Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

My Green Home Inc

Founded 1994 • With Angi since March 2011

5.0

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5355 Avenida Encinas Suite 110

Carlsbad, CA 92008

Description

San Diego and North County's Whole House Fan Experts. My Green Home. Whole House Fans - Powerful - Quiet-Professionally Installed. My Green Home is a family owned business located in Carlsbad, California. As a whole, our family companies have installed over 18000 thousand whole house fans .....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/15/2016


Jan B.

Description of Work
My Green Home installed a whole house fan for our 5,100 sq. ft. home. The fan works very well. |The installer was punctual and worked quickly and cleaned up after himself. As we have a 3 story home, they installed the top of the range model/size which is very powerful and effective. |Excellent company and I highly recommend them.

Category roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

01/26/2016


Andrew C.

Description of Work
They installed a whole-house fan, which works well at bringing cool outside air inside on summer nights, and keeps the house much more comfortable.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

12/04/2015


Kathryn H.

We found them at the Del Mar Home Show. We love our fan and rarely use the AC . Caleb had to come out and change out the device that we use to turn the fan on and off. But it was covered under the warrenty. Have recommended them to friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
We had Caleb install our house fan before they were on angie's list,

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,ceiling fans

5.0

11/27/2015


David P.

Category roofing

5.0

09/04/2015


Ken H.

Installer arrived at 1:00 PM after calling at 10:00 to say he would be late. Was scheduled for 12:00 AM. Barndon, the installer, removed the old (20 + years) dead fan and then discussed the options with us. Our house built in 1971 had some issues such as the width of the hallway where we wanted the new fan installed. After some give and take as to our options, we settled on an install that gave us the location where we wanted the fan installed. Brandon was careful to install drop cloths on the hallway floor and he built a plastic curtain from the ceiling to floor to minimize the dust when he enlarged the hole in the ceiling needed to install the new fan grate. All lumber cutting to frame in the fan was done outside. Brandon cleaned up immediately after he did the cutting. I tend to hover when installers are working and Brandon didn't seem to mind and he answered all my questions and addressed all my concerns about maintenance and operation of the new fan. The work was completed around 4:30, after which he instructed us on the proper operation of the fan. I especially liked the fact that the fan controllers were wireless and did not require any electrical wiring. He even used a level to insure the controller wall mounts were level. Overall, it was a great job. As we were used to the old fan, it was really nice to have the new fan to cool down our house after it cools down outside. The new fan moves more air than our old fan and with 2 speeds, and the new wireless remotes, it is really easy to operate. It is very quiet on low speed.

Description of Work
Installed "Whole House Fan".

Category roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

07/07/2015


judy M.

Description of Work
Wonderful, I love the fan and My Green home. I have not used the Air conditioner all year. The whole house fan had a great $$$ effect on our SDGE bill. They also stand behind their product. |

Category roofing

5.0

06/20/2015


Nancy C.

I called for information on a Thursday. A rep came out on the following Saturday to survey my home and attic, and provide an estimate. The installers came and installed the fan on the following Wednesday! The installers were very courteous and professional. I was so impressed with them that I feel compelled to write this review, to give them the credit they deserve for a job truly well done. The fan grates in the ceiling are much less noticeable than I expected. The sound of the fan at high speed is not as loud as I expected, and quite acceptable. The fan at low speed is just a slight hum. When I ran the fan at high speed with windows open downstairs, and closed off upstairs, I felt a strong refreshing breeze just sitting on the couch. The downstairs cooled off very quickly, such that after about 15 minutes I was closing windows near where I was sitting to take the cool air off me, but left the fan on to cool the rest of the house and the attic. The upstairs took longer to cool off, even after closing off most of the downstairs windows and doors. But after an hour, the house was quite comfortable. I'm so glad I purchased the whole house fan through My Green Home!

Description of Work
Installed a whole-house fan

Category roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

04/19/2015


Jason D.

