Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Western Roofing Systems

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2005

4.3

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Offices Anaheim Campbell Hac Hghts Sacramento

Anaheim, CA 92806

Description

Western Roofing Systems, founded in 1992, has been awarded the TOP CUSTOMER SERVICE CONTRACTOR from Metro Roof Products, Ram Supply and VoltView Tech for the 7th consecutive year!! With California offices located in Anaheim, Campbell, Rancho Cordova, and Hacienda Heights and Riverside, Western

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/10/2021


Lawrence P.

I contacted them regarding roof damage a back in November. Bob Lawrence came out and discussed repair options, one of which was a complete roof replacement. I told him I would let him know. 2 weeks ago it rained and my roof started leaking. I contacted them and left message with person at answering service. I called back a week later and found out they had no record of my call. They tried to connect me with scheduler but she was on another line. I was told she would call me back in a few minutes. I called back 2 hours later and was told she must be busy but they would make sure I was called back. I left info again. It’s been 4 days, still haven’t heard back from them. I guess they don’t need the business. Very disappointed as Bob seemed very nice and mentioned how important customer service and the customer is to them.

Description of Work
Roof leak quote and confirmation on full roof replacement.

Category gutter repair

1.0

01/11/2018


Heather M.

SCAM alert!!! I had previously given this company an "A" rating for the installation of my roof in October of 2012. One of the selling points of getting a steel roof through Western Roofing is that they offered me a lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship. Just five years later, I had a major leak in the roof. I called Western Roofing and was told that the number for the Sacramento offices were disconnected. I then got a list of Western Roofing's other offices. I contacted their main office in Anaheim and was told that someone would call me back. I had to continue to call their offices for several days but I finally got a call back on the forth day. A contractor was sent to my house to look at my roof. After a brief inspection, he told me that I had a hole in one of the tiles that was causing the leak. He also told me that there are many nails on my roof that did not make contact with the wood and that the metal tiles were very loose. He said that he would need to fix the bad tile and then put screws in place to fix the loose areas. Total cost would be about $1,500. I told him that I had a lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship. He then told me that my "lifetime warranty" was with the contractor that installed my roof, who has since gone out of business. He explained that "Western Roofing" is just a marketing name that other contractors work under. He himself was a representative of Western Roofing, but was actually from California Cool Roofing. I then called the main Anaheim office again and spoke with Cory Frost. Cory is actually the brother of Kevin Frost, the person who sold me the roof in 2012. Cory again explained that, even thought I had done business through Western Roofing, my warranty was with his brother and his brother went out of business. He said that Western Roofing would not honor the warranty. When I continued to press the issues, Cory eventually stopped returning my calls. I also attempted to get a written estimate from California Cool Roofing, who also stopped returning my calls and never sent me anything in writing. At all times during my conversations in 2012, I was told that I was doing work with "Western Roofing". I never was told that I was doing business with Kevin Frost directly nor that my "lifetime warranty" would be honored only by Kevin Frost. I've since had another roofer come out and repair my roof. This cost me over $2,000 out of my own pocket, since I have no warranty. The new roofer identified several leaks, including areas where the nails were put in at incorrect angles. Do not do business with Western Roofing systems! They do not honor their Warranties, do not care about their customers and install roofs that will have major leaks in less than five years!!!

Description of Work
Warranty Repair Work

Category roofing

1.0

01/10/2018


Heather M.

