Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES

Founded 1996 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2829 CASTRO VALLEY BLVD

Castro Valley, CA 94546

Description

Leading San Francisco Bay Area General Contractor A+ Rated By BBB. Additions, remodels, baths, kitchens, dry rot repair, foundations, glass railings, deck build and repair, stucco new and repair, patio sun rooms, drainage, plans, permits, engineering, waterproof decks, drainage, moisture barriers

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/11/2018


David D.

A great job on a complicated mid-sized ($100,000 range) bath renovation project. I will hire them again. The project was to gut and completely renovate/rebuild two full baths as well as make cosmetic improvements to two additional baths. This involved relocating walls, floors, electrical and plumbing in addition to extensive finish carpentry and tile work. I have a large single-family house in the Castro neighborhood of San Francisco that was built in 1885 and substantially expanded, modified and renovated over the years. Although the house is in good shape, it is old – floors and walls are not plumb, general construction, plumbing, electrical and seismic standards are from years long past and access to many work areas is difficult. All of this made the project far more complex than a bath renovation in a house built in the last several decades might be. The scope of the work involved: demolition of bathrooms (including walls, floors and ceilings), roof and exterior wall water damage repairs, seismic upgrades, rough and finish plumbing, rough and finish electrical, extensive Rough and finish carpentry (walls, floors, doors, moldings, etc.), extensive tiling, hardwood floor installation, bathroom fixture installation, painting as well as the city permit and inspection process. Golden Gate handled all of these. The project took about 4 ½ months with a constant crew of two or three guys as well as specialty sub-contractors coming in from time to time. Although the time frame seemed long, in hindsight I cannot see how it could have moved dramatically faster. Paul (the business owner), Steve (the on-site project manager) and his crew were all reliable, honest and very easy to work with. The gut renovation of two of the bathrooms (80% of the project) was based on a fairly detailed drawing/plan. Once the demolition occurred and the underlying structure was understood, the original plan had to be modified to reflect these conditions. Steve was very good at understanding both my functional and esthetic visions of the finished space and coming up with sound ways of achieving them. When I compare the initial plans to the finished result, they are remarkably close (no easy feat in a 130-year-old house). Working with Paul to understand and agree upon the cost of these and other changes made to the plan along the way was quite straight forward. It was easy to work with these guys. I lived in the house while the work was going on. The crew always showed up when they said they would. They were respectful and careful with my property and were reasonably clean. The one isolated mishap (some wallpaper damage) was replaced at Golden Gates expense without argument. Pros - Great finished result - Fair price - Easy to work with - Reliable, responsible and professional - Good communication - Creative problem solvers - Managed city permit process very well Cons - Not as familiar with San Francisco inspection process as they could be - Small organization so there is not a lot of backup Getting contractors to do mid-sized renovations in San Francisco is not easy. I spoke with seven contractors. Five declined to even consider the project because it was too small (under $250,000). Of the two that bid on the project, Golden Gate was less than 70% of the higher bid. This is the third time I have done a significant renovation project (twice in New York City and once in San Francisco). Golden Gate was the fairest and easiest contractor to work with. The project certainly had its frustrations but they were largely with the renovation process and not the renovator. My bathrooms are structurally sound and plumb, they look great, and function perfectly. Every “problem” encountered was resolved reasonably and in a reasonable time frame. And, I feel as though I paid a fair price. Golden Gate Enterprises has a robust website. It will give you a very accurate sense of Paul Gordon and what to expect from their work (especially the You-Tube videos.

Description of Work
General and Bathroom Renovation

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/11/2018


Emanuel O.

Working with Paul, Steve, Felipe and Franco was an awesome experience. Exceptional talent and dedication to work and craftsmanship. Finding a good contractor is always stressful, and therefore lies many unknowns. Paul and Steve took us under their wings and guided us with what our final vision was--The finished project was exceptional, and we are very happy!! My wife and I got really lucky with Golden Gate Enterprises.

Description of Work
New addition to existing home

Category decks, remodeling, deck cleaning, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, mudjacking

2.0

09/23/2015


ASYA K.

Description of Work
Everything was great until I have asked for references and not a word for months and then he sends me an email asking me when he can start work. The nerve!! I have already hired some one else.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] you have us confused with someone else..we do not do exterior house painting. 3 years ago you had asked for a rough estimate on the following Clearly this is not a job we would call up and say can we start needs a contract, plans, engineering etc. Would appreciate if you could please your comments .
5.0

07/26/2015


david T.

We selected Golden Gate to work on renovating the balcony of a newly purchased apartment. The owner Paul came out and explained how the project should be done correctly, so that it not only meet all safety requirements but also last for a long time to come. Paul also explained the process clearly as well as the uncertainty associated with it. His crew are also very professional and worked on the project expeditiously. Paul also acted as a general contractor at time to coordinate with other renovation projects that was going on around the same time and provided timely advice on how they should be done correctly to prevent future problems. We ran into a few surprises along the way and the final cost of the project did end up to be a lot more than what we expected. Summary of my review is that Golden Gate is an expert in balcony repair but that is a cost associated with that level of experience and expertise and the peace of mind that comes with it. We would hire Golden Gate for this type of work again.

Description of Work
Balcony Renovation

Category decks, remodeling, house painters

5.0

12/30/2014


Denise P.

Long process but worth it in the end.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of kitchen, water damage under house, new girders and jacks, raised living room floor, new living room windows, remodeled master bath and bedroom, added walk in tub in first bathroom.

Category remodeling, water damage restoration, architect, home remodeling, mudjacking

5.0

04/03/2014


Alexey A.

Paul Gordon, with his workers Sal Rodriguez and painter Joseph Lopez, performed outstanding work to address major dry rot and termite damage to two exterior walls and to structural members in the crawl space. Most importantly, they spent time to determine the root cause and address with a long term solution. Due to various factors, some of which were out of their control, the project took longer than expected. Despite the delay, the project cost remained in control, and the quality was flawless.

Description of Work
Performed work to address dry rot and termite damage in crawl space, cripple wall, and exterior wall framing. Added various features to prevent future occurrences of these problems. Performed a earthquake retrofit in the foundation and crawl space. Added a vapor barrier to reduce moisture in crawl space. Re-stuccoed exterior walls, and re-painted.

Category remodeling, house painters, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

    Other local Pros in your area

    Souza & Sons Inc

    Souza & Son’s Inc is a family owned business, that designs and installs driveways, patios, walkways, pool decks, walls, steps, and more! We work with interlocking pavers and segmental retaining wall blocks. We also install synthetic turf for lawns. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all of the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Cuevas Lumber & Fence

    We are here to meet all your building needs, whether you need fencing, decking, arbors, trellises, walls, gates or other outdoor construction. We have over 30 years of combined experience and will work with you on all phases of design and construction. To beautify your home, contact us now. Our experienced team can get started right away. We will design and build your dream.  

    Angi Certified

    Diamond Pavers

    Welcome! We don't brag around about quality, because we let our quality talk for us. Call us for an FREE estimate. 1-888-610-1762 Or email: jargueta@diamondpavers.com Information we need from you is: Name and address: Best number and time to call: Project information:  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    All contracting services. Leading bay area waterproof deck and dry rot repair specialists.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES

    How is GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES overall rated?

    GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES open?

    GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES provide

    GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offer free estimates?

    Yes, GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offers free project estimates.

    Does GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offer a senior discount?

    No, GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES?

    Yes, GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offers warranties.

    What services does GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offer?

    GOLDEN GATE ENTERPRISES offers the following services: All contracting services. Leading bay area waterproof deck and dry rot repair specialists.