Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping

Founded 2005 • With Angi since June 2010

4.7

(54) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3313 rio roca ct

Antelope, CA 95843

Description

Gardening Maintenance and some small to medium Landscape Services.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jeff W.
4.0
05/04/2017
Had them for several years. Quality slowly digressed. Ended up discharging them.
Description of Work
Weekly mow, blow and trim.
Category
lawn service
Danny G.
5.0
05/05/2016
We have been using them for weekly yard maintenance services for several years now and have always done a great job!
Description of Work
Weekly yard maintenance.
Category
lawn service
Elisse A.
5.0
11/06/2014
They were great. They are very professional and knew exactly how to handle my needs. They gave us a really great price. They are always here when they say the will be. Their work is beautiful.
Description of Work
They are my landscapers now.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so Very Much for all extra jobs and faithfulness and referrals you given us we will always do our best to keep clients happy and go the extra mile to keep you! God bless you and your family!
Bobbie C.
3.0
06/30/2014
No service performed. Provider does not accept accounts outside Antelope and Roseville.
Description of Work
According to their outgoing announcement Melgar Landscaping does not provide service outside of Roseville and Antelope.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Hi Hope you are doing great!... So sorry you are mistaken we do go to all the following areas and Cities: Loomis, Rocklin, Granite Bay, Roseville, Antelope, Rio Linda, Citrus Heights, Natomas, Folsom, and all Northern Sacramento areas. I answer your email and said we at the moment are not taking any more clients in any other Cities unless you live in Roseville or Antelope. All others cities are completely full and we only have a little bit of room for only a few in those Cities mention above. Also we do not go to West Sacramento do to all the horrible traffic we have encounter in the past. we used to go over 5 years ago and can't express how much time we lost on the different free ways. A wise word of advise I can give you is to interview at least 4-5 potential gardener in your local area. We know of lots of great gardener that Service locally try Penny Saver, Angist List and Sacramento Bee. In this tape of business it takes a while to drive and load and unload machinery is best to just stay in areas where you can get to work right away. Thank you for your interested in our business and so Sorry we are not able to help you. We are completely full and want to keep it manageable and simple at this time. We take pride in being a small family business and can't be more grateful for the Wonderful reviews and response from all new and old clients. God bless! Karina Melgar.
Paul H.
5.0
06/10/2014
Melgar Gardening were easy to work with, showed up on time and did an excellent job cleaning up the property. They were very knowledgeable and made some great recommendations on how to upkeep and maintain the property.
Description of Work
Yard maintenance and clean up.
Category
lawn service
William H.
5.0
06/08/2014
As usual the crew of two or three showed up in the PM, got to work with their power tools and finished before I knew it.. The team is always reliable, effecient, accommodating - just a great business to do business with.
Description of Work
trimmed 75 ft of tall privets, general clean up of yards.
Category
lawn service
Candace S.
5.0
06/03/2014
Came out for an estimate 2 days after speaking with me on the phone. Was very professional and courteous. Described all the services they would perform, and how often they would do them.
Description of Work
Estimate for services to begin this week.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, even though it was prior to the service we performed for the first time yesterday, 6/5/14. Now that you have been serviced by our crew, we hope that you are satisfied with the professional job that was done. The monthly price you were quoted for $85.00 covers 4 visits per month, which costs $21.25 each visit, and should the month have an extra Thursday (5th visit) you are actually paying $17.00 for each visit in which there are 5 visits performed. This is not only very affordable, but is an extremely low price given your property is approximately 2,500 square feet worth of sod. As long as you are a regular monthly client, and are happy with our services, we are able to give you the lowest price possible. Thank you for choosing A. Melgar Gardening & Landscaping for your gardening needs! Arnulfo & Karina Melgar
Jabe H.
4.0
05/27/2014
A good service for the price.
Description of Work
One time cleanup, followed by weekly mow and blow, weeding, pruning, praying.
Category
lawn service
Judith A.
5.0
05/24/2014
