Burns Estate Liquidator LLC

Founded 2013 • With Angi since November 2013

4.8

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Northern California

Carmichael, CA 95648

Description

If you are looking to downsize, simplify or have experienced the unexpected, we are here to help. Our goal is to help you reduce, recycle or reclaim a home. Contact us for an appointment at your convenience. Our company provides a full service liquidation including buying and selling of all

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/05/2022


Anthony M.

…..Recently, we started the process of interviewing people for our estate sale. The one who stood out the most, was Susanne Burns. When we sat down to interview her, she was prepared with all of her documentation, which included her being licensed, bonded and many recommendations. After evaluating our house, she stated she would takes us on as a new client. Susanne is very upfront and honest. She’s been doing estate sales for over 20+ years and as you get to know her, her expertise comes through. She is willing to work with your needs and even showed up when we had a faulty sensor setting off the burglar alarm. Upon signing her contract, we agreed to a partnership and that everything would now be fifty percent hers. We also agreed to be out of the house for approximately 5 weeks for her to individually research and price each item as well as arrange the house for the sale. At the time, we thought that 5 weeks was a little long and didn’t quite understand why she needed all this time. About a week before the sale, Susanne showed us the website she had for the property and how everything was displayed, with a price tag on every item! Susanne has a huge following and guaranteed a lot of traffic and exposure for the sale. During the sale, she strongly recommended that we did not come by and just let her and her staff do their thing. We put our complete trust in them. We were updated after each day with sales totals. A few days after the three day estate sale, we met with Susanne at the house. As she had stated previously, she verified that the house would be emptied within that week, with all remaining items to be donated to charity and if anything else was left, hauled off in a dumpster. She presented us with a check of the profits and all of the receipts form ever single item sold. Very impressive! Then we were presented with donations slips, and with a breakdown of all the items to be donated. After having a bad experience with an estate sale in the past, I was a little unsure on how this experience was going to turn out. All I can say is to let Susanne take over and do what she does best and you will be very happy with her results! I can’t stop thanking her enough for the whole experience and even my tax person is impressed by her thoroughness! Anthony Madieros

Description of Work
Estate Sale

Category jewelry appraisal, furniture sales, car sales, antiques, muralist

5.0

09/04/2020


Michael G.

If there was an A++++ rating I would be giving it! Susanne Burns was referred to me by my father's jeweler Sid Curtis. My sister and I are so beyond grateful for this introduction. My father passed away in April of this year and we were so overwhelmed by everything in his house. From the minute we first spoke, I immediately knew I had found the perfect person to help us through this process. She was so honest, professional, thorough, and all while being sensitive to the emotional struggle my sister and I were going through after having lost our father. Not only did she coach us through the process of going through everything in our father's home, but she prepared us for emotional ups and downs of each stage of the process throughout the setup and finalization of the estate sale. Susanne and Emily followed through on everything we discussed with no detail left out. They helped turn a very overwhelming endeavor into a seamless and cathartic process by which we were able to properly say good-bye to the contents of our father's home, while keeping the things that are/were most sentimentally important to us, as we prepared to sell the house. And there is no way we would be ready to sell the home had we not met Susanne and Emily. I cannot emphasize enough, if you are in need of an estate sale, Burns Estate Liquidators are hands down the one and only phone call you need to make. Thank you Thank you Thank you!🙏☺️

Description of Work
Estate Liquidation

Category jewelry appraisal, furniture sales, furs, appliance sales, antiques, muralist, home staging

5.0

07/18/2020


Sharla H.

It was a daunting task, my mother's victorian 3 story house of clutter, hoarding, antiques, memories...you name it. Susanne and Gary and their team were professional, efficient, knowledgeable and kind. They provided accounting and documentation throughout the process and explained procedures. Susanne was able to encourage me to keep the memories of things I didn't need and let them go which was difficult for me to do after my mom passed away. They had items appraised and contacted potential buyers for items to presale, provided advertising for the estate sale weekend and basically took care of everything! I would hire them again in a heart beat! Many thanks!!!

Description of Work
Sorting, organizing and selling 3 stories of things acquired over a lifetime!

Category jewelry appraisal, furniture sales, home & garage organization, appliance sales, antiques, muralist, auction services, home staging, gun shop

Service Provider Response

Sweet Kind [Member Name Removed]~ Thank you for blessing our firm with such a kind review! You were a joy to work for and with. I remember the task was a total team effort. You did so much to honor your Mom. Be Healthy, Susanne Burns
5.0

06/10/2019


Marlene M.

