Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Bob's Air Repair

4.8

(40) Verified Reviews

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2012

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
834289
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

132 Meyers St Suite 100

Chico, CA 95928

http://www.bobsairrepair.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Heating, cooling repair and replacement. Duct cleaning and sealing.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

We are a small family owned business. Bob is a Decorated Iraqi War Veteran. Bob is a perfectionist. He believes in fixing it right the first time. We are NATE Certified....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(40) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

37

4

1

3

0

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (39)air duct cleaning (5)
Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews
1.0

03/04/2022


Jason K.

I called because I had diagnosed that one or both pressure switches on my furnace were out. I only called because I couldn't get the part because local HVAC businesses wouldn't sell to me because I wasn't an HVAC contractor. Getting it on Amazon would take 4-6 days so I thought I would call a local service company because they could work with local suppliers, or at least try. Bob's Air Repair came quickly, and confirmed what I told them was the problem (charged $89 to read the same code I did on the unit). They then said it would take 2-4 days to get the part, this was Wed morning. They called me back on Monday morning saying they had the part. They installed that afternoon in about 15-30 minutes. Let me be clear, the part is held on by one screw and one hose and takes about 30 seconds to remove, literally. I removed both parts before I called them. They charged me $380 for the part and labor (and remember it was already $89 to diagnose). They charged me $25 shipping and would not provide me their hourly rate. The part on Amazon is between $25 and $50 so they charged me at least $230 for about 15 minutes of work, if that. I get they need to charge for time and 1-hour minimum seems reasonable, but this is ridiculous, roughly $470 to diagnose (which is simply reading a code) and replace for a combined 30 minutes of work. Unbelievable. If you have other options go somewhere else.

Description of Work
replace 2 pressure switches on furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $470

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2022

5.0

11/24/2021


Cynthia S.

My heater required a part to get it to operate. They were able to get the part quickly and my heater back to working. I have used this company for all of my heating and air needs for 18 years. They are the best in all categories.

Description of Work
Work on my heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $475

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2021

5.0

09/09/2021


tami J.

100degress out my adult disabled sons system stopped working and it's to hot out for him. I called bobs explained our concerns that day they came out , the system was 34yrs old we ordered a new one ,bobs staff brought a temporary cooler over help my son a great deal .the following Wednesday bobs staff was putting in new system very professional and caring couldn't have done a better job thank you.

Description of Work
All new heating and air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $9,338.85

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2021

5.0

06/09/2021


Dan H.

They crew was knowledgeable and professional, hard working and a overall joy to be around Dan Hansen 530-514-2001

Description of Work
HVAC unit replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2021

5.0

11/24/2020


greg W.

They came and provide the service - had it fixed in 10 minutes.

Description of Work
Maintenance - compasser.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2020

5.0

07/16/2019


Mike C.

They did a great job and I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They serviced the furnace for the winter.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2018

5.0

12/23/2018


Steve S.

Very responsive to my emergency call (I had no heat in the home). Came out same day to assess the problem and order part.

Description of Work
HVAC MAIN CIRCUIT BOARD REPLACED

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2018

5.0

03/04/2018


Pandora M.

Very good customer service. I was kept informed during the process and the cheapest part was replaced first to see if we could keep the cost down. The tech provided an extra service by cleaning up some mildew that had started in the heating unit area.

Description of Work
Heating unit needed work because it stopped working.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2018

5.0

01/22/2018


Ec H.

Extremely well. Jon came out the same day (within 30 minutes after we called) and checked the furnace and all related equipment. He listened carefully to our description of the problem, and then explained in detail every step of his inspection as he went along. He found a problem and immediately replaced the part. He is honest and straightforward, and answered our many many questions about how to keep our bills down. He took his time and did not rush. Now the house is heating properly for the first time since we moved in. A knowledgeable and personable repairman. Our landlord paid this bill, so I can't comment on whether or not it is expensive or not..

Description of Work
Our furnace was not working properly, resulting in huge energy bills

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/20/2018

5.0

11/02/2017


William K.

The service was completed in a timely fashion. Thanks to Doug, John and Don for their professional work in making us ready for this coming winter. I recommend this company if you’re in need of a simple repair or a complete replacement like ours.

Description of Work
We had our HVAC replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2017

Services Offered

Sales & service of central heating, cooling & duct cleaning. Commercial & residential.

Services Not Offered

We do not work on window or wall units or stoves.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bob's Air Repair

How is Bob's Air Repair overall rated?

Bob's Air Repair is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Bob's Air Repair open?

Bob's Air Repair is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

What payment options does Bob's Air Repair provide

Bob's Air Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

Does Bob's Air Repair offer free estimates?

No, Bob's Air Repair does not offer free project estimates.

Does Bob's Air Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Bob's Air Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Bob's Air Repair offer a senior discount?

No, Bob's Air Repair does not offer a senior discount.

Does Bob's Air Repair offer emergency services?

Yes, Bob's Air Repair offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Bob's Air Repair?

Yes, Bob's Air Repair offers warranties.

What services does Bob's Air Repair offer?

Bob's Air Repair offers the following services: Sales & service of central heating, cooling & duct cleaning. Commercial & residential.

Are there any services Bob's Air Repair does not offer?

We do not work on window or wall units or stoves.