Alps Air Conditioning & Heating Inc

About

Founded 1979 • With Angi since April 2007

Alps Air Conditioning is family owned and operated. Our business works hard to offer the best quality equipment and installation to make sure our customers enjoy the comfort for many years. Our goal is to have a life-time customer. Not a quick sale and move on. We are here to service our customers

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(87) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

77

4

5

3

2

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (86)air duct cleaning (10)insulation (7)water heaters (3)electrician (3)plumbers (2)water softeners (1)
Showing 1-25 of 87 reviews
5.0

03/24/2020


scott K.

We had three different companies give us estimates on a new furnace, as well as possibly adding a/c. The last company was Alps which we discovered through Costco. Allen came over to give the estimate, and he was very informative and explained everything very thoroughly. He took the time to measure all the rooms inside the house to accurately determine what size of unit would be needed. At first, we had decided to do both heating and a/c, signing the contract and writing a check. Couple days later, we changed our minds and only had the furnace installed. Allen and his office worked with Costco in order to change the contract, and also to refund our money for the cancelled a/c part of the job. They did an excellent installation, finishing everything in one day. I would highly recommend Alps based on our experience.

Description of Work
Heating & Cooling

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2020

5.0

06/27/2019


James B.

It was great, they did a good job. The price was good. I had a good experience.

Description of Work
They installed my new Heating & A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2018

1.0

01/08/2019


Eun B.

Our entire AC/Heating system stopped working after an Alps service visit. We hired two other companies to diagnose the problem. Both came to the same conclusion that Alps had put in the incorrect fuse in the circuit board which resulted in destroying both the circuit board and the blower motor. Replacement and labor cost to replace the board and motor was $4,400 (fortunately we still had one year left on our warranty, $400 was labor cost not covered by the warranty). When contacted by phone, Alps refused to take responsibility for their mistake. I then sent a letter and a photo of the fuse, along with a copy of the repair receipt from the other company that clearly stated that the reason for the breakdown was due to the wrong fuse. Alps did not respond to the letter sent via registered mail, and when contacted by phone I was disconnected. Up until this unfortunate incident, Alps had been the only company we had hired to service our system - which we had purchased from them almost 10 years ago. Additionally, during the service appointment when Alps put in the wrong fuse, the technician said our blower was very dirty and it should be cleaned. He gave a quote of over $500. When I asked the other two companies their opinions about the blower, both said it was unnecessary maintenance. When asked what their fee would be to clean a blower, the first company gave a quote of $170 and the second stated a range with $250 maximum.

Description of Work
AC/Heating repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

3.0

12/04/2017


John O.

The installers were excellent. Our city inspector made a point of commenting that the installation was well done and that even the new code requirements that he typically has to point out were completed properly. However, I did not have the best experience with their back office team. I was notified months after the job was completed that I was at risk of losing my $3000 rebate because the completion paperwork had not been filed. If you plan on using them in conjunction with rebates, I would definitely follow up to ensure that the completion paperwork has been filed properly. Only after I followed up with them did they finally submit the paperwork, which was confirmed by a subsequent email from the rebate source. I also had to chase them down to complete the contracted scope of work (insulation) after completion of the HVAC installation.

Description of Work
We replaced our central HVAC unit and insulated our home using California Energy First financing. ALPS is an authorized installer.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2017

5.0

08/10/2017


Geoffrey S.

I needed a new AC unit, as my old one was ancient and REALLY loud. Their salesman came out, made a few recommendations on units, quoted me, and I paid a deposit. I just needed the a.c. unit itself and coils, as my furnace was still in good shape. They also needed go expand the register below the furnace, as it was too small for even the unit I already had. They called that day to schedule the work, just a week away. The team showed up on time, replaced the a.c. and coils, extended the register, made sure it looked nice, and I paid the balance. Afterward they arranged for the HERS inspector to come out, and for the city inspector to come out. In other words, they delivered full service. I paid exactly what was quoted, everyone I dealt with was friendly and professional, and my mother in law hired them shortly afterward to do some work on her system. Can't recommend them enough!

Description of Work
Replaced my AC unit and coils with a MUCH quieter unit than the one that had been in the house when I bought it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2017

5.0

07/24/2017


Bryan S.

Excellent. Completed in one and one-half days.

