Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2010

For more than 40 years, I've helped transform hundreds of Bay Area residential and commercial properties. Starting as an apprentice in the early 70's, I quickly realized what the pillars of a quality landscaping company should be in this highly competitive market: listen to the client, be reliable, and deliver personal, quality services at affordable pricing.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(43) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 43 reviews
Robley E.
5.0
08/19/2017
I would absolutely use this provider again.
Description of Work
They removed lines, reduced it and completely landscaped front and back with new shrubbery.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and your kind review. Jean
Scott D.
5.0
08/08/2017
Jean's quote was in the middle (close to the lowest), but Jean conveyed a higher level of experience and professionalism than the others contractors. We are very pleased with our choice. Jean's crew was able to start just a few days later, and completed the work in just a bit over a week. He has followed up with us multiple times to ensure the lawn has taken root, and to follow up on punchlist items. I'd recommend him and his crew to anyone looking to do a yard remodel.
Description of Work
Following the construction of a new pool and patio this spring, our yard was left an absolute wreck. We received multiple quotes for yard grading, mulching the perimeter, landscape lighting, sprinkler repair/replacement and new sod.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, outdoor lighting
Sheri J.
5.0
07/07/2017
They did an excellent job. His price was wonderful and I would use him again.
Description of Work
He came out and advised us on what we needed.
Category
drain pipe
kathie B.
5.0
10/17/2016
Beautiful work. Jean transformed my yard into one that is admired by my neighbors and family. I also want to mention his superior crew. They were wonderful to work with with special mention of Favio. They were very respectful, polite and always left the front of my house clean and tidy after a days work. They were always on time, even a little early and left around 3:30 each day. The work was completed ahead of time. I highly recommend Jean Fogg Landscaping and will hire him again for the back yard when I have saved enough pennies!
Description of Work
Complete demolition of front yard including concrete walkways, driveway and shrubs and lawn. Installation of paver walkway, 2-step staircase and driveway and the lawn areas with drought-tolerant plants. Retaining walls were installed using rock to build a dry stack wall, plus Low voltage lighting installed. New irrigation system with a Rain Bird Smart controller. I also had a Flagstone column mailbox installed.
Category
masonry, mulch, hardscaping, outdoor lighting
Denise M.
5.0
04/27/2016
Jean and his crew were very prompt, stayed an budget very helpful and pleasant people to work with!
Description of Work
Redo landscape and landscape in yard.
Category
landscaping
John R.
5.0
03/14/2016
We took bids from several contractors, while not the cheapest, Jean's proposal was the most detailed, with a transparent scope of work. Jean was extremely knowledgeable and great to work with overall. His crew were on-time and detail oriented. The job finished ahead of schedule, and Jean has been providing excellent after-install service (he's managing our new SMART controller for the first 30 days). Overall we're ecstatic with the outcome of our yard. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Removed two front lawns and irrigation, replaced with drought tolerant plants and new irrigation.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Frank C.
5.0
01/25/2016
Easy to do business with. Quick turn around service. Excellent field crew.
Description of Work
The service provider tore out the irrigation and put in a new one. Tore up plants. Built a rock wall and put in landscape lighting.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the kind words. Hope all is well and I looked forward to working with you again! Jean Fogg
Larry R.
5.0
08/11/2015
Jean made suggestions to improve the landscape design plan based on his years of experience which turned out to be "spot on". Checked back on the project regularly to make sure plants were healthy. Exceptional at follow-through and communication. Highly recommended!
Description of Work
Irrigation, planting and mulch for front and side yard. Sealing of pavers.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping
Paula S.
5.0
07/13/2015
I explained to Jean a general idea of what I wanted, and he provided numerous suggestions. He obviously had a vision of what my front yard could potentially look like and I agreed with most, if not all of his suggestions. My yard looks amazing! I love the plants, the paver walkway and the high tech, drought resistant irrigation system. No fuss on my part. I spent more than I had planned, but I have never admired my front yard so often, both day and evening. I've had numerous compliments from neighbors. Jean is personable and direct. He's a no BS kind of guy. I would highly recommend Jean Fogg Landscaping.
Description of Work
Front yard landscape. Planted drought resistant grass and plants. Installed pavers, lights, new irrigation system, river bed and low rock wall.
Category
electrician, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, hardscaping
Suzanne R.
5.0
07/12/2015
Jean was very professional, as were his staff. He provided an initial proposal and then updated it a year later once we had the money to do the project. The updated estimate increased and Jean was very forthcoming as to why (material and labor costs). He provided cost reducing suggestions that we accepted. He provided the first lawn and landscape maintenance for free and stopped by several times to confirm the irrigation was working correctly and landscape was progressing well. I hope to use Jean in the future if and when we tackle our back yard.
Description of Work
Jean removed existing turf, shrubs and a tree from our front yard and installed a new landscape design, including irrigation.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Marijane C.
5.0
03/10/2015
Went very well. He put his professional integrity and ethics before profit, which I greatly appreciated. He suggested we take care of critical work on our dry rot and foundation issues before we begin working on landscaping. He was very professional.
Description of Work
Gave an estimate.
Category
landscaping
Mark P.
5.0
03/07/2015
