Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

The Foundation Works

About

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2006

Foundation inspection, repair, and replacement services for Los Angeles and surrounding cities. We provide affordable foundation inspection, foundation repair, foundation upgrades, foundation replacement, earthquake retrofitting, house bolting for the greater Los Angeles area; including affordable upgrades to your foundation. We pride ourselves in repairing only what your house foundation needs. We offer foundation upgrade services to get your house to full earthquake standards for the Los Angeles area without necessarily having to rebuild your full foundation, saving you thousands in unnecessary repair if at all possible....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(210) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

196

4

6

3

2

2

2

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (192)earthquake retrofitting (48)home inspection (43)concrete repair (17)home builder (2)
Showing 1-25 of 210 reviews
1.0

11/05/2019


James M.

Of all the companies I approached to perform the obligatory inspection in order to assess the scope of work to be done on my foundation (which is extensive), Foundation Works is THE ONLY company that charges a fee. Consumer beware - it does not state this anywhere here on Angie's List nor on Foudation Works' own website. You will only discover this only AFTER speaking to a representative on the phone trying to schedule this inspection. A fee of $215 to inspect a foundation requiring approximately $50K of work had the effect of immediately removing this company from further consideration for the job.

Description of Work
Inspection of foundation to obtain a quote for rebuild

Category concrete repair, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

5.0

04/11/2019


Kimble M.

About a year ago we had our frame braced and bolted to the foundation (seismic retrofit) . The Foundation Works did a top notch job with a professional crew at every step. Their price was similar to other bids and they worked with us through the Earthquake Brace and Bolt program. They also stuck to their time lines. We were very happy with them, but here's the cherry on top. We had copper pipes installed recently. When the county inspector was out to inspect that job, he looked at the work under the house. He asked us who did our brace and bolt job. We told him and asked why. He said he could see that they did a really great job.

Description of Work
Foundation Brace and Bolt

Category foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $5,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2018

5.0

06/08/2018


Jillian M.

They were good. Matt was our inspector. We needed to get an inspection done on a new home and they came out with little notice and gave us a great breakdown and report. We are looking to hire them for the foundation repairs so I will let you know how the service goes beyond the inspection!

Description of Work
Inspection of foundation - for report

Category home inspection

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2018

5.0

03/22/2018


Susan B.

Great. Very professional. Received LA city permits promptly.

Description of Work
Foundation repair and earthquake retrofit.

Category foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Fantastic, always great to hear, and thank you so much from all of us here at TFW, we are so grateful for you having put us to task on your foundation and are happy that you're happy! Always at your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

03/08/2018


Amelia M.

Excellent Professional, courteous and thorough.

Description of Work
secured foundation

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Gosh, I just never get tired of hearing my team described as "excellent, professional, courteous and thorough", thank you so much for the wonderful accolades, and of course for having the TFW team as your choice for your home, we greatly appreciate that wise choice! All the best, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

01/04/2018


Marvin M.

Second time I used this company. When I wanted to have foundation work done I knew this was the company I wanted to use. They repaired and retrofitted my mother’s foundation and everything went well. Had to reschedule once but arrived on time each day and cleaned up after the days work. Passed inspection. Very happy with this company. Thanks again.

Description of Work
Repair cracks in foundation and add some additional support posts. Earthquake retrofit foundation of 6 unit apartment building.

Category foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Oh well you're very welcome and it should be ME thanking YOU, especially since you are back for round 2 after you saw us in action on mom's house, we really appreciate your return business and of course it makes me feel that we must have done well on mom's house, too, so that is even better! Thank you again! Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

12/23/2017


Jon D.

I found cracks all around the inside and outside of my home. The inspectors came and checked the went under my house and found no issues with the house just normal settling. Glad they were honest, a shady company would of tried to sell me things I did not need. The inspectors Kent and Matt were professional and very honest! Will highly recommend this company to all my friends and family.