The wife was kind, caring, heartfelt and genuine I. Coming out to give an estimate, the best price offered, do a thorough job, and schedule things with unusually excellent communication. So far, the scheduled days have proven to be well ordered and Mr Melgar has been punctual and consistent. I set up recurring maintenance and am impressed with the work. I HIHLY RECOMMEND Mr Melgar, His wife and his brother! They are good people! Beautiful family that are dedicated to serve your needs. Thanks to them, as a single parent it is a huge burden lifted!
Description of Work
Cleared out overgrown bushes, weeds, grass, and cut down a very large bush. Worked.very hard all day. Was very impressed with punctuality, humble attitude, determination, dedication, and overall superb excellence. This family owned business is exceptional.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the excellent review. You have made us very happy to hear how very satisfied you are. We always strive to work hard and go above and beyond for our clients, so that we keep a good and consistent working relationship. This review has truly motivated us to continue to keep up the good work. Thank you for trusting us to take care of your gardening needs, and choosing us out of all the other companies out there. Respectfully, Arnulfo & Karina Melgar
Michelle W.
5.0
05/12/2014
From the moment I spoke to Karina, and then met both Karina and Jesus, I knew we had chosen the right people for this job. We purchased our home in November and the yard and bushes were overgrown and hadn't really been taken care of. We had a vision of what we wanted, but it wasn't until we met with Karina and Jesus that the vision became a real plan. We all worked together and brought it to life. Karina even went to Green Acres with us and helped us pick out flowers that we really loved, and that would grow well in our yard. She made recommendations, and spent a great deal of time and effort making sure we got just what we needed and stayed within our budget. They are both so knowledgeable and helpful...they really know what they're doing! Jesus has got to be the hardest working man we've ever seen! He shows up when he says he's going to, does what he says he's going to, and works so hard. He and his assistant showed up at 9:30 am on Saturday morning to start our project. By 11:00, they had 4 trees out of the ground...stumps, roots, and all. He's quick, but extremely efficient. He is a perfectionist and has a very sharp eye for making everything look just right. Our job took 3 days to complete, and on every one of those days, he let us know what he would be doing that day, asked if we had any questions, and made sure we were happy with the progress. Today, when the project was finished and Jesus left, my husband and I stood outside and looked at all the beautiful flowers and were so happy and so proud, even a little emotional. It was a nice feeling to have a pretty yard that we could really be proud of, and that will grow and blossom more and more over time. We intend to have Jesus and Karina do more projects. We don't want anyone else touching our yard now! I highly recommend their services. They are helpful, kind, knowledgeable, professional, and truly good people. We are so grateful to have found them...you will be too!
Description of Work
Removed trees and some sod, prepped soil and added new soil, drainage replacement, new drip system, planted all new flowers and plants, added new bark and rock.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Wow!... Thank you so much for this Wonderful review, you and your husband were nothing but a joy to please!.... We are just a phone call away may you have any other projects or referrals, thanks for all this words, clients like you makes all this hard work worth every afford!
Pete D.
5.0
05/04/2014
You want to hire the Melgars - period. They both are extremely talented and creative, and are honest business owners - which is getting harder and harder to find. They go out of their way to make sure every customer is satisfied with their work, and they get it right the first time. I would also strongly recommend Karina for her incredible house cleaning services. She has twice completed a full, thorough cleaning of my house after two sets of tenants moved out, and each time she restored it to a level of quality that you won't find anywhere else. She listens to what you want, offers suggestions based on her experience, and in the end makes sure you are happy with the work. I can't say enough good things about them, and anyone who finds fault with their work clearly has unrealistic expectations. I strongly recommend them!
Description of Work
I originally hired Arnulfo and Karina to redo my back yard - new sod, clear away dead trees, drip irrigation system, bark along the planters, etc. The amount of work they did - and the high quality that was put into it - far exceeded what they charged me, which was $350. Based off of that, I asked them to continue providing weekly service to my back yard (HOA takes care of the front), which I pay $75/month.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I can't thank you enough for this great review. We specialize in one-time clean-ups to restore neglected properties, whether you need gardening & landscaping or even house cleaning. The client does not pay until we do a thorough walk-through and the client is happy with the overall work done, and that is our guarantee to our clients. Since receiving yours and other's wonderful reviews, I cannot thank you enough for all the clients that it has generated, so we very grateful to you and always busy, but will always make time for you! Respectfully, Arnulfo & Karina Melgar