My family and I interviewed multiple companies when it came time to liquidate our parent's home. Susanne Burns and her team exemplified professionalism from her initial presentation, walk-through and assessment through the end of the sale. She explained every step of the process and even offered up questions for us to ask competitors to ensure that we chose a reputable firm. Our parents had 45 years of accumulated antiques, collectibles and specialty items requiring a great deal of research. The Burns team had the knowledge, experience and expertise to accurately appraise our belongings and assign appropriate values. The event was very well run, organized and well-advertised. Selling a loved one's possessions is an emotional time and the Burns team was so respectful, considerate and caring of our family heirlooms and prized possessions. They did an amazing job of cleaning and staging the home, leading to a very successful sale. They were also very security conscious. They arranged for a charity and hauling service to remove unsold items thus leaving the house empty, clean and ready to put on the market. It was a tremendous relief to be able to put this daunting task into the hands of a this very trustworthy company. Our sincere thanks to Burns Estate Liquidator for the success of our estate sale. --The McCarthys

Description of Work
Estate Liquidation Sale

Category jewelry appraisal, furniture sales, antiques, auction services, home staging

5.0

11/05/2018


Linda L.

Susanne and her team were professional and skilled. I cannot emphasize enough how incredible they were during an overwhelming and emotional time. The attention to detail was paramount, all of the organization, display, advertising and the way the process was handled from start to finish was beyond expectation. Thank you Susanne for your expertise, kindness and hard work - you and your company are absolutely the best!

Description of Work
Estate sale services

Category auction services

5.0

09/21/2018


Margo B.

We were extremely impressed with the respectful, compassionate and professional way that Susanna Burns and her team handled the estate sale for our family. From the initial presentation to the final day, she was thoughtful and fair in all her dealings. The preparation for the sale was very thorough. The appealing display of all the items and pricing clearly was what made the sale a huge success. We very very pleased with the final outcome and would recommend her without question.

Description of Work
Estate Sale

Category auction services

5.0

09/11/2018


Dorothy B.

Everything was handled efficiently. Susanna Burns knows who to call for donations and to haul stuff away. She tries to get maximum price for your items. She is a very shrewd businesswoman and will get the job done without your having to do anything. I was unable to assist in the disposal of my household stuff and I was happy to have someone take over and relieve me of the stress.

Description of Work
Needed whole house of clothes and furniture to be disposed of and junk to be discarded.

Category furniture sales, furs, home & garage organization, muralist, home staging

5.0

09/06/2018


Gina W.

Excellent! Suzanne and Terese were an amazing pair! They were a lifesaver. I can't express enough how much we owe them. We had 20 years of "stuff" accumulated. It was such a blessing to turn things over to them and not worry about anything. They were also excellent communicators. Anytime they had a question they would contact us and not just assume. We give them our highest recommendation. There is no way we could accomplish what these amazing could do. It is nice working with folks that are so ethical. I felt so strongly about them and there skills I referred them my friend Robert when he needed to have an estate sale. He also raved about Suzanne and here team!

Description of Work
Estate Sale for moving preparation

Category furniture sales, home & garage organization, appliance sales, auction services

1.0

04/13/2018


Linda D.

