Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING

Founded 1982 • With Angi since September 2008

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

269 S. Beverly Dr. Suite 975

Beverly Hills, CA 90212

Description

Dog and Puppy training services in Los Angeles. Dog behavior and aggression specialists with more than 25 years of experience. Gentle training approach....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/30/2016


Sumit D.

We just saw David again after 10 years. We initially saw him for training our 10 week old puppy Daisy. This was after hiring another trainer who spent 45 minutes lying on our living room floor in the fetal position in an attempt to "not intimidate the puppy" and after consulting with "Uncle Matty" who said we should either pay him $1500 to train Daisy or we should euthanize her (based on my report that her mother and father were aggressive--Daisy was born at a shelter and then transferred with her litter mates and her mother to a rescue where we met the whole family). There are some real quacks out there. Luckily, I found David Reinecker. Things went great with David. I think we only had one or, at most, two sessions with him. Daisy has been a perfectly behaved dog since. About 6 months later, we adopted another rescue dog, Teddy. This one was a year old and was extremely fearful. We had two small children at the time and were worried Teddy might be a fear biter. We called David to evaluate him for aggressive tendencies. David confirmed that Teddy was fearful, but said he would never be aggressive. We put Teddy down last year and in the 9 years we had him, with lots of children coming in and out of the house all the time, Teddy was never aggressive with anyone, and he eventually got over his fear. David said he'd be a great family dog and he was. We just adopted a 1 year old Boxer from Boxer Rescue LA. Bunny had never had any training so we called David. He remembered us after all this time and came out to the Valley to see us. He engaged the whole family in the training--myself, my husband and our two girls, now 17 and 14. We all love David. He is one of the most intuitive people I've ever met. He cannot only read dogs, but he can read people just as well. He is a smart, hilarious and a kind human being who is able to work magic with dogs. It was great to see him again. Despite the fact that he's super busy, he has never rushed us. He always stays for longer than we pay him for and his personality makes the process so much fun that we wish he would stay longer--not because of the dog, but just because we like him. He doesn't try to get money out of you by insisting or even suggesting more sessions. In fact, he told us we didn't need a second session with Bunny, even though we would have gladly done it. His goal is to teach you what you need to continue training your dog yourself, not to make you dependent on him. Whenever we passed other dog owners on walks with Daisy and Teddy, they always commented on how well-behaved our dogs were and it was true. We are looking forward to the same with Bunny. Thanks David!

Description of Work
Dog training and aggression evaluation

Category dog trainers

5.0

09/02/2014


Nathaniel G.

We're extremely happy that we chose David as a trainer. Before the session he questioned us in detail about our home situation, our dog, and her problem behaviors. His policy is to work in our house, which was exactly what we wanted. The session was scheduled for 90 minutes but he voluntarily stayed for an additional 30 minutes. He encouraged us to contact him with followup questions, which were necessary because he gives a lot of information very quickly, and he spent as much time on the phone as we needed. Our dog is a rescue and was very aggressive to any other men who entered the house or even passed by her on a walk. She also barked nonstop when someone came to the door. David calmed her down within a few minutes, and by the end of the session she was cuddling in his arms and licking his face! He told us how to deal with each of these issues and had us practice them, and we've continued to practice on our own. He provided a citronella spray, which is very effective to stop barking; now just the sight of the can stops her from barking. Two male family members have visited since David was here, and his methods work very well. When guests come in, the dog is able to calm down. Then, instead of barking and snapping at the guests, she wags her tail and wants to lick them, and is comfortable sitting next to them. This reduces stress for both the guests and the dog. The cost for the session was $250; the total amount we paid included the cost of the citronella spray, a more effective collar for walking the dog, and a homeopathic solution to reduce the dog's stress.

Description of Work
Provided training for the two of us and our Shih Tzu to cure the dog's excessive barking and aggression toward guests.

Category dog trainers

5.0

08/25/2012


david W.

Description of Work
Thank you David! In one jam-packed session, David was able to identify the core issues our 4 year old terrier mix rescue was experiencing, choose appropriate behavioral correction exercises, and put them into action. At the end of 2 hours, we (and our dog) have the tools to keep him calm in situations that used to cause him anxiety and result in leash aggression. Highly recommended. Efficient and effective!

Category dog trainers

5.0

08/03/2012


ashley K.

Description of Work
Amazing! After one session my dog has calmed down and is not exhibiting the anxiety she had before. She no longer barks at every noise or charges at the front door. I feel that I now have the tools to continue her training and shape her into the perfectly behaved dog that I know she can be!

Category dog trainers

5.0

07/16/2012


Terry G.

We are so grateful to have worked with David. My boyfriend and I reached out to Dog Remedy when our border collie, Tosh, started having aggression and socialization issues. Prior to David, we hired 2 different dog trainers to see if they would be able to help with Tosh. We spent hundreds of dollars on these trainers who trained using choke collars, shock collars and/or click/rewards training methods. Their approach to dog training was not beneficial to us and we truly felt that nobody was going to be able to help. We were so frustrated and torn because the situation with Tosh was getting worse and we weren't able to get any help. Then we found David and Dog Remedy and immediately asked him to come and help us.It got to the point where walking Tosh was so stressful because we were never sure if he was going to go after other dogs or people who tried to approach him. Not only was walking him an issue but we also had issues with people coming into our home. Guests would come over and we would have to lock the dog in a different room because we were never sure how he was going to react. We enlisted the help of David and our lives have completely changed for the better. Upon our first meeting, we knew that David was smart and was going to be able to help us with our dog. He came in and was so open and honest and immediately began assessing the situation. Within minutes he had already calmed our dog down and we started to feel at ease because we knew he was going to be our life saver. After just 1 session with David, our dog was a completely different dog. He spent time showing us valuable training tips and really listening to the issues. We were amazed at how quickly he was able to help. The advice that David has given us has been invaluable! We recently spent a weekend with 11 other people and 1 other dog (all of whom our dog had never met before) and Tosh was so calm and welcoming to everyone. People were shocked to see the improvement in him. Our friends are constantly telling us how amazing it is to see the difference in Tosh. I'd also like to note that we only had 2 sessions total with David! He was able to do all of this in just 2 meetings! Due to the fact that David was able to improve Tosh so much, we recently brought home a little puppy. Just 1 week after having her we reached out to David and asked him to come for some training. Once again, his advice and guidance has been crucial in training our new puppy. In just one session, David was able to point out some things that we should be doing and we are already seeing an improvement in the pup (and we have only had her for 2 weeks!). I highly recommend using David for any training you might need! He has been an absolute life saver and a pleasure to work with. He has such a wonderful personality and my boyfriend and I are always so happy. I especially love the fact that he does not use any harsh treatment of the dog in his training nor does he use the click/reward with a treat method. He is so smart when it comes to training that he is able to have a deep understanding of dog psychology and human interactions. We will forever be grateful to David and all that he has done for our family.

Description of Work
Dog training, behavioral modification, puppy training.

Category dog trainers

5.0

04/13/2012


Amy L.

David came to my home and assessed both dogs' behavior. My older dog isn't the problem, the puppy is, but they both needed to be checked. David simply watched them, and his thoughts about the dogs were pretty accurate. He told me how he worked, and that he never uses anything but positive reinforcement in training. He showed me several AMAZING tricks, which made the dogs understand that I was the boss. I can now put treats on the floor right in front of them, make a signal, and they will not touch them until I say so. If they are barking, I make this signal and they stop! I also ordered a citronella collar for the barker, which has worked incredibly well. David is going to come again and we will work on the puppy's aggression with children (we just have to find some to sacrifice...). Quite simply, I am amazed at his way with my dogs, and how well he understood them, and how I needed to change my behavior (I'm an RN, and a mother, which he said makes me too nurturing for the dogs and they take advantage of me!) Can'[t wait for the next visit from David!

Description of Work
I have a one year old puppy who barks, is timid and is not good with children. She will nip at their clothes, which is not acceptable. I read the reviews and went to the website for David, and he sounded like the best. He came to my house and assessed both my dogs,and after one hour taught me some very good training tricks, which worked immediately!

Category dog trainers

5.0

10/02/2011


Cathryn D.

I have gone to three other behaviorists prior to David and he has been by the far the one that our dog has made the most progress with. Others taught our dog commands, but his aggression did not improve. Our dog is a rescue dog and was severely abused, David has given us hope that he'll be able to help us control the aggression toward people be controlled so his really sweet personality can shine.

Description of Work
David is assisting us with the aggression of one of our dogs and housebreaking of our new dog. He doesn't use treats or aggressive methods, rather he focuses on creating a calm environment, using appropriate tones and also correction that is humane.

Category dog trainers

5.0

09/23/2008


ANNE K.

I had tried a couple other trainers and a couple of classes, but really wasn't seeing much difference. After TWO sessions with David, the difference in my dog - and me - is amazing. His fees might sound high, but he makes things work in an incredibly short time, so it's worth it!!

Description of Work
Dog training - dog with fear-based dog-on-dog aggression.

Category dog trainers

5.0

09/02/2008


Susan S.

He was excellent! He was really good with the animals and was able to correct their behavior. He did what he said he was going to do and did it great!

Description of Work
David was our dog trainer.

Category dog trainers

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Animal Training
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Private In-Home Dog Behavior Training specializing in severe cases of dog aggression, separation anxiety and fear and phobias. Basic Family Dog and Puppy obedience training also available.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING

    How is DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING overall rated?

    DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING open?

    DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING provide

    DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Visa

    Does DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offer free estimates?

    Ask DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING for details on free project estimates.

    Does DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offer a senior discount?

    No, DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offer emergency services?

    Yes, DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING?

    No, DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING does not offer warranties.

    What services does DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offer?

    DOG REMEDY BEHAVIORAL TRAINING offers the following services: Private In-Home Dog Behavior Training specializing in severe cases of dog aggression, separation anxiety and fear and phobias. Basic Family Dog and Puppy obedience training also available.