Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes

Founded 2000 • With Angi since February 2007

4.9

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

828 E Grinnell Dr

Burbank, CA 91501

Description

We are a design build firm who specializes in historic homes. We have designed many vintage kitchens, bathrooms and seamless additions to look and feel like they are original to the house. We also design and build new homes too. "Best of Burbank" 5 times and Angie's List Super Service Award! We are now EPA-certified lead-safe renovators! Additional service area is portions of San Fernando Valley....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

07/12/2017


Ronald D.

The only thing I disliked is I did not think there was enough communication with the contractors and us to let us know what exactly happening the next day. If I called them they would respond but not any proactive on theirs. I would necessarily x them out but I would say more expectation before I would hire them again.

Description of Work
I used Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes for bathroom remodeling. They completely redid our master bathroom, new tiles, toilet, shower, vanity and closet doors.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/22/2017


Robert N.

My husband and I contracted with Bethanis Homes after a plumbing disaster forced us to gut the largest bathroom in our 1928 home in La Canada-Flintridge, CA. The owner, Mark Bethanis, is extremely knowledgeable, well priced and personable. He was patient and a calming influence always. An excellent communicator, Mark was never more than a phone call or a text message away. He worked closely with his crew and subcontractors and was on the job site often. There was the added bonus of Mark's great eye for detail and design. He suggested changes that made for a better layout, and provided us with invaluable design advice - turning what would have been a pretty period bathroom into something stunning that we absolutely love! We have had extensive work done over the years to update and preserve our historic home, but we have never had a project of this magnitude run so smoothly, or worked with such an artful and detail-oriented contractor as Mark. It was such a pleasure and privilege working with Mark and his wonderful crew who were courteous, trustworthy and incredibly neat on-site. We have decided to give our kitchen a face-lift and are looking forward to working with Mark and his team of talented tradesmen again!!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

09/04/2014


Heather H.

We couldn't be happier with our kitchen remodel. Mark Bethanis and his crew did an amazing job from start to finish. The entire kitchen was gutted down to the studs and subfloor, and the ceiling was removed. The adjacent laundry room wall was removed and the space was added into the kitchen, making the kitchen almost double in size, and the laundry was moved to a closet down the hall. A half wall separating the kitchen and dining room was also removed, making the dining room and kitchen flow into one space. The existing exterior side door was closed up and a new opening made for french doors out to the backyard with a small landing built to step down to the back patio. The entire kitchen layout was rearranged, so the sink, stove, oven and fridge were all re-piped along with all new electrical for the kitchen and a new 200amp box for the house that was also moved to a different location. A tankless water heater was installed outside along with a whole house water filtration system. New hardwood floors were installed throughout the house (except the bedrooms) along with some repairs to the subfloor in the living room. Throughout all this Mark and his crew were punctual, professional and kept us informed during the process. There were a few unexpected issues that came up during the remodel and Mark was straightforward with us about options and solutions available. We never felt railroaded or forced into making choices we were unhappy with. Our house is from the 20s and has all the "character" that comes with that, both good and bad. Several people have said that this kitchen looks like what should have been there from the start and we wholeheartedly agree. We would definitely hire Mark again.

Description of Work
Completely remodeled kitchen, installed hardwood floors in kitchen, dining room. living room and hallway (approx 650sf), moved washer and dryer to new location, installed new 200amp electrical box and power to the garage, created the opening and installed french doors out to the patio, closed up old doorway, installed new casement window, removed a wall, new pipes in kitchen, and installed all new appliances.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/17/2013


Jeff H.

My wife and I appreciate Mark's referral to another company who could do the job we needed. We'd made a lot of calls and had contractors come to our home but we couldn't get a recommendation or find a company that would make both cabinet and dishwasher modifications so our cabinet could be cut right and the existing hardwired dishwasher be rewired to accommodate a new dishwasher. Mark was the first to actually recommend a company and that company turned out to specialize in that area. So thanks Mark for your help! We appreciate Mark's work ethic.

Description of Work
Made a recommendation to another contractor

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/20/2013


Trevor S.

We have worked with Mark on projects for years. He is the rare type of contractor who really gets passionate about each challenge. He is incredibly creative and brings with him an equally creative and inspired team of workers who quite simply, wont let you down. Mark and his crew have so much experience with such a wide variety of projects and styles of homes, that he also has the rare ability to work with you as a designer-which really makes it a one stop shop. His pricing is fair, he isn't out to get you. He is extremely knowledgeable on city and building codes and how they might affect any goals you have with your project. He is awesomely smart and resourceful. He makes your project as fun and important as it should be, because it sincerely means as much to him as it does to you. If you are looking for that quality in a contractor elsewhere, good luck. This is the team you want on your side.

Description of Work
Mark and his crew took on the fairly involved project of bringing out the character of a newer built home we had purchased, to make it look old. Like almost Victorian old. It would basically take wizardy to do this-and thats pretty much what you get when you hire Mark. We swapped out floors, redid an entire kitchen in an old world style with custom tile work, redid paint with tons of brilliant faux finishing wood work and heritage colors. Completely changed base moldings throughout entire house, changed out every piece of hardware, right down to air grates. Changed all light fixtures out, completely transformed our fireplace from an eyesore into a focal point. The list keeps going..

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, doors

5.0

10/31/2013


Tara L.

Our project was anything but your average home remodel. We purchased a rather major ?fixer? home with the dilemma being that we needed to occupy the home, along with our two elderly mothers, within 3 weeks of the close of escrow. Not only was time of the essence, but this was to be our ?last? home and the design and quality of work was very important to us as well. Most contractors would steer clear of such a project, but Mark rose to the occasion with a carefully thought out design plan and execution timeline which would be broken into two successive phases. The first phase would get our home ready to be occupied and the second phase would be the completion of a large great room/kitchen and another bedroom and bath, hardwood floors, and lots of finish work. This was our first project with Mark and although he came highly recommended, we were still a bit apprehensive that such a project would go according to plan, as we had no room for error. That apprehension was gone by the end of the first day of work. We received the keys to our home on a Monday at 5:00 p.m. and at 7:00 a.m. Tuesday morning a full crew descended upon our home with a single mission in mind ? to complete the very challenging first phase of our remodel in less than 3 weeks. Phase 1 included demolishing 75% of the home?s interior, enlarging and completing two new bathrooms suited for the elderly, two new closets, relocating a powder room, updating another bath, new HVAC, lighting, flooring and paint and I?m certain I?m forgetting several other details ? the project was daunting at best!!! The crew stayed on task every working minute and each day ended with the joy of seeing the plan unfold. Less than 3 weeks from start we moved in and we are now nearing the completion of our entire project. We cannot say enough about Mark and his entire team of highly qualified craftsmen/tradesmen. We have remodeled several homes in the past and we were accustomed to having to deal with many delays and strung out timelines as well as being our own ?quality-control? or project managers. This is not the case with Mark. He carefully inspects the work on a daily basis. He is extremely responsive and proactive and knows how to keep a project moving according to plan. He continually suggests options to save money and cut unnecessary costs. He has an excellent eye for good design and creates beautiful rooms from dust. Mark is a joy to work with, as is his foreman Al. We have found the last contractor we will ever use!

Description of Work
Complete home remodel including: a comprehensive design plan, rewiring & new sub-panels, extensive plumbing, replacement of ceiling joists, designing and relocating kitchen & bathrooms, creating new storage closets and butlers pantry, new HVAC, new windows & doors, new hardwood flooring, painting & decorative molding throughout.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, wallpaper removal, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, marble & granite, stucco, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

5.0

10/30/2013


BARBARA H.

Mark is a good listener, and gave me exactly what I wanted, including some unconventional extra shelving around the upper perimeter of the kitchen for displaying memorabilia. My 1941 house was designed with a second bathroom that also served as a hall from the service porch to an office/bedroom, very tacky. He knocked out the wall between the service porch and kitchen and the wall between the service porch and the bathroom, making one very large kitchen with laundry facilities. He moved the narrow door to the office/bedroom so that none of the connecting doors banged into each other as previously. He relocated the guest bathroom to an unnecessary hall near the dining room and living room, convenient to guests. The workmanship in the custom cabinets, painting, in fact everything, is excellent. I've never seen better. Mark advised me where to go to look at tile, flooring, appliances, and accessories. He also warned me off impractical choices I had made, such as a sink that wasn't deep enough. In some cases, he found better products than I had, and emailed me so that I could consider further. We shopped so carefully and completely that I came in well under my allowances. All of his workers were considerate and helpful, especially Al, his foreman. It was a fun collaboration.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen, laundry room, and bathroom, replacing old walls, ceilings, electrical wiring, lighting, and plumbing. Relocated guest bathroom to an unused hall. Installed outside porch light. Painted exterior of house, garage, cinder block walls and hall. Updated other electrical and plumbing bringing everything up to code. Broke into cement around old metal frames to make new frames and install all new windows. Installed air conditioning unit and tankless water heater.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/11/2013


lisa H.

Mark did a wonderful job remodeling our kitchen. He is a really amiable guy with great people skills, so it was always pleasant interacting with him. He has put together a great team of workers who are conscientious, courteous and skilled. He looked out for our interest and was always mindful of cost, without sacrificing quality and workmanship. He came in right on budget and right on time. This was a challenging remodel that went smoothly because of Mark and his team. We are really pleased and will always use him for future remodels.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/09/2013


Patrick M.

Mark and his team did an outstanding job on my house! It needed a lot of work after being rented out for a number of years and he and his team restored and repaired my 1925 English Revival bungalow back to its charming self. He replaced the hardwood floors with floors as they would have been in 1925, completely demolished and restored the main bathroom to better than its original condition by rearranging the layout (see pictures), and completely repainted the interior, recommending a beautiful color scheme that is perfect! He and his team are absolutely the BEST and I can?t wait to have them come back to remodel my kitchen.

Description of Work
Replaced worn out hardwood floors, repainted home's interior, gutted main bathroom to studs and installed all new tile, clawfoot tub, fixtures

Category hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

09/09/2013


Priscilla S.

The contractor provided all the needed services. His men worked well but my mother, for whom Bethanis was employed, had to speak to the workers about leaving trash out or dumping paint water on the lawn. The good part of this company is that any thing that is brought to the attention of Mr. Bethanis is promptly addressed. It's a reliable, good company. Mr. Bethanis has also bought and renovated homes in the area; his work is always done in very good taste. He has a good eye for design and can offer very good advice.

Description of Work
General outdoor painting of home, landscaping contracting and electrical

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, handyman service, remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling, house painters

3.0

02/19/2013


Roxanne M.

I left about three different messages and never received a call back.

Description of Work
At the time I was looking for a home.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), We looked back through our phone log over the past 6 months, and found no messages left by you. Could you have called and not left a message? Or could you have called another contractor thinking it was us? In any event, if we had received a call from you we would have happily called you back as we do with everyone that calls. We have an "A" rating with Angies list. This is not by luck, it was earned by consistently providing outstanding service to all of our clients. Mark Bethanis, Bethanis Homes.

5.0

01/07/2013


Clay W.

I tend to be a stickler on details. The house being remodeled had gone without maintenance for some time (inside and out) and the house really looked tired and worn out. A realtor would call it "a fixer." To get this job done and done right, I screened an embarrassingly large number of contractors. Some were listed here on Angie's List and others were found elsewhere. Mark Bethanis was the next to the last contractor I interviewed. Mark's bid was not the lowest nor the highest but I selected Mark because his quote made more sense than the others. Mark impressed me as a hands on guy (he is the owner) rather than just someone sent out to provide a quote (I ran into several of these). I also felt like I could trust Mark to get the job done right, and I was right. At the end of the job, told Mark how glad I was that I selected him. He provided excellent quality work at a very reasonable price and always went the extra mile to ensure the job was done right. Coordinating work and communicating with him was professional and I was always able to get in touch with Mark very quickly. Even my neighbors commented to me how professional and hardworking Mark and his team were. Refinishing the hardwood floors was impeccable. The vents for the old HVAC system had been installed in the floors. Since a new HVAC system would be installed, this was the perfect time to relocate all the vents to the ceiling and repair the floors. The hardwood floors, however, were rather unusual with planks that were wider than normal. When the floors were completed, visitors have not been able to identify the repaired sections - it just all looks and feels like the floor vents had never been installed in the first place. The floors look new. Restoration of the exterior of the house was similarly excellent. The house hadn't been painted in 25 years and the exterior was of the "Bat & Board" type. Some of the bats was come loose, most of them had unsealed gaps between the bat and the boards. Also, the last painter had stripped away five or six layers of paint at the top of the "boards" prior to painting the whole house. This left a clearly visible, ragged and unsightly difference in the surface hight of the paint job. The double hung windows really looked like they might not be salvageable and might need to be replaced. When Mark's team was finished with exterior painting, all of these defects had been corrected and the house now looks like is must have when it was new. Mark was also able to "tune-up" the double hung windows to the point that they didn't need replacing, they work correctly and look great. The main bathroom remodel was also a huge success. The window in the old bathroom bad been built too far to one side and extended into the shower area (clearly something that needed to be fixed). A section of the bathroom was too narrow, the countertops were too narrow and the sink was too small. By moving one wall about 11 inched (reclaiming space from a four-foot deep bedroom closet), and resizing the window, Mark and his team were able to correct each of these issues. Before, the bath was one of the major flaws of the house. Now, it is a highlight. The HVAC system - The old system included a wall/floor "gravity" furnace, a forced air heater, and a separate air conditioning system. There were two separate sets of ventilation duct work with floor vents, old ceiling vents, newer ceiling vents, and a vent that ran on top of a flat roof section (required for the family room). Mark removed the three separate systems and installed a single combined heat/Cool system with new ductwork and ceiling vents. Mark was also able to remove the exterior duct and replace it with two very cleverly installed ducts that I would never have thought possible - really nice work. Old and large circular style ceiling ducts were removed and patched. The walls and ceilings in the house are lath and plaster and have a unique hand textured surface. Mark's team was able to recreate the surface texture in the patched area to the extent that the repairs are not visible. While I haven't detailed each portion of the job here (it would take too long), each portion of the job went the same - excellent. I hope this review adequately conveys how happy I am with Mark and the job he did for me. I've used many contractors in the past, but none were as good as Bethanis, Inc. I will be using Bethanis again.

Description of Work
Job was to remodel/update an 1850 square foot house in Pasadena California that had been built in 1948. Interior and exterior required painting, hardwood floors refinished and repaired, new heating and air-conditioning system with new ductwork, Main bathroom completely remodeled, Kitchen remodeled with new floors, countertops, and refreshed cabinets, and appliances replaced. Family room required new ventilation ductwork, very dated and dark paneling painted and new carpet installed. Laundry room and 1/2 bath required new floors and a new toilet. Garage also required painting and a new side door. A carport behind the garage that had been turned into a work shed behind the garage required demolition and removal.

Category hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your glowing report. It was a pleasure to work with you. It takes a team effort to get a job like yours completed on time and on budget so I must give much credit to my team. I couldnt have done it without them! Cheers to you Team Bethanis, another happy Client!

5.0

11/27/2012


Dorothy M.

no story as I didn't use this company

Description of Work
Mark Bethanis was professional and responsive but I did not use him as his estimate was much higher than I wanted.

Category home builders, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the opportunity to have bid on your upcoming remodeling project. Bethanis Homes strives to continually be professional and responsive to all inquiries, and we pride ourselves on giving complete and thorough cost breakdowns to all prospective customers. Our attention to detail and quality work is valued by our clients.

5.0

04/25/2012


Elaine W.

They were excellent. They were very attention detailed oriented. They were fabulous. Our house has four bed room three and half bath, they designed and built it from the ground up. They worked with us on colors, finishes and they were terrific.

Description of Work
We used Bethanis inc. for construction and general contracting. They built our house top to bottom.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

Customer, we're thrilled to know that you are enjoying your brand new home that we created. I take great pride in every detail. We hope you will enjoy your home for many years to come.

5.0

01/27/2012


Stan C.

We were very happy with them. They sanded the door for me when he had the door off for free, it was very nice. He is very nice, very neat. We will have him back. He goes above and beyond, great guy.

Description of Work
We had them rebuild the door frame.

Category handyman service, doors

5.0

01/24/2012


Brooke C.

Once again I have nothing but good news to report about Mark Bethanis, his sub-contractors and crew. We needed a brand new garage to be placed on the opposite side of the house from the old garage, which was to be converted into a new master bedroom. Mark came to our home several times to discuss possibilities for the new garage. Once we decided on a plan he made several trips to the city to get all the necessary permits in place. He estimated the work would take 11 weeks, and he was spot on. As soon as we were permitted, the foundation for the new garage was poured and the entire garage erected in a matter of a few weeks. Our neighbors were astonished. They thought we would be under construction for months and really the bulk of the heavy duty construction was completed in very short order. Now the garage looks like it was built with the rest of the house. The roof line is completely seamless, the exterior paint matches perfectly and all the finishing touches fit beautifully with the original look of the home. The master bedroom took less ingenuity but certainly was very well designed and executed by Mark and his sub-contractors. Floors were put down, drywall put up, electrical elegantly wired and a new French door system arrived on time and was placed nicely into the old garage door frame. As always, Mark was very hands-on and always available to us for any questions or concerns that came up. His crew is the best in the business; they were on time every day, they were extremely courteous to our neighbors, and kept the site very tidy, a nice bonus for us who lived in the house during construction. I'm not going to report that Bethanis Inc. is inexpensive, but I will say his estimates are fair, very competitive and what you get for your dollar is unsurpassed in this business. I've said it before, but for this kind of report I think it bears repeating, I've worked with several contractors in my line of work, and I find Mark Bethanis and all of his associates to be among the very best in the business. And yes, I will hire him again.

Description of Work
The scope of the work for Mark Bethanis and his crews was to build a new garage for us and convert the old garage into a new master bedroom. The garage had to be designed and engineered, then built from the ground up and seamlessly attached to the existing roof line. The new master needed to have the floor leveled with the rest of the house, new electrical, drywall, new windows and sliding French doors and new wardrobes built into the walls.

Category countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, garage doors, plumbing, remodeling, garage builders, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Customer, thank you for your glowing report. We have enjoyed working with you on every project. In addition, thank you for referring us to your friends and associates with complete confidence.

1.0

01/16/2012


Stan W.

As mentioned in a previous report, Mr. Bethanis was very professional when we first contacted his company. He showed up on time to present himself, review the projects we wanted to begin, and to give us ideas on how to proceed. He then left and satated that he would send us an estimate for the work to be completed. We never heard from him again. Repeated calls - no response. Very unprofessional in my opinion.

Description of Work
No services performed.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We apologize to the Member if his calls were not returned, as it was not our intention to ignore him. We take pride in being a very professional organization with a stellar repuation. We do believe it was unfair to give us an “F” rating since we didn’t provide any service to the Member other than a free in-home consultation. As the Member acknowledges, Mark spent a considerable amount of time giving the Member “ideas on how to proceed, and shared his knowledge and experience with him. Bethanis Homes has earned Angie’s List Super Service Awards in multiple categories by satisfying many customers for whom we have actually performed services.

5.0

12/13/2011


Valerie S.

They were good, we were pretty pleased with them. They were in and out and they were pleasant. It fit well and they seemed to know what they were doing. They got right in there and got to work. These guys were in and out within a few hours. Would definitely schedule them again.

Description of Work
They modified the space for an oven because we had to purchase and install a new one.

Category home builders

5.0

10/24/2011


Brooke C.

I found Mark Bethanis and Bethanis Inc. right here on Angies list along with several other companies that I interviewed for an interior kitchen and bathroom remodel for my new home. Mark's office staff was pleasant and clear about his availability and had him call me right away to discuss the project in detail. Once he had a good idea of what the project entailed he met me at the new house, looked everything over and said he'd have an estimate within a few days. Which he did. The way he lays out his estimates is very clear and easy to understand. And given his experience with subcontractors and the various other entities that come along with a renovation - he was extremely accurate as to the overall cost of the project. The work commenced and not only did he come in on time, he came in on budget! Furthermore, his crews are all very polite and tidy -- a big bonus! I've renovated houses in several states and hosted my own design show on HGTV and I've worked with a ton of contractors, each of whom knows how important it is to be timely and good with a budget, yet not too many of them can actually pull it off - Mark Bethanis did. I would and have recommended him to friends and I've hired him again to build my new garage and master bedroom. Check back here in a few months for that report. Expect it to be glowing - I do. Brooke Channon HGTV's Sensible Chic

Description of Work
Complete renovation of existing kitchen. Resurfacing of cabinetry, replacement of appliances, new flooring, new counter tops, new lighting and removal of an old interior gas barbeque which became a wet bar. Complete renovation of master bath. Resurfacing existing cabinetry, replacing the floor, replacing the built-in jacuzzi tub to a free standing bath. Gutting the existing shower, re-tiling it and the tub surround, and putting hardwood floors into the existing master bedroom.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/20/2011


Daniel F.

We couldn't be more pleased with the results. Mark Bethanis was personally involved and gets as excited with the project as we do. He has great ideas that complement our desires and is great to work with. He has an excellent team of craftsmen that had also participated in the bathroom remodeling, so clearly he relies on them for his jobs. There isn't anything we would change with the entire project. The price was very reasonable and there were no surprises. The final bill was actually less than the estimate. We will always turn to Bethanis, inc. for any work on our home.

Description of Work
We own a 1929 home in a Historic Preservation Zone and the home falls under the Mills Act which requires approval of all interior and exterior changes from the Los Angeles Historical Architect. We are trying to maintain the home and correct earlier modifications that were not consistent with the home style. After a wonderful experience with Bethanis, inc. in the remodeling of the master bath, we hired them again for a remodeling of the kitchen. They completely demolished the old kitchen and replaced everything, including the floors and windows. The work included planning, design, rough carpentry, electrical, plumbing, installing new custom wood cabinets, hardwood floors, tile, countertop, lighting, appliance installation, window installation, and painting.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/08/2011


KAREN B.

We interviewed three general contractors with excellent reviews on Angie’s List. Mark Bethanis was the only one who was confident that he could do what we wanted within a reasonable time frame. We found him personable, professional, and easy to work with. He impressed us with his design ideas and his “can do” attitude. For example, he suggested that we move our sink and garden window 12”, which allowed us to gain useful prep space without adding much to the cost. His knowledge of 1920s Spanish style houses helped us make choices in keeping with the character of the rest of our house. We hired Mark to do a total remodel of our kitchen (ceiling, walls, floor, windows, and doors, cabinets, appliances), build a deck, and install two solar tubes in the dining room. We couldn’t be happier with the process or the end result. It was clear from the beginning that Mark knew how to get the job done efficiently and with minimal inconvenience to us. He was at the jobsite daily and kept us informed about what was on the schedule for the next few days. Mark was easygoing, patient, supportive, willing to discuss changes, and always available for phone or email consultation. He advised us on where to go to see products and even went with us on a Saturday to choose decking material. In addition, he took full responsibility for getting the city permits and for being there whenever the building inspector came. Mark employs a highly competent crew of carpenters/ painters. Considerate, and punctual, they were quiet, respectful, and responsive to my requests. They kept the construction area walled off to keep the dirt out of the rest of the house and left the work area neat and clean when leaving for the day. Mark’s sub-contractors are also highly skilled and have been working with him for years. Because of their good working relationships, they were always willing to come to the job whenever they were needed. In short, Mark made our kitchen remodel an enjoyable adventure. We are delighted with our new kitchen and grateful that we chose Bethanis, Inc. to do the work. The next time we decide to do another home remodeling project, Mark Bethanis is definitely the person we will call!

Description of Work
Complete remodel of kitchen including: design advice, all new cabinets, countertops, appliances, floor, lighting, electrical, plumbing, tiling of floor and backsplash, construction of arched doorway, new door and windows; construction of deck, and installation of solar tubes. Totally finished condition including all painting, inside and out.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, replacement windows, skylights, woodworking, stucco, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, mold removal

5.0

06/30/2011


CHERI A.

We started with the hall bathroom and moved to the master bath once the first one was completed. There was big movement every single day. There was not a day that didn't have big changes happening in the room. From start to finish, including all detail work, each bathroom took 4 weeks. Mark took care of all permits and inspections. His assistant, Al, is as terrific as Mark is. All of the contractors were respectful and cleaned up their messes. Our hardwood floors were protected at all times, our belongings covered in plastic when necessary to protect them. All of my nervous questions were answered with respect. When I needed advice, it was beneficial. Honestly, I couldn't ask for more than what I received throughout this process. What I have now are 2 absolutely gorgeous bathrooms! Our home is much more marketable now because of this improvement. Though, how could we ever move with these beautiful rooms!

Description of Work
Our 1970s bathrooms had numerous problems with functionality. The bedroom/guest bath had wasted space, the master bath was tiny and uncomfortable. Then there was the ugliness factor. After years of consideration and attempting to reconfigure the rooms numerous ways, we made the decision to remodel. Mark Bethanis listened to my concerns, measured the spaces, and then came up with an idea better than any I had considered. His knowledge of space needed for our comfort allowed me to visualize a concept that would improve our home on every level. His quote listed each item needed and the budget for each. It clearly showed the cost breakdown, which I found very helpful. He assured me that he knew his sub-contractors well and would not use anyone who's work he didn't know well. We were able to tour a home of which he was just finishing a complete remodel. It was obvious from seeing the craftsmanship that his work was excellent. His knowledge of contracting was obvious from the start. Our concerns were always met with immediate response. Every plumbing item in both bathrooms moved from their existing position and were replaced -- both toilets, all water supplies, new tub, sinks and showers. Each bathroom was demolished to the studs. The windows were replaced and reconfigured. A new wall between the bathrooms created a more comfortable environment for both bathrooms. We were able to do 1 bathroom at a time so our family would have 1 usable bathroom at all times. Our original bathrooms were built to enter, do what you need to do, and get OUT of there. Our new bathrooms are both so beautiful that we don't want to leave. Our master shower is a little slice of heaven. Every detail and everywhere we look is extremely fulfilling. Very happy with Mark Bethanis and his very hard working team.

Category bathtub refinishing, contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

2.0

05/18/2011


Dazy J.

I would not bother to call this comapny again. they are too busy to come to our house to give an estimate. there are so many good companies out there to do good job

Description of Work
they did not even come to give an estimate. I called a couple of times. Too bad i did not have to give this company the job!

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

In our conversation over the phone with the Member, we thoroughly discussed the cost of the work she wanted done, and gave her an estimate. She indicated that her budget was much lower than our estimate. We sincerely hope the Member found a good company to do a good job for her. We should not be given a "D" rating because we're busy. Most great contractors are busy.

5.0

04/09/2011


Rebecca N.

Mark has a professional team. It is apparent that there is mutual respect between him and his workers and subcontractors. When the job was started, they worked daily until it was complete. Mark was in contact almost daily, keeping me updated on the progress and what to expect the next day. This gave me a high level of confidence during the project. We are very happy with the outcome.

Description of Work
We had a master bathroom and bedroom remodel that resulted in a major improvement to the master suite. I did not have a clear idea of what I wanted, with the bathroom update. I liked that Mark showed me examples of their work, and provided design ideas to create a warm, spa quality bathroom in a limited space. The bathtub was replaced with a large, striking and interestingly tiled shower with a corner seat. The bathroom now feels open and larger than before. Mark limited cost by maintaining the original footprint and arranging for a remnant for the granite vanity top. The bathroom and bedroom were painted a rich brown color, also Mark’s recommendation, and added crown molding. The workmanship is excellent, the process was painless and the outcome is beautiful. Part of the project, was to fix an ongoing problem with water leaking under French doors. We had a previous repair, which did not fix the problem. Another contractor assessment recommended a major replacement. Mark said he could fix the problem by raising and replacing the threshold, weather stripping, rehanging and refinishing the doors. This solution allowed us to save the doors, shudders and a Phantom screen and therefore save money. Since the fix, we had a major storm, with wind, and there was no water problem.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

3.0

03/20/2011


Rick L.