SCAM alert!!! I had previously given this company an "A" rating for the installation of my roof in October of 2012. One of the selling points of getting a steel roof through Western Roofing is that they offered me a lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship. Just five years later, I had a major leak in the roof. I called Western Roofing and was told that the number for the Sacramento offices were disconnected. I then got a list of Western Roofing's other offices. I contacted their main office in Anaheim and was told that someone would call me back. I had to continue to call their offices for several days but I finally got a call back on the forth day. A contractor was sent to my house to look at my roof. After a brief inspection, he told me that I had a hole in one of the tiles that was causing the leak. He also told me that there are many nails on my roof that did not make contact with the wood and that the metal tiles were very loose. He said that he would need to fix the bad tile and then put screws in place to fix the loose areas. Total cost would be about $1,500. I told him that I had a lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship. He then told me that my "lifetime warranty" was with the contractor that installed my roof, who has since gone out of business. He explained that "Western Roofing" is just a marketing name that other contractors work under. He himself was a representative of Western Roofing, but was actually from California Cool Roofing. I then called the main Anaheim office again and spoke with Cory Frost. Cory is actually the brother of Kevin Frost, the person who sold me the roof in 2012. Cory again explained that, even thought I had done business through Western Roofing, my warranty was with his brother and his brother went out of business. He said that Western Roofing would not honor the warranty. When I continued to press the issues, Cory eventually stopped returning my calls. I also attempted to get a written estimate from California Cool Roofing, who also stopped returning my calls and never sent me anything in writing. At all times during my conversations in 2012, I was told that I was doing work with "Western Roofing". I never was told that I was doing business with Kevin Frost directly nor that my "lifetime warranty" would be honored only by Kevin Frost. I've since had another roofer come out and repair my roof. This cost me over $2,000 out of my own pocket, since I have no warranty. The new roofer identified several leaks, including areas where the nails were put in at incorrect angles. Do not do business with Western Roofing systems! They do not honor their Warranties, do not care about their customers and install roofs that will have major leaks in less than five years!!!

Description of Work
Will not honor warranty

Category roofing

1.0

08/24/2017


Jim W.

Installation looked good, but had some leaks immediately and lots of garbage left in gutters. Now 9 rears later there are about 10 leaks. We were told that Western will not cover the warranty. The roofing company sent to investigate the problems say that the material was installed incorrectly so cannot be repaired without replacing or without coating a sealant over the entire roof. It is hard to believe that a company can do such poor work and refuse to warranty the work and remain in business!

Description of Work
Entire roof replaced with 50 year Metro metal.

Category roofing

1.0

04/24/2017


ERIC H.

The good: Owner Kevin Frost was professional during the roofing replacement. His crew dropped nails into my pool which ended up staining the bottom. Mr. Frost did work with me to cover the cost of getting the pool resurfaced since the stains couldn't be removed. The bad: 1- The owner tried up upcharge me for services that were already in the original quote (replacing wood that had rotted - I pointed this out during our original meeting when he said he would honor the quote). He agreed to include these in the original quote which was over $33k for a 2400 sq foot house. Although it did cost me, I don't like trying to be baited and switched. 2- I'm now having leaks on a house with a brand new roof and despite having a 10 year warranty, the company is not taking calls, or answering email. STAY AWAY FROM WESTERN ROOFING - THEY OVERCHARGE FOR SERVICES AND DO NOT HONOR THIER WARRANTIES.

Description of Work
I purchased a home that had an original shake roof that needed to be replaced. I received several quotes. One of the quotes was from a competing agency, but they discontinued doing residential roofing and I was referred to Western Roofing Systems who said they would honor the quote. I decided on moving forward with them after getting a second recommendation.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/22/2017


Robert C.

Very professional crew, great communication, excellent service, the price was less or similar to the other bids we received. We have a flat roof (think industrial buildings) so it required a specialized crew that was very busy so it took 4 weeks after we signed the contract to get on the schedule (we were told this from the start). During that time a period of heavy rains was forecast. I called George, our salesman, and he arranged to have John, the crew chief, come by to do a temporary repair after hours on a Friday evening. This was two weeks before our job was scheduled to begin. We were not billed for the extra service. Our deposit check was not cashed until the work began and no additional money was asked for until the job was done and passed the final city inspection. In a roof-over deck panels are replaced as needed and billed separately ($85 for each panel). I am not sure but believe we had between 3 and 5 panels replaced. The charges for all of the replacement panels was waived and we were charged and paid the original contract price.

Description of Work
Roof over our flat roof

Category roofing

1.0

03/01/2017


Roy I.

Dealing with them was a total nightmare!!! Beware of Western Roofing!!!! Look elsewhere to find an honest roofer.