It was one of the worst experiences we have ever had. The company owner seemed very professional when we interviewed her, particularly in comparison to other estate liquidators we interviewed. We explained that we needed to sleep in our home at night but at her request, would leave during the hours she and her helpers were arranging, pricing and holding the sale. She actually did not want us to stay in our home at all, and repeatedly reminded us of what a favor she was doing for us by letting us stay in the house at night. When we interviewed her, she said that she often would find treasures that she would ask the owners if they intended those types of items to be sold, and if the owners did not want them sold, she would return the items. A few days before the sale was to start, she posted the items for sale on her website - our son was reviewing the website and alerted us that his class ring was being sold. Susanne Burns, the owner, apparently found the class ring in our son's former room, did not alert us to the find - when we contacted her about the ring, she finally said we could have it back, but not before she told us about how much she expected to gain from selling the ring and asking how she was to explain to potential buyers who were coming to see the ring that it was no longer for sale. She reminded us of this several times during the short period of time we had to deal with her. On the last day of the sale, she permitted a buyer to dismantle and remove two wardrobes that were attached to the walls of an upstairs storage closet. When asked why she did not contact us, she said she thought she was doing us a favor by having the wardrobes removed. Who would have thought that built-ins were fair game in her mind. When Susanne Burns came to our house to pick up the key in advance of her work to get ready for the sale, she made a big point of going through the house to point out pre-existing damage, but when we pointed out that the removal of the wardrobes had done significant damage to the walls of the storage closet, she told my husband and I that it could be fixed with a little patching and paint. She did not volunteer to do the work, and since our realtor was having an open house in a few days, we tried to find a handyman to do the job. The cost would have been over $400.00 for time and supplies, except, the handyman was busy and could not get the work done prior to the open house. We did the work ourselves, which took most of a day. Susanne paid for the paint, and never apologize for the extra work it took for us to clean up the damage to the walls or for removal of the wardrobes. Susanne claims to discover and market all items, except those that she by her contract can throw away. When she was done with our sale, we found two drawers full of collectible items that had not ever been put out for the sale. Because we were leaving the area at the beginning of April, all of those things went into the trash. Most offensive throughout, were the repetition of her telling us what a favor she had done us to let us sleep at night in our own house and how grateful we should be that she returned our son's class ring.

Description of Work
Downsizing our home of 39 years, and we needed to have a downsizing sale.

Category furniture sales, furs, appliance sales, antiques, muralist

Service Provider Response

This review of my company & crew has me mystified & very saddened. In all of my interactions with [Member Name Removed] during consultation & afterwards, I made every effort to communicate with her how my company operates in this difficult environment & how my company strives to provide the best service to both our clients & customers. The key to a successful estate sale is honest and open communication between consultant & client. During the initial consultation phase of this process--much like a realtor will perform--we walk through the home to identify any concerns the homeowner may have as well as any possible safety issues we may see. The purpose of this is twofold: 1) We identify and agree as to which fixtures (attached and otherwise) are to be sold as part of the sale; and 2) We ensure the client and ourselves that we are doing everything possible to prevent damage to the home or shoppers as they move throughout the sale. At this stage--should we agree to work together--we then draw up a contract that binds both consultant and client. Every contract includes an addendum in which the client lists all exceptions to the sale; this will include items not to be sold below a certain amount, items to remain in the home until a certain time, etc. [Member Name Removed]'s contract included an addendum with13 exceptions. Just as a point of reference, my typical addendum has one. The particle-board closet inserts were NOT included in [Member Name Removed]'s addendum; therefore, I understood them to be in the sale. Because I have had California Closets in my homes before, there is no question that these where from some other vendor--possibly a big box home store. I have photos to show there was one anchor screw to keep the cabinet from falling over. The realtor said he was thrilled to see the open space in this make shift storage area. He also informed me he had to fire the client, a friendship since elementary school. As I began to work through the home during the discovery phase, it became evident that my client was under a great deal of stress with an international move & leaving a home she had lived in for nearly 40 years. In an effort to help her, I offered to move her sale forward even if that meant I would need to completely rearrange my estate sale calendar & staffing needs. She did accept this offer, and I then worked with singular purpose to make sure the sale would be ready, which it was in record time. Often during discovery, we will find items that the client may have lost somewhere in the home. However, as these items are now considered part of the contract, I can reserve the right to sell them in the sale. All valuables & smalls are locked in a case overnight so that I can assure all parties that nothing has gone missing during my custody of the home or items. When this client "demanded" the ring back, after politely explaining its value to the sale, I allowed her to take it freely along with some other minor items. As I do with every sale I conduct, at the end of a sale day, I provided [Member Name Removed] with a sales recap for that day. Hers was a three-day sale, and after the first two days her responses to me were that my company performance was "stellar." At the end of the three days, my company had exceeded our sales goals & performed according to our contract. I always provide duplicate receipts for all items purchased in the home. The garage is part of the sale but operated more generally as a typical "garage sale." After being in the business for 12 years, I have a very good idea of what to expect in sales from the garage. This sale was no different from any other sale--and yet our garage sales were very robust and contributed greatly to the success of this estate liquidation. I have no doubt that I could not have squeezed more juice from that lemon! And, writing up receipts for every item sold in the garage would have required one more staff person in the garage, which would have increased my cost to the client. Again, in an effort to exceed her expectations, I decided that wasn't necessary. No two estate sales are ever the same. To state this is not an exaggeration or an understatement. No two families or homes is alike, either. In every situation, the job of the liquidation consultant is to listen to the client and offer ways to assist them in their life journey. This requires patience and understanding, and a great deal of flexibility. In this clients case, I worked to satisfy her needs & wishes by: * Moving the sale up one week & rearranging my calendar and staffing. * Allowing the removal of the class ring & other minor items from the sale. * Providing booties for customers on sale days in order to protect the carpets even though she was scheduled to have them cleaned afterwards. * Selling her bed, washer/dryer, Bose radio and refrigerator without allowing the buyers to pick these items up for one full month after the sale so that my client could continue to use them prior to her move overseas. Finally, at the point this client was concerned about the wall where the particle-board closets were located, I simply asked her to provide me with the receipt for repairing the two small anchor screws, and I did reimburse her for that cost. This experience has taught me that being flexible with a client is one thing but turning an unhappy individual into a happy one is not in my power.
5.0