Our experience with Jean Fogg landscaping was nothing short of excellent. Jean worked with us to refine a plan for our entire front yard, work within our budget and the results of the project is exceptional. We were able to put in new irrigation that is magnitudes more water efficient than the old system. Jean worked with us to choose plants that made sense for the sun exposure, and gave us a good balance of color, size and variety. The communication throughout the projects was terrific, and there were no problems or surprises. The crew was very helpful, and made sure they cleaned up every day. After the project was completed (on-time), they came back periodically for a number of weeks to ensure there were no problems, and that the irrigation and lighting systems we tuned/adjusted to perfection. I highly recommend Jean Fogg (and team)!
Description of Work
Re-landscaped the entire front yard. New down-sized, re-graded lawn, new plants & irrigation and low voltage lighting.
Category
electrician, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank for your kind words, it means so much when we get this kind of feedback.
JOHN M.
5.0
02/19/2015
Very prompt, removed the old concrete, and relocated the sprinkler head away from the walkway. Efficient operation, cleaned-up daily. They did a lot of cutting of pavers to get the curved walkway to fit. Great job! I will have them back to replace an existing retaining wall in the backyard.
Description of Work
Installed a new paver walkway to the front steps from the sidewalk, removing the concrete pad in front of the steps
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, masonry, hardscaping
KATHERINE S.
5.0
11/13/2014
Jean and his crew are a pleasure to work with. Jean is extremely responsive and the work went smoothly. Favio, the foreman, is great. As the project progressed, there were things that we added and changed, but Jean and Favio took this in stride. They also had good suggestions and ideas. One selling point for us was that two months of weekly maintenance were included in the price. The subcontractors for hardscape and carpentry also did excellent work. This was a stress-free project and the end result is beautiful. The neighbors slow down as they drive past to take a look at the yard. We will also be using Jean Fogg Landscape to upgrade our backyard and for monthly maintenance.
Description of Work
Demolition of much of front yard landscaping, installation of new irrigation system and lighting, new moss rock walls and flagstone patio, trees, plants, bark, and more.
Category
decks, electrician, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping
Marsha D.
5.0
11/06/2014
We had a landscaping plan done on paper a few years ago. At our first meeting with Jean Fogg, we reviewed this plan as a basis for the redo of our front yard. He spent a lot of time with us discussing the work we were requesting, walking the site, and making suggestions on improvements to the plan. No other contractor that we contacted for bids did this. He was prompt in getting back to us with his all exclusive bid. While he was not the lowest bid, it was obvious we were getting more value from Jean's bid. The materials and plants were topnotch. Our expectation of better quality work and follow up after the job was done were fully met. The job went smooth and any minor problems were taken care of promptly and to our satisfaction. For a job of this size, it is expected that there will be some unexpected problems and maybe needed changes. To this end, Jean and his crew were great. They worked safely and they cleaned up the work area at the end of each workday. Jean made frequent visits to supervise their progress. Now 3 months after completion, our plants look great (we lost none of the plants planted by Jean and his crew). We installed a fairly sophisticated irrigation system with a weather station controller (recommended by Jean). Jean has returned numerous times to make sure the system is performing to spec. We highly recommend Jean Fogg Landscaping. We have received many compliments on our front yard. o
Description of Work
Jean Fogg completed re-landscaping of our front yard and side yard: new concrete walkway from porch to street, new rock retaining walls, new hi-tech irrigation system, new landscape lighting, new fence with gate, compacted crushed granite walkways, and replacement of almost all previous plants with new types. All work done with the goal of reducing water use. Jean's ideas and additions to our original plan were creative and professional. He completed the job to our expectations: on time, within budget, and with quality work.
Category
decks, electrician, fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, hardscaping, outdoor lighting
Sharat G.
5.0
10/29/2014
I would, without hesitation, recommend Jean Fogg Landscape. Before beginning the project we had met with several other highly-rated landscapers. Upon meeting with Jean though, we felt that he would not only complete the ambitious plans we provided, but would improve upon them. Indeed we knew Jean was the contractor for us when he suggested embedding a boulder in our seat wall - an idea that we would never have thought was possible within our budget. Beyond his design sense, Jean's attention to detail and quality resulted in a stunning backyard that we couldn't be happier with. His crew is professional and hardworking, and his foreman, Favio, was great to work with and patiently accommodated all of our specific design requests and a 1,500 lb. boulder. By far this was the best experience we have ever had with a contractor. We look forward to working with Jean Fogg in the future for our front yard project!
Description of Work
Removed existing concrete patio slabs and debris, installed new irrigation system, 2 new poured concrete retaining/seat walls with two large boulders, a paver walkway, a flagstone walkway, a DG patio with inlaid flagstone, custom redwood driveway gate, reduced size of existing deck, laid turf, and mulch.
Category
decks, electrician, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, mulch, hardscaping
Patricia Shaker M.
5.0
09/18/2014
Jean and his crew were great. From estimate through completed job. Very happy with our selection of contractors for this job.
Description of Work
Demolition of concrete patio, removal of existing landscaping, installation of pavers and updating irrigation system and new plantings.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for such a nice review. I will let the crew know and please contact me if you have any problems in the future.
Walter & Susan B.
5.0
09/17/2014
Excellent company! Jean Fogg is knowledgeable, timely, detail oriented, customer oriented--in fact he and his crews were so good, they are now our weekly maintenance company as well. I highly recommend them for whatever you need done.
Description of Work