Well, I was dissapointed. Not so much because he did bad work -- but because I didn't even have the chance to work with him. Indeed, we spent at least an hour together at my home, as I explained the plans that had been developed. He came prepared including a list of references and photographs of several previous jobs that he had done. All impressive. He made some suggestions, that I said were wonderful but expanded the scope of the project beyond our intentions and were not within my budget, and he seemed to understand that. Further, I made it clear that I would be purchasing several items for the job, i.e., plumbing fixures and appliances, that would not be part of his bid; he seemed somewhat reluctant to embrace that concept. In any event, he did run a preliminary budget number by me, and I said that was within the range that I expected. He said that he would take the information, call me with any questions and work up a bid -- line by line -- for my review in approximately one week. Three weeks later, he called, and on voice mail left me a message that he was just too busy to take on my job. That left a bad taste in my mouth for several reasons... a. WHY WAIT 3 WEEKS TO TELL ME THAT? b. Does Bethanis only want jobs where the customer gives you carte blance (i.e., were you put off by the idea that I had specific ideas) c. While Mr. Bethanis time is valuable, so is mine: If you are going to take my time up with me explaining the job, at least tell me on the spot it's not something you want...or else prepare the bid. I'm not telling Angies List members to avoid Bethanis...indeed, the other reviews are really good...but just make sure, in a timely fashion, to get a commitment from him whether he's really interested or not. Mr. Bethanis: It's okay to say "no," it's not okay to keep people hanging.

Description of Work
Based upon the reviews here in Angies List, I called Mr. Bethanis and we set a time to meet. He came to my home and we spent some time reviewing plans and elevations that I had drawn for a complete kitchen remodel, including adjacent breakfast room, pantry and laundry room.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It's not our intention to keep anyone hanging, and we apologize to the Customer. When we do jobs, all of our contracts spell out the complete cost and estimated timing for a project. At Bethanis Homes, we strive to keep on time and on budget with every job. In this instance, we spent considerable time consulting with the Customer, and even though we did not provide services beyond that, we hope the information we shared and the time we spent at his house was helpful to him.

    Other local Pros in your area

    RAA Construction Group

    Here at RAA Construction Group , our mission is to provide you with quality and professionalism on your projects that will fit your budget and your wish list. We specialize in designing and remodeling your: bathroom remodels. kitchen remodels. Room additions. ADU(garage Conversion). And complete remodeling. Our goal is to give you the best performance and attention During working with you on your home. Sticking to a sharp schedule allows us to finish our projects on time. We are general contractors/electrical licensed, insured bonded. We will be happy to talk and help with any questions And to schedule a free on site estimate, please contact us for additional information  

    Offers by RAA Construction Group  on Angi
    BIG Outdoors

     

    Mike Guttman Design & Construction

    Allow Mike Guttman, with 30 years of experience in outdoor design and construction to integrate masonry and landscape and transform your outside living space into a beautiful place to come home to. Mike's designs have been featured on HGTV , is affordable and he has serviced the L.A. area from Los Feliz to Malibu including the Hollywood elite. Mike will meet with you personally for a consultation to artfully and masterfully integrate masonry with landscape design. His customer service and attention to detail has been awarded multiple Super Service Awards from Angie's List. Mike will personally spend time visiting with you to design the perfect outdoor space for your home. Spend time with Mike and see the difference. .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Complete New Homes, design and build! Complete home makovers. New kitchens and bath remodeling. additions to your home. Vintage Home restoration.

    Services Not Offered

    Handyman needs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes

    How is Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes overall rated?

    Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes open?

    Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes provide

    Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offers free project estimates.

    Does Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offer a senior discount?

    No, Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes?

    No, Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offer?

    Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes offers the following services: Complete New Homes, design and build! Complete home makovers. New kitchens and bath remodeling. additions to your home. Vintage Home restoration.

    Are there any services Bethanis, inc. dba Bethanis Homes does not offer?

    Handyman needs.