07/13/2017


Pamela K.

We wholeheartedly endorse Burns Estate Liquidators. Susanne Burns is a consummate professional who is also a joy to work with. We recognized and valued her expertise in appraisals, patience, fairness, advisement and transparency throughout the transaction. She packed up all of the outgoing items with extreme care and efficiency and even hauled numerous charity items to a local charity for us, returning to us a donation receipt. Highly responsive to the urgency of our situation, Susanne liquidated our home immediately after we'd spoken. She was "on the job" the very next day! At the end of a long and exhausting day of packing, Susanne patiently appraised my jewelry and paid fairly for that too. We could not imagine better service than that which we experienced with Burns Estate Liquidators.

Description of Work
Burns Estate Liquidators was recommended to us by our trusted realtor, who specializes in the luxury housing market in Sacramento. Our house sale was moving speedily towards a very rapid close date. Relocating from a large home packed with furniture, art, furnishings and collectibles to one having a much smaller footprint with no lead time to plan or execute an estate sale presented significant challenges and stresses for us. Susanne Burns saved the day by liquidating our home without an estate sale event, purchasing all of the items at fair price that we didn't want to travel.

Category jewelry appraisal, auction services

5.0

06/09/2017


Stacy T.

It went great and she provided peace of mind to me with all of her guidance, which was priceless!

Description of Work
Susanne Burns provided Estate Sale information for every step of the process and was so professional and detailed. I highly recommend her services as she knows her business when it comes to Estate Sales and takes over the entire process for you!

Category jewelry appraisal, auction services, home staging

5.0

04/26/2017


Kelly B.

It went great! Even taking 50%, they got us more money than we would have received if we had kept 100% of a one day garage sale. Plus, we didn't lift a finger. They are professional, knowledgeable, hard-working... and very nice people. I highly recommend Burns Estate Liquidator.

Description of Work
I did not have the time to handle my late father's estate, so I called Susanne and Erika. They went through everything, including a multitude of dusty boxes in the garage. The cleaned, staged and priced every item. They held a 3-day sale and brought in their "regulars" from outside the area. The house was packed with people. Afterwards, they gave me detailed invoices of every item sold and arranged for various charities to pickup the remainder. When they gave me my keys back, the house was spotless.

Category jewelry appraisal, auction services, home staging

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure helping you and your precious family! It takes a team to produce a successful estate sale; you and your family did everything we asked. Thank you for the opportunity to grow my small independent business. Thank you for moving The American Cancer Society in a positive direction. Most of all, thank you for being excellent human beings! Your Mom and Dad are smilin' from heaven.
5.0

01/31/2017


Karen W.

Very good, excellent experience, very professional and helpful!

Description of Work
Sold some silver, very helpful with other appraisal questions.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure helping you!
5.0

07/19/2016


John A.

The process went extremely well. The Burns team were very professional, the house was staged in a manner that was inviting, and the actual sale process was very well organized. The Burns team knows the business, and was sensitive to the customer and the liquidation process, since this can be an emotional aspect in parting with sentimental items etc.

Description of Work
Estate Liquidation

Category jewelry appraisal, auction services, home staging

5.0

04/11/2016


Mark O.

We received excellent service from Burns Estate Liquidators. Susanne is very well-organized and a true professional at what she does. She's completely trustworthy, very knowledgeable of a wide variety of items, plus orchestrated a wonderful sale at my home. They staged the items for sale in a very professional manor and in the best possible way to maximize sales. The final accounting was with-in days of the last item sold, and the check arrived that week. I recommend Burns Estate Liquidators. They did an excellent job for me.