Description of Work
Replaced 39 year old furnace, A/C unit, attic ducts, refrigerant lines, drain, etc. Independent efficiency inspection. City permit & Inspection. ALPS obtained a SCE efficiency rebate for us. The Work past a State efficiency audit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2017

5.0

07/11/2017


Adrian A.

Thank you Allen for the amazing customer service and for servicing my air conditioning unit. I will definitely be recommending you to all my friends and family.

Description of Work
Air conditioning unit was not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

06/10/2017


Chris B.

Outstanding, will definitely use again. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
New HVAC system installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $15

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2017

4.0

05/25/2017


Kim S.

They were a good company, they did what they said they were going to do.

Description of Work
I bought two heating and air conditioning systems from them and they replaced them. It was fine, I haven't had any issues with the system. They came on time and installed on time.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2015

5.0

03/22/2017


JANE G.

They greatly reduced the cost. The insulation is extremely worthwhile. It was a small price to pay for something I think reduced my air conditioning loss and the heat loss as well as kept the heat in tremendously. I can see that my bills are just fantastic by comparison with all these changes. Everything they said they would do, they did. Everything was done in a timely manner and very efficient. I couldn't help but recommend them. And that's what you ask for, that's what you want. It doesn't matter what the work is. I don't care if it's a plumber or they're cleaning the drains in your house. Don't make a promise and then not fulfill it. You are supposed to hopefully exceed peoples expectations or at least be in line with what everyone thinks they are paying for. They were fantastic. The other thing is, they and several others are on a recommended list and there are only a certain number of contractors that are on the accepted list of the utility companies. The discounts, at least for me a year ago in February were as deep as they could be. The savings were, I felt like, huge. At yet I got exactly what I wanted as well as what I needed. For some of the other companies they are not the accepted contractors by the utility companies who have their own methodology that they expect the contractors to follow so that you don't hire somebody, ask for a rebate and fine out that the work was subpar. I had several people that had to see that certain things were done before they could give a final on the job. I felt like, hey I am not going up in the attic to see the insulation. They are schooled enough to know that the contractor is supposed to do steps 1-5 and if they are not doing it how would the homeowner know unless you are versed in steps 1-5. So I had great confidence that they were going to do what was expected of them or they could not be on that list and offering the deep discount that the utilities offer because the utilities already validated their methodology. You kind of wish that there was that effort made for everyone else. I guess you can't really. People are licensed or not and certainly word of mouth and personalities get in the way. Some guy who does a great job for one person just being handyman somebody else may say he never called back. Things happen. You hope to keep a handle on the failures and you hope that there are fewer rather than greater. That makes everyone look good, but things do happen. Sometimes it's so out of your control. With this company, they were absolutely terrific. The cost for me was roughly $8000 give or take and then there was $4000 or $5000 rebated to them. I didn't even have a clue that it was a possibility. When I had first started investigating it probably 3 years ago. I started to look into new heating and air conditioning because the unit we had was very old. It was the original one of on our house which was built in 76 and I was in it since 81. So it was inefficient. It didn't do a very good job. And it cost me plenty of money to not be very hot at the appropriate times, which is frustrating. It like if you have water, but it's only cold. That is what it was like. I had a friend who recommended them. I saw the work that they did and how they handled it, and I said I had no beef with it whatsoever. Then to know that there were actually rebates that the utility companies offered, this is silly. I should have done this years before. There's not a lot of contractors on that list. There are probably not a lot of people who want to comply with all the things they want them to do. And maybe you have to do a lot of work to save yourself some money, but I had no idea how much the insulation would make a difference. That and the windows. I think I could have done the insulation years ago and put in windows and it would have changed things radically. Because sometimes you don't even use the air conditioning or you don't use the heat. In the past week or so, nothing is running right now. They came highly recommended, they had excellent products and they are putting in reliable equipment. They're handling the things the right way. Who wants to do things a second time? They don't want to have to come back. That would be because they didn't do the right job to start with. They don't understand that. None of it comes free. I certainly would have liked to spend less money, but I would not like to have less. I had a couple of questions about a couple of things and they either explained it to me over the phone or they came by to show me. I remember at one time I was hearing a popping noise when the air conditioner was kicking in and they said they would come by. Apparently that was normal whatever it was. They're excellent. It's not like we forgot you, we got your money what else do you want? You can't recommend people who don't follow through. Even when you have a concern or complaint that is minor or that is not really valid. As homeowners you think something is failing, and not so much. Whatever they promised, they delivered.

