Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors

Founded 1957 • With Angi since April 2005

4.7

(80) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8533 Canoga Ave Ste B

Canoga Park, CA 91304

Description

A Screen Shop has been around since 1957! With over 50 years of experience you can be sure we know how to make all types of screens! In 2011 Screen Shop joined with it’s sister company, Clarity Closet and Shower Doors. Clarity specializes in Mirror Closet Doors and Glass Shower and Tub Enclosures. Additional DBA - Screen Shop. A family business. I use sub-contractors for installations over $500 when necessary....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/28/2020


Chris K.

Company came out to measure and sold themselves as custom screen door company. The screen door did not fit the house because the house is old. Then they acted surprised that the door wasn’t square. They told us to go to Home Depot to get a molding piece instead of making it work. I can’t imagine we’re the only ones with an uneven door. Luis was very rude and unwilling to fix the problem. He gave us our money back, but wouldn’t even install the other screens that we had ordered for some windows. Now we have holes in our door frame that need to be patched and painted. We are shocked that this is how they do business.

Description of Work
Screen door

Category contractors

5.0

02/23/2018


George F.

Luis came out to give us an estimate on new window screens, door screens and the repair of five screen doors that would not open and close. His estimate was fair and he charged us what he quoted. In addition the repairs were made within the time frame he gave us. His work was excellent and customer service amazing. We would definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
Screen repair

Category screen repair, doors

1.0

08/28/2017


Gunjan B.

1) When I emailed, they responded by saying call us (no mention of pricing, services availablity 2) When I called, their phone went dead. When I called again they put me on hold, rudel. Ultimately they transferred me to a number where I got a recording that the number had been disconnected. How do they stay in business

Description of Work
Screen install and repair; (I can't say if I would hire them again, since I am having trouble even getting a response from them)

Category screen repair

5.0

10/19/2016


Ursula S.

The work performed was great and I believe that the price was very fair. They do the work onsite so everything was completed in one visit. Everything went great except for the punctuality of the service call. The representative called me 15 minutes after the scheduled time to tell me that he would be an hour late. My only suggestion would be to call prior to the appointment time with this information. This would not prevent me from hiring this company again.

Description of Work
A Screen Shop replaced 2 window screens for me.

Category screen repair

5.0

09/22/2016


M M.

Excellent service, Luis came to our residence and installed the screen we had bought but had trouble installing on our own. I recommend them, and we will work with them again.

Description of Work
Replacing the screen and installation of the screen.

Category screen repair

Service Provider Response

thank you so much for review us

1.0

07/25/2016


Richard Y.

Called for estimate. Wanted to charge $55 for the estimate which would then be applied to the job if I went with them. Their website said Free estimate!!! Time wasted = Money wated. Don't false advertise

Description of Work
3 custom large screen doors

Category screen repair

1.0

07/05/2016


Ellen K.

I scheduled an estimate several days in advance for 07/05 at 2:00 pm. At 10 AM they called and asked if they could come right away. I was out of town, so I said no, I'd have to keep the 2 PM. They said OK. I came home specifically for the appointment. They called me at 2:19 PM to say they couldn't make it this day, but they could come tomorrow. I said, "Why are you telling me this now, 20 minutes after you were supposed to be here?" They said "The shop is backed up." This is extremely unprofessional--they could have told me at 10 AM when they called me that they wouldn't be able to make it. My tenant was waiting for them to come, and I rushed home. There is no way to trust those people to do work on time.

Description of Work
No work was done.

Category screen repair, doors

5.0

11/13/2015


Katherine S.

It went great. Guy came out to assess needs and measure. Workman returned after about a week to install custom screens- all appointments were based on my availability. After about a week living with my new screens, I decided that I didn't like the way the sun filtering screens interfered with the view. So I called them back. They came back quickly to replace them with ordinary screens at a reduced price.

Description of Work
Installed screens.

Category screen repair

2.0

08/10/2015


cynthia L.

I called to set up an appointment last week. Today (Monday) was the first available day they had open and we set an arrival time of 9-11 at a customer of ours house to replace a screen that was damaged during construction. I called the morning of at 10:15 to make sure they were going to be there by 11 since my customer was waiting on them. The guy in the office said someone would be there around 11. Around 11 wasn't exactly acceptable to me since they said before 9-11 and I asked if they can be there before 11. The guy put me on hold and came back and said they would send someone right now. at 10:59 a guy walked into my office saying he was there to fix a screen. Wrong place. I told him he had the wrong address and he said thats the only address they had. I gave him the right one and checked google maps and it was a 24 minute drive to my customers house. He said he would go right then. I let the customer know and called there office to give them the customers phone number encase they had trouble finding the place and to call him when they arrived. At 1:15 my customer called me saying no one was there yet. How embarrassing. I tried to call the office two times and got an answering machine. I waited a few minutes and called again. This time they answered and said that they called the customer and rescheduled for Thursday from 11-1. They probably saw me calling and decided to do something knowing that we were calling cause no one showed up and thats when I called my customer and told him we would just look for another company because this one is not reliable at all.

Description of Work
Nothing, never showed up to our customers house

Category screen repair

5.0

06/01/2015


Sharon B.

All went well. On time, pleasant interaction and good work.

Description of Work
Replaced screens in two wooden sliding doors and one screen in a wooden frame.

Category screen repair

1.0

11/06/2014


John N.

Fifteen months after A Screen Shop installed a security door, the lock literally fell apart. As I was opening it, the parts popped out into my hand. I asked my wife to call and have it repaired, assuming a $700 screen door's lock less than 1 1/2 years old would be under warranty. She called and was told we could purchase a new lock and install it ourselves, as A Screen Shop didn't offer any warranties. She was also told that THE LOCK POPPING OUT WAS A KNOWN ISSUE. I told her to email the owner, because I wasn't going to buy another lock when the first one was defective. And why didn't they alert us after selling a lock they knew had a known issue of falling apart? On a security door! The owner Dan Peyton was extremely unprofessional, calling her a liar and suggesting that she should "LOOK INTO A SECURITY ALARM SYSTEM ASAP AS IT WAS PROBABLY TAMPERED WITH TO CAUSE SUCH A SYMPTOM." Talk about fear-mongering. Luckily, my wife is a very smart woman and isn't intimidated by men like Dan Payton. We had a security door installed because my wife fosters rescue dogs and wanted a locking screen door, not because we live in a dangerous area. We have a great handyman who easily fixed the lock. I'm writing this review because I don't want anyone else, especially women, to have to put up with this type of person and company. Here's my wife's email and his reply. Decide for yourself if this is the type of service you would want: WIFE'S EMAIL: Dear Dan, We ordered a security door from you in part based upon your Angie's List reviews and were very happy with the door and your service. Recently, the lock popped out from inside. When I called today for advice on how to properly put it back in, I was told by John that this is a known issue by the manufacturer and it must be replaced at a cost of $50+. My feeling if it's a defective lock, then it should be replaced at no charge as it was a very expensive door and without the proper lock, it's useless. I look forward to hearing from you. A SCREEN SHOP REPLY: Hi, John does not work in the capacity of an installer, he is a screen maker but has assisted with only a few installations. He was asked to come in today because we were short handed and he's had to do his best to assist each caller, but has made a few mistakes. This lock is not "defective," and we would not sell a defective product. If your lock cylinder "popped out," I would suggest you look into a security alarm system ASAP as it was probably tampered with to cause such a symptom. These secured cylinders do not fall out on their own. To reinsert a cylinder which has been removed... 1) Open the door and remove the center screw in the black mortise lock slowly and carefully (from the side, near where the bolt will stick out). 2) Looking thru the hole, re-insert your lock cylinder until you see the hole in the top of the golden cylinder line up with the hole in the black mortise lock. 3) Once lined up, reinsert the screw and tighten. 4) Keep the door open and test the locking bolt repeatedly. If it functions well and without hangup, you should be safe to close and lock your door again. John is aware of one particular problem with this Mortise lock set, but it is a completely different problem. These locks, usually last 10-20 years, however, when you do replace them you cannot replace one component only, you must replace the full set (handle, spindle, cylinder and mortise lock) so that they are all "married" appropriately or they will run poorly. Sometimes, when replacing the set, you may also need to use a drill or file to create some more space for the spindle to move as the replacement parts designs change slightly over the years. These full sets cost $51.99+ tax. They are relatively easy to install but some people do have trouble with them. Unfortunately, under new management policy, we no longer service your area. If you'd like to order one of these lock sets we would have no problem shipping it to you at our cost, but we ask that you pay for the lock set in advance and it takes about a week for us to receive. We do accept Visa, Mastercard and Discover as payment over the phone. Thanks and have a nice day. Daniel Peyton

Description of Work
Installed Gibraltar security door

Category screen repair, doors

5.0

05/16/2014


Ene-Ann L.

From estimate to installation Dan is always on time, to the point and provides all the information and alternatives for you and your installation. My house did not have any screens when I moved in on the windows or sliding glass door. Dan gave a fair price and did a beautiful installation, he also found the hardware needed to fix the broken towel bar on my old shower door. I am very pleased with the finished product throughout and will hire them in the future.

Description of Work
Install all new screens and fix the shower door handle towel bar.

Category screen repair, doors

3.0

05/12/2014


Donald B.

FYI...provider does not take walk-ins.

Description of Work
FYI...provider does not take walk-ins. FYI...provider does not take walk-ins.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

While we appreciate you do not agree with our policy, and we understand you made the uncommon error of walking past posted signs and coming into our "employees only" area... we still must decline to accept walk-in customers at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience.

5.0

03/05/2014


Camila I.

Daniel came out during the scheduled time to give me an estimate. He took measurements and gave advice on which screens to replace, which to re-screen, and which just needed new hardware to keep them in place. We scheduled the work for the following week. He arrived on time and performed the agreed upon work for the agreed upon price. Very helpful. Didn't try to upsell... just solved our problems with our screens throughout the entire house.

Description of Work
Replaced some screens, re-screened other screens, and provided new hardware for some screens

Category screen repair

5.0

11/24/2013


Sandra B.

A Screen Shop did a great job with helping me choose an odd sized shower door. They did a great job with installing it too. I also got a front door screen and two other screens done. Excellent company...timely, professional and polite.

Description of Work
I contacted A SCREEN SHOP - SCREENS, CLOSET AND SHOWER DOORS

Category home remodeling, doors

5.0

10/09/2013


Richard P.

Everything went well. They did a good job, were knowledgeable and friendly, and charged fair price for the work. They really lived up to their Angie's List rating.

Description of Work
They repaired some broken window screens.

Category screen repair

1.0

08/26/2013


Lori Y.

Once it got understood, it went okay.

Description of Work
Just said the mistake was Angie's List's & that the offer had no longer been in existence for a few years.

Category screen repair

Service Provider Response

A Screen Shop has not authorized or requested a "Big Deal" with Angie's List for over 12 months. We would hope potential customers can understand these errors should not generate bad reviews for us. For individuals to hold us responsible for the negligence of Angie's List overlooking technical issues is disheartening, but we can understand why people have been frustrated by this issue and we have again contacted our Angie's List representatives to correct this immediately. We feel no customer should be disappointed with any aspect of our business, and we'll keep working hard to make sure your experience with A Screen Shop is nothing less than friendly and enjoyable!

5.0

08/22/2013


lee S.

They were excellent and the work was ready when they said. They did perfect work.

Description of Work
The repaired a screen for me.

Category screen repair

5.0

06/15/2013


Lisa K.

Both Al and Daniel were very helpful in explaining which screen door style would be best considering my dog. Daniel had to add an extension in order to install the screen door. He did an amazing job in measuring the extra pieces of wood and the screen door came out great. And very impressed with their quality and punctuality. Will definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed a new screen door

Category screen repair

2.0

05/28/2013


Sally S.

The man I talked to was really quite rude. He kept telling me that I needed to come in to their store-- he didn't seem to want to come to my house, or didn't think I was a serious customer or something. He said "I don't need to come out to your house. I've seen hundreds of houses like yours." Overall he was unresponsive and not at all helpful. Even though they are highly rated by others on this website, I will not be using this company for my work.

Description of Work
I called to try to set up an appointment to have someone come out to give me an estimate at my house. I need to buy screens before I leave town next week, and am anxious to get the process started. My hope was to find someone that I like who I can then have do screens on all my windows this summer.

Category screen repair, doors

Service Provider Response

The screen business requires that we do most of our work during the warm weather, as this is when people tend to notice missing or damaged screens. Since 1957, we've learned that during these busy times we can service more customers and keep our appointment times for all our installations if we offer some of our more simple estimates right over the phone. It is understandable that some customers may be frustrated by this, and we regret any disappointments this may have caused any potential customers. We have been forced to contend with rising fuel prices, state taxes, the rising cost of hiring employees and still have managed to keep our screen prices unchanged for over a decade! We regret having to disappoint anyone, but it's all in an effort to keep prices low for all our more than satisfied customers!

5.0

05/14/2013


Johnny R.

I visited the shop a couple time to go over different options. The owner was easy to work with and patient to explain all the different products lines. I ended up choosing the satin Aurora doors. The owner's son did the installation. The door was slightly an odd size and they let me know upfront it would cost $50 more for it. At the end of the day, the work was done on time and the mirrored doors look great.

Description of Work
New mirrored closet doors for nursery.

Category closet systems

5.0

05/08/2013


faye T.

Excellent job all around! Someone from the shop came out to measure all windows that needed new screens. He was on time, professional, and very efficient. The following week the screens were installed - all in a very timely fashion. A very pleasant experience for me. We will use them again!

Description of Work
They came out to do estimate on window screen replacement. They measured for all new screens, had them custom made, and came back to install the screens the following week.

Category screen repair

5.0

04/29/2013


Lisa M.

Today, I called Al based on my search of Angie's List for a great screen repair company. He was extremely honest and professional and explained that because he was located quite a distance from my home, I would get a better deal finding someone closer to my zip code. He even gave me the name of another company near my home. This company gets an A+ from me thanks to Al's honesty and candid approach in doing business.

Description of Work
See below.

Category screen repair

5.0

03/04/2013


Burt and Christina B.

This was a very simple job. I brought a screen door insert to the store for replacement. They gave me a price and told me when it would be ready. The price was right and the work was done when promised.

Description of Work
I brought a screen door insert in to replace the old torn insert. Work was done properly and was completed when promised.

Category screen repair

5.0

02/03/2013


Raymond & Sheryl J.

Called Al for estimate. Daniel came out same day. Took great care in measuring & re-measuring for new sliding screen doors and double front door screens. Brought samples to see quality. A week later, Robert brought screen doors to install. Again, a meticulous installation job. New doors slid with ease. They needed to return again, as one door wasn't up to their standards and I changed the size of the doggie door. Daniel returned in less than a week to do the final work. Again, a perfectionist! We are elated with our new doors! The quality is perfect!

Description of Work
Very professional company

Category screen repair, replacement windows, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    RAA Construction Group

    Here at RAA Construction Group , our mission is to provide you with quality and professionalism on your projects that will fit your budget and your wish list. We specialize in designing and remodeling your: bathroom remodels. kitchen remodels. Room additions. ADU(garage Conversion). And complete remodeling. Our goal is to give you the best performance and attention During working with you on your home. Sticking to a sharp schedule allows us to finish our projects on time. We are general contractors/electrical licensed, insured bonded. We will be happy to talk and help with any questions And to schedule a free on site estimate, please contact us for additional information  

    Offers by RAA Construction Group  on Angi
    IND Construction, LLC.

    At IND construction, we believe that the heart lives where the home is. We do more than construct homes; we commit to caring, design & beauty. Why IND? High-Quality Homes With High Standards Of Excellence! For over 14 years, IND Construction has offered Design & Build construction services throughout Los Angeles and the San Fernando Valley. We specialize in residential remodeling, including New Construction and Custom Home Building, Additions of All Types, Complete Home Renovations, Kitchens and Baths, Design, and Planning. We help take your blue-sky concepts and turn your dream remodel into a reality! Our commitment is to preserve the origins of the structure, integrated with our specialized interior designs. As a fully licensed (License #937833), bonded & insured remodeling company, we are reliable, trustworthy & reputable. From our family to yours, our #1 goal is your satisfaction! Services Provided Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs), Custom Home, Garage Building, Guesthouse Design & Construction, Home Additions, Home Remodeling, New Home Construction, Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling Awards * NKBA - National Kitchen & Bath Association * NARI - National Association of the remodeling industry * Best of Houzz Service Award, 2014-2016 * 2012 Angie's List- Super Service Award  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Superior Home Remodeling

    We are a family owned design-build firm guided by 20 years of experience which specializes in creating excellence through planning and construction while sticking to budget as well as timeline. Our team specializes in kitchen renovations, bathroom renovations, complete interior renovations, home additions, pools / hardscape, and more. Our unmatched service, processes, and commitment to our clients is our formula for success. We do have a $15,000 minimum project and we do not offer repair or handyman services. Every project begins with a free onsite consultation and 3D design. We will take the time to ensure we are hitting every aspect of functionality as well as design. Our years of experience combined with the consistent, persistent pursuit of being the best possible version of ourselves is critical to the success of our operation. Check out our portfolio and see how this translates into our work! We take pride in our active attention to detail as well as understanding that the final 10% of the project is what creates 90% of our clients feedback. We are the ideal and enjoyable solution to your design and construction needs.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Window screens, pick-up & delivery, screen doors - wood & metal screen doors, security screen doors, patio sliding screen doors & french screen. Closet doors, mirrored closet doors, shower doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors

    How is A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors overall rated?

    A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors open?

    A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors provide

    A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offers free project estimates.

    Does A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offer emergency services?

    Yes, A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors?

    Yes, A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offers warranties.

    What services does A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offer?

    A Screen Shop - Screens Closet & Shower Doors offers the following services: Window screens, pick-up & delivery, screen doors - wood & metal screen doors, security screen doors, patio sliding screen doors & french screen. Closet doors, mirrored closet doors, shower doors.