Description of Work
Estate Sale Identify items, catalog items, price items, stage items, promote sale date, sell items, accounting of sales, donate leftover items.

Category auction services, home staging

5.0

04/06/2016


Marlene E.

They advertised and contacted specialized dealers for pre sale. They organized and priced all items for sale, staged the house for best display, They contacted a charity that would pick up unsold items and protect the home in the process. They met with the charity to assure that all unsold items were removed and itemized. We were given an itemized list of the charitable items with their value. They removed the trash and cleaned the house. During the process, they promptly returned calls and kept us informed before the sale, durning and after. Payment was received promptly with an itemized statement as to all items sold. Their service exceeded our expectation and we will definitely refer to our family and friends.

Description of Work
Burns Estate Liquidators made our life so much easier at such a stressful time. They were very organized and professional and explained in detail what they would do for us and they did exactly what they said they would do. Above all, they were HONEST. There were some items that I thought were of no value but, they told me not to throw anything out as it is surprising what people will buy. As it turned out those items were sold pre sale to dealers for a lot of money.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

Dear Mrs. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so kindly for the opportunity to serve your very special Monroni estate. We were honored you chose us; as we know you had many options. Your grace and attention to detail was a true testimony. Thank you for taking the time to honor Burns Estate Liquidator. Our hearts are full with gratitude. Susanne
5.0

12/17/2015


Sarah M.

Suzanne and Erika let us know that we should remove from the house anything that we did not want to sell. Once the contract is signed, 50% of everything becomes theirs. And with good reason. I have never seen two people work so hard in any endeavor. They went through everything, and there was more than any of us knew. Suzanne's husband was the "garage" guy. And when you live on 10 acres in the country, there is a lot of farm equipment and dirt and grime. Every piece of equipment was degreased and cleaned up to look shiny and new. In the house, everything was staged and on display, grouped and priced. Some things hadn't been touched in over 20 years. Walking through my parent's lives, seeing things through a new lens, beautifully displayed, I wanted to buy things I have spent my life with! I learned that an estate liquidation is not a garage sale. Suzanne and Erika are very knowledgable, and very well connected with buyers/collectors, have an extensive following, and know the real value of what we thought were just things. They will go the extra mile to maximize the sale to benefit both parties. Erika's bookkeeping is thorough and we have a receipt for everything sold. It would have taken me a decade to accomplish what they did in two weeks and I would never have known the real value of most of what my parents had acquired. Some might think a 50/50 split isn't fair. I can tell you they are worth far more that what they earned financially. As difficult as the process was for me, Suzanne and Erika were always respectful of my family's history and our possessions, and they took care of me. Each time I visited during the discovery and staging phase, they helped me process more, provided comfort and insight, gave me advice on when to be there and when to stay away for my own sake, and helped me move through it all. We talked about loss, moving on, blessing and letting go. They took the time to get to know my siblings and me, my parents, and our history. I knew returning to an empty house would be hard, but they were there, the house was clean, and again, we talked and processed these last steps. The goal was accomplished....nothing was left for me or my brother to manage. I will become a follower of their estate sales just to stay in touch. Two amazing women...and Mike was pretty OK too!

Description of Work
The thought of managing my parents home once they were both gone has been an overwhelming thought for years. They grew up during the depression, and while they didn't have "a lot", they had a lot that needed to be managed. I found Burns Estate Liquidation and from my first conversation with Suzanne, I knew I would survive. Losing parents is never easy, and when there is no opportunity to begin downsizing, it can become overwhelming. When it was all said and done, the house was empty, everything sold and/or donated to the charity of our choice, and the house was spotlessly clean.

Category interior designers, auction services

Service Provider Response

Dearest [Member Name Removed] I awoke yesterday to your beautiful review on AngiesList. I was so touched and overwhelmed with your heartfelt thanks. It has actually taken me a day to process your sweet sentiments. It is us who has had the honor of working with special people like you and your brother. Clearly, your parents instilled in you grace. You see, when someone actually looks beyond the surface and recognizes all the efforts and energy with true appreciation, that gratitude feeds our souls. Loosing your parents is a void no one can understand until it has happened to them. The idea of downsizing can be daunting or worse when your hand is forced to liquidate you burdens can be so stressful. This delicate precarious situations can leave even the strongest overwhelmed. We find ourselves gravitating to the people and through much effort and energy we gain appreciation for the life well lived and those who are left here on this earth. Having your parents worldly possessions pass through our hands was our pleasure. You were a sound voice of reason and a fundamental foundation in which Erika and I were able to partner with to get the job done. There is no way we could have been as effective as we were without your presence. So it is us who should be thanking you. It was a true partnership and no doubt your parents are smiling from above knowing how well you honored them. Fondly, Susanne
5.0

10/27/2015


Joan R.