We love our new whole house fan! The entire experience was great. Everything was top shelf: from my initial phone consultation with Maggie, the site inspection with Caleb, to the install...everything went great. The fan makes a huge difference, cooling the house down in minutes -- our second story gets stuffy when it's hot. Not anymore. Extra kudos for installing the fan in my small attic. When we bought the house (6 months ago) the home inspector didn't think I could fit a whole house fan in our attic. Said it was too small. My Green Home not only installed it, but was able to do it without rerouting my duct work. And as an added bonus, we love the timer feature and remote control! Couldn't be happier with the service.

Description of Work
Installed a whole house fan in my two story home with a TINY attic.

Category roofing

5.0

12/30/2014


Teresa O.

Installation went fine and we used the fan daily for about a month when the fan became very noisy. We called and got a service rep out who |determined the hardware was loose. He adjusted and torqued to specs. No charge for service. Fan comes with a 5 year parts and labor and 10 year for the motor warranty.

Description of Work
Installed a whole house fan in our attic.

Category ceiling fans

5.0

12/19/2014


Ryan S.

Category roofing

5.0

06/28/2014


Josh E.

My Green Home did a fantastic job installing our whole house fan. We have an older home (circa 1950's) and utilizing the whole house fan has made a world of difference in the short time we've had it. My initial phone call with Caleb was very informative, he introduced the company and gave details regarding what they provided and described their product. He also gave me an estimate right over the phone, which I really appreciated. The next step was to set up a site visit for Caleb to walk our house and make sure the fan would work in our attic space. Unfortunately it couldn't fit in my desired location, but after a little thought and investigation we found an alternate location which works just as well. From that point Caleb set up the install date and time. On install day the installer showed up on time and professionally installed the fan in less time than originally quoted. He also was very thorough in his clean up, and provided a lot of information regarding the fan and its abilities. All in all it was great experience and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Install one whole house fan.

Category roofing

5.0

06/20/2014


Leland T.

Great great great experience from start to finish!! From my first contact with Caleb to the install everything went perfectly, just as the other reviewers mention. Caleb explained all the benefits of their solution: fan designed and manufactured to their specs to be quiet and use less energy but also very powerful. switches to control fan are wireless and require no power(that's right, no battery no wires) so they can be placed anywhere. Called Caleb on day1, he did free site inspection on day 2 and Jason did install on Day3 and we are enjoying a much cooler house three days after contact! would definitely recommend the company to anyone, especially if you live inland SD county where days are hot but nights are cool.

Description of Work
whole house fan installation

Category roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

05/23/2014


Adriana and Steve S.

The estimator came, we agreed on the space for the fan. They installed on the date that was convenient to me. He installed, cleaned after himself, and left me with a working fan!

Description of Work
Installed house fan

Category roofing

5.0

10/14/2013


Brian H.

The installer came, adjusted the plan of exactly where the fan would be placed, and installed it. The fan is, indeed, of high-qulaity, and I'm very pleased with both the fan and the install. The fan has two speeds, one of which is quiet, and the other is louder but very effective at pulling in cool air from outside. It really is like having an air conditioner in each room.

Description of Work
The owner came to inspect the house and give a quote. The quote seemed a bit high, but seemed to be justified by a high-quality product, although it was hard to research the product online. The owner is punctual, friendly, and very helpful--he even supplied the name of a colleague to perform an unrelated service.

Category ceiling fans

5.0

10/08/2013


Samantha T.

Everything went well. They were very professional and were able to schedule us promptly due to a cancellation. Furthermore, they did a good job of installing the fan, cleaned up well, and charged a competitive price. The fan is running quite nicely.

Description of Work
They installed a whole-house fan for us.

Category roofing

5.0

10/02/2013


linda M.

Great. Installers arrived on time, got to work promptly, explained how to use the fan and cleaned up.

Description of Work
Installed "whole house fan" in the ceiling.

Category roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

09/17/2013


karen M.

Every person involved in the set up and installation of our system, from the president of the company to the installers were polite, knowledgeable and proficient throughout the installation, They were meticulously neat and clean throughout the entire set up. A few days after the installation, my husband and I had a few questions and Caleb responded right away. As far as the benefit of this purchase for our home, my husband and I are truly amazed. We live in an older home in San Diego and have no ac. We turn on the Whole House Fan after the sun goes down and our entire home cools down, even without ac ! We notice the drop in temperature inside within minutes and within 1-2 hours our heated attic cools down to the outdoor temperature, thus cooling down our home. We turn it off and are cooled down the entire night !!! I have said to my husband several times since the installation, and quot;This was the best thing we ever did to our homeand quot;. This being stated, it is not as effective when we have the extreme humidity at night and not as effective as ac. However it still does get the temperature down in the evenings and throughout the night. We love it :) Thank you, MY GREEN HOME. (Caleb and Crew, you were great !)

