Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC

Founded 1998 • With Angi since July 2005

4.5

(112) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9640 Topanga Cyn Pl Ste J

Chatsworth, CA 91311

Description

We specialize in providing the absolute best customer care possible. Our office is fully staffed so that your phone call will be answered by a friendly associate, Our technicians are professional, uniformed and on time.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

01/22/2022


John F.

I called American Spas for a repair, they said they have no repair department and they contract everything out (their website claims to be as the largest spa repair company in So Cal). They gave me the name of three local repairmen. One out of business, 2nd declined saying they only repair their own spas and the third does not return calls. You don't want to get involved with a spa that the company won't make repairs to. Hence, I would cross American Spas / Cal Spas (they are the same company) off hour list.

Description of Work
They have no repair department. Literally.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/16/2017


Lori D.

They did follow up the next week, but then I got sick. They are coming out next Wednesday. I called them last week and made an appointment. I gave them $150 which would be applied for the job, not knowing that I was going to postpone it. I had actually forgot all about it, but somehow the universe I came upon the invoice. That will go towards the job and I liked that. They said it would absolutely use that towards the job and that was four months ago. He was so understanding. I felt fine with him especially because he is on Angie's List. I used other people that weren't on Angie's List for a remodel, and it was a nightmare.

Description of Work
They came out and gave me an estimate for a bathroom Jacuzzi service. They came out in February and told me it was either the wiring to the timers or the pump. The only way to find out is to fix the timer and if the pump works, great, and if it doesn't, they will have a pump here to replace it.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

01/11/2017


Robert L.

They took care of it with no problem

Description of Work
Spa had been sitting for a few yrs. unused, it needed servicing

Category pool cleaners

5.0

01/10/2017


Walt Z.

Great. Still wound up having problem with a broken electrical line from the main panel. They recommended an electrician who came promptly and fixed the electrical problem.

Description of Work
replaced pool pump.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

11/22/2016


Paula B.

Maintenance was fine, but whenever my hot tub needed repairs (almost always HUGELY expensive), they'd drag their feet on scheduling. My hot tub had a UV light unit unfamiliar to them, and even though they knew this, they'd send different service guys out every time with no instruction, who'd fumble with the $85 bulbs and break them more often than not in the struggle to replace them in the unit. The man answering service calls was almost always unfailingly rude, and told me if I didn't like their service I could just stop using them. Then, after several years of regular maintenance, visits suddenly ceased for over a month with no explanation. When I tried to follow up, I kept getting an answering machine. I eventually got a call back from someone saying they were merging with another company and they were confused. I asked to cancel my service and requested that they return my gate key. A month after that conversation, I got a call from them again saying that they couldn't access my property to maintain the spa. I told them I'd canceled service already and was still waiting for them to return my key. They said they'd look into it. That was in July. I still don't have my key back. Rude, inept. Never again.

Description of Work
Maintenance and repairs

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/25/2016


Paul B.

Todd and Jesse took a lot of heat and a lot of stress in tracking down repairs to my no-name brand spa at my house in Malibu, CA. Jesse said it was the most difficult spa to program he's ever encountered. However they took ownership of the problems and returned many times until finally it was fixed correctly. We run a bed/breakfast from our home so having the spa is an important component. I've used these guys for more than 15 or 18 years (can't remember!) and trust them with their work and business ethics. Thanks guys for taking care of us!

Description of Work
spa quit heating. Computer controls had failed. We had the spa empty for a number of years and it needed to be started up and serviced again.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

03/03/2016


Adrienne M.

The guys were great. Good work. Fair price. Courteous. Excellent communication. Easy to work with. I'm calling them to do some additional work on the spa. If you have Jacuzzi problems call these guys. They know what they're doing.

Description of Work
Replaced hot tub motor.

Category appliance repair, pool cleaners

1.0

01/11/2016


Bridget S.

