Ponderosa Tree Service

About

Founded 1971 • With Angi since March 2006

Ponderosa Tree Service provides a comprehensive range of tree care services for clients in Alameda and Contra Costa counties (and beyond) including trimming, safety pruning, view restoration, stump grinding, shaping, thinning, and hazardous tree removal. We offer tree planting as well. We also

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.9

(85) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

77

4

4

3

1

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

tree service (85)
Showing 1-25 of 85 reviews
5.0

08/27/2018


sara H.

Very well. They took the time to do a careful estimate and explain what they observed about our trees. They did a beautiful job trimming and removing the one tree. In a very dense garden, they worked hard to avoid damage to other plants and trees. They started promptly and got the work done within their estimated time.

Description of Work
They pruned two medium sized pepper trees. Pruned a large Magnolia. Pruned two very large ceder trees adn removed a medium sized loquat tree.

Category tree service

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2018

5.0

02/21/2018


Carla S.

Ponderosa arborist have a keen eye for necessary pruning and beauty. they are wiling to take off what is necessary for safety issues (i.e., branches touching electrical wires and branches that keep getting hit by garbage trucks) while preserving the beauty, balance and symmetry of the tree. I highly recommend them

Description of Work
Trimming Ornamental pear tree

Category tree service

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/21/2018

5.0

02/06/2018


Kate S.

Craig came out and examined the tree and talked to me about what could be done to try and save it, and to stabilize it in its new position to allow it to recover. He answered all my questions, and told me I could do the job myself, since the tree wasn’t too big. He walked me through the right way to take off the limbs that needed to go, and how to use a ratcheted band to hold the trunk steady to a post supporting my deck. I wanted to pay Ponderosa for his very good advice, but he refused to take any money. He said they give free advice all the time, and only charge for doing the work themselves. And to top it all off, he was a really nice guy. He was good with my dogs, and a pleasure to talk with.

Description of Work
The root system of our favorite orange tree was badly damaged by work to replace our sewer lateral. A month after the work was done, the tree began slowly falling over, away from the side which had the root damage. We didn’t know whether the tree was salvageable.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2018

1.0

11/07/2017


Frederick B.

Ponderosa Tree Service took about three weeks to arrive to give me a quote. Even though they advertised to do work in Alameda County, they told me that Fremont was at such a distance, that they would have to add a travel charge. They would not be able to do the work for two months. When I got the quote it was about 2.5 times the amount that a local tree service charged me for the work that they estimate and completed in 48 hours.

Description of Work
Trim a large Pepper tree with failed limbs Trim a neighbor’s tree back to the fence line and out of phone lines Dig up three rose tree roots Trim back small trees next to the house

Category tree service

Cost $2,150

Work Completed On 11/02/2017

5.0

09/11/2017


Ellen F.

They did a good job. They did not remove the stump, it was not in the estimate and i did not notice until later.

Description of Work
I used Ponderosa Tree Service to remove a sick tree.

Category tree service

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2017

4.0

09/11/2017


Madeline P.

I loved Ponderosa and would definitely hire them again if we aren't in a rush. My only complaint is that we had to book our service over 2 months in advance, and then our service was rescheduled & pushed back 2 times.

Description of Work
Tree trimming for insurance compliance

Category tree service

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2017

5.0

07/29/2017


Laverne S.

The gentleman was prompt, on time, very professional. The quote was in reason and I look forward to using them.

Description of Work
They gave me a quote for tree service.

Category tree service

Cost $550

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2017

5.0

06/15/2017


John H.

They were on time worked hard and carefully. Cleaned up well afterwards and were very polite curtious and helpful. They did what ever was needed to get the job done in one day. The estimate said it would probably be a two day job. This was a good and experienced crew, it was fun to watch them work together. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
We had four 50 to 80 foot redwood trees removed near our building sidewalks and foundations. This was a large job that took all day to accomplish. They returned the next day to grind the stumps.

Category tree service

Cost $6,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2017

5.0

05/08/2017


Heidi A.

They were generous and helpful. I think I could have gotten a better price, but not better service.

Description of Work
They trimmed a monster of a cypress for me, cleaned up my lemon and my orange tree and pulled a couple of large and prolific shrubs. They removed all debris.

Category tree service

Cost $2,550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2017

5.0

02/14/2017


Mary J.

It was excellent. The price was competitive. I checked other places. They came on time. They did the work that we requested. They even said that the one bush that we decided to change our mind to get more cut off and we had to call them back and they did that for free. It took them the work in a couple of hours. The workers are very professional and very polite.

Description of Work
They had to come out to trim the trees in the front yard for us.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2016

5.0

12/07/2016


Steve S.

Mike was very knowledgeable, but also admitted when he didn't know about something. He followed up with an email that detailed how I could care for my sunscalded trees.

Description of Work
Consultation on health of trees

Category tree service

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2016

5.0

11/23/2016


David P.

The tree beside our driveway had a partially broken branch that was hanging over the driveway, creating an unsafe situation. I called Ponderosa Tree Service after another company (who still hasn't called me back) said they couldn't get to it until December 23rd. I spoke to Angelo, who called one of his supervisors in the field. I then spoke to Kerry at about noon, and told him what I needed. When I asked when he could get to it, he replied about 1:00 pm the same day! He said that Ponderosa had emergency crews to handle situations like mine. Well, due to scheduling and traveling time issues, the crew wasn't able to get to my house before dark. The lead crew member (whose name I didn't write down, possibly Brian...sorry) called me and set up a new time. He promised that they would start work the next day between 8:30 am and 9:15 am. I met Francisco at 8:45 am. He verified what work needed to be done, as well as pointing out two more branches that were in danger of falling. When the other members of his crew arrived at 9:00 am, they began working. They were finished at 11:00 am, and left my property cleaner than they had found it. I called Angelo again, who accepted my credit card info over the phone. Later that evening, Kerry called me back to make sure the job went All employees I contacted were polite and profession. I now consider Ponderosa Tree Service to by my go-to tree service company.

Description of Work
Broken tree branch removal

Category tree service

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2016

5.0

11/04/2016


Bradley L.

I really like the ownership, and the crew that came out was fantastic. I was very satisfied.

Description of Work
I hired them to remove a palm.

Category tree service

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2014

5.0

10/24/2016


Karlyn N.

It went great! They were on time. Said exactly what they said they were going to do promptly. They cleaned up the job site well after, too.

Description of Work
Cut down two pine trees that had beetles. One was dead.

Category tree service

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2016

Images

Review for Ponderosa Tree Service - PO BOX 2589, Berkeley, CA - 33778349

+5 More

5.0

10/17/2016


Dawn and Kevin T.

Everything went so well from the time of getting an estimate to the final job. They responded promptly to my request for service. Arrived on time for the estimate. Very professional. Did the work as requested and the clean up was great. I would hire again and be happy to make a referral

Description of Work
tree trimming

Category tree service

Cost $3,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2016

1.0

09/30/2016


Apolonio L.

I couldn't even get contact with them. E-mail requests for estimate go unanswered. I called today, and an extremely unenthusiastic man answered. As soon as I got the words "I'd like to schedule an estimate for a tree removal" out, he hung up. Nice customer service. This is not an issue that's worth any more of my time to pursue. You just lost a potential $1K - $2K customer. Nice job. Figure out your phone etiquette

Description of Work
Estimate for tree removal service, which did not happen

Category tree service

Work Completed On 09/30/2016

5.0

09/28/2016


Gerald R.

The provider was on time, and very nice.

Description of Work
They gave us a bid for work we needed done.

Category tree service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2016

5.0

03/12/2016


Samy A.

Incredibly impressed with Micheal's generosity. During this recent storm (March 2016), a small(ish) tree in my front yard fell down and was blocking the sidewalk. Michael arrived on the scene and told me he didn't feel right about charging me to remove it. 5 minutes later he had cut the tree up into pieces using his hand saw and helped me move the pieces onto the side of my house. I'll definitely be using them for any other tree services I need. Thanks Micheal!

Description of Work
Removed a fallen tree

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2016

5.0

07/30/2015


Virginia B.

It went really well. They were very professional. They did a lot of work in one day.

Description of Work
They removed one tree and a lot of tree trimming.

Category tree service

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2015

5.0

03/31/2015


Joe L.

Ponderosa Tree Service came out to our house 2 times, the first time was a very big job, and the second time was some cleanup work. On both occasions, they were punctual, and they performed the work that was outlined in the estimates. I will note that they didn't trim back one of the trees as they said they would the first time around, so they gave us a discount for that tree trimming the second time. On both occasions, they came in with a team and got the work done very quickly. We were very impressed. We found the estimators to be very friendly and down to earth, and the workers were as well. Our impression of this company is that they're honest and do good work. We would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Trimmed back one tree that they missed the first time around, and removed a tree from right in front of our house.

Category tree service

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2015

5.0

08/27/2014


Andy J.

They were fine. They were efficient. They were polite and they cleaned up afterwards.

Description of Work
Ponderosa, they were the ones that we used. They pruned some trees.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2014

5.0

03/26/2014


sharon G.

I can't recommend Ponderosa enough. * A few years ago Michael Veneziano came to my house to check the integrity of some pine trees I had. He gave free advice on how to care for and keep them. Sadly the trees died due to beetle infestation and had to be removed. He came again, gave an estimate. He is so knowledgeable, he gave advice on all of the vegetation in my yard. * I got other bids, and some of the companies were weary to take on the job as the trees are far in the yard and the only way to remove the logs was walking them out a long way. Ponderosa's bid was the best and they honor an Angie's list discount! * Day of tree removal, a team of at least 8 guys came on time, full of energy, telling me what they were going to do and immediately got to work. They worked nonstop all day, cutting down 3 over 40 ft trees abutting an apt building. They took enormous care, did no damage and cut down all 3 in one day, and removed most of the wood. At the end of the day, they cleaned up my neighbors yards immaculately. All of my neighbors commented on how hard the team worked, and what an amazing job they did. They came back 2 days later to finish removing the wood from my yard. * The team including, Salvador, Fernando, Rivo, Johnny, Paco, Francisco couldn't have been nicer, friendlier, efficient and just such hard workers. I couldn't thank each of them enough. *Dealing with the office was a breeze, John the manager is on top of everything. * And kudos to Ponderosa, their workers get benefits, sick and vacation days and clearly like their job. * I would recommend Ponderosa to anyone, I will use them again for all my yard needs in the future.

Description of Work
cut down and removed 3 pine trees

Category tree service

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2014

5.0

01/26/2014


Michael K.

The Sequoia Redwoods were planted by my neighbor way too close to the property line. As a result, when they grew large and tall as they do, they dropped dead needles and other stuff in our yard and on our dog run. Ponderosa did a very nice job of pruning the trees back to the property line while still keeping their shape and symmetry. They also ran interference with the the neighbors who were concerned the pruning would kill or damage the trees. Ponderosa showed up with a crew of four workers, including one who worked close to the top of the 100 ft. tree. They stacked all of the cuttings near the curb, and a chipper truck came by later and picked it up. The crew leader was Johnny. He was very professional, as were the others in the crew.

Description of Work
They pruned four very large and tall redwood trees.

Category tree service