They converted our entire yard to a drip system/low flow sprinklers.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thank you for such a nice review.
Catherine M.
5.0
08/26/2014
Out of 4 contractors contacted for estimates not only was Jean's price the most competitive, ALL of his references got back to say that they would highly recommend him. He was also the only contractor that noted that the current drainage from the roof was too close to the house (which it was) and made suggestions for rerouting it along with the patio drainage away from the house. He made some suggestions as to where to go and see Belgard pavers laid out in patterns and sealed for a better sense of color. Jean was incredibly responsive to any and all questions. He was available by phone and email and he left updates regularly as to what was done that day and what would be happening next. His team - Favio was the foreman - was great. They were on time, professional, knowledgeable and very patient even as ideas shifted mid project. The time line Jean had given for completion was spot on. The new patio looks great, my friends are very happy with it and they would absolutely recommend Jean's services. Contact me if you would like to connect with them directly - they are happy to be a referral for Jean.
Description of Work
Our good friends wanted a patio put in their backyard and used Jean Fogg and his landscaping services. This included digging out, laying pavers, running lines for future electrical and installing / redirecting drainage. They also added a stop gap to the irrigation system. They poured concrete around a loose fence post and repaired a back gate that wasn't hanging well or closing properly. All labor and materials were included in the price.
Category
electrician, fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank for for such a kind review! I will pass this along to my crew as they are the ones that did the work. Thank you again and please feel free to call or e mail me with any questions or concerns moving forward. Best Regards, Jean Fogg
lynda O.
5.0
06/07/2014
We were very pleased in the work that Jean and his crew performed. Jean gave us a competitive bid and was available for our time frame. Although our work seemed a lot to us, it was considered small to most contractors. For some it was too small and they were not interested. Jean spent time in going over all aspects of the job, answered questions and even spent time helping pick the pavers. His foreman has been with him for 16 years, I think that says a lot about the type of person and company that he manages. Jean was at the site every morning to check that things were going smoothly. After the job was finished, Jean had his crew do some extra things to really make the yard look nice. This was done without any charge to us, what a nice surprise. I would highly recommend Jean and his entire crew.
Description of Work
We had a paver patio installed and a retainig wall replaced.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Mike B.
5.0
06/03/2014
Overall Jen was a pleasure to work and collaborate with--- he was always on time (or ahead)--- and kept me involved in the project and decisions during all phases. I would highly recomend.
Description of Work
We had a rental house with a front yard, considered by many, to be the worst in the neighborhood. We asked Jean to turn it into the best & he delivered. Jean's crew thoroughly cleaned up the property, installed sophisticated irrigation and developed a nice planting plan--- even suggested some very nice boulder retaining walls which look excellent
Category
landscaping
Mary D.
3.0
05/05/2014
I feel a bit taken advantage of. I should have called him on the quality of the job when I saw it but was unsure about CA landscaping despite my years of experience in other parts of country and I had not had my coffee yet. I also wanted to see if what he said came to pass. Final outcome: it is a rushed job not done to expectations job despite him doing a good job on some aspects of the deal. I should have called him on it but the 4 months guarantee ended in the winter when the plants have not had a chance to grow or mature somewhat. It is 6 mos now and the results are not good. We went with the most expensive bid because the other people we contacted were not receptive to doing anything more than planting rosemary on a steep west facing hillside with about 1/3 shade, 1/3 full afternoon sun, and 1/3 dappled. We are experienced landscapers having done vast areas of tough dry areas with natives and have done done our own irrigation work in past on our old property. However, since we are new to this flora and to steep hillsides, and since we wanted it planted before the Winter rains and we were time crunched, we decided to hire out. I have waited 6 months to write a review to see how it all really turned out. I had researched plants and made a list of what I thought would work in the area. We also have deer so had to take that into account. I had to research plants because I am unfamiliar with CA natives and knew I needed deer resistant, drought resistant, natives. I also had to exclude some plants due to city banned list and wanted to encourage bees and butterflies. My research produced a list which I presented and discussed with Mr. Fogg. He seemed receptive. He also assured me that "Ceanothus Yankee Point" was deer resistant because it was blue despite my telling him that my research said it was practically the only ceanothus that is NOT deer resistant. I was also interested in carpet manzanita. He suggested a couple bunch grasses and also came up with liriope gigantea along edges in the shaded section. Liriope is often used commercially because it is cheap and fairly hardy. I agreed to some liriope along the bottom of the hill at the retaining wall in the dappled area. I thanked him for his suggestions, again told him of my reservations about Yankee Point but he insisted it was fine for deer. He calls and says that he has an opening in his busy schedule and asks if he can do the hillside while we are out of town. Should take 4 days. Fine, we say. We give him $3400 down. We return a week later at 9 PM after a lengthy travel day. He arrives the next morning at 0730 for balance. To me it is earlier because of my time zone change. We look at hillside with while drinking our first cup of coffee.. I see all the liriope covering the entire hiillside, some Yankee Point, two Julia Phelps and a couple bunch grasses. They did leave the work site exceptionally clean though. For some unknown reason that I am still kicking myself over, perhaps too early and no coffee yet, I nod and give him the balance of $3286. He is a friendly guy. I am looking at a hillside with red spray