Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Against The Grain Flooring

Founded 2002 • With Angi since July 2017

5.0

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2947 Garfield Ave.

Carmichael, CA 95608

Description

With over 30 years of experience, we specialize in hardwood floor refinishing, installation and repair. With many years of experience, Against The Grain Flooring, can assist in all phases of your project, regardless of size or complexity. We value quality, integrity, and professionalism. We look

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/01/2020


David C.

John and his team were amazing. Their work was fantastic, they were always prompt and got the job done faster than I expected. The dust on refinishing was minimal, and he explained the entire process as it took place and answered all of my questions. We are so happy we found John, and he really went above and beyond with the work performed. We would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
We hired John and his team to refinish existing hardwood floors and match new hardwood to the existing.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

03/19/2020


Patricia M.

They did an excellent job with a very damaged cork floor.

Description of Work
refinish cork floor

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/09/2019


kathy G.

Great experience with Against the Grain! Responded to request for quote within 1/2 hour. Started projected within a week. Moved furniture from all rooms and protected it from the weather. Showed on time and kept us informed as to the next steps. John's recommendation on the stain was right on. Our floors are beautiful!

Description of Work
hardwood flooring in 3 bedrooms, hallway and stairs

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/17/2019


Dana E.

John and Kenny were very knowledgeable, prompt, professional ,and kept me informed about the process along the way. They worked diligently each day and completed my whole house within less than a weeks time. There was very little mess or dust left in and around the house each day. My floors look new and are absolutely beautiful! I would highly recommend Against the Grain for anyone's hardwood flooring needs.

Description of Work
Refinish hardwood flooring from the late 1950s including repairing and replacing damaged boards and completely replace an entire bedroom one room.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/14/2018


Ellen J.

John and Kenny were great. We had the opportunity to go see their work in progress at another site before we hired them. We had an old parquet floor removed and replaced with white oak to match the rest of the floors in the house. Also, ther were a few places in the house that flooring needed to be fixed. Once done the floors were refinished. The original white oak floors are 55 years old. You cannot tell the difference between the new floor and the old. All of it looks new! They showed up on time, worked well with each other and were thorough. The job took 6 days and the floors look beautiful! John is now our floor guy. I would reccommend Against The Grain to anyone looking for a compnay that does hardwood flooring.

Description of Work
Repalce old floorig, repair missing flooring afte a remodel and did refinishing work.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/10/2018


Arlene C.

John and Kenny did an awesome job on my hardwood floors in the kitchen and dining room. They look like new as it had been 23 years since we put them in. They were very prompt and finished when they said they would. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I needed my hardwood floors in the kitchen and dining room refinished.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/12/2018


Veronica G.

John was very responsive, professional, and timely. After working with many different independent contractors on remodeling or improvement projects, this was very refreshing. Our hardwood floors really needed love and they look absolutely fantastic!

Description of Work
Refinished downstairs hardwood floors, approximately 1500 square feet.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

01/27/2018


Pat Z.

Went well. Very pleasant, friendly, and easy to work with.

Description of Work
LVT flooring, baseboards, and tile

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/24/2017


RAJIV M.

First, John was very responsive and came out very quickly to give us a bid. He walked through various options and quoted a reasonable price for the work. He also willingly squeezed our job in on an already busy week so we could take advantage of the fact that we'd be on vacation (and out of the house for a week). He and his team sanded the floor, leveled out all the warped boards and matched the finish in the rest of the house. In total, he worked on the front entry hall, kitchen, breakfast nook and hallway. We came home to beautiful floors and very little dust. We plan on using him again in our new home.

Description of Work
We had significant water damage to our hardwood floors in the kitchen thanks to a refrigerator leak. We also had peeling finish that would come off if something like masking tape were stuck to the floor.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working with you and look forward to working with you in your new home. -John
5.0

08/02/2017


Kelly C.

Very professional and affordable. He listened to our flooring needs and was very knowledgeable in suggesting solutions for our repair areas.

Description of Work
We had our wood floors refinished in the dining room and living room. We had a few water damaged areas repaired as well.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zendejas Flooring

    Specializing in refinishing hardwood, floor recoating and installation. I’ve been in the construction industry for 16 and have specialized in hardwood flooring for over 5 years. As owner and operator I’m dedicated to bringing back to life your flooring.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    NorCal Demo

    We can remove any of your flooring Residential or Commercial!! Get a free estimate today!!  

    Angi Certified

    Just Hardwood Floors

    Just Hardwood Floors is a father/son team with excellent work ethic that has been in the business for over 42 years! Comparing to our competitors, our quality of equipment and our attention to detail is truly what separates us from our competition. Our billing process: For ALL Installations: Material cost due upon delivery. All Jobs: Progress payment due upon completion of installation Final Payment due the last day of the job We accept Check or Cash ONLY. SPECIALS every MONTH 10-20% OFF regular PRICE .  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    1010202
    Trade License Locale
    California
    Trade License Authority
    California
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We offer hardwood floor installation, engineered floor installation, custom stains and finishes, refinishing of existing floors and repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Against The Grain Flooring

    How is Against The Grain Flooring overall rated?

    Against The Grain Flooring is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Against The Grain Flooring open?

    Against The Grain Flooring is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Against The Grain Flooring provide

    Against The Grain Flooring accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Against The Grain Flooring offer free estimates?

    Yes, Against The Grain Flooring offers free project estimates.

    Does Against The Grain Flooring offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Against The Grain Flooring does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Against The Grain Flooring offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Against The Grain Flooring offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Against The Grain Flooring?

    Yes, Against The Grain Flooring offers warranties.

    What services does Against The Grain Flooring offer?

    Against The Grain Flooring offers the following services: We offer hardwood floor installation, engineered floor installation, custom stains and finishes, refinishing of existing floors and repairs.