Description of Work
Cracks all around the inside and outside of house

Category foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2017

Service Provider Response

Oh yay, we love a happy ending! I really appreciate you commenting even though we did not technically work on your home, fortunately there was nothing that Kent and Matt saw that warranting rolling up our sleeves further for you! May the rest of your house present similar findings anytime you think something is wrong! :) At your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

10/20/2017


Zachary F.

Superb—diligent, high-quality work with fair pricing and a practical approach to addressing the needs of an old home.

Description of Work
Bolting retrofit for 1921 foundation (2100 sq ft, two-story home), plus two sister foundation sections totaling about 8 feet.

Category concrete repair, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2017

Service Provider Response

Wow, well said, lots going on in that sentence, thank you for that great summation of my team! Very glad to have been put on your team, we'll be here at the ready if you ever have a need, you know where to find us! Always at your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

08/16/2017


Robert B.

Our house was built 1938 and did not meet current guidelines for earthquake protection. We had an excellent experience with The Foundation Works. The crew arrived on time, set up their equipment, and promptly started work. The job was completed in less than 1½ working days with absolutely no inconvenience to me. The City of Los Angeles inspector was called, and arrived just as the job was being completed. He signed-off on the job with no changes requested. The crew packed up their equipment and cleaned up everything perfectly. The entire crew was friendly and polite. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Description of Work
Seismic retrofits to lessen earthquake damage

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $3,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2017

5.0

07/10/2017


walter G.

Showed up on time. All work was done on a timely basis. Communication with home office was very good.

Description of Work
Complete foundation

Category foundation repair

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

06/18/2017


Michael G.

great, they where always on time and where easy to talk to. left the place clean!

Description of Work
retro fit on the foundation

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2017

5.0

05/05/2017


rick W.

Customer service was excellent and the guys who performed the work were as professional as they come. After the work was performed there was a huge difference in the floor and they were able to level it out in the areas were it needed reinforcement. I was extremely satisfied with there work and would recommend them to amylne needing this type of work.

Description of Work
Foundation under house needed minor tweaking and reinforced due to the heavy rains we received during the winter.

Category home inspection, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/25/2017

Service Provider Response

Ah yes, the art of the floor leveling...good times! As each house has it's own attitude and opinion about whether it wants to be lifted or not, the art of the level can certainly keep us on our toes! I'm very glad to hear that you are so satisfied with the results, and of course an also very grateful for having been given the opportunity to put our team to work on that project for you! Always at your service, Tom Pelletier, owner The Foundation Works
5.0

04/20/2017


Kim M.

Ken was awesome. He showed up on time, was knowledgeable and honest. It's our foundation, and our interior has cracks from the settling of all the rain, Ken could have told us anything and we would have probably believed him. But he was so honest, and we really appreciated that. He told us that there is some rotting wood in the frame that needs to be replaced asap, to stop the settling, that would cost about $800 including parts and labor. He then said that our foundation looks good, but could probably do with some seismic retrofitting at some point, but not urgent or necessary at this time. We had Foundation Works do the work. The team that did the work was prompt, courteous, cleaned up after themselves and showed us in detail the work that was done. We would definitely hire them again and have referred them to our neighbors.

Description of Work
Our house is settling and we were told that we had major foundation frame rotting. We called Foundation Works and they sent out Ken to inspect and give us an estimate. We then hired Foundation Works to replace the rotting wood, to stop the house settling.

Category foundation repair

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2017

Service Provider Response

All great to hear, thank you so much for the kind words about Kent and the rest of the team as well, we love to be able to tell someone that basically, there is very little wrong with the foundation! If we can ever further assist in any way, feel free to reach out! At your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

04/12/2017


antonia B.

Pricing was competitive and the assessment was free, PLUS they made time to see my home and do the work really fast. Mainly though, everyone I dealt with, from Sean the engineer who did the assessment, to Jose and his team who did the work, to Roselyn who handles scheduling, to Marie who manages billing, were AMAZING. Super professional, organized, friendly and pleasant from start to finish. I cannot say enough good things about this company honestly. The guys who did the work were also tidy and efficient and so nice. Everyone in this company made a very stressful situation better and were kind and reassuring throughout. THANK YOU!

Description of Work
I had sudden subsidence in my home - a supporting wall cracked and the floors dropped by about an inch in some areas. I was terrified! The Foundation Works were amazing and explained that the subsidence was down to water under the house (a separate issue) and that my foundation was solid and fine with one minor (unrelated) crack that could be supported with some epoxy. They also said I could add some extra earthquake retrofitting features, but that it was optional. I decided to do everything they suggested since I could see they were not trying to sell me anything and at no point pressured me with dire warnings or worrisome comments. Sean–the engineer–was very calming and professional and I had complete trust in him.

Category home inspection, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2017

Service Provider Response

Hello and thank you for those very nice comments, much appreciated! I'm especially appreciative of you pointing out that you did not feel pressured; I sure do not enjoy when someone comes into my home with "pressure" and so accordingly, we make it a point to instill in our inspectors the spirit of informing a client of the findings and then leaving it at that. For clients that choose to move forward, they can certainly, let us know and we do e-mail follow-ups for the same reason. As an aside, be sure to address the drainage issues as well and in that way, there should be no further need for any future foundation corrections! At your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

03/17/2017


Mary Lou S.

It went very smoothly. They were quite professional and easy to deal with. The city inspector told us that they were very impressed with their work.

Description of Work
Seismic Retrofit bolting of house to the foundation for earthquake safety.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2016

Service Provider Response

Well it is certainly always nice to hear that the City Inspector is impressed, thanks for sharing that! Also, I'm very glad to hear that the process went smoothly from your point of vie,w that is always of course of goal! Always at your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

02/02/2017


Heather B.

They promptly returned my call to come out for an inspection and quote. They were able to get out to start repairs within a week of first contact. Everyone was courteous, from the office support, to the inspector, to the workers and foreman. They were always on time and the work was done quickly. Great experience!!!

Description of Work
Bring anchor bolting up to code in older portion of home; crack repairs in concrete foundation; fixing a broken post & pier assembly.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2017

Service Provider Response

Well I have to say, I never get tired of hearing that having chosen us turned out to be a "great experience"! Thank you very much for putting us onto the job, glad that we made you happy with that choice and of course if we can ever assist in any way, you now know where to find us! At your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

01/16/2017


Don M.

Excellent work and thorough inspection

Description of Work
Foundation Survey

Category home inspection, foundation repair

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2016

Service Provider Response

Just wanted to extend a big thanks for not only bringing us on to take care of those few issues for you, but also for the high marks you gave us here, that means a lot to us and helps others find us in the future a well, so thank you again for puttign us on your team! All the best, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

01/15/2017


Robert B.

I crawl under my house every 5 years or so just to observe the condition of whats down there and I noticed some piers that needed adjustment so I called a foundation contractor to come out and give me an inspection of my foundation and adjust and strap the piers to the post. Believe it or not the current building code does not require strapping on even new construction but it's not a bad idea to do it anyway as and extra precaution against earthquake damage. I went under the house with the first contractor who was very professional and he found three small cracks that he felt needed to be attended too and he gave me a short and concise bid proposal. I called the next contractor and went under the house with him and he found the same three cracks. He spent a lot of time with me which I appreciated but he was three months out and couldn't give me a precise date for the work. His contract under work to be done just stated "Fix cracks in foundation". Next I called "'The Foundation Works". I called Friday and they had an inspector out on Monday. Kent Romero showed up on time and after walking the around the outside of the house we went under the house together. Kent was the only inspector to take a clipboard with him and took notes as we crawled around checking the foundation and the post and piers. I asked a lot of questions and he explained what he felt needed to be done at this time which were remedial repairs on the five small cracks( He found two that the other inspectors missed) He also explained what needed to be improved with the post and piers. I've been a homeowner for 40 years and I do most of my own repairs so I know a little bit about house construction and dealing with contractors or trade professionals when needed. I was extremely impressed with Kent. He spent a lot of time with me and every question I asked he was able to answer to my satisfaction. You would be hard pressed to find another foundation inspector as professional and impressive as Kent. I'm not easily impressed either!!!. Kent was the only inspector to send me a very detailed proposal which was 5 pages long. He not only detailed the work to be done but also explained about the importance of drainage in regards to protecting the foundation because moisture is the chief cause of foundation settlement. He explained about contraction and expansion of soil in regards to the foundation and that this is an ongoing process every home owner should be award of in regards to home maintenance. A week after a follow up call to Kent with a few minor question I received an email from the founder and owner of "The Foundation Works" with her personal cell number inviting me to call if I had any questions or concerns regarding the work to be performed. I called Tom and he spent over an hour on the phone with me and even asked me to send pictures in regards to some other issues in the inside and outside the house that concerned me. Again, I was extremely impressed that the owner of this large company would spend time with me answering every question I had and this was the New Years Eve weekend. Did I mention that this whole job was only 2500.00 dollars not 50,000 dollars?. Impressed is an understatement!!!. I accepted the proposal on the phone and Tom scheduled the work for the next week. He didn't even ask for a 10% down payment. The crew showed up on time after a confirmation call the night before and was very professional led by the foreman on the job, Jose Zepeda. Jose was fantastic and also spent a lot of time explaining how the day would go and about the work being performed. Nicest guy in the world and very professional as was the whole crew. It was a one day job and they finished on time and after they cleaned up my yard, garage and driveway were cleaner than when they started. My thanks to the owner of The Foundation Works, Tom Pelletier, Jose Zepeda the foreman. Christian Sturba, the roving quality control person(they have a roving quality control person who can show up unannounced), Eddie Garcia, Richard Johnson and Luis Baltonado. You guys were all fantastic. Also Maria and Roselyn who handle the office and were also fantastic to deal with. If anyone is looking for foundation work or just an inspection at no cost, this is the first company you should call. Also check out their website, you'll be extremely impressed even if you're just looking for informative information. Thanks again to everyone at "The Foundation Works". Bob Budworth

Description of Work
I had some minor small cracks in my raised foundation walls and some of my eight post and piers needed a couple of new 4x4 post and!!! the others straightened out a little and strapped.

Category foundation repair

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2017

Service Provider Response

Well I have to give it to you, this is one glowing review!!! It was fun chatting with you, I enjoy when I client really sinks their teeth in and gets to know what is going to happen in the course of the job, its good to be engaged and yes once you get me started, I can talk shop for days! :) As for your thoughts of my team, i am so grateful to hear that and as often as I do, I smile every time as yes, I feel quite blessed to have a team that just makes us shine and as you saw firsthand, it really is them and I am also just one of many that make this whole machine come together and flow! Thank you so much from all of us, your words will surely guide others looking on Angie's List for effective foundation solutions and for that, I can't thank you enough! Onward and Upward, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

01/13/2017


Michael K.

We were very pleased with the results on this job. The contractor's foreman and workers were punctual, courteous and professional at all times. Given that we were adjusting the level of the floor, we were concerned about the impact on adjacent windows and doors, and we found that the contractor was very sensitive to this concern, with excellent results. In addition, the contractor performed a full foundation inspection and recommended several modest repairs to strengthen sections that had had some wear and tear. These additional repairs were inexpensive and worthwhile.

Description of Work
The raised wood foundation on our 60-year-old house was sagging in one corner 3-4 inches due to gradual settling and wood deterioration over the years. This involved a wooden "cripple wall" over a concrete foundation. With this contractor's help, we rebuilt the cripple wall along one 30 foot side of the home, and leveled the corner in question. Also replaced a wooden pier that had deteriorated, and attached steel plates to reinforce several sections of the concrete foundation.

Category foundation repair

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2016

Service Provider Response

Yup, we see that all the time...some houses tend to get a bit too "comfortable" after several decades but yours responded quite well to our efforts to give it a reset in terms of leveling the floors out! Thank you again for having us out and for bringing our team in to set things right for you, we really appreciate your vote of confidence! At your service, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

12/28/2016


Gerard O.

From start to finish our experience with Foundation Works was top notch. We did contract them to bolt the foundation on our 1921 Spanish Bungalow home and repair some minor foundation cracks in a 1950's addition. Prior to calling Foundation Works we had two other estimates for work, one was in line with the quote provided by Foundation Works and one was higher with a few additions to the work. So I would say their price was in parity with others. Myron did our initial inspection and spent a lot of time crawling around under our home and doing a very detailed inspection. He spent a long time sitting with us afterwards discussing what he discovered and what he recommended. He was very patient with our many questions. When we tried to add some additional work reinforcing what looked like some long term slippage on the peers under the house he carefully informed us of the history of how houses like ours were built and why we did not need to spend more money doing this repair as it wasn't slippage but rather just how it was built. Once we accepted the bid FW was able to start work quickly. They worked cleanly and while they don't clean up every day before going home they also don't leave a bad mess and the work was all in the backyard so a few piles of tools was not a big deal at all and was painless. The team that did our work was professional, friendly, and efficient. When we had questions they were always there to answer. When we had one (very small) issue related to the nails originally used in the 1920s to hold the corner floorboards in which had jumped up a bit due to the installation of blocks needed to support the bolting in a few places, they stopped work, immediately fixed the issue and adjusted how they worked so it didn't happen again. When the work was done you wouldn't even have known they were here. The yard and all entry points to the crawl space were spotless. The Burbank city inspection was a few days later, they handled it completely and we never needed to worry about a thing until they handed us approvals. The back office and payment process was professional, pleasant, and very low touch. I can't recommend this company more highly.

Description of Work
Bolting our 1921 Spanish bungalow foundation and repairing some minor cracks in the foundation of the 1950s addition.

Category foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $5,950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2016

Service Provider Response

Wow, sounds great, thank you so much for that glowing review, I always love hearing that the crew, the back office, the whole experience was on point and well received! There are a lot of moving pieces in what we do, the bottom line though is that when we're done, the mission is well accomplished and the homeowner is glad to have put us on their team, so thank you again for that and if we can be of any further assistance, you know where to find us! All the best, Tom Pelletier, Owner The Foundation Works
5.0

12/07/2016


Marvin M.

Excellent company. Free estimate and very informative proposal. Completed job and passed inspection. Cleaned up afterwards. Had accident with sprinklers but had it fixed the next day. Thank you to everyone at The Foundation Works.

Description of Work
Repair foundation and seismic retrofit foundation.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2016

5.0

11/16/2016


Vincent C.

I can't say enough praise about The Foundation Works or their people. Their sales team was super efficient, punctual, communicative. The workers who performed the job went very far above and beyond. They were clean around the space and great to have around. Specifically the foreman running the job was really great. He even called and text on weekends/after hours to communicate with me about small things and make sure I was taken care of. And even though the job took a little longer than they budgeted they didn't cut a single corner and stuck around until it was all done perfect. The city inspector was impressed. This was a big project and not a cheap expense for a home owner. But if I had to do it again I would hire these guys back 10/10. Feel very confident in the their work. Can't overstate how good they were. Thanks!

Description of Work
Foundation Works performed a seismic retrofit on my home. This included putting sheer up on a large/tall cripple wall that supports the top floor of my house. This wall was over 12 feet high in some places. They also secured the bottom wall to the foundation and the top of the cap of the first wall to the bottom of the top floor.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2016