Description of Work
My Green Home installed the Whole House Fan & now we can sleep at night ! We actually purchased two, since we have two separate attics.

Category roofing

5.0

08/29/2013


Lynn Y.

They do a really good job. It's a family-run business. They do a superb job. I really was impressed with the installation and everything. It was well-worth the money spent. We don't have air conditioning in our house. We don't need it because we're right here at the beach, but this is perfect for what it is that we needed. They had to cut a hole in our ceiling and they actually put plastic all over the floor and they made a curtain so that there wouldn't be any dust flying around, or any fiber glass going upstairs. It's amazing. They wore booties while they were working so they didn't get anything on the carpet. They vacuumed after they were done. They tested the system, and it has a 10-year warranty on it. It's pretty cool.

Description of Work
My Green Home, Inc. installed a whole-house fan for us.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/26/2013


DONNA C.

The two man crew (Matt and Geoffrey) arrived and got right to work. The knew exactly what they were doing and got the fan installed and running in less than three hours. It works great and we're very happy with the whole experience. Caleb, the guy who came out and gave us the price, was very friendly, courteous and easy to work with. He answered all our questions regarding attic, electrical requirements, operation, etc. The price he quoted was all inclusive and we appreciated that (no plus tax, installation, shipping, handling, etc.). The installation crew laid out plastic and took pains to make sure they didn't leave any dirt, dust, debris, etc. All in all it was just a great job and we'd certainly recommend My Green Home to anyone who's considering a whole house fan in lieu of air-conditioning, etc. They expertly sized the fan to our house (2800+ square foot two-story home) and Matt thoroughly explained the fan system, operation, controls, etc.

Description of Work
Installed a whole house fan.

Category roofing

5.0

06/16/2013


Denise T.

Prompt, professional service. Cleaned up the area of the installation very well. We love the powerful 8,000 cfm fan, even though it is definitely noisy. It cools down our hot upstairs very quickly, and keeps it cool throughout the night. It has reduced our air conditioning use and allows us to sleep comfortably.

Description of Work
Installed an 8,000 cfm whole house fan.

Category roofing

5.0

09/04/2012


Anne K G.

Overall, the experience went really well and the installation was good. However, I'm not sure if this fan is working how I thought it would. I'm not sure if I'm using it correctly or not, so I'll have follow up and contact them to remedy this.

Description of Work
They installed a fan for the entire home.

Category ceiling fans

5.0

07/10/2012


Kathryn H.

We highly reccommend My Green Home!

Description of Work
My Green Home installed a whole house fan in our home and the results are amazing. Cools throughout the house and the attic. Caleb met with us first and Matt & Miguel installed the fan a few days later, they were all very professional and curteous.

Category ceiling fans

5.0

09/28/2011


Alvin C.

Overall the project went great and I was very pleased with the work that was completed. The installer came out a couple of weeks later and started the fan install. They put the fan exactly where I wanted it (in an adjacent room to my attic). They covered all of my belongings in plastic and cleaned up after they completed the work. Overall the job was very professional.

Description of Work
My wife and I live in North County and did not want to invest in an A/C unit for the 3 days that it is actually hot enough. We found My Green Homes at one of those home improvement shows. This was the perfect solution for us. Caleb came out and did a quick inspection and discussed with me the install process. Basically they install the fan in your attic space and the fan sucks all the hot air into the attic. The real benefit comes from the fact that the fan creates a pressure differential and cool air from the outside gets pulled into your home. The air in your home will completely cycle in 5 min. Cons: The Fan draws a lot of power on initial startup and will cause surges. If you have sensitive electronics on the same circuit I would advise getting a surge protector. I am actually going to get an electrician to place the fan a separate circuit. The only other thing is that the fan comes with a timer switch. In today's world I would have liked to have seen a more advanced switch. Possible one I could program so that when I came home the house would be cool.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,roofing,ceiling fans

5.0

08/04/2011


David H.

The team was quite professional and did exactly as described and we love the result. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Installed whole house fan in attic. Fan's purpose is to circulate air from windows through the attic, thus cooling the house without air conditioning.

Category roofing

5.0

03/24/2011


Truit T.

You open a window or two and it takes all the air from outside and moves it into the house and up to the attic. It takes all the hot air out of the attic if on air-conditioning. We came across the company at a home fair show. We know that it gets very hot out here in the summer. The house has a huge attic which will bring huge electrical bills as far as air-conditioning. We had heard of these whole house fans and their proven technology. My Green Home was having deals since they get really busy during the summer time. There was $200.00 off if we installed during the off time or winter, so we took advantage of that. Caleb who is either the owner or one of the top sales people came out. He was a really nice gentleman. He came out one day and we both searched in the attic for a proper place for it. It needs to be in a location that you don't shut a door to. We found a location for it. He didn't take any money or anything at that point. You don't pay until the job is done. We set a time for him to come back out to do the job. He came out promptly on that day with his helper. They took about 6 hours to do the job and did a wonderful job. The fan really works to say the least.

Description of Work
We hired My Green Home in February to come in and put in a whole house fan.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Guardian Roofs Inc

     

    Carini Heating, Air and Plumbing

    Carini Heating, Air and Plumbing is a leading 24 hour provider of Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning services throughout San Diego County. We offer Repairs, Installations and Maintenance for residential homes. The company is Licensed, Bonded, Insured and is 100% family owned and operated. Our service areas cover all of San Diego County including Central San Diego, East County, North and South Counties. The company's primary product lines include American Standard, Mitsubishi Ductless Splits, Bradford and White, Navian, Noritz and all other major brands of Heating, Air Conditioning and Plumbing equipment. All Carini Heating, Air and Plumbing employees undergo extensive training and are background checked upon hire. You can trust Carini Heating, Air and Plumbing to respect your home, your family and provide you with the 5 Star service you deserve.  

    Offers by Carini Heating, Air and Plumbing on Angi
    Same Day Heating & Air Conditioning

    COVID-19: With the health and safety of our customers in mind, Same Day Heating & Air is taking extra preventative measures and following Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines in the office, traveling and in your home. We are committed to the health and safety of our customers, employees, and all families involved. For in-person consultations and appointments, our team members will forego any customary handshake greeting. They will be wearing gloves and masks. We will continue to wear sanitary booties (as is the standard) and wipe down tables/phones used with sanitary wipes.Always FREE Estimates and Second Opinions on Service Calls!! Welcome to Same Day Heating & Air Conditioning! We are a Family Owned and Operated Residential Heating & Air Conditioning Company. We specialize in partnering with Home Owners to Design and Install the most efficient and comfortable residential heating and cooling systems in San Diego County. We pride ourselves on providing Best in Class Customer Service by not only having our Guarantees and Warranties in writing but also by allowing our employees to love on our clients just like we love on them. This has worked for many years. Our Family at Same Day continue to be the cornerstone of what sets us apart from our competitors. With that we are able to offer you a "100% Right...or 100% Free Guarantee" on any of our services or installations. You have an entire year....365 days to decide if got what you paid for and if for any reason we can not make you happy and satisfied we will provide you with a 100% Refund. Period. We look forward to having the opportunity to meet you and to welcome you into our Family here at Same Day. You wont regret giving us the opportunity to serve you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Same Day Heating & Air Conditioning on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales & installation of whole house fans.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about My Green Home Inc

    How is My Green Home Inc overall rated?

    My Green Home Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does My Green Home Inc provide

    My Green Home Inc accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check, Financing Available

    Does My Green Home Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, My Green Home Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does My Green Home Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, My Green Home Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does My Green Home Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, My Green Home Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by My Green Home Inc?

    Yes, My Green Home Inc offers warranties.

    What services does My Green Home Inc offer?

    My Green Home Inc offers the following services: Sales & installation of whole house fans.

    Are there any services My Green Home Inc does not offer?

    ask for details