Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC.

Founded 1995 • With Angi since January 2005

4.8

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

21704 DEVONSHIRE ST UNIT 272

Chatsworth, CA 91311

Description

30+ Years of experience. Our team of over 100 will complete your project on time and within your budget.License #746078. No matter whether your requirements are complex or simple, our team will complete the work correctly the first time. We have expertise in almost all areas of construction.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/11/2018


Nicole K.

Martin and his team were so professional and knowledgeable. They worked quickly and were incredibly clean and polite. Martin helped me create a beautiful and safe environment for my business. His knowledge of codes and requirements is unmatched, and his creative problem-solving was what made my project a reality. He communicates in a very timely manner. I never felt like I was abandoned on my project and I always knew what was happening, and what was coming next. He definitely wasn't the cheapest quote, but the final invoice was right on track with what the original quote was. When all was said and done, to get this same work done by another contractor, it would have cost the same or more...and the work was so beautifully done that it was beyond worth it! He is the guy you go to when you want things done RIGHT. I would HIGHLY recommend Martin and his team for any project. He will make sure it is done right!

Description of Work
Tenant Improvements on a commercial space

Category electrician, remodeling, interior painters

5.0

08/03/2017


wayne Z.

Excellent results. When Martin came to the house he confirmed that our cabinets were in good structural condition. He carefully explained how their work would proceed and what we could expect. At my wife's request Martin took on of the kitchen drawer fronts that was in pretty bad condition and refinished it to illustrate the result we could expect. Martin's crews were very professional. They used lots of plastic and drop cloths to protect carpeting, furniture, floors, etc. and removed it all completely after they were done. The entire refinishing process took two days. Full disclosure: it did take around 6 days for the odor from the varnish to completely dissipate. We are thrilled with the results. We are very pleased with how our cabinets look and we only spent 20%-25% of what it would have cost to replace them.

Description of Work
Cabinets in your Kitchen and Master Bath needed refinishing.

Category remodeling, interior painters

5.0

04/29/2015


Gordon B.

They did a good job. It was a couple of them. Most of the work was they had to carry down the old porch and stair case and they rebuild that. Everything is well done. I would give them high marks. I got an entirely new staircase and porch.

Description of Work
My next door neighbor?s tree came down into my yard, damaged the garage door, took out the staircase, and destroyed my car.

Category decks, remodeling, garage builders, woodworking

5.0

10/25/2014


Pamela W.

Martin and his crew were professional, courteous, on-time, and responsive.

Description of Work
Remodeled our kitchen and powder room, replaced flooring, replaced windows, painted the first- floor

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/06/2014


Alan B.

Choosing Martin and his team at American Classic Construction was by far the best choice we made in our build-out phase. I have never worked with someone so honest, knowledgeable, and willing to bend over backwards to make sure we were happy. Martin always provided us with excellent options to chose from and everything he delivered to us was top-notch quality and well below the prices others were charging. Martin outfitted us with everything we needed. He did our flooring, our custom cabinetry, all of our electrical work and plumbing, our ceiling, all of our painting and finish work, and just about everything else. Every aspect of our project was explained in detail by Martin and he always made sure we had every piece of information before making our decisions. Everything came out even better than Martin promised. He's one of the rare contractors that under-promises and over-delivers. I can't say enough good things about working with the team at American Classic Construction. We ran into major problems with our landlord, who was trying to take advantage of us, and Martin not only stood by our side to make sure we weren't bullied by the landlord, but he worked (many times without even charging us) to help ensure that our costs stayed as low as possible. Any other contractor would have simply done the work that the landlord was responsible for and billed us for it, but not Martin. He never tried to take on extra work to bill us when the work was supposed to be done by the landlord's team on their own dime. I could not have had a better contractor on my side. Martin is an encyclopedia of knowledge and he's more than willing to share his expertise with anyone who will listen. He educates his clients so that no decision is made blindly and there is never any regret after the fact. If you're looking for an honest, loyal, and knowledgeable contractor who's willing to go far out of his way to do right by his clients, then Martin and American Classic Construction are the only team you need. Plus, somehow Martin gets the best prices on all of the materials he uses (I've done the research and he's the best), and the savings were always passed on to us as the client. I've used other contractors in the past, but now I would never consider using anyone but American Classic Construction for our future projects.