Keith J.
5.0
04/30/2014
I used A.Melgar recently to do Lanscaping/clean-up work around my house to include sprinkler work, sod, planting, trimming etc. From the time I got the estimate to the end of the job they were professional and hard working. Very Fast and efficient. The work looks good and I have no complaints. I will use again
Description of Work
Landscape work
Category
lawn service
Kelly K.
5.0
04/21/2014
Great customer service, friendly and effective. They even beat a previous quote I received by another company by $300. I would use them again in a heartbeat!
Description of Work
raked and disposed of all leaves and weeds from a large natural yard that had gone "wild"
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much also for taking the time to write the review, we so appreciated and the job did take two visit to complete do to all the layers of leaves have been there for years, and we are here to help you any time you need us, we are just a phone call away. I do remember giving you a copy of the free estimate or did i forget?.... I do have a my copy, any ways thanks for the review and the patient to complete the job. God bless and enjoy your new home.
Frank M.
5.0
04/20/2014
Ive had a few gardeners over the years and no one touches what these guys do. They know what they are doing and it shows!!
Description of Work
Greta yard maintenance
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, we been gardener for now 10 years and I'm glad you notice the difference, we do our best to please every one and go above and beyond and thank people like you to appreciated the afford we make everyday!....
SHIRLEY H.
5.0
03/12/2014
I like their reliability and their good work. They give good prices. They have good people.
Description of Work
I am on a regular schedule with A Melgar Gardening and Landscaping to mow and blow and clean up leaves. Anything I ask them to do they do.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very Much for all the A's given, We are so very humble by all this comments and reviews We Never, Ever thought we could Ever be so in high demand by all new clients and we wish we could take everyone that calls, and help everyone but it is something we hope and pray to do in the near future!
Tom A.
5.0
11/18/2013
Our lawn and yard already look better than before. We had a general cleanup done, with a refresh of our bark and a layer of beautiful stones for the backyard areas instead of bark. We're very pleased with the quality of the work, and with how things look. The work is done principally by Jesus Melgar and his brothers, while Karina, Jesus' wife, handles most of the business end. They are both very nice and more knowledgeable than other landscapers we have hired. Jesus is an extremely hard worker and something of a perfectionist. He won't leave a job until it's finished properly, a quality we appreciate.
Description of Work
Most recently, this was just a maintenance visit. When we first hired A. Melgar, we had a general cleanup done, which was quite a bit of work in the long run.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you also for all this so Wonderful reviews, we are nothing but a phone call away, may you need anything at all and are always responsive to every call or concern and wish with all our might we continue to be better and better every year, every month and week we are on this earth to take care of all your Gardening needs.
Patricia C.
5.0
10/17/2013
They were on time, good competitive price, meticulous work, caring in the details, good follow through. This work was done for my daughter, who I referred to this vendor because I was pleased with his work. The tree was large, and in an difficult place against a concrete fence in the backyard. He was concerned with safety, worked efficiently, and when a storm came through, he stopped working and returned the next day to finish up. He also suggested cleaning up the sides of the house, which we did, and now have so much more useable space out there for the BBQ and storage. It looks so much better. Thank you!!
Description of Work
He removed a large sycamore tree from the back yard, cleaned up the area on both sides of the house of debris and trash, put down new sod in the yard
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the Wonderful report!... We are so very happy you are please with our work!.. anything you may need, we are just a phone call away!... Thanks once again!...
Carol J.
5.0
10/11/2013
A wonderful experience! Very professional and responsive. This was a major yard clean up which included trimming trees, weeding flower beds, trimming back bushes and ivy plus mowing and edging the lawn. They did a great job!
