patch previous exterminator's work and seal openings missed by previous exterminator). The technician who visits monthly is friendly and knowledgable and sprays for insects/spiders at no additional charge. (Though we don't have insect issues, it's just the rats!) Very pleased with everything at this point.
Description of Work
Initial exclusion service including patching previous exterminator's work and sealing openings missed by previous exterminator. Monthly bait station maintenance.
Category
pest control
bridget H.
1.0
06/28/2011
The work they did was good, but their billing is what is making me frustrated. They try to continue the service and come out every month, which isn't necessary nor have I agreed to it. They continue to bill me every month. They never return my calls. I try to get a hold of the owner by voice mails and messages through his secretary, and no response. Its been on going since the first of the year. Its very upsetting.
Description of Work
They came to my house and made it so rats would not be a problem here.
Category
pest control

Service Provider Response

This customer signed up for our monthly service, she agreed to the service, she signed a service agreement and then let us perform 3 months of service, when our office called her to let her know she was past due, she said she never signed up for the monthly maintenance and refused to pay.... We installed bait stations on her property and she refuses to let us on the property to remove the stations, which are Rat Busters property.
Douglas F.
5.0
04/26/2011
I like what they use and how they go about the operation. We live in the hills and the rat problem can be pretty severe. We have a monthly service with them now and we pay them monthly. They just show up and knock on the door. If I'm not sure here they would leave a note saying that they were here. They are very dependable. They are really understanding and easy to work with. They are excellent.
Description of Work
We used Rat Busters for pest control. They checked the baits to see how much rodent activity we had. They sealed up our house to keep the rats from getting in to our crawlspace and walls and removed a lot of dead rats. They cleared it out and maintained the perimeter of the property with baits.
Category
pest control
Dina H.
2.0
05/28/2009
That was fine. What was not so great was their responsiveness after that. They said they would be back that next Monday at 8:30 am. No one showed up and then around 3:30 somone cam and we were not home. This continued for another couple of weeks. We called the office and left a message for Louis, the owner, to call us back and he never did. If you want to seal your house for rats, they are fine. But do not expect them to follow up when they say they are going to. Definitely do not get the monthly contract. Nice guy, but non responsive and the office personell are unprofessional. Good luck.
Description of Work
Rat Busters came out to the house in early May. They did perform they did perform the initial sealing of the house to prevent rats from entering.
Category
pest control

Service Provider Response

We would make appointments with this customer, she never kept her appointments. We would call to do the monthly service a day B/4 to let her know we are coming out the next day, she would forget to leave the gate unlocked....
MARTHA J.
1.0
07/04/2007
I feel sick just thinking about it. Mr. Rico took my money and then proceeded to drop out of sight, completely and totally. He would not answer phone calls or letters. He left the job in the hands of an ever-changing series of "technicians" ( a joke) who confided in us how little they were paid, and how they needed to spend as little time as possible on any one job. They came to the house several times without any rat traps! (Hard to believe, but true) and said, I swear, rat traps are expensive! (Scout's honor). We purchased our own traps on more than 1 occasion. They didn't even know the difference between rat traps and mouse traps! Also, if you have rats, watch out for rat mites. Other companies will know this.
Description of Work
Company was hired to eliminate rat problem. All you need to know is that over the course of months (yes, months), they made the problem much, much worse, and demonstrated a shocking level of incompetence and hostility. We finally got several "second opinions" and other exterminators couldn't believe what they saw when they looked at what Ratbusters had done and not done. We did some research (better late than never?) and finally hired someone who fixed the problem in a courteous and professional manner, within 2 weeks. Do yourself a huge favor and hire another company.
Category
pest control
MARC P.
5.0
10/11/2006
Louis spent time educating us on rats/mice. He laid out all options and gave us price quotes. He even suggested how we could do it ourselves (which is what we did). Very nice and helpful. Did not try to sell us services we didn't need or make the situation sound worse than it was. I would instantly call him again if I had a pest control problem. Even showed up early.
Description of Work
Had a problem with mice/rats and called them out. Louis came to inspect house and determined that our house was well sealed and only needed traps. Since we wanted to use humane traps he said we could just buy them ourselves. We did that and successfully caught the varmints.
Category
pest control
4.0
09/21/2005
THEY'RE PRETTY GOOD AT GETTING RID OF THE RATS, BUT THE SPIDERS ARE STILL HERE. THEY SHOW UP EVERY MONTH ON TIME. THEY TEND TO HAVE NEW PEOPLE SHOWING UP EACH TIME. THEY HAVE A HIGH TURNOVER WITH THEIR EMPLOYEES. I USUALLY NEVER SEE THEM. THEY JUST LEAVE A LITTLE NOTE ON THE DOOR SAYING THEY WERE HERE.
Description of Work
THEY CHECK AND BAIT RAT TRAPS AND SPRAY FOR SPIDERS.
Category
pest control