Description of Work
Martin and his team built out our entire salon from start to finish. He held our hand through the entire process, from conceiving the layout and materials to use, to putting the final detail touches on our beautifully, and expertly built salon. When we ran into problems with our landlord, Martin was a loyal, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful resource for making sure we were not taken advantage in this difficult situation. Martin has continued to provide his expertise to me even though our project has been completed and I still use him as a valuable resource before making any decisions regarding construction and code compliance.

Category custom cabinets, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/03/2014


Jeanette W.

This company is very very professional. Not only gave me an estimate but helped me work with the Insurance Company. The demolition and work was done in a very neat, clean and timely matter. The repairs were beautiful! I would definitely refer this company to my friends and others.

Description of Work
Repaired floor and wall damage caused by flooding.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, water damage restoration

5.0

06/17/2013


Caroline S.

I have to give it to Martin Lubran, he runs an exceptional team. They were always on-time at 7am and finished the work in less time than they had originally estimated. They initially estimated 7 days but they were so quick! Martin had his employee Kyle in charge of our project and Martin checked in with us almost every day. They were clean, speedy, and had a million guys working quickly. We had about 6,000 sq. ft. remodeled in our commercial space. We put up walls, glass panels, doors, painted the entire space. They did an exceptional job! I would love to work with them again and most likely will in the future.

Description of Work
Remodeled our entire business office and painted walls

Category remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/10/2013


Gary L.

Very upfront and happy to explain details. He has a comprehensive view, definitely professional. More expensive than the other estimates I got.

Description of Work
AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. Estimate for small construction work; kitchen ceiling patching and painting

Category remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. Our records indicate that our quote was a rough initial estimate and may have included other services making direct comparison difficult.
5.0

04/21/2013


Ira M.

Martin is a professional and was very understanding of our needs. This was the second project we did with him. He first built our house almost 10 years ago and this time he repainted and performed repairs and upgrades.

Description of Work
He performed repairs and upgrades to our house while we had all our furniture in the house. He managed his crew methodically to go from room to room with minimal disruption to our life.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your repeat business.
5.0

02/01/2012


Kenneth W.

It went well. He oversaw the installation of our building, including plumbing and electrical. He kept everything on track and was always available for questions

Description of Work
Martin and his crew were professional and timely. When we had problems with the city requiring more than they should, he went to bat for us and saved us several tens of thousands of dollars. I definitely recommend him!

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your post. We look forward to your next project.
5.0

01/07/2012


Adam S.

Excellent. All work was of high quality and done in time promised. Martin is easy to get a hold of and does what he says he is going to do. HIGHLY recommended!!

Description of Work
Complete interior and and exterior painting. Windows. Electrical. Repairs of water damage. Getting a very weather worn beach house up to sellable and up to date condition.

Category electrician, remodeling, water damage restoration, replacement windows, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your post and your trust in having us work on your other properties.
5.0

01/07/2012


Adam S.

Kyle (Martins foreman) was arriving at the house to finish up some repairs and upon arriving found that there had just been a fire at the house caused by a lighting fixture that corroded and fell of the outside of the house. He contacted me and was extremely helpful by boarding up the house and making sure no other damage would be caused by covering the exposed parts of the house. Martin was then able to advise me with dealing with the insurance company which I had no experience with. He was then able to arrange all the remediation work. That work including both interior and exterior repair. He was also very helpful in dealing with the residual odor that the fire caused.

Description of Work
Repairs done related to fire damage at a beachfront rental property.

Category remodeling, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your post. We too are glad that our timing was such that we could take cae of the fire damage as quickly as we were able to do so.
5.0

01/07/2012


Adam S.