Description of Work
Yard cleanup
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are so very glad to have been able to help you, we are always book-up and having that cancelation ready made it easy to do the your project so very fast, and it was just meant to be. Thanks for all the trust and opportunity to serve you, you and your Mom are such a sweet, easy wonderful people to work with!...
William H.
5.0
09/28/2013
The company is my lawn service. I rely on them and have for over one year. Personnel are prompt, professional and perform an outstanding job. When the season dictates, they also trim my bushes, plus I have had them repair sprinkler anti-siphon valves. They are very friendly - highly recommended.
Description of Work
cut/trim front and back yards - small yards. Blow debris off of patio, walkways, driveway.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [member name removed]!!! We appreciate your awesome comments about A. Melgar Gardening & Landscaping. We value you as a customer, and we look forward to servicing your specific needs. Spread the word to your friends and family!! It is customers like you that make our job easier. Thanks again!!!
Joye S.
5.0
09/27/2013
The owner's have been incredibly easy to reach and they communicate back quickly and professionally. The price quoted was fair. Details were explained thoroughly. I called to ask for the grass to be a bit shorter and with the very next service, it was perfect for me. They are more than willing to do what I ask and they offer advice if there's a better idea. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
Lawn service. Cut, trim, edge, weeding, blow, trim bushes.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful comments [member name removed]! We at A. Melgar Gardening & Landscaping truly value you as our client. We are a bit surprised that we got a "B" for quality, as we feel we did an excellent job, but regardless thanks again for the great comments!!!
Robert L.
5.0
09/07/2013
This was very much a positive experience from the beginning to end. Arnulfo and his wife Karina are a great team. On the first visit, he took measurements and looked over the areas where I needed work, she took extensive notes, and I received a quote within a few days via email. I actually made a change to my original plan of keeping the tree and decided to get rid of it, and the quote was adjusted accordingly. He and his coworkers arrived on the scheduled start day and then did work every day for a few days (as you can see from the list above, there was a LOT of work -- the tree removal alone was quite a chore). Karina remained in contact during the work to let me know what was going on. That price included two follow-up visits to check on the lawn and do the first mowing. All in all, I was very pleased with the work and the price, and my yards look so much better now.
Description of Work
Removed a large tree from the front yard (it had extensive roots which were causing problems), removed weeds from the front and back, removed front and back lawns (the back lawn was dead), trimmed shrubs, put down new sod in the front and back yards, put down fresh mulch, planted a new shrub I had purchased, replaced a valve and several sprinkler heads that are part of the irrigation system, and replaced the timer for the irrigation system. This was all done over a few days. He also came back two weeks later to check on the sod and to adjust the irrigation schedule and came back a week after that to do the first mowing of the new lawn and plant a new tree I had purchased for the front lawn.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much (Member name removed) for the outstanding comment!! We are thrilled that you are happy with our services at A. Melgar Gardening & Landscaping. The job was challenging and difficult here and there, but with our skills and extensive experience, we are confident in saying there is nothing we can't handle!! Should you have any other jobs or requests, we are just a phone call away. Spread the word to your friends and family ~Thanks again!!!
Shirley K.
5.0
09/04/2013
They did a good job on the yards for a reasonable price. Communication was very professional and consistent.
Description of Work
Monthly yard service and one-time clean up.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [member name removed]! We at A. Melgar Gardening & Landscaping look forward to servicing you with all your lawn service needs. You were so easy to work for and your trust and gratitude is greatly appreciated. Should you have any further needs in the future, we are only a phone call away. Thanks again!!!
Charlotte B.
2.0
07/25/2013
It didn't go too good. They didn't want to do what I wanted done on a bi-monthly basis so we didn't make connections. They were responsive and came out fairly quickly. They came when they said they would be here.
Description of Work
I contacted A. Melgar Gardening and Landscaping to do general yard maintenance.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