paint spots all over the jute netting that he used to help hold hill until plants take root. The red spots are for plant placement but they ended up not putting plants in those spots. I expected that paint will wear off with winter rains and be covered by plants but 6 months later still a polka dotted hillside but the paint spots are fading. He does reduce final payment because they did the job so fast that they could not get the porta potty delivered by the time job was done. Turns out the neighbors and dog sitter say that the job took 1 1/2 days total, not 4. Plants are sticking out of the hill - yes, you don't want to bury too deeply and rot the stem but they should not poke up THAT much. He assures me it is ok and best because that is how he always does it. The irrigation work is fine but was minimal to the job. Now: liriope in sun area is dying. Ceanothus is NOT deer resistant. Neither is the liriope. We put netting over the entire hillside but anything that comes up through bird netting is eaten immediately. We just removed the netting so that rosemary can have a chance at not being distorted since the rest of the plants are not going to make it through the summer except for the Julia Phelps. The rosemary is doing ok but languishing because much of it was not planted well enough into soil and soil has dropped away from it since it is on hillside. The grasses that he planted are barely coming back with only like 4 green shoots each (dormant in Winter but should be returned by now) probably also to being planted too shallow. We irrigated for many weeks twice a day and pulled back gradually. We've done TONS of landscaping with great success in much harsher conditions than these. I really think that he had time in his schedule to do the work and could only get the cheap liriope and went with it or that he does a lot of commercial and his supplier has tons of it cheap. Unfortunately the discussion about plants and placement was oral and the contract just had number of plants by size. I assumed that our long discussion about types of plants and location of iriope would be adhered to. I mentioned on that fateful morning of payment that liriope would probably not work there but, it is my fault for not insisting and for not having a specific list of plant type and number on my way out of town. He is a friendly enough guy but I do feel that I got jipped with plant selection and quality of planting. It is not but about 50% of what we talked about and the Yankee Pint thing is a sore point with me. Everything is alive but the liriope and grass are on their way out and the ceanothus is still the same size due to deer. The moral is: spell it out if doing it with Jean Fogg. 1 1/2 days of almost nothing but cheap liriope at $6600 is way too much. I will definitely be doing my own landscaping except for the large rocks in my dry river bed and my water feature. Jean Fogg will not be helping with that. Another service provider will be doing it and probably for a better price. Always remember with contractors that once the deal is made you have to be present or it is done quickly so that they can get on to the next job. And don't pay before you've had your coffee.
Description of Work
Planted a steep hillside and secured with jute; replaced a couple spray heads for that area
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Rich J.
5.0
03/14/2014
Jean Fogg and his team were the consummate professionals. They always started on time and quickly jumped in to take our yard down to the bare bones and efficiently built it out to create the beautiful yard we have today. Jean is extremely accomodating and flexible as we tested his patience in making constant adjustments throughout the process. The whole process took about 6-8 weeks or so, there was so much work to do and throw in a few wet/freezing days when they couldn't work. His team provided exceptional work in the following areas: - new irrigation (eco-friendly) - redwood fencing & deck - lighting - new plants - extended paver paths - flagstone path and patio In the end, we're extremely happy with the work they've done and would use/recommend them in a heartbeat. We also continue to use him for the ongoing upkeep of the landscaping.
Description of Work
We decided over the summer (2013) that we were going to dive in and completely revamp our front and back yards. After meeting with several landscapers, we decided to work with Jean and a designer he suggested. The design went smoothly and within a month or so, we had a landscape plan and a start date for Jean's team to begin work.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, patios
Scott H.
5.0
03/10/2014
tJean was very professional and upfront with us on all the cost estimates. When his original estimate came in for what I would call our 'dream' backyard they were a little high for us. Thankfully, Jean worked with us to cut out some of the costs of the project to get it within our budget. He was able to hold the actual costs very closely to the original estimates. We were attracted to Jean because of his ideas for our backyard and his willingness to listen and provide consulting do's and don'ts for our project. He suggested multiple good ideas and plans. We were finally able to settle on a landscape plan that relied on Redwood tree groves along with the 120ft paver pathway and new lawn. His crew was able to start the work based on the original timeframe Jean gave us when we contracted the work. They completed the work within a three week period as expected. His crew was very curteous and professional. They arrived on time everyday and were very respectful about noise and not bothering our neighbors. The crew did a wonderful job installing the paver pathway, which included many winding turns. They made sure that all the irrigation worked properly and removed all the debris at the end to make sure we were 100% satisfied with the work. They also accomodated our desire to be able to furher incorporate plans later on such as running conduit lines for future electrical and hot tub growth when were were ready to make those splurges. Hats off to Jean and his crew! We would most definately hire them again for our future landscaping projects.
Description of Work
Jean and Crew put in a paver pathway (approx. 120 ft) along redwood tree landscaping and new lawn in our backyard
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service, hardscaping
Theresa J.
5.0
02/14/2014
It went well. He took care of an emergency situation that's why we ended up hiring him. Their pricing is reasonable.
Description of Work
I used the services of Jean Fogg Landscape. He is coming once a week. They trim the trees, mow the lawn and other lawn services.
Category
lawn service

Other local Pros in your area

Exterior Designs

We are a family owned business. Customer service and satisfaction is our main goal! We are Certified ICPI installers! We provide you with the highest quality craftsmanship for the most reasonable rates.  

Angi Certified

Dynasty Pavers and Design Inc.

Dynasty Pavers and Design Inc is a paving company managed by owner John Paul. Both he and his team are concerned with developing the best exterior design for Driveways, Walkways, Backyards, Steps and Patios. Being ready to serve you and give life to all your paving desires. Our great goal is to build environments that make us proud of our work, in addition to offering a pleasant and incredible environment to make your outdoor area even more beautiful, lasting and suitable for moments of leisure. And, for that to happen, we are always attentive to the needs and desires of our customers, transforming their vision of the environment. We are a company based on professionalism, punctuality, honesty and quality, leaving no loose ends or badly resolved within the project. Not to mention our innovative design, which makes your outdoor space a true extension of your property, providing incredible outdoor experiences. All this with products of extreme quality, providing strength, durability and solidity to all locations. Including paving works with Belgard, Calstone, Brickyard, Siteone geotex, Basalite, Mcnear, Bay Area, Baselite. Trust your outdoor area to Dynasty Pavers and Design Inc and have incredible and sophisticated spaces to enjoy with your family and friends. Get in touch with us and let us perfect your vision of the perfect exterior. Shall we start planning your project?  

Angi Certified

Diamond Pavers

Welcome! We don't brag around about quality, because we let our quality talk for us. Call us for an FREE estimate. 1-888-610-1762 Or email: jargueta@diamondpavers.com Information we need from you is: Name and address: Best number and time to call: Project information:  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1118 A Landini Lane

Concord, CA 94520

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Pest control services, large tree trimming or removals, ponds, waterfalls, spas, pools, gas lines.

Payment options

Check
PayPal
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

Yes, JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC offers free project estimates.

No, JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC offers emergency services.

Yes, JEAN FOGG LANDSCAPE SVC offers warranties.

Pest control services, large tree trimming or removals, ponds, waterfalls, spas, pools, gas lines.