Excellent from start to finish. Martin (having done other quality work at a rental property we own) and I walked the house with the goal of making a more baby/ toddler safe and bring it up to modern standards. He then arranged for his crew to do the work. Everything was done in the time promised. All the work was excellent quality and they always cleaned up any mess that they made. Martin is easy to communicate with, answers his phone and always made sure the jobs were done in time and of high quality. He is a stickler for doing thing up to code and obtaining all required permits which in the long run is the best way to go. After dealing with many contractors over the years it is refreshing to have someone I feel has me and my families best interest in mind. Work gets DONE with no drama and no excuses. I rarely have the time to write reviews with no complaints but in this case I can recommend Martin and American Classic whole heartedly and with no qualms. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Windows installed- 14 windows installed including replacing two very large picture windows. Painting interior including some very badly damaged/ worn areas. Painting with low toxicity paint in toddler's room. Refinishing wooden front door. Installation of plexiglass to protect various windows and create a safer environment for a house with 2 year old twins. Electrical work including installing smoke detectors, changing outlet s and basically a update of the original (?) 1924 wiring. Roofing/ leak repair. Other misc handy man type of small repairs.

Category electrician, handyman service, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home security systems, woodworking, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your post. We do try and do the best work possible.
5.0

01/05/2012


Carl S.

As a follow-up to a previous project, I asked American Classic Construction to build a storage building. I looked at other well known companies in the area and decided to have American Classic Construction do the work as Mr. Lubran had advised that his company could make the storage building match the recently completed guest house. I was very glad that I went with Mr. Lubran's company. Not only did the finished building look like the the other building, but the whole project took less than 1 week. Mr. Lubran's company didn't skip anything. Without interior walls, it is easy to see the quality of the framing which is normally covered up.

Description of Work
Designed and built a 200 square foot storage building to match previously built guest house.

Category remodeling, garage builders, home builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your post.
5.0

01/05/2012


Carl S.

As the trustee for the estate, satisfying this elderly couple was very difficult and challenging. American Classic Construction did an excellent job of listening to the requirements and then coming up with a design that even matched their furniture. As one of the couple was ill, Mr. Lubran made sure that the permits were obtained in a matter of weeks, despite several significant obstacles they had to overcome. Actual construction took only six weeks from start to finish which was much faster than I expected. The overall finished quality was superb including attention to details I have not seen in other contractors. For the money paid, when considering the requirements imposed, I think the end result also showed very good value.

Description of Work
Designed and built a 1,800 square foot guest home for an elderly couple including new electrical and sewer systems. New home incorporated wide corridors and ramps to make getting around easier.

Category electrician, remodeling, home builders, sewer cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting your response and taking the time to include details our future clients might find helpful.
5.0

01/02/2012


joanne W.

It went amazingly well. Mr. Lubran continues to be of great help to me when I call him with a concern.. He takes care of everything. When he says "not to worry," he really means it. He solved all issues in a timely manner, and I never had to "worry." Mr. Lubran is extremely professional and very knowledgeable in all aspects of construction. He always took the time to explain to me what the issues were and what my options were. Above all, he always responded to my calls and e-mails the same day. You will be more than satisfied with his work. My entire hillside had to be "remodeled," and he did it! Above all, Mr. Lubran is a gentleman and a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
I was required by the city of Los Angeles to put my hillside back to it's original slope. This required the removal of over 250 railroad ties that provided walls, stairs to access the hill, and large planter boxes for mature fruit trees. It also required the removal of and construction of a new chicken coop and garden house. Before starting any reconstruction on the hillside, Mr. Lubran presented me with a thorough assessment of what needed to be done in order to bring my slope into compliance with the Los Angeles building and grading codes. The entire project was started in May 2010 and was completed in January 2011. He consulted with several engineers regarding the angle of the slope before any grading began. He also researched the property and found that there had been a landslide on it previous to my ownership. He had a soils engineer do a thorough report and resolved this issue with the city. The project included regrading the entire hill; building retaining walls to hold the slope; installing a drainage system to remove excess ground water during winter rain storms; putting in an irrigation system for the entire hill; replanting the entire hillside; replacing the grass in the backyard; moving and replanting five banana trees and 20 blueberry bushes; installing a lighting system for the entire hill; installing a fountain; building two sets of stairs, one fifty feet in length and one 75 feet, to provide access to the upper slope; building a sitting area with a view of the valley below; painting the entire exterior of the house, installing five foot redwood fencing on both sides of my property, and many other things that turned what could have been a daunting task into the most amazing and beautiful yard that is safe, secure, and will stand the test of time. Mr. Lubran did an outstanding job securing all the necessary permits; consulting with the building inspectors; and resolving the many issues that came up as the project moved along.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, landscaping, lighting, remodeling, garage builders, drain pipe, structural engineer, fountains

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting. As you know, your project was very interesting and we are pleased the project concluded as well as it did.
3.0

05/01/2010


Robert W.

New electrical outlets were installed and the older electrical service to the house was grounded. This work was all done well but the electrician didn't speak much English and he couldn't understand our instructions about how to disarm the alarm system. He set it off twice. Next was the closing up of the walls and ceiling. We had some issues here because the plaster work and paint were pretty sloppy and the crew wound up having to come back to redo some of it. Their second attempt was much better but they still left a couple of small, sloppy spots where the shower stall tile meets the wall. I decided to fix it myself. The plumbers returned to install the new pedestal sink, the shower valve and re-install the toilet. Some insulation under the house, which they had to remove to do their work, was not replaced and they left a big hole that they had dug under the house to access the sewer line. I went under the house and finished these two jobs myself. The last job was the glass shower enclosure. This turned into quite a fiasco because, although they measured on two separate occasions, the cuts for the frame were done incorrectly and had to be reordered. This caused a nearly three week delay. We thought that was crazy since the manufacturer is local. We had also added a brushed nickel frame rather than chrome and narrow reeded glass instead of clear glass. The work was done well but the enclosure seemed rather mid grade and the original $1,500 cost was increased to $2,500 by the brushed nickel frame and special glass. We felt that this was a little excessive, even for a custom enclosure.... a very small one. Most irritating was the fact that this small "six week" job took eleven weeks to complete. We were obviously sandwiched between other, more profitable jobs, so there were many days on which no work was done. We understood that completely but, still, eleven weeks for an original six week schedule on such a small project seemed a little unreasonable. Nevertheless, the final product is quite nice. Our contractor was very willing to make everything right. We just wish that the whole process had been a lot smoother and shorter. With some stricter ground rules up front, in writing and, perhaps, more careful selection of a couple sub-contractors, we might have avoided some frustration. As mentioned, though, the finished bathroom is very nice.

Description of Work
We contacted American Classic Construction in December, 2009 based on the recommendation of a plumber who had already done work for us, and a favorable report on Angie's List. The project would call for remodeling of a 50's vintage, small 3/4 bathroom. We would need the demolition of an old walled in shower stall, a built in wall cabinet and a non - functional cove, plus opening up another wall for the replacement of all existing plumbing. This would be followed by the construction of a new, glassed in and fully tiled shower stall, along with a new pedestal sink to replace an old vanity, new electrical outlets and lighting, and a new tile floor. We signed an initial contract with contractor, Martin Lubran, in December, 2009 for the drawing up of plans and for securing permits. In February, 2010 we signed a final contract for the actual construction. The agreement called for a 45 day schedule, including extra time for unforeseen delays. We purchased our own bath and floor tile plus all fixtures, so the contract was for construction only. The demolition began about February 1st, when we encountered our first problem. The walls of our home are made of concrete board and plaster, with additional concrete and steel mesh in the old shower stall. The demo crew tried to break the walls away with hammer and chisel, pounding away with enough force to cause damage to the walls in the adjoining bathroom and hallway before they realized that they were going to need a concrete cutting tool. So, we would up with some unnecessary damage that would need to be repaired later. The plumbing work was performed by the crew who had done previous work for us and that work went mostly well. Since the wall was already open we decided to go ahead and replace the plumbing in the adjoining bathroom, as well, to the sinks and toilets in both bathrooms, all the way to the sewer line under the house. All of this work was approved by the building inspector, but we had a couple of small problems. The chrome drain pipe trim under the pedestal sink did not fit properly so there was a gap of about an inch between the trim and the wall. The chrome cover in the new shower stall drain could not be screwed down properly because the drain assembly was installed 90 degrees off axis and then cemented in place, so that the screw holes did not line up properly. After the water supply was turned back on, a joint in the new copper plumbing started leaking under the house for several days before I discovered it. The plumbers came out immediately and repaired the leak. No damage done. The new shower pan and tile work were both done expertly, as well as the new tile floor. We had to remove the older sub floor and replace it with materials strong enough to support the terra cotta tile. All well done.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, structural engineer, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

The member did a good job of relating his experiences. However, we believe it is important to note that the project delay was not based on our other work but rather both additional work approved by the member and the shower door vendor who, although the largest in Southern California, did not respond in a timely fashion to our more than thirty phone calls. The other concerns the member had were all finished to his satisfaction, including repairing any damage as a result of the demolition. We have other plumbers but in this case we used the plumber that the client wanted and so we did the best we could to have this plumber perform to our standards. This plumber had done work for us in the past without issues but not for several years. As the member commented, the end result was to his satisfaction and although the process could have been smoother, we did make sure that all issues the member brought to our attention were resolved as quickly as possible.
5.0

03/20/2009


MINDELL S.

They were very patient, thorough, they did a lot of trouble shooting and were able to save me money in various parts of the project.

Description of Work
They expanded the kitchen and patio.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response and your continued efforts to recommend us.
5.0

02/14/2007


randy M.

The contractor for this job was a very interesting guy. His name was Martin. He had his men here working everyday but during the whole five months, I probably only saw him about five times. I thought he should have been here a little more than that. Other than that, everything is going good for us and everything seems to be fine. The workers were very nice and I would hire them again. As far as pricing that is kind of between American Classic and I.

Description of Work
American Classic Construction installed a water heater, replaced my roof, hung some drywall and did a few other little odds and ends for me that consisted of a five month project. They did all of this in my four bedroom home.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

THANKS FOR THE INPUT. WITH BUSY CLIENTS, WE TRY NOT TO BE TOO INTRUSIVE WHICH MIGHT EXPLAIN HOW INFREQUENTLY MANAGEMENT APPEARS TO BE SEEN EVEN THOUGH WE CAREFULLY MONITOR ALL ASPECTS OF THE PROJECT AS OFTEN AS NEEDED. WE STRIVE FOR A SATISFIED CLIENT AS THE END RESULT.
5.0

01/04/2005


BILL P.

WE WERE EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH HIM AND HIS SUBCONTRACTORS.

Description of Work
GENERAL CONTRACTOR FOR ADD-ON REMODELING OF HOME.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting your experience.

    Other local Pros in your area

    All About Fountains

    *** Note: Please do not use phone number listed above call us direct at 818 368 1251 *** Fountain Cleaning and Repair Service. Privately owned and operated for over 10 years.  

    Angi Certified

    Rainbow International of Simi Valley

    Established in 1981, Rainbow Restoration® offers home restoration, commercial restoration and carpet cleaning services through over 400 locations worldwide. Our restoration services cover fire damage restoration, water damage restoration, mold removal, smoke damage restoration, and more. When disaster strikes you can rely on rapid and professional restoration service from Rainbow International. Our service locations are on call 24-hours a day, seven days a week. Rainbow International is fully certified by the Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification. The IICRC has served as the industry guardian for inspection, restoration and cleaning services for over 30 years.  

    Angi Certified

    Elite Rooter

    Elite Rooter is a local licensed plumbing services company offering professional, reliable and friendly plumbers. We never charge trip fees, estimates are always free and we have special offers on drain cleaning.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    746078
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    American Classic Construction Inc can perform all phases from design through finish of Residential & Commercial construction. We are experienced at remodeling any area, adding new space, repairing any component of a structure, preparing homes for sale or renovating newly purchased homes. Our clients sometimes need us to complete our work very quickly but always while maintaining quality and conforming to all applicable building codes.

    Services Not Offered

    .

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC.

    How is AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. overall rated?

    AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. open?

    AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. provide

    AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offer free estimates?

    Yes, AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offers free project estimates.

    Does AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offer a senior discount?

    No, AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC.?

    No, AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. does not offer warranties.

    What services does AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offer?

    AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. offers the following services: American Classic Construction Inc can perform all phases from design through finish of Residential & Commercial construction. We are experienced at remodeling any area, adding new space, repairing any component of a structure, preparing homes for sale or renovating newly purchased homes. Our clients sometimes need us to complete our work very quickly but always while maintaining quality and conforming to all applicable building codes.

    Are there any services AMERICAN CLASSIC CONSTRUCTION INC. does not offer?

    .