To reiterate: This December our jacuzzi was loud so Jesse came out and determined the pump and heater had to be replaced because of the loud motor and internal leaking. We paid for that work. When we were told it would be $1039.00 for the repair I said that I wasn't sure it was worth it, a new jacuzzi can be $2,000. Jesse told us that once we replaced these parts we'd be in great shape, his exact words were "You replace these crappy Chinese factory parts with American parts and you'll have a Toyota." The implication being it would run a long time. We agreed to the repairs. They were completed. I asked how it went and Jesse said "it was hard but it's all good now." My husband went out and checked the spa, it was still being filled and he noticed the control panel read "FLO" he asked if the jacuzzi was fixed and Jesse said "You're good to go." However later that night we learned it was not heating. I called American Spa Services the next morning and they promptly sent Charlie out to check the jacuzzi. I was not home. When I arrived home he was packing his van and my phone rang, it was Todd Slasor, the owner of the company. He called to tell me that now the "motherboard" was broken and the jacuzzi wouldn't work without a new one. I was very disappointed. He told me that this was a new problem that had happened in the last 24 hours. I expressed my disbelief. Charlie left without talking to me or making eye contact. Todd asked what he could do and I asked for a refund. He said that was impossible and suggested we had a lemon. I said that was unethical (if there are ethics in jacuzzi repair) to charge over one thousand dollars for repairs and then the next day suggest that we have a lemon. Todd offered to replace all the parts that they had yet to replace (they had already replaced the filter last year and the pump and heater the day before) and a new motherboard for "around $900." I suggested they by back the parts. He said no. I asked what it cost to haul away the jacuzzi and he said $600 but would work to give me a deal. I said that that was a lot of money and I was very disappointed. I said I wished the technician had stayed to make sure it worked. He said it did work when the technician left. I said it was not at temperature so how could that be possible. Todd assured me they were honest. I said I was not suggesting Jesse was a liar but rather he misdiagnosed or missed the real problem. I said that we had been assured this would "fix" and "repair" and make the jacuzzi "functional", Todd told me that the technician should not have made those promises. That is baffling, why shouldn't a repairman say his repairs would fix the broken item? We spoke for 23 minutes. I said we would figure out what we could do and call back. My husband called back the next day and said "Todd, talk to me, tell me what happened." Todd was immediately combative and said that after talking to me for one hour he didn't need to tell my husband what happened. He told my husband "I was going to be nice but not anymore." We were shocked. He said to my husband "this is how the world works." We sent a certified letter asking for a refund and saying we would file a complaint with the Department of Consumer and Business Affairs and file a small claim in court. We received no reply although the letter was signed for by "Todd Slayer" (not Slasor--which is worth noting and made me nervous.) So today we filed those complaints and court documents. So now we have a broken jacuzzi and less $1039. After this incident we delved deeper into the reviews on Angie's List and Yelp to discover that this had happened before--including the statement "I was going to be nice but not anymore" which is strange and frankly threatening. I wish that none of this had happened and that it had been resolved without acrimony.

Description of Work
American Spa services replaced our leaking filter last year. It took two visits because the filter was not sealed properly so Jesse returned to fix it promptly. This December our jacuzzi was loud so Jesse came out and determined the pump and heater had to be replaced because of the loud motor and internal leaking. We paid for that work.

Category appliance repair, pool cleaners

5.0

11/10/2015


Deanna A.

They are wonderful. I can't tell how many spa places I've used over the years that have just not been able to fix my spa because it's so complicated and always has so many issues. American Spa Service is just phenomenal. They're professional and they can always fix the spa, no matter what is done to it and everything has been done to it. About a month ago, they gave me a quote. I had rats in it and they gave me a quote to fix it. The rats dig in my Jacuzzi and they fix it. I didn't have them fix it for me this time because I was able to have it fixed. My husband was able to clean it out and get them out. Before that, they put in a new motor. They've rehauled it. They've done a bunch of stuff to it. I've had that spa for 10 years and for 5 years, I've had people just come and screw it up more and cost me money. It's really not easy. But they are able to take care of it. They're super good. They're not out-of-this-world prices either for what they do and they guarantee their work.

Description of Work
They fix my spa.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

02/20/2015


Diana B.

It didn't go as no one showed up for the appointment.

Description of Work
We set an appointment for today between 4 and 6 pm for spa repair service and no one showed up. No phone call to cancel or reschedule.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

12/30/2014


Marron K S.

We could not be happier with American Spa. We called them after giving up on another spa repair contractor who came out, took one of our spa jets to source for parts, broke a pipe, left a mess and never returned. American Spa was prompt, courteous, professional, gave a fair price, and fixed the problem. We would recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Replaced six spa jets

Category pool cleaners

5.0

07/28/2014


Dana B.

We have been without the ability to use our spa for some time. We could not find a service to fix our pool valves without the strong possibility that we would have to demo some of our pool deck. After reading a number of positive reviews for American Spa Services on Angie's List we contacted the owner Todd. Todd agreed to check our values and provide an estimate of cost to repair/replace valves. Arriving right on time was Jamie, a techician for American Spa, who looked at the valves and thought we might be able to refurbish or replace existing metal valves in lieu of having to tear up our concrete. Jamie and Todd wanted to look at this option verses more expensive repairs. Todd kept in touch with me and within a week we had the valves fixed (now easy to move valves from pool to spa) and within the estimated cost. It was a pleasure to have encountered such professionalism and care. I highly recommend American Spa Services.

Description of Work
Fixed/replaced valves for pool/spa.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

07/17/2014


Dianne K.

I called American Spa Services after seeing Angie's List of providers and also being referred by a pool repair person who did not work on above ground spas. I called American Spa Services on July 10th and spoke to the man who appears to own the business. This man made an appointment with me for Thursday, July 17th between 10 AM and noon. My phone was on speaker phone when we made the scheduled appointment, and my relative who was present wrote the date and time on my calendar. I was told by American Spa Services that they wanted pictures of the leak area of the PVC pipe. I was instructed to fill the spa with water and to photograph the leak area and send the pictures to them via E-mail so they would be prepared for Thursday, July 17th's appointment. The pictures were taken and sent by the E-mail to the web site they provided to me. I ALSO RE-CONFIRMED OUR APPOINTMENT DATE, TIME OF APPOINTMENT, MY ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER. I have attached this e-mail. I called American Spa Services at 12:20 PM on Thursday, July 17th, when no one showed for the scheduled appointment. American Spa Services told me they had no record of my appointment. When I then reported I had sent them a follow up e-mail confirming our scheduled appointment with the requested pictures of the leak area, American Spa changed their story. Their new story was they needed the pictures to schedule an appointment. So I asked why they did not get back to me since the follow-up e-mail I sent to American Spa Services on Sunday, July 13th, clearly indicated our scheduled appointment date and time. American Spa Services could not answer this or speak to my e-mail that confirmed my scheduled appointment.

Description of Work
Provider did not show up for a scheduled appointment that was made on July 10th and re-confirmed by e-mail on July 13th.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/29/2014


Brian B.

The service was good, and the prices were fair.

Description of Work
I bought some items from American Spa Services. I buy chemicals and stuff from them for my jacuzzi. I have never used them for service, I do that myself.

Category pool cleaners

2.0

05/29/2014


Scott S.

I since then had to replace it again and the second spa guy told me that those guys gave me a too small capacity of pump. It only lasted like two years and then it died. I'm not too impressed with them.

Description of Work
American Spa Services Inc replaced a pump for me.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

05/22/2014


Michelle M.

I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I haven't used American Spa Services for quite awhile. They repaired my spa.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

05/22/2014


Barbara G.

The were great and I have not had a problem with them. They have worked out well. I would use them again.

Description of Work
American Spa Services Incorporated cleaned my jets out and now they are working.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/22/2014


Roy S.

It was fine. He fixed something in the jacuzzi tub and basically recommended how to bring it up to code properly which was nice. However, they were expensive and it wasn't a particularly difficult job so I had somebody else do it.

Description of Work
I used American Spa Services Inc to fix something in the jacuzzi tub because it wasn't working. He checked, found out what was wrong, helped me fix it and recommended some other service that was too expensive to do through their company.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/22/2014


Val K.

They were excellent. They ordered the spa top and the company sent the wrong one. There was absolutely no problem getting anything taken care of. I appreciate people more in terms of when it doesn't go exactly the way you thought and how do they handle that. It was just good customer service.

Description of Work
I used American Spa Services Inc; they put a new cover on my Jacuzzi.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/21/2014


Scot M.

They did an excellent job and I'm very happy with them. Having them do it was worth the money to me and they worked great. They showed up when they were supposed to and they told me exactly what they were going to do.

Description of Work
American Spa Services Inc. provided me a pool & spa service and repair and they did my hot tub. They came out twice. The first time they came, they surveyed my hot tub. They came back the following week with the parts.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/21/2014


Robert G.

I had a good experience with them. I had no dislikes or problems with them. They were very good and I was happy with them.

Description of Work
I used American Spa Services to take care of my Jacuzzi on several occasions.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/21/2014


Scot M.

They did an excellent job and I'm very happy with them. They showed up when they were supposed to and told me exactly what they were supposed to do. Having them do it is worth the money for me and they're working great.

Description of Work
American Spa Services Inc. provided me a pool & spa service and repair and they did my hot tub. They came out twice. The first time they came, they surveyed my hot tub. They came back the following week with the parts.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

05/14/2014


Diana B.

I used them once and it was fine, everything went well. We had another repair we needed done in January of 2014 and we called, but we could not get in touch with them. So we kept calling and when we finally spoke with them they were very rude so we used another company.

Description of Work
Installed a circulating pump.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

05/12/2014


Wesley B.

Generally good service. Responsive when I have not been entirely happy.

Description of Work
Routine cleaning and servicing plus repairs as needed

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/12/2014


Jenny C.

Amazing. Very friendly, knowledgable, on time, reasonable pricing. Wouldn't think to go to anyone else.

Description of Work
Fixed various issues with our older hot tub, multiple times over the course of 3 years.

Category pool cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    AML SERVICE

    Founded January 2017. Please call our office today and get your schedule for your appliance repair. +1 818-818-8204 With Angi Since August 2022. AML Appliance Service is a company founded by experienced appliance repair technician.Our technicians certified from DCA and ETA 608 Type l, with over six years experience as an appliance repair technician .Our service center is providing professional customer assistance. Our well trained and knowledgeable technicians stay updated on new appliance and manufacturer developments. We have been working in the LA County area with appliance brands like : Electrolux, Frigidaire, Whirlpool, KitchenAid, Maytag, Jenn-Air, Samsung, Viking, SubZero, General Electric, Fisher Paykel , LG, BOSCH and ThERMADOR.Also we officially authorized from Samsung (SAMSUNG AUTHORIZED SERVICE CENTER (ASC)).In addition to quality repair services, AML SERVICE is glad to help you with maintenance and repair of all category appliances .AML Service has the best prices and always backs up our job with warranted parts. Along with our emergency response, most service calls can be scheduled within 4-12 hours. We generally provide a two hour window for your appointment whether it's in the Am or Pm. We do not repair commercial appliances. The Customer's satisfaction is our priority.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by AML SERVICE on Angi
    Better Buy Pool Supply

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Kraken Pool Services

    Weekly pool maintenance The care and maintenance of your swimming pool should never be taken lightly. A neglected swimming pool can harbor a host of organisms, bacteria and pathogens. Kraken Pool Service is dedicated to making sure your swimming pool is kept safe and at your highest standards. We organize our pool service routes electronically so that our Technicians have ample time to devote to the care and maintenance of your pool. Having Kraken Pool Service looking after and servicing your pool will save you money by preventing costly repairs due to neglect and improper wear, not to mention leaving nothing for you to do. …except to relax and enjoy your pool. We add the industry’s top quality water treatments and clarifiers to ensure optimum filtration to make your water sparkling clear. We inspect all pool systems and components with each visit to ensure proper operation. Weekly Residential Pool Maintenance is a great choice for all customers who want hands-off worry-free pool maintenance. Our qualified service technician visit your pool weekly to provide the following twelve services as needed: Inspect water level Measure and adjust chemicals and stabilizers Balance pH and alkalinity Add preventative algaecides Add preventative stain treatments Skim leaves and debris Brush pool floor & walls Vacuum pool floors Empty skimmer basket of leaves & debris Back-wash filters Inspect equipment and plumbing Leave detailed Service Report. Kraken Pool Services will clean and inspect your filter every six months. And if you have a salt water pool, we will inspect and clean your salt cells every three months. We also offer a wide verity of pool equipment maintenance, repair, or replacement. You can find us at krakenpoolservices.com  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Spa Repair, Hot tub Repair, Jetted Bathtub repair, Pool Repair, Fountain Repair, Spa Maintenance, Spa Covers and much more.

    Services Not Offered

    WOOD WORK, POOL CLEANING OR POOL MAINTENANCE, RE-FIBERGLASSING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC

    How is AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC overall rated?

    AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC open?

    AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC provide

    AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC offer free estimates?

    No, AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC offer a senior discount?

    No, AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC?

    Yes, AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC offers warranties.

    What services does AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC offer?

    AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC offers the following services: Spa Repair, Hot tub Repair, Jetted Bathtub repair, Pool Repair, Fountain Repair, Spa Maintenance, Spa Covers and much more.

    Are there any services AMERICAN SPA SERVICES INC does not offer?

    WOOD WORK, POOL CLEANING OR POOL MAINTENANCE, RE-FIBERGLASSING.