Service Provider Response

THIS IS TRUE WE DO HAVE A TURN OVER OF EMPLOYEES, WE ONLY WANT THE BEST SERVICE TECHNICIANS, WE DON'T TOLERATE POOR SERVICE, WE STRIVE FOR EXCELENT SERVICE.
5.0
09/21/2005
THEY'RE EXCELLENT. I HAVEN'T SEEN ANY RATS SINCE. THEY PROMISED TO DO WHAT THEY WOULD DO, AND THEY DELIVERED. THEY GOT RID OF THE RATS. IT WAS DONE PROFESSIONALLY AND PUNCTUALLY.
Description of Work
THEY PUT RAT TRAPS OUTSIDE FOR THE OUTDOORS AND FOR THE ONES THAT WERE COMING IN. THEY CLOSED ALL THE ENTRANCES THAT THEY WERE COMING IN FROM THE WALLS. THEY COME AND CHECK YOUR TRAPS ONCE A MONTH LIKE UPKEEP.
Category
pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dr Termites

    Dr Termites is a locally owned family business. We are a licensed pest control company and specialize in Termite Pest Control. We are THE Termite Experts. We do not charge for inspections and provide free estimates. Same day appointments are often available. All our work comes with a full warranty.  

    Angi Certified

    Kilter Termite And Pest Control

    Kilter Termite & Pest Control has been providing Free Termite Inspections and the top rated Stay in Your Home Termite Treatments for over 25 Years! Our service history, customer care and pricing is unmatched in Southern CA. Our free termite and rodent inspections are performed by CA licensed inspectors and all termite treatments, rodent proofing, rodent exclusion, wood repair and replacement, insulation services and pest control are ALWAYS done by Kilter trained and employed staff. We take pride in our work which is why we have a full 2 Year Warranty on all our products and services. We make solving your pest problems fast and easy, let Kilter provide you with a Free Termite or Rodent Inspection today.  

    Angi Certified

    Eary Termite & Pest Service

    With over 25 years of experience we specialize in all of your pest control and animal removal needs, except for snakes and rabbits. All of our Technicians are professionally trained and State Licensed offering Bi-Monthly and Quarterly Services. All of our work is warranted and we offer same day emergency service by request. You will receive excellent customer service with skilled employees.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Rodent control, rat proofing, pest control, attic cleaning, live animal trapping & dead animal removal.

    Services Not Offered

    Termite inspections.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Rat Control

    How is American Rat Control overall rated?

    American Rat Control is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Rat Control open?

    American Rat Control is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does American Rat Control provide

    American Rat Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does American Rat Control offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Rat Control offers free project estimates.

    Does American Rat Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, American Rat Control offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Rat Control offer a senior discount?

    No, American Rat Control does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Rat Control?

    Yes, American Rat Control offers warranties.

    What services does American Rat Control offer?

    American Rat Control offers the following services: Rodent control, rat proofing, pest control, attic cleaning, live animal trapping & dead animal removal.

    Are there any services American Rat Control does not offer?

    Termite inspections.