The service not only included arranging everything, but they also cleaned up everything afterwards. They are very professional and made the process very easy. I had to move and they handled everything in my absence. I would recommend them highly. The first day of the sale, they had 150 people waiting to come in. They really did a great job advertising and promoting the sale.

Description of Work
The staged an estate sale for me.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] we were thankful to have to opportunity to work with you. You and your late husband Claude, made sales so easy with all the beautiful items from remote parts of the world. We wish you blessings as you continue on this journey we call life! Fondly, Susanne & Erika
5.0

08/12/2015


Jean K.

Description of Work
First and foremost, I was very pleased with the work of Susanne and Erika (and all their helpers). There is absolutely no way I could have done this without their help. They are kind, sensitive and very responsive to individual needs. Anyone that is going through the loss of a parent or loved one, I encourage you to use Burns Estate Liquidators. I met with three different companies, and there was nobody even close to the professionalism that Burns provided. The one area I marked as "low" was price. The commission is 50%, which is high in comparison to other states, BUT...this is the commission for every company that I contacted. It is what it is. I suppose you get what you pay for. One word of advice...please be very sure of what you want to keep long before you even contact the company. We had a small hiccup with some items we wanted to keep, and we never intended to sell. Aside from this, everything went extremely smoothly. Again, this company has my full recommendation.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure discovering, staging, cleaning, pricing & selling your worldly possessions, so you may continue on this journey we call life. We pride ourselves on efforts and energy spent on moving forward and gathering insight for improvement on each estate we produce. We are thankful for the feedback & welcome the education as we call this a "practice". We were so thrilled to have found the missing 18K emerald necklace from Ireland! Honestly, the pleasure was all ours getting to know you both. We hope to keep-in-touch as you embark on your next chapter. Wishing you all the best as you cook your way through the beautiful new friendships & space Columbia has to offer!
5.0

07/12/2015


Dave/Elizabeth N.

Susanne was extremely professional and helpful. She is very knowledgeable and personable to work with. In addition, she was very ethical and straightforward in our interactions. I was very nervous taking my antique sliver to meet with a stranger, but Susanne was very professional and described exactly what would happen that put me at ease. She was wonderful at replying quickly to my emails promptly. I highly recommend her services. She really knows silver, silverplate, and other precious metals.

Description of Work
Susanne examined our silverware and silver pieces to tell us if it was real silver or silverplated. She met us at a location that smelt silver, and conducted the transaction to smelt our silver and silverplate.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

It was my pleasure to help assist you and your husband with your precious metals. Thank you for your business, Susanne
5.0

06/30/2015


Steven D.

Description of Work
Excellent manager for the estate sales I visited

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

Why thank you kind Sir!
5.0

06/18/2015


sue J.

I was astounded at how much work they did to get my parent's house ready for an estate sale. Extremely thorough and professional. My parent's house was jammed full of stuff and they got through it all and organized it - I was amazed at how much we made from the sale

Description of Work
went thru everything in my parent's house - every pocket of every piece of clothing - they checked every nook and cranny for stuff. Organized it and arranged the sale of everything.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

The pleasure was all ours!
5.0

03/21/2015


Lea T.

I was lucky to find Susanne and Erika at a very difficult time, after the death of my mother. Dealing with the contents of her house was complicated because I live out of state. They worked with me from a distance, were flexible with my circumstances, set up in my absence, so when I came to clear her house things were well underway. They were meticulous and businesslike in their work, sorting, categorizing, staging and pricing all of the things. It was beautifully done. And they are lovely people. Working with them was a joy, and I could not have done it without their efficient, professional help, and their sensitivity. When the sale was done, Susanne helped me arrange donating the remaining furniture and other items to worthy causes in the area. It was a great success, and I feel they went above and beyond the call of duty. Estate sale fees are high -- 50% is average -- but when I saw what they did, and what a lot of work it was, I felt they more than earned it. Also, estate liquidators are unregulated, so you can't be sure what you are getting into without solid referrals. Susanne and Erika, in my experience, are conscientious, honest and completely trustworthy. They know the territory well, whether the items are "smalls" or antiques. I hIghly recommended them.