Description of Work
They installed heating, air conditioning and duct work. They also did additional insulation in the attic.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/22/2016

5.0

03/15/2017


Vicki S.

I did use somebody on Angie's List for heating and air conditioning, Alps Air Conditioning & Heating. I'm using them presently, like to this day. They were here January of 2017. I would give them an A for everything, that's why I called them again. I did use them again. There was one worker who came to do the work. When they were done they left the area very clean.

Description of Work
Right now they're replacing my air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2017

5.0

02/16/2017


Susan E.

This company was great. Joey came out and gave us a very detailed estimate and answered all our questions. First date for installation was delayed by a week but Alps called us and explained why and they were out the following week. Workers who showed up were professional, polite. They all knew what to do and clean up was excellent!! The work was finished on schedule. Our system works great.

Description of Work
Remove 66 yr. old floor furnace and install central heat and air conditioning and al duct work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/27/2016

5.0

02/13/2017


MAYONA C.

From the moment we met make to give me an estimate to George and Victor installing and finishing the job to clean up. Everything went well. They were very professional.

Description of Work
Installed brand new furnace and air condition & replaced all ducts and new vents.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $15,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2017

5.0

02/07/2017


Thomas G.

Enrique & Lazaro were on time performed work within stared time frame protected work area w/ drop clothes. Cleaned up work area. Answered all questions.

Description of Work
Install lennox for LED air unit. Install I comfort wifi stat. Inspect & seal ducting in attic seal RA cavity with duct board.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $4,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2017

5.0

12/29/2016


Robert P.

Went through Costco, got hooked up with Allen Puig of Alps. Family business, guy knows his stuff. Allen sent his crew chief Gus, Air tech Brandan, and crew. Gus ran his crew like a well oiled machine. He explained the instillation thoroughly and accommodated any requests we had. If you need a professional air and heating instillation, you should give these guys a look. 5 star in my book.

Description of Work
Air conditioning and heating

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2016

5.0

12/12/2016


Brian J.

After reviewing 8 different quotes I chose ALPS because they were very professional and gave me one of the better quotes. I wanted a top of line Lennox system, which most of the other companies did not sell, and they worked with me on the separate units of the system to ensure I got just what I needed. Nothing more, nothing less. The installers showed up on time, were very polite and professional, and the first thing they did was to lay down a protective cover on the floor in every location they worked. They walked me through everything they were going to do and even coordinated with me on the location of a new vent that needed to be installed in our large country Kitchen to ensure it stayed cool in the summer. It took two days to install the entire system, but they cleaned up at then end of each day. I want to thank Jorge, Sal, and Victor for their efforts and the obvious quality of workmanship. So now I am able to sit in my house where the temperature is comfortable consistent, and better yet, I can't tell when the system is on or not unless I walk under a vent and feel the air flow. GREAT JOB ALPS for exceeding my expectations!!!

Description of Work
Our house never had AC installed and the central heat unit was 53 yrs old. They removed the old central heating unit and then installed a new HVAC system. Everything was new including new ducting and vents.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2016

5.0

11/01/2016


Cynthia H.

Men arrived on time, clean up was great, reviewed thermostat settings.

Description of Work
Installed new AC and heating unit, plus new thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $7,346

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2016

5.0

09/25/2016


Mai P.

It took about two days to complete the worth. The workers came early morning and started right away removing the old system and replacing it.

Description of Work
I had the complete AC system replacement with a new electrical panel.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $12,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2016

5.0

09/12/2016


Sandy P.

Excellent service from bid to install. I highly recommend Alps AC. the installers kept my home clean during the 8 hour process. They were super nice and helpful!

Description of Work
New AC & heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,585

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2016

5.0

09/12/2016


Rory V.

Great. Very professional and friendly.

Description of Work
Central Air and new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2016

5.0

08/08/2016


Jeff C.

It went very well, as planned. The workers were there everyday on time. The work was completed in a professional manner.

Description of Work
Replace air conditioning and heating system and ducting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $15

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2016

5.0

07/12/2016


Pateick & Ann K.

Allen, the office staff and installers are very attentive and top notch. The installation team worked very hard. Awesome rebates from costs & energy program.

Description of Work
Reducted entire house, replaced furnace and installed central air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac