Signature Design & Construction

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since April 2011

AZ Residential and Commercial General Contractor, Licensed and Bonded. ROC 245706, I have 17 years of experience in many areas of home improvement and remodeling. Whether you are changing floor covering, installing new cabinets or an entire new kitchen or bath, or adding a room, I suggest the

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(46) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

40

4

0

3

1

2

4

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (44)tile installation (21)plumbers (18)interior painting (15)drywall (15)electrician (13)cabinet makers (13)lighting (11)countertop installation (11)flooring (9)glass repair (8)door installation (7)
Showing 1-25 of 46 reviews
5.0

08/18/2022


Guy S.

Robert was fantastic to work with and his work was wonderful; we miss him now that the work is done. The project was a total remodel of the master bathroom for improved handicap access while retaining a great appearance. Sheetrock was removed down to the studs and a beautiful barrier-free roll-in shower, sinks, toilet, exhaust vents, and lighting were installed. New ceramic flooring was installed in the bathroom and bedroom and a window replaced in the bathroom. He did a wonderful job of putting up with our changing design ideas before work began. His suggestions were very helpful in refining details. The custom cabinets look great, even better than we expected. The work progressed very smoothly. Robert was a joy to work with. He was very dependable and was here when he said he would be. After this project was done, we had him come back and remodel the hall bathroom as well, with ceramic tile tub enclosure and new cabinets and countertop.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of master bathroom

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, glass repair, plastering, plumbing, replacement windows, marble & granite, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2021

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 39840372

+1 More

5.0

02/25/2021


Laura T.

Robert was fantastic to work with. I'm so glad that I chose him. My master bathroom, closet, and bedroom remodel went very smoothly and I'm pleased with the results. I got 3 estimates and his was right in the middle. What differentiated him from the other contractors I contacted was that he was responsive and he was able to offer solid design advice. He also works with a custom cabinet maker who was able to build a beautiful custom vanity and mirror to my specifications. Robert was able to take my ideas and add very helpful suggestions and refinements. The outcome would not have been as good if I hadn't listened to his advice. Another important thing to mention is that Robert is dependable - if he says he will show up at 9am, he will be there. Lastly, Robert is a nice guy, and I'm happy that I got to know him. When I need to do more work on my house, he will be my first and only call.

Description of Work
Master Suite Remodel (Master Bathroom, Closet, Master Bedroom)

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2020

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 39213026

+4 More

5.0

09/21/2020


Mary S.

Very well. Robert was exceptional to work with; very professional, knowledgeable. He was a great source of suggestions and kept me updated through the entire project.

Description of Work
Remodel bath shower, vanity, toilet

Category custom cabinets, countertops, plumbing, garage builders, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $12,327

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

5.0

01/04/2020


Maria S.

Robert is excellent at what he does. The attention to detail is evident in all his work. He makes thoughtful recommendations and also an idea guy. Our home in Oro Valley was quite dated and he did all the work himself. Demo, and then all the upgrades including "plank wood " porcelain tile, walk in shower with tiling , backsplash, mirror installation, fan upgrades for ventilation, installation of venting in kitchen(builder did not have venting). He installed our kitchen hood and our new microwave. He also installed under cabinet lights in the kitchen for us. His work is excellent and worth every penny you will spend . I recommend you hire him... also remember to be patient with any contractor that is worth his salt. Excellent work takes time due to the meticulous nature of all the work. Robert is a pro and you will be very happy with his final product if you choose him. Choose him you will not regret it.

Description of Work
Remodel entire house. New Kitchen, bathrooms and flooring throughout.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2020

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 38314672
1.0

10/29/2019


richard K.

They never showed up or even called.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bath remodel.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

Work Completed On 10/29/2019

5.0

09/19/2019


ethan A.

Robert was very thorough and professional. His team did great work and he had great ideas and suggestions. I would highly recommend

Description of Work
Kitchen redesign

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, home remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed].
5.0

12/25/2017


Heathre M.

They were wonderful and the owner Robert had great ideas for the design of our cabinets. Our kitchen is small but required a lot of work and repair

Description of Work
Total kitchen remodel and repair/paint living room walls.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2017

5.0

09/14/2017


Terry B.

Both jobs were completed to my utmost satisfaction. Mr. Robert Szymczak was a pleasure to work with, provided alternatives to the design or fixtures as needed, gave great advice on where to find the best prices on things. The jobs were completed exactly to the day they were to be completed. His prices were fair and he was he was on time, and on task. My poor photography skills do not do justice to how beautiful it is.

Description of Work
I have had two jobs completed. Installation of tile that looks like wood, and a bathroom remodel.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2017

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 36236868

+2 More

5.0

06/11/2017


Paul B.

My wife and I wanted to build an entertainment wall in our new home. After searching all over Tucson we found Robert and Signature Design. Robert came out and we discussed the project and Robert gave us some very good ideas on how we should proceed. Robert started the project and was a true craftsman. He made sure all of the structure was level and true. He took his time and did the job right like the professional he is. The completed project was just what we wanted.

Description of Work
Entertainment/Media Wall

Category electrician, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $8,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2017

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 35222019
5.0

06/04/2017


Maryann P.

Robert did a wonderful job on my bathroom remodeling. He was so great to work with and he had terrific suggestions for completing the bathroom. So glad I listened to him. He was here everyday as he promised and cleaned up everything. Love the channel drain. Robert is one of the best contractors I have worked with and very honest. Will hire again for my other bathroom.

Description of Work
Remodel bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2017

5.0

03/08/2017


Sara L.

It was probably close to $90,000 worth of work. It?s a great company. They do great work. Very expensive. What I did was, I broke it out into separate like all the windows and the doors on the entire exterior, it?s a big house. It?s like 2,800 square feet. Then I went after the master bathroom, then I went after the other 2 bathrooms and then I went after the tile. I specifically did that so that if it didn?t work out with them, I would not have this huge ongoing contract. So, I broke it up to pieces. I would absolutely have them probably redo the kitchen next. Then the whole house would be completely redone. They are general contractors, Roberts Sumestic. They?re great! They do all their own work, so you don?t have all these subs coming out. They?re perfectionists. We travel extensively out of the country, so I had to have somebody that I was pretty sure didn?t need to be babysat. I could show them a picture, I could say here?s the tile, buy it, here?s the fixtures, leave it there and know that it was going to be done. I was in another state while the construction was happening or out of the country. They do their own work, everything from tile, everything else. The only thing that stood out were countertops and cabinets and they use a really good guy up in Phoenix. Everything is custom, all the cabinets, tongue and groove, everything.

Description of Work
I have had a lot of extensive services with Signature Design & Construction. From 2015 through mid-2016. They replaced every window and door on the exterior. Every door on the interior. Put porcelain tile throughout the house. Extensively remodeled the three bathrooms. The master bathroom was substantial, like, the walls were moved, the atrium was torn out, plumbing changed.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2016

5.0

02/06/2017


Jessica D.

Robert was very pleasant to work with, quick to respond and had amazing and practical design ideas. Robert and his team removed all the existing hardware , re-channel the drains, and re-tiled the shower and the floor in less than 2 weeks! I am beyond pleased with the new guest bathroom and definitely recommend him for anyone thinking about remodeling.

Description of Work
Complete guest bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2017

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 34423825

+3 More

5.0

02/06/2017


Jessica D.

Robert was very pleasant to work with, quick to respond and had amazing and practical design ideas. Robert and his team removed all the existing hardware , re-channel the drains, and re-tiled the shower and the floor in less than 2 weeks! I am beyond pleased with the new guest bathroom and definitely recommend him for anyone thinking about remodeling.

Description of Work
Complete guest bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2017

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 34423823

+3 More

5.0

01/22/2017


Neil N.

The work is great. His suggestions were spot on and his work is really really good. We couldn't be happier. Anyone going to hire him I will tell you one thing, take his suggestions. He was correct in everyone he gave us.

Description of Work
Robert remodeled our Master bathroom shower. He removed the old closed in shower