Description of Work
Ran a successful estate sale.

Category auction services

Service Provider Response

The pleasure was all ours and we thank you for you efforts to make your Mother's sale a success!
5.0

10/01/2014


William K.

My husband (Bill) and I hired Susanne & Erika Burns from Burns Estate Liquidators to help us downsize from 3,500 square feet to 2,000. We were downsizing for retirement. Every inch of our home was decorated with high-end decorator furniture and objects of art. To say this was an emotional and stressful time in our lives would be an understatement. But Susanne and Erika were (are) the epitome of grace and professionalism. From the first meeting through the end of the liquidation we felt comfortable, supported and 100% sure that we were making the right decision— not only to downsize, but also to hire Susanne & Erika. I can't tell you in this review the peace of mind they brought to this transitional time in our lives. It is with pleasure and without a moment's hesitation that Bill and I recommend Susanne & ErikaBurns. One other item of note. Our liquidation was a smashing success. The amount of money we garnered exceeded our expectations by thousands of dollars.

Description of Work
Professionally assessed and appraised our belongings to maximize sale price Marketed specialty items and artwork to special interest groups and collectors (e.g. boaters, construction, art collectors, etc.) This included transporting some items for private viewings from Fair Oaks to San Francisco. Extensively advertised our liquidation through online postings (estatesales.net and estatesales.org), direct emails and phone calls to her clientele, and street signage. Organized, individually priced, and artfully staged our belongings Staffed and managed the 3 day liquidation with professionalism, efficiency, and style Managed one (only one) difficult and inebriated client who returned after purchasing an item— threatening physical assault if a refund was not promptly offered. Client's who were in our home at the time were so impressed with Susanne's demeanor and professionalism that they not only commented on her "grace under pressure" but also wrote detailed notes of what they saw and heard for authorities. Cleaned-up after the sale, boxed items that were not sold, and arranged for charitable organization to pick them up Promptly paid us 1 day after the sale with detailed list of each item sold with sale price.

Category jewelry appraisal, auction services

Service Provider Response

The pleasure was all our's. Thank you for your efforts and energy devoted to the project. Nothing would have been realized had it not been for the two of you.
5.0

06/27/2014


Brenda G.

Description of Work
.

Category

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review Burns Estate Liquidator on Angie's List. Your patronage is a blessing to our business. We appreciate your efforts! Fondly, Susanne Burns Estate Liquidator

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Tailored Closet and Premier Garage

    As your local organizational specialists, The Tailored Closet and PremierGarage is dedicated to providing outstanding service and personalized organization solutions to fit your home and lifestyle. Let us help you find the best storage solutions for your home and garage. Call now for your free in-home consultation. We look forward to meeting you! Our goal is to help people make the most of their space through home organization. We design cabinetry for closets, offices, garages, pantries, or just about anywhere. The real beauty of our solution is how we first design it on our custom 3D CAD program tailoring the design how you want. We also have an exclusive relationship with Sika for garage flooring. We use their industrial grade materials similar to those used at Boeing. If you’re interested, reach out to us and we will gladly help!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Real Estate Auctions
    Furniture - Sales
    Artwork/Murals
    Antiques
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Management of entire liquidation process including but not limited to: appraisals, precious metal trading, historical referencing, staging, clean up, private and public sales http://www.marketwatch.com/story/10-things-estate-sales-wont-tell-you-2013-06-14?pagenumber=1

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Burns Estate Liquidator LLC

    How is Burns Estate Liquidator LLC overall rated?

    Burns Estate Liquidator LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Burns Estate Liquidator LLC provide

    Burns Estate Liquidator LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Burns Estate Liquidator LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Burns Estate Liquidator LLC?

    No, Burns Estate Liquidator LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offer?

    Burns Estate Liquidator LLC offers the following services: Management of entire liquidation process including but not limited to: appraisals, precious metal trading, historical referencing, staging, clean up, private and public sales http://www.marketwatch.com/story/10-things-estate-sales-wont-tell-you-2013-06-14?pagenumber=1

    Are there any services Burns Estate Liquidator LLC does not offer?

    Ask for details