I'm so Sorry you feel that way about us and you feel the need to give us such an unfair and untrue review, but you do have the wright to express how you feel even if all that you are saying is not true. We did absolutely Everything possible to please you, you the wife hired us and for 5 months we never received a call or a complain, out of the blue your husband call very angry asking to meet in person and go over all the agreement on the gardening maintenance. I arrived and explain to your husband we only are hired to service the home twice a month and the second visit for very last month we served you the back gate was lock. we tried knocked on the door and call several time to try to leave a message and could not figure out what was happening. You and your husband had left on a camping trip somewhere, Never call us to let us know, and we had not access to back yard to do the work, Since then a month and a half had gone by and by the time you got back, weeds, leafs, volunteers, and small unwanted greenery were growing everywhere. We clean up all one month and a half worth of greenery and all mention above at no extra charge. We also replace at least 5 to 6 dripping system splinklers and small splinklers head and did a general check up on all irrigation at No extra charge just to make you happy and to keep you, my husband and I did all this on a Sunday for almost 4 hours and after all this clean up and all this free irrigation material and free labor you were not happy. And wanted more from us. We explain you had high expectation but only wanted to pay for 2 visit a month, it was not enough for a beautiful and high maintenance property like yours. you only pay us $75 for 2 visits a month and wanted us to spend hours for that amount, everything started to down hill from that almost two month you were gone and we had no communication from anyone It was not our responsibility to do all that for free because you forgot to contact us and let us know how we could get in the back yard to do all the work. My husband and I run to your property every time you called and wanted this or that, and this is the way business is and we sure are nothing than greatful for clients like you that makes us appreciated what we have going with other clients. The best to you and your husband and have not regrets to have done all that for you and your family, For whoever ask you to go one mile go with him two those are wise and true words from the good old book.
Donald A.
5.0
06/27/2013
I was looking for information and they gave me good information. They were knowledgeable about what they were talking about.
Description of Work
I got some information from A. Melgar Gardening and Landscaping.
Category
lawn service
Ronald L.
5.0
06/04/2013
We have been using them for more than 2 years. We are kind of fortunate that they are our neighbors. They do a very nice job. They do our repairs on our fences, plant trees, take care of the yard and we have no problem with them. They kind of give us a little bit of a break because we are their neighbor and we kind of take care of and watch each other. So we think we are getting a little bit better rate. The owner of the company is the most conscientious as anybody I have ever seen. There are times when I have not set my watering in a timely manner during the summer and because he is across the street he would come over and make sure that my water is turned on, that the grass would not die. Again we are his neighbor but he takes this attitude with all his customers. In fact his wife kind of complains that he works too hard. It is a good choice I have no regrets.
Description of Work
We use A. Melgar Gardening and Landscaping to do the maintenance on my yard.
Category
fencing, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thanks dear clients and neighbors. We sure could not have better clients that you, Super Happy to serve you and to always do our best to take care of your gardening needs, our biggest complement is Happy clients willing to express how they truly feel about us. We sure are not perfect, but do our very best to serve with Honesty, Integrity and hard work. best wishes to you and your family. Complements or Complaints, I'm here to listen... Karina Melgar

    Other local Pros in your area

    DSS Landscaping

    My name is David Sandoval and I have been is business for over 20 years, I provide all Landscaping needs including low voltage lighting, pavers, Concrete, Retaining Walls, Irrigation, and much more.  

    Angi Certified

    Zoe Landscaping

    I've been working in the landscaping business for over 15 years since I was in high school, and wanted to take all of that experience to deliver the highest quality of work to my customers. I will work with you every step of the way to design and create your ideal outside spaces for you and your family to enjoy.  

    Angi Certified

    EDDIE MULLINS LANDSCAPING

    We provide friendly, reliable & honest services. We specialize in all landscaping needs for property owners. We guarantee construction of the project for 1 year. If you are looking for a landscaping company that will take time with you to design your projects, look no further. Our enthusiasm to design and install your perfect outdoor project will be unmatched. We have commercial grade products used on all projects. We have been in the business for 8 years and have 15 years of landscaping experience. Please call (916) 870-4832 for fastest response.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Gardening Maintence & Landscape Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping

    How is A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping overall rated?

    A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping open?

    A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping provide

    A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping?

    No, A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping does not offer warranties.

    What services does A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping offer?

    A Melgar Gardening & Landscaping offers the following services: Gardening Maintence & Landscape Services