Description of Work
Contacted Western Roofing to fix three small leaks in my living room ceiling area in May 2016. Bob Lawrence came out and said he found some cracked tiles thus causing the leaks. He suggested a "Tune-up" which included replacing up to 30 tiles, complete inspection of the roof and the sealing of all the vents and pipes on the roof. I took him up on his offer which he said was $1350. Less than 6 months later I noticed the same locations leaking. Not sure when it started but it was never fixed correctly. I never really looked up at that part of the ceiling because I was confident it was repaired by them replacing the tiles. I called Bob and he came back to look at it. He said he needs his installation manager, Roy, to come look at it. When Roy came he said he could not tell where the water is getting under the tiles so they would need to tear off the tiles in the entire area and replace the felt (tar paper). I'm at a loss as to why they didn't put down new felt when they replaced all the tiles. Them being roofers, you would think they know that leaks are caused by torn felt, not by broken tiles. Anyway, I ended up paying them for some new tiles and I still had the leaky ceiling. I contacted another roofer and they replaced the felt in the entire area for close to what I paid Western Roofing for the so called "tune-up". Bottom line is, don't use Western Roofing if you want an honest roofer that will solve your problems to your satisfaction. I don't want others to get ripped off like I did. Totally unprofessional company.

Category roofing

5.0

01/16/2017


ameer A.

Great. They had a good crew and I will recommend them for roofing. I am satisfied with their work.

Description of Work
Complete Reroofing of my house.

Category roofing

5.0

09/04/2015


Nat A.

Performed as expected. Sales rep responsive and professional. Workers courteous and professional. Timing as promised. Beautiful result ahead of schedule. Salvador is an excellent foreman. Thanks, Guys.

Description of Work
Replaced cedar shake roof with MetroShake metal roof

Category roofing

3.0

08/21/2014


CINTHYA K.

I did not contract them to do the work. They were not willing to address a minor leak by the chimney and instead wanted to reroof a part of the house that had no leaks. To their point the part of the roof they wanted to fix could use an update, but it wasn't causing us any problems then or now. I felt that they were unwilling to do a small job and they were not yielding in any way. Only would address the issue of the chimney if I did a $4500 repair on a part of the roof that was not causing problems.

Description of Work
Inspected the roof and did a thorough job of taking pictures of what he thought could be fixed.

Category roofing

5.0

08/09/2014


Sam S.

Very well. He met us at the appointed time, surveyed/inspected the roof and got back with his estimate promptly!

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for roof repair in Los Angeles. Roof was low-pitch and currently had rock over blown-down tar. Estimate was to redo roof with asphalt tile. Very competitive, professional for estimate but we didn't do the roof as it was ok for now.

Category roofing

2.0

08/08/2014


Thelda H.

After checking the roof, the vendor informed me that my roof was not installed correctly and had many problems. He said that it would leak if there weren't two roofs there. When asked for the estimate to repair the roof, he would not commit to an amount, saying that it depended on what they found during the work process. He said that repairs would probably begin at $1,000/ He also informed me that he would not guarantee his repair work because he did not install the roof. No information was provided in writing and I got the impression that he did not want the job. I hired another roofing company and the work was done satisfactorily with a warranty.

Description of Work
I contacted this vendor to get an estimate for a roof repair.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Ms. (removed member name) has reported on our company in the review when in fact we do not have (removed member name)listed in our data base as a person that we have visited. Sometimes customers do name the wrong company in their review and in this case we strongly feel that we were named as a company not offering proper service but we never visited the home of (removed member name). We would be happy to speak with (removed member name) about her review to clarify that we are not the company that she is reporting on. thank you and we look forward to a phone call or email from (removed member name). best number to call is 800 766 8000.
5.0

06/16/2014


Andy L.

After getting quotes from various vendors, Western Roofing's quote was very solid and it seems like they have done many of the houses in the neighborhood. The work was done on time and everything looked good after the roof was replaced.

Description of Work
Remove and replace roof and gutter

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/27/2014


corey P.

They did a great job on the roof. They are hard workers. The foreman was Adam Z was excellent to work with. However make sure your driveway is strong enough to take the weight of their heavy equipment.

Description of Work
They took the old roof off and put a new roof on our home.

Category roofing

5.0

05/15/2014


Marilyn R.

All is well that went well.

Description of Work
We had purchased our home with the original wood shake roof and maintained it for about 25 years. It was time to purchase a newer roof as we investigated several roofers and roof types. We decided to choose Western Roofing with Kevin Frost and purchased the steel cedar shake style roof that looked more like wood with a lifetime guarantee. This made us confident and happy to know the roof looked good, offered fire protection, and raised the value of our home.. They were patient with us to make the deal and when we wanted to have the work to begin. After 6 days the roofers tore-off the old roof, then laid down the foundation to put on the new roof. They offered us any assistance in the years to come.

Category roofing

5.0

11/10/2013


roberto A.

Gave me an estimate for roofing. Might get the work done next month.

Description of Work
I contacted Western Roofing Systems.

Category roofing

5.0

09/08/2013


GABRIELA B.

Very professional, i was explained in detail what needed to be done. The project did not move forward unless i gave the ok to replace any missing or damaged wood.

Description of Work
Removed two layers of roof and installed a new roof to include a few damaged wood beams.

Category roofing

5.0

08/22/2013


Ron M.

We contacted Western Roofing after exhaustive research about types of roofing, visits to home shows, and visits to roofing suppliers. The salesman was knowledgeable and provided us with answers to all our questions. Their workmen were prompt, completed the job in 5 work days, were personable, and professional and left the site clean every day. The roof is lightweight, can be walked on and looks better than any other similar roof we've seen.

Description of Work
Installed MetroShake metal roof with Aquagard and Radiant barriers

Category roofing

5.0

08/22/2013


susanne F.

They did a good job. They did use a product (TyVec) that was not approved for this county and it took months for the inspector to write it off. San Joaquin county is not up to code on new products.

Description of Work
Roof

Category roofing

5.0

07/04/2013


Steven J.

The job went very well. They estimated it would take 6 days to complete work and job was completed in that time frame. They quickly addressed any concerns I had and kept us updated on progress. They did a very good job and even touched up the facia while they where installing roof. With the amount of work done, they did a very good job keeping worksite clean.

Description of Work
Removed existing concrete tile roof. Installed stone coated steel roof.

Category roofing

5.0

06/24/2013


Barbara M.

They are a good company to deal with. They are great. It is a family-owned operation. He was an older gentleman and he was really nice. I just met him, but when the staff came out to fix everything then they did an A-1 work. It was a little expensive, but it was worth it.

Description of Work
Western Roofing Systems came out and reinstalled the whole roof. It was a steel roof.

Category roofing

5.0

05/11/2013


Rich & Sharon B.

In May 2013 we selected Western Roofing Systems to install a Metro Shake metal roof and gutters and downspouts on our 2,600 square ft. home in preparation for a new SunPower PV Solar system to be installed by ProVoltz Solar located in Campbell, CA. We had secured a couple of bids to make sure we were getting a competitive price. Our existing roof was a 24-year-old heavy shake roof. The tear-off crew total removed our old shake roof in a little over one hour. They cleaned up the yard and left no mess. We were impressed. The Western roofing crew installed our new Metro stone coated metal roof in only 3 days, including the tear off and worked very close with the ProVoltz solar installation crew. Special roof mounts had to be installed to accept the new PV solar panels. We were somewhat skeptical about how a metal roof would look like on our home, as we really liked the heavy shake look. We wanted a roofing system that would out last us and a new heavy shake would not (we hope). Our new Metro (50 year+-) roof looks as close to a heavy wood shake roof as you can get without it being a wood shake roof and it’s fire proof. We are very happy with the look and the service we got from Western Roofing Systems and we would highly recommend them to anyone considering a premium metal roofing system and gutters. Western was very responsive and competitively priced.

Description of Work
In May 2013 we selected Western Roofing Systems to install a Metro Shake Stone Coated metal roof and new seamless aluminum gutters and downspouts on our 2,600 square ft. home in preparation for a new SunPower PV Solar system to be installed by ProVoltz Solar located in Campbell, CA.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/13/2013


Ivan M.

All tiles on the roof are back in place. The crew that came out to do the work were very friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Tiles from my roof had slipped down and was noticed by my neighbor. Prior to bringing in Western Roofing I had another Roofing company come out and inspect my roof. They would not do the work because they stated the roof was to steep. Brian from Western Roofing came out and inspected the roof. The great thing about them was He explained in detail how components of a roof works. How the tile along with the undercoating beneath the tile protects the roof and the house from leaks. He explained the work they would be doing throughly and the cost. On April 5 they came to the house promptly at the time designated. They did the work and I was told that the roof did not need any further maintenance other than aligning the tiles back to its original place.

Category roofing

5.0

01/08/2013


DYANE D.

Western Roofing Systems was recommend to us by a general contractor. Our home is 40 years old and the spanish tile roof needed to be replaced because the paper under the tiles had disintigrated to pulp. and quot;Skiand quot; was our first contact with them. He came out and inspected the roof and provided an estimate of multiple choices. We opted to have the roof entirely replaced. Ski was very professional, knowledgeable, punctual and friendly. The crew came out as expected and started right away. Awesome workers!! They knew their business!! Obviously, they were very experienced and did a phenominal job!!!!! Always arrived on time, always cleaned up at the end of the day, worked hard all day!!! The owner of the company, John, and Andy and Roy (foremen) came out daily to check on the job and sometimes multiple times during the day. These gentlemen were exceptional also!! They took the time to explain different steps during the job, what to expect when, and stayed true to their schedule of completion. The finished job is absolutely excellent!!! Very professional, honest, knowledgeable friendly people from the first contact to the owner, foremen, and actual installers. We couldn't be more pleased with the outcome!!! For those of you who are not familiar with the specifics of such an endeavor of replacing your roof (or for that matter, replacing only a portion of your roof or finding a leak), I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY!!!!! They will make you feel at ease and do an exceptional job for you!!!

Description of Work
New spanish tile roof installed & all facia replaced on our 40 year old home

Category roofing

5.0

11/28/2012


JENNIFER P.

Met with Adam for an estimate, he was the primary contact. They were the lowest estimate, so I decided to go with them. Work was scheduled for about 2 weeks later. I work during the day, so never saw the workers, except for first thing in the morning as I was leaving. The work was done well, and within the time frame estimated. Luckily, the 50 year old house had only a small amount of wood that needed to be replaced-yeah!. After the roof was done, I was waiting for the city of Huntington Beach to come out and do the final inspection and was not too happy to find out that the city building inspector requires that a ladder be furnished for the final inspection-seriously??? What building inspector doesn't have their own ladder??-but this review is not about them. Adam arranged to have a ladder brought out to my house and rescheduled the inspection, so now everything is completed and I didn't have to borrow or buy a ladder. That extra effort made my day!

Description of Work
Tore off two layers of old roof, reroof with asphalt shingles

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Building In Harmony

    Specializing in stucco services, finishes, and repairs, along with a wide range of energy -efficient construction solutions and project management! Residential and commercial. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out ALL of our services offered below and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Custom Painting & Decorating, Inc.

    Custom Painting & Decoration Inc’s. Mission is to ensure high quality service along with exceptional client dedication. We aim to provide a sincere and pleasant experience when trusting us with new projects. Your walls. Our care. If you want your project look like new, you know what to do.   Give us a call    

    Angi Certified

    Home 2 Renovate, Inc.

    Home 2 Renovate, Inc. has been a family and friend owned and operated home improvement company since 1992 and is licensed, bonded and insured. We specialize in all types of roofing, exterior paint/stucco/coatings/sidings, windows & doors, whole house insulation, patio covers/sunrooms and gutters. We are a Better Business Bureau accredited company with a A+ rating, a League of California Homeowners member, National Association of the Remodeling Industry member. We are top rated on Better Business Bureau, HomeAdvisor, Angi, Thumbtack, Networx, Houzz, Modernize, Google and we are ranked as one of the Top 500 contractors in the nation with Qualified Remodeler Magazine. We believe that communication is the cornerstone of a good homeowner/contractor relationship. Call today and schedule a free quote good for a year with a product specialist.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    SPECIALIZE IN STONE-COATED STEEL INSTALLATIONS, Standing Seam metal roofing, asphalt shingle products, roof repairs of all type of materials, installation of PV Solar installations (through our sister company, Cira Energy, Inc.) for residential and commercial customers that are interested in saving money on their electrical costs. Solar installations can be leased (most popular) or purchased to own.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Western Roofing Systems

    How is Western Roofing Systems overall rated?

    Western Roofing Systems is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Western Roofing Systems provide

    Western Roofing Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Western Roofing Systems offer free estimates?

    Yes, Western Roofing Systems offers free project estimates.

    Does Western Roofing Systems offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Western Roofing Systems offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Western Roofing Systems offer a senior discount?

    No, Western Roofing Systems does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Western Roofing Systems?

    No, Western Roofing Systems does not offer warranties.

    What services does Western Roofing Systems offer?

    Western Roofing Systems offers the following services: SPECIALIZE IN STONE-COATED STEEL INSTALLATIONS, Standing Seam metal roofing, asphalt shingle products, roof repairs of all type of materials, installation of PV Solar installations (through our sister company, Cira Energy, Inc.) for residential and commercial customers that are interested in saving money on their electrical costs. Solar installations can be leased (most popular) or purchased to own.