CAL CLIMATE CORP

About

Founded 1970 • With Angi since November 2004

Cal Climate is family owned and operated, bringing a personal touch to everything we do. In 1970, founder Andrew "Andy" Sauer started the company with a simple vision - provide friendly, reliable service and products. Andy knew that Cal Climate would succeed by building a reputation based on going

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.9

(145) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

136

4

4

3

0

2

2

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (145)air duct cleaning (2)
Showing 1-25 of 145 reviews
5.0

06/07/2021


Rita Z.

I've been using Cal Climate for about three years and I couldn't be more satisfied with their responsiveness and professionalism. From the person who answers the phone and schedules appointments to the servicemen, they're always so nice to deal with. I always schedule a routine preventative service each May or June and this year Mike was my serviceman. He gave me an excellent explanation about how to choose a filter for my HVAC system that would enable it to work most efficiently and require fewer changes. The invoice for the service came through email with a mechanism to pay it online which made this the easiest home maintenance service I have had to deal with. Kudos to Cal Climate!

Description of Work
Annual preventive HVAC service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your business schedule to give us such a nice review. We are so thrilled that you were happy with your service from scheduling to the service that was performed at your home. We appreciate it very much. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

10/24/2020


Dana R.

Excellent. Cal Climate made necessary repairs. Couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Checking Air Conditioning and Heating System

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us such a nice review. We are so pleased you were happy with your service. We look forward to servicing your system in the future. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

06/10/2020


Margaret G.

Bob was just as good for me as for others who have written. My previous company had gone out of business. Bob checked out our system, replaced the air filters, and even recommended that we needed this service only once a year, not twice as the previous company had told us. I'll call him again.

Description of Work
preventing maintenance inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $185

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a kind review. We are so pleased you were happy with your recent service. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any questions or concerns with your system. Thank you again, it's very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

05/06/2020


Simon W.

The work was completed quickly and efficiently for a nominal fee. Very polite staff and left me with full confidence in their ability to service any future needs I might have.

Description of Work
Repairs on my aircon unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a kind review. We are so pleased you were happy with your recent service. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any questions or concerns with your system. Thank you again, it's very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

04/23/2020


Dana R.

Both heating and air now work perfectly. Couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
repair heating system fan and perform air conditioning maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a kind review. We are so pleased you were happy with your recent service. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any questions or concerns with your system. Thank you again, it's very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

01/24/2020


Ursula S.

Cal Climate was prompt in response for scheduling my appointment and they followed up with an email reminder/confirmation. My condo heater had not been heating the bedrooms well during very cold nights. Mike came out to check on my heater, he was extremely professional and knowledgeable. It happened that my system was working fine the day he arrived (it was a warm day) and he was unable to identify the problem after performing a number of tests both inside and with the unit on my roof. Mike suggested that if it happens again, he will come out promptly to take another look. I highly recommend Cal Climate!

Description of Work
Heater (HVAC) assessment, heater not working properly

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review. We appreciate all feed back for the services we provide. We are so pleased that you were happy with your service. Like Mike said, if the problem persists, don't hesitate to contact us. Thank you again, it's very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

12/06/2019


Frances H.

The CalClimate rep was on time. Thoroughly assessed our unit (both inside and compressor outside). Assured us that the unit would be serviceable for awhile but would ultimately need to be replaced (as we expected). Responsive. Respectful. Reliable. Thank you Cal Climate.

Description of Work
Assessment of an old HVAC unit. Reassurance that CalClimate could keep it working for us.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write such a nice review. We are pleased you were happy with your service. Please don't hesitate to contact us if anything should arise with your system. We will try our best to keep it going as long as possible. Thank you again, it'[Member Information Removed] very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

08/02/2019


Christie P.

This is my 2nd call to this provider. The first call, they evaluated/performed routine maintenance on the HVAC unit. This 2nd call, I actually had an issue of the water overflowing the drain pipe (condensation) and needed help. They're ALWAYS in a good mood when you call on the phone to set up an appointment. Service guys are prompt, well-mannered, respectful, good explainers, work efficiently and cleanly. What I didn't put on a yelp review was this last part and the fact that they email you an invoice. No worries about payment at time of service? Who does that? Apparently, they do! Unheard of in this day and age...which made me promptly enter my VISA payment information the second I got the email. I'll be a customer of theirs as long as they want me.

Description of Work
Turns out the water condensation was overflowing the plastic pipe, onto the garage floor. It was cleaned/cleared out. It had shorted out the pump that pumps the condensation out (water) and that was replaced. While there, Mike checked out the furnace and the A/C unit. Both working fine. Mike was an excellent explainer since I had a question about how to run the A/C during the hottest weather.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $305

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us such a nice review. We are pleased you were happy with our service. We appreciate your business and kindness. Cal Climate Corp.
1.0

07/01/2019


Lisa H.

I’ve been an Angie’s lust member for many years. I’ve used Cal Climate in the past as they were recommended by a good friend of mine who is a Client. This morning I added their advertised HVAC “DEAL” for $95. I called them soon after my submission and spoke to Jennifer. I advised I’m a previous client and a member of course of Angie’s List. I reside in Burbank as well. I advised I needed a routine maintenance check on my AC& Heating Unit. Jennifer stated they don’t do any maintenance inspections June through September?! This was Not documented on their Angie’s List “HVAC DEAL”! Jennifer also stated the $95 is the cost for showing up. Also not documented. She proceeded to tell me Inspections cost anywhere from $125-170?! Any repairs, Freon extra. I be used them before and routine annual inspections ran around $100. I returned to their offer a few days later and Jennifer falsely documented the coupon to a not accepting any more deals status. Extremely Unprofessional for a business owner to be so deceptive! She cancelled my Angie’s list deal!

Description of Work
Heating and AC annual inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your input regarding our office staff. I am not sure when you requested service but it is true we do not perform preventive Maintenance's in the summer. The reason for this is we are a small family owned company, we reserve the summer months for emergency services only. I'm sure if your system stopped working, you would prefer for us to fix your system rather than performing an maintenance on a working system. The $95 Angie's deal is for inspection of HVAC systems is valid. If there is a problem with your system, the $95 is waived and our regular rates will apply which is $125 Labor plus Parts. I have noticed that we performed a service on your system August 2018...I hope you were satisfied at that time. I am so very sorry for the misunderstanding. We try to do our very best to accommodate everyone as best as we can. We would appreciate it if you would give us another try, if you ask for me I will honor the $95 inspection - but if you do need parts or Freon unfortunately that will be an extra charge. Again please ask for me - Chris Sauer and I will take care of your needs. Thank you again for your feed back, even if it was painful to read. Chris Sauer/ VP - Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

05/09/2019


Keith M.

Cal Climate fix some duct work in our heating/ac unit. A couple of rooms were not getting air flow, a duct connection had become loose from the inside. Took less than an hour to inspect and fix. Great service.

Description of Work
Fix Heat/AC duct work

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for posting such a great review for us. We are so pleased that you were happy with our service. We try our best to give our customers the best experience possible. Thank you again...it is very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp
5.0

04/23/2019


Paul S.

My 24 year old system was inspected by an excellent serviceman, Mike. He was very thorough, punctual, efficient and honest. He told me that my compressor was beginning to rust but didn't need replacement at this time. I will definitely hire Cal Climate when a replacement is needed.

Description of Work
HVAC Inspection.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review. We are thrilled that you were happy with your service. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

02/04/2019


David M.

Mike, from Cal Climate, arrived exactly on time and went right to work on repairing our central heating system. In a matter of minutes, Mike diagnosed the problem (a malfunctioning control board) and ordered the needed part. Shortly afterwards, Mike returned with the part & quickly got our heating system up and running. I cannot say enough good words about Cal Climate. Overall, their highly trained professionals do superb work at a very reasonable price!

Description of Work
Replaced furnace control board

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for posting such a great review for us. We are so pleased that you were happy with our service. We try our best to give our customers the best experience possible. Thank you again...it is very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp
5.0

09/06/2018


Marit I.

Cal Climate Corp had been keeping my very old ac system alive for the past 3 years at a reasonable price and with excellent service. Bob and Tom are honest and conscientious so when the time came to replace the entire ac system, I was happy that they were available to do the work...particularly in the midst of another sweltering Southern California summer. The quoted price was much less than I anticipated, the work was completed in one day, and I was perfectly comfortable leaving them to do the work unattended. I returned home to find my home as clean as when I left it...and, thankfully, much cooler. I recommend them unreservedly.

Description of Work
Replacement of air conditioning system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a awesome review, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you are happy with our work and look forward to serving you again. We are always here for you so please don't hesitate to give us a call if you need anything with your equipment. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

08/15/2018


PAMELA R.

In no time at all it was fixed. This company is so responsible and always on time and just know their job.

Description of Work
My A/C failed to work

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a awesome review, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you are happy with our work and look forward to serving you again. We are always here for you so please don't hesitate to give us a call if you need anything with your equipment. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

07/03/2018


barbara L.

I have used CAL CLIMATE many times. At home and for my church. Bob and his workers are always on time, polite, respectful, honest and helpful! You will not be disappointed! Great people and reasonable prices. I will never call anyone else.

Description of Work
Service and repairs to the church A/C and heating units

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a awesome review, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you are happy with our work and look forward to serving you again. We are always here for you so please don't hesitate to give us a call if you need anything with your equipment. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

06/28/2018


Alice E M.

They came to my house every two years and it was excellent.

Description of Work
They check my heating and air conditioning system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a wonderful review. We are so glad you are happy with our work and look forward to serving you again. We are always here for you so please don't hesitate to give us a call if you need anything with your equipment. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

06/16/2017


Don T.

I've used them a couple of times. I don't think they were the cheapest. It was a big job, so at least three people came to complete the service. It was very clean when they left. They were very punctual, they cleaned up after themselves. They had to cut a hole in our attic; they installed an attic door that we provided to them at no extra charge because they needed to get up there anyway. Their estimator was really friendly knowledgeable, he was excellent.

Description of Work
They installed our air conditioning several years ago. They also installed a new furnace and they redid all the ducting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2014

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us such a great review. Please [Member Name Removed]'t hesitate to call if you have any questions or need help with your system. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

12/15/2016


Judy M.

Pretty good. They took care of me for a long time. They're responsive when I have an issue, but I didn't use them for replacement, because I felt like they didn't offer as much choice. Over all the years, I have no complaints about their service so I'd still give them an A. I just didn't use them this time, but they helped me out to buy me time to get some estimates.

Description of Work
I had CAL CLIMATE CORP for years. They installed my system originally way back 20 years ago, but they have been doing an annual maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feed back. We strive to give the best service as possible. It's always refreshing to have an honest response. Thank you for your continued business and will look forward to seeing you again. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

08/22/2016


Steve M.

The service person was great! He was very knowledgable. I talked with him about what was wrong and he knew his stuff. He recharged the system and explained what the coolant level had dropped, causing part of the system to freeze. It was a simple fix and he finished quickly and was on his way. I was impressed.

Description of Work
Needed air conditioning looked at since it wasn't cooling properly.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $165

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to give us such a wonderful rating, it's very much appreciated. We strive to give you the best service as possible at a reasonable price. We look forward to see you again [Member Information Removed] thank you again. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

08/15/2016


MICHAEL G.

Two thumbs up. HVAC unit was installed 3 years ago and system is running excellent. Chris and his crew completed the work in a professional manner. We appreciated their attention to detail and making sure the job was done right. A must is yearly maintenance service!

Description of Work
Replacement of whole house HVAC and ducting

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great rating and kind words. We are so pleased that you were happy with our crew. We try our best to be the best at what we do. Thank you again - it's very much appreciated. Cal Climate Corp.
1.0

07/30/2016


Gloria D.

During the first heat wave at end of June, I spent the entire day calling Cal Climate, no one ever returned my calls after leaving messages after messages. I finally reached the owner at the end of the day. He told me how great his company was and he was swamped. I had to wait for 30 days for an appointment. He gave me an estimate to replace the condenser and coil. But the proposal offers a lowest end Honeywell Model, which has the lowest consumer satisfaction. I requested for an upgrade, (not the upper end but one level up). He added $1,000 on the estimate. I was not happy because after having waited for him for 30 days in this heat, he made no attempt to give any kind of discount. I also have an UV light bulb that needed to be replaced. He told me to go buy it myself and he would replace it for me. I am not an A/C person, how would I know what light bulb I need. For someone who is a professional, why would he not know where to buy a UV light bulb? In fact, he said that if the UV light is under warranty, I should contact the company that installed the UV light to replace it. The part is not defective except only the UV bulb was burned out. He has no clue where to purchase the UV bulb. He told me to go buy the UV light bulb myself. Finally, he declined to work on my system after making me wait for 30 days in over 100 degree heat. What kind of customer service is that?

Description of Work
I need a new condenser and new coil and the repair of the motor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,850

Work Completed On 07/25/2016

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the delay in phoning you back during a heat wave. We call people back first come first served... During that heat wave we got 100 calls that Monday and 50-75 calls each day after that. Of course that is no excuse and we would like to personally apologize for that. Second, when we ask customers to purchase items on their own, it's because the item is very expensive and the customer can usually get a discount better than we can. I don't know if you asked what kind of bulb you needed but once again, we are so sorry that we put you in the situation. As far as the price on your replacement proposal, we never increase our prices during the summer months like some other companies do, with that said - the price is what it is, fair and competitive. When it's hot, everyone is hot & miserable and we try our best to accommodate everyone as quickly as possible. Cal Climate Corp.
5.0

07/20/2016


Peter A.

I originally sent in a bad review fo this Company because of their not returning my phone calls. The finally did return the call and I met with Bob Sauer we went over what had to be done to replace the unit on the roof. I then accepted their quote and the on July 20th the work was done. thew work the y did was of very high quality and professional including looking in to small details ane professional quality.

Description of Work
Replace Air Conditioning packaa unit on Roof.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac