Cosmic Renovation and Roofing Inc

About

Founded 2018 • With Angi since August 2018

At Cosmic Renovation and Roofing, we offer years of professional experience and product expertise. We specialize in high quality residential upgrades and services such as roof installations, cool roof paint, solar installations, windows, full home remodeling including kitchen, bath and room

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Driveway Paving in Pico Rivera

concrete driveways

202090660
Full driveway paving complete in Pico Rivera, CA.
View project

Verified Reviews

4.4

(21) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

13

4

3

3

2

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.3

Punctuality

4.1

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

roofing (11)decks & porches (4)architect (2)gutter repair (2)fence company (2)cabinet makers (2)Patios (1)hardscaping (1)cabinet refacing (1)interior painting (1)wallpaper removal (1)lawn & landscaping (1)
Showing 1-21 of 21 reviews
3.0

05/20/2022


William G.

Project Lead: Ben The Job: Rooftop Deck above garage needed to be ripped out and replace, new drainage needed to be installed The Good: Ben was very enthusiastic about the job and is a very nice guy. He made sure to explain what the job would entail, what needed to be done, why the problems were happening, ect. He was understanding about the funds for the job being locked up until the sale of one of my other properties went through. The beginning of the job went great, the framing was done well, more ceiling beams had to be replaced than originally thought which they did for no extra charge and they had some higher quality top layer material left over from another job that they used at no additional cost to us. The Bad: Going back to the demo part of the job, we were told that there was no need to move the boxes and various other things we had in the garage out or to cover them. Nobody covered them and so now we have boxes full of plywood debris from ripping up the deck. After the initial large work was done, a team was no longer sent out to do the finishing work. It was one guy, who came out 2-3 times a week, and we rarely got any notice on what days those would be. Often we were told he would be showing up one day, but then no one would show up with no explanation. Repeatedly we were told “oh, the guy is going to come out and finish the job on x day”, but then no one would show up, and when he did the job was not finished. We were told the job would take 10 days (and that that was estimating on the long side). The job was started on March 29th and didn’t finish until May 19th. It happened several times that Ben asked if I was free for him to come and discuss things later in the day, but then he would be a no show. There was a general lack of quality control with the finished work. Instead of quality control being done by the contractor, I had to go and find all of the problems myself (of which there were many on the first pass) and complain about them. Then the one guy came out a week later to fix them, but then new things came up, and I would have to complain about them, ect. In the end I just kind of felt it was ‘good enough’ and was so exhausted with the back and forth and taking time out of my work day to inspect the work and discuss what was wrong I just said it was fine so I could go on with my life.

Description of Work
Redoing rooftop deck above garage

Category decks, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2022

5.0

05/20/2022


Mae M.

Great! My house is about 80 years old; I discovered that there was a leak from a (nearly) roof top patio down into the dining room below, Ben came and assessed the situation, and was very up front about the price being determined by what they might find after they pulled up the patio flooring, and unfortunately it was kind of a mess under there. Ben explained the process and pricing very clearly and set up the different crews for each layer of the the tear out and reinstall. They were great about working with my schedule and it got done pretty quickly especially for a multi step project. Everyone was very polite, cleaned up and carted away any debris after every layer and they were even very nice to my dog, (who can be a little annoying ) it looks good now and I am confident that the waterproofing is solid. Will definitely rehire them for for future projects!

Description of Work
Rooftop patio tear out and reinstall included fixing a leak and waterproofing

Category decks, gutter repair, remodeling, patios

Cost $33,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for your feedback! It was a pleasure working with you! We want to thank you for giving us the opportunity in helping you with your project. And your doggy was the best companion we could have through the process as well!
5.0

03/10/2022


Christy H.

The process was smooth. May held my hand through the entire process whenever I had any issues he took care of them promptly

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2022

Images

Review for Cosmic Renovation and Roofing Inc - 1070 Concord Ave, Concord, CA - 39655744

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for your Feedback! It was a pleasure working with you!
5.0

03/10/2022


Carla E.

Excellent! I was so fortunate to find this company. From day one, they were “on it”. David and May are quite a team when it comes to insuring that the contracted job was done to our agreed specifications. I have an HOA that has rules for decks, fencing, and patio roofs. May and David assisted in communicating with them and me to assure rules were met. They were patient, professional, honest and forthright in our negotiating, as well as helping me with decisions I wasn’t sure about. They actually wanted me to be happy with my decisions. “Where there was a will, there was a way” The workers were awesome. They checked with me as they went along, making sure no changes were necessary. They were on time, efficient, and worked steadily. When they or I had questions, May or David were called and FaceTimed. No surprises. May was at my home to inspect the job periodically. She wanted to be sure all was on schedule, and I was pleased. David was out also, and did final inspection before the job was signed off. What an amazing staff. They know how to work with people, to insure what the customer wants, within the price range the customer has. I will hire Cosmic Renovation and Roofing again, to do my patio and hard scape when I’m ready. They are wonderful! I highly recommend them!! Note: at the end of each day, and on job completion, they did an amazing cleanup.

Description of Work
Patio roof, deck and fence

Category decks, fencing, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2022

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your kind works! It was a pleasure working with you on your project! If you ever need anything in the future we are here to help!
5.0

03/10/2022


Dushun M.

Let me get right to it! Project manager, May, is the reason I went with Cosmic Renovation & Roofing. She was persistent in getting timely answers to my questions and calls. She called me back when she said she would and was extremely professional and personable. To sum it up, May, made me feel like a client and not a deputy project manager! As far as the roofers and their work, they were on time and professional as well. They easily communicated with other contractors to ensure the job was done correctly the first time. My overall experience with Cosmic Renovation & Roofing was pleasant and I would proudly recommend them for home improvements and roofing projects, but ask for project manager, May, she's the glue!

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category custom cabinets, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2022

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your positive feedback, And also for giving us the opportunity to help you with your project! It was a pleasure working side by side with you and seeing how we were able to complete your roofing project!
3.0

09/24/2020


Karen G.

His estimate was not helpful but they never provided a written bid.

Description of Work
"I need an inspection done and estimate for repair or replacement of roof. Composition shingle about 20 years old. "

Category roofing

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

Service Provider Response

We apologize but we can not find you in our system. If you are still interested in receiving an estimate on your project please let us know, we would be happy to help.
5.0

09/16/2020


Greg K.

license ,bonded company Before making your final decision Give them a call and talk to May They will beat any quotation!

Description of Work
Shingle Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your kind words, It was a pleasure working with you!
5.0

08/13/2020


mark B.

I'd like to give a hat tip to their project manager on our job, Miki. He was in constant contact with us through out the job. He managed his crew, and his subs, in a timely and clean manner. Our city inspector stopped by for a surprise inspection mid-project and told me 'they are doing a grad-A job". We ultimately chose Cosmic for their reasonable bid, and ability to finance. They finished on time and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Thank you Miki.

Description of Work
They removed our old roof and installed a new one.

Category roofing, architect

Cost $48,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2020

Images

Review for Cosmic Renovation and Roofing Inc - 1070 Concord Ave, Concord, CA - 38797079

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for letting us work with you on your project, it was a pleasure!
4.0

08/06/2020


Theresa R.

disappointing to be told my job is too small and not have a great company recommended on Angie's List want to provide services for what I need.

Description of Work
i called for tile roof repair and an assessment and was told the company has a $2500 minimum.

Category architect

Work Completed On 08/06/2020

Service Provider Response

We apologize but we can not find you in our system. If you are still interested in receiving an estimate please let us know and we would be glad to help.
5.0

07/07/2020


Marc S.

We were very pleased with these guys. From setting an initial appointment on the phone to the on time arrival of Miki, our project manager, this was a very smooth process. Expectations were clearly set and more than met. I'd recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Replacement of spanish tile roof

Category roofing

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for your kind words, working with you was a pleasure and we are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations. We will always be here to help!
1.0

01/12/2020


Rebecca Y.

Appointment was set for Saturday 1/4 at 2;00 pm. It was confirmed by email. i drove 40 minutes, was there on time. Waited just less than 10 minutes, and called the scheduler to see who was coming and if he/she was delayed. The woman who answered the phone sounded completely shocked to hear from me. This is how the conversation went: ME: Hi, this is RY, i am here at my house; it's after 2:00, is someone on their way? HER: Oh, oh my gosh, oh, i am so sorry, but no. Our computer system failed today and we don't have any way to know who is scheduled or to let our people in the field know where to go. Can we reschedule? i should have hung up at that point, but i didn't. ME: i really wish you would have called and let me know so that i didn't drive 40 minutes to meet you here. HER: Well, that's what i'm trying to tell you, we had a system failure, we had no way to know who was scheduled or who to call. So, can we reschedule? ME: what assurances do i have that your estimator will show up the next time? HER: Maam, i told you we had a computer system failure, so i couldn't call you. there was no way for me to be able to do that because we had no way to know who was scheduled. So, do you want to reschedule? When i told her that i found it hard to believe that they don't have any way to know who is scheduled on a certain day outside of their computer, she told me she didn't have to take my "abuse" and she hung up on me. LIterally, hung up on me. I hadn't cursed, yelled or said anything inappropriate. i have two witnesses who were sitting in my car listening to the whole conversation. They were appalled. COSMIC Roofing is incompetent and their scheduler lacks customer service skills. The person who does their scheduling definitely needs retraining, and until that happens, Angies List should drop them from referrals. The experience was so bad that i am wondering about Angies List's vetting process. People like that woman should not be in customer service. and when she said she was sorry, she didn't sound sorry at all. She sounded impatient and frustrated from the beginning. On top of making a mistake she was disrespectful. If there was a way to give negative stars i would.

Description of Work
Roof repair/replacement

Category roofing

Work Completed On 01/04/2020

Service Provider Response

We apologize but we can not find you in our system. We're always punctual when we set an appointment and we always call in advance (30min-1 hour prior) to confirm your appointment.
5.0

01/11/2020


atefeh H.

Excellent. Very professional. Project was finished faster than expected. Updates were provided throughout the project and the site was cleaned after every day of work.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We believe in working with our customers, not just for them. That means constant communication along the way. Glad that we were able to hold to that during your project as well.
5.0

01/08/2020


Khoa D.

I originally needed to get my roof redone as part of a solar installation project, and the solar company referred me to Cosmic Roofing as their preferred partner. Due to the unusual roof slope on my house, several other companies had turned me down for this project. Cosmic sent me David A. to go over the initial conversation of the project. We talked about work streams, dates, expectations, areas of concern, and of course the price. He showed me sample tiles, colors, materials, and explained some items that I hadn't taken into account, such as adding new vents to pass the permit process. I felt like David really understood what needed to be done and how he would tackle it. That was why I felt comfortable signing a work order right away. The tiles were delivered within days, which I was pleasantly surprised at. The roof installers came the next day, and did their job efficiently. Permits were reviewed the same week, and I officially had a new roof in less than a month's time. It's commendable how efficient this company is. My house is now noticeably cooler on sunny days because David recommended the white roof tiles. Of course, the fast speed made it easy for the solar company to do their installation too. We're very happy to have worked with Cosmic Renovation and Roofing. It wasn't until I spoke with David that I found out they also do solar installations. I might've had them make a bid for the solar work as well, but since I had already decided on someone else, it wasn't in the cards. Anyways, if you're looking to add solar to your roof, give Cosmic a call for a quote.

Description of Work
Complete reroofing as part of installing Solar Panels

Category roofing

Cost $12,852

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2019

Images

Review for Cosmic Renovation and Roofing Inc - 1070 Concord Ave, Concord, CA - 38320900

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working with you on your project. We are especially pleased knowing that we were able to provide you with complete satisfaction on your roofing project. When the next home project comes along, remember to give a call. We would love to work with you again in the future.
5.0

02/27/2019


christina S.

Great company. I had a leaking window that needed to be fixed and I couldn't find anyone out her to do it. I finally contacted Cosmic Renovation and they were he only ones to respond to me. They were very flexible and even came on a Sunday to get the job taken care of.

Description of Work
They fixed a leaking window for me.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure working with you on your windows and home!
5.0

02/26/2019


Ramona B.

Very smooth. Had a problem with the cement though they fixed it right away.

Description of Work
They painted the house and fixed stucco, gutters, window trim. They also fixed my garage door not sealing they put down cement so it would seal.

Category remodeling

Cost $49,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! Always a pleasure working with you on your home!
4.0

02/26/2019


Rossi S.

.

Description of Work
They replaced vanity and installed some bed side wall mounted lighting fixtures. Installed a medicine chest and some backslash.

Category remodeling

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

08/18/2014


Harry T.

The project was successful. We got everything done that we wanted. Original cost estimate by Top Design (TP) was low, mainly due to our changes and difference in our expectation of what was included in the original contract. Important to take time/effort to make sure original contract fully detailed as to effort and materials. TP wanted to quickly get a contract with general definition of effort and materials. Import you get cost allowances included in the initial contract for all specific items, i.e. sink, facet, flooring, thickness and cost of countertop, back slash tile, and for each milestone of the project. Again, the kitchen remodel was successful and we are happy with the remodel and our use of TP to do this remodel .

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, new floor, new countertop, reface cabinets, instal new appliances

Category remodeling

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2014

1.0

01/09/2014


Richard M.

It ended up taking five months to end up with what should have been done in two days. Basically, Top Designs sub-contractors were total "boobs". They were inefficient, left us with a mess each day, and didn't know what they were doing.

Description of Work
They were contracted simply to lacquer the oak trim and cabinets that my wife and I had previously stained. The first guy tried to use spray cans of lacquer and ended up gettting some cabinets to be glossy and some were flat. He sprayed them with the doors closed so the wood behind the door didn't get sprayed at all. There was overspray all over our house and he left it for us to clean up. To make matters worse, he used plain masking tape over what little wallpaper he taped. When he pulled it off, he tore the top layer of wallpaper off. | |After we got replacement paper (not an easy thing to do), they sent in "their best man" who didn't even know how to take off the old paper. He ended up gouging the wall board trying to scrape off the paper. We complained and he said "I'll have to go home and read up on how to remove wallpaper". They finally sent two guys who got the paper off but left us a mess of old paste and wall paper stripper compound all over our walls and counters. The end finally came when Top Design hired an outside contractor to finish the job. But, we even ended up having to call him back to redo part of the work.

Category cabinet refacing

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2013

4.0

06/12/2013


Dagmar M.

Top Design had excellent crews performing the detail work. Everything was done in the contract timeframe. During the removal of the old kitchen, they covered all the exposed furniture and the workers were extremely careful not to damage anything like carpets and door frames. After using the kitchen for about four weeks, two shelves came tumbling down, breaking most of my glasses and some wine bottles. Also the kitchen floor was damaged in the area where the glass hit the floor. The pegs in the upper cabinets were not strong enough to hold the glasses and some bottles. When I called Top design, the secretary called a experienced handy man to install new pegs with screws (which I selected in a local hard ware store). The company did not offer any amount for the damage because they told me that I probably did not not balance the glasses according to their weight. this did not make any sense. The incident was very disturbing, because the glasses came down like a waterfall without anybody opening the cabinet doors. I was fortunately home to clean up, otherwise my three cats could have been hurt by walking through the broken glass. I found some small scratches and discolored areas in the counter tops. the company was not very responsive to sending anybody for a final inspection (after I noticed the above mentioned defects. In the final analysis my new kitchen looks very comfortable and I like it. The experience was very stressful for me because I felt that I was put under pressure to sign the contract and get the work done. Of course it is my own fault the I did not get estimates from other compamies before signing the contract. I probably fall under the category of an older unexperienced consumer.

Description of Work
Removed the old kitchen, did electrical wiring, moved water lines, painted the kitchen and installed new Kitchen cabinets with silicone counter tops.

Category remodeling

Cost $25,600

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2013

5.0

06/07/2013


Ian M.

The quality of the work is top notch. The workers were courteous, professional, and cleaned up well after themselves. Any problems were minor, and fixed immediately. I didn't rate them on price. For the kitchen work they were about 20% cheaper than another estimate, but I don't know if that applies to the outdoor work as well. The work has been done without any delays of more than a day. There were times when we expected workers to show in the morning, and they did not show up to the afternoon, which is why they didn't get an A in punctuality. But overall I am very happy with what they have done. This review is of Top Design INC, Walnut Creek CA which is part of Top Design Inc , Van Nuys, CA, but also a local entity.

Description of Work
Demolish kitchen counter tops and replace with CaesarStone including backsplash replace kitchen sink, replace stove and hood tile area above the stove, remove painted on wallpaper before ... paint interior of house excluding bedrooms and bathrooms demolish outdoor deck and retaining walls remove tree roots and grade back yard before re-sodding yard and extending into area where the deck used to be extend sprinkler system to water new areas of sod rebuild the retaining walls create planters between sod and retaining walls

Category countertops, decks, landscaping, remodeling, wallpaper removal, interior painters, hardscaping

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2013

1.0

05/21/2013


Stu P.

I reported them to the FTC for violating the DNC list.

Description of Work
They just cold called me marketing a free estimate. I asked why they were calling as I was on the DO NOT CALL LIST? They rambled about what a good deal they had. I asked if ETHICAL contractors would violate the DNC list? A guy name Scott was extraordinarily rude to me.

Category custom cabinets, carpet installation, fencing, gutter repair, remodeling

Work Completed On 05/21/2013