Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Albert Nahman Services

4.6

(662) Verified Reviews

Founded 1981 • With Angi since June 2005

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
414359
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
02/28/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Company Contact

3333 Martin Luther King Jr Way

Berkeley, CA 94703

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Prepared to safely work in you home and respecting CDC guidelines. Please let us know if there has been illness in your household so we can keep our employees safe.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Ductless Mini-Split

Ductless Mini-Split

HVAC Companies202094608
Installed three ductless mini split units with 17 Seer condenser on the roof

Description

Albert Nahman Services was founded in 1981 and has been serving Berkeley, CA and it surrounding areas in all their plumbing and HVAC needs. Each of our technicians went through rigorous training so we can guarantee that you will be receiving the proper service. We are also insured and supply a warranty for our parts for five years and up to twenty years on an re-piping or sewer replacement. Call us now to make your appointment!...
Ductless Mini-Split project
Ductless Mini-Split

HVAC Companies

202094608
Navien Tankless  project
Navien Tankless

plumbers

202094708

Verified Reviews

4.6

(662) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

490

4

87

3

34

2

25

1

26

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

plumbers (603)water heaters (96)drain cleaning (69)HVAC Companies (42)sewer cleaning (26)home remodeling (15)drain pipe installation (13)gas leak repair (10)well & water pump repair (10)air duct cleaning (4)pool cleaning (5)water softeners (4)
Showing 1-10 of 662 reviews
4.0

05/24/2020


Lois M.

The first visit lead to cleaning the area around the heater and burners and checking the thermocouple. Sadly that seemed to make it worse. Less than a week later No hot water for over 30 hours till the second technician replaced the thermocouple. All is perfect now. No charge for the second visit. The next step, if needed will be a tankless and their quote looks a bit steep. But I am really hoping I won’t need to go that far.

Description of Work
Water heater repair

Category plumbing,water heater repair

Cost $365

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

5.0

12/19/2019


Jim K.

Can not imagine a better response, starting with my call for assistance, response time and how the technician, Tad methodically diagnosed the problem. We have an obscure kitchen fixture that required service in Feb 2019. Under warranty the problem was easily diagnosed by me, a problem possibly caused by me and a replacement part sent and installed by Albert Nahman team. Problem: I broke the faucet cartridge. Current Problem: restricted hot water flow in this kitchen sink only. Turns out the new cartridge part is now malfunctioning. I called and Tad arrived taking a step by step approach ruling out possible causes: a clog here or there, build up of sediment, or blockage in the lines or cartridge. The company that sells the product got on the phone with Tad and they collaborated on the problem and the tech person gave Tad one more thing to try. After the collaboration it is agreed, problem persisted and therefore that new cartridge part is now malfunctioning and will be shipped free of charge in two days. Thanks to all, who made this possible and I trust we will have Tad here again soon to finalize this fix. BTW, cost of service was less than expected given going rates for such a call lasting in excess of one hour. Another comment, spending time with Tad during the repair was a pleasure to have him explain, collaborate, listen and just chat. Questions on who to call next time, no question who I will call next time. I have read criticism of costs: In the Berkeley area "How much does it cost to hire a plumber? Some plumbers have a minimum fee for a service call. They might charge anywhere from $175-250 to come out and give you a consultation. Plumbers may give you a general service rate of $128-148 per hour when there are a lot of unknowns about a project and they aren't sure how long it will take. Some charge a flat rate for their plumbing services. For example, you may get charged $175 for a sink or drain cleaning, while toilet installation costs $500." Today costs are upfront, same as charges in Feb, $69 to arrive and assess the problem. Here in excess of one hour for $129 minus $25 coupon, total charge $173. I am ok and I expected these costs. If I was in Philly, where I grew up, I could call an uncle or cousin and get a better rate, a family rate. This is going rate for our area.

Description of Work
A kitchen faucet had a cartridge replaced in Feb, under warranty from Waterworks. We called for help due to diminishing hot water pressure from this faucet alone in our 2200 sq ft home.

Category plumbing

Cost $173

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2019

5.0

11/12/2019


Andreas Z.

very professional and knowledgeable

Description of Work
stem replacement, washer and dryer hookup

Category plumbing

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2019

5.0

10/28/2019


Monique L.

They were really amazing, I really love this company. They were my favorite company and I would not use any companies. They were very professional and well priced.

Description of Work
They repair a sink.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2019

5.0

08/14/2019


jim F.

man did very good job explined every he did as he went along i would hire them again.

Description of Work
leak@drain

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

Cost $240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2019

5.0

05/08/2019


Brian A.

My wife and I bought a house a couple years ago, and became owners of a radiant heating systems installed more than 20 years ago. Tony and Damian did a great job of understanding how my radiant heating system works, what repairs were needed/what was failing, and where upgrades were needed. They replaced the pump, both expansion tanks, and the neutralizer. Additionally, they noticed the hot water tank was installed incorrectly, and the hot and cold water connections were flipped. It's amazing the system worked, and it's nice to have a system that's correctly installed (even if it's 20 years later!). Additionally, they secured the expansion tanks to the wall (now required by code), replaced the deteriorating copper pipes connected to the neutralizer with plastic (I'm sure this is code now as well), and re-routed the overflow pipes to the outside (rather than the floor!). You can't go wrong with these guys, well done, they're true craftsmen to the trade.

Description of Work
Multiple upgrades and repairs to radiant heating system installed in the mid-90s

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for doing business with us and recognizing the true value of craftsmanship.
5.0

01/25/2019


Eric N.

Tony and Josh arrived when they said they would, stayed the full day, performed an extensive service including specialized equipment and techniques, taking every needed care, leaving the system better than when it was first installed. VERY professional at all times and pleasant people.

Description of Work
Complete furnace and ducting rejuvenation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2019

4.0

12/30/2018


Bala G.

They gave me an estimate for the replacement that was way above other estimates. I paid just $69 for the estimate

Description of Work
fix shower with low water flow

Category plumbing

Cost $69

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2018

5.0

09/14/2018


Phyllis M.

Extremely well. Nathan is great. I highly recommend him. He was very personable and professional. Went above and beyond the call of duty.

Description of Work
Furriness Inspection and House plumbing evaluation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2018

1.0

08/29/2018


kathleen H.

Paid for service person to come out, and the quote they gave was exorbitant. Almost $700 to replace the parts, and nearly $1,000 to replace the whole toilet. The service person was professional and helpful, but the prices were just way too high. Another provider who looked at the toilet said that the kit and valve would cost about $10 each and it would take about an hour to do the fix. I won't use Nahman in the future.

Description of Work
Toilet was running and needed a new valve and interior kit

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 08/29/2018

Services Offered

Plumbing Repair - Fixtures, Residential Boiler repair, Burst Pipes, Gas Lines & Leak Detection, Standard & Tankless water heaters install and repair, Sewer Line & Trenchless Sewer Repairs, Repiping, Garbage Disposals, Clogged Toilets, Sump Pumps, Water Softeners, Water Filtration Systems, light commercial plumbing, Central Heating & AC, Indoor air quality solutions

Services Not Offered

Septic Systems

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available, Discover
Senior Discount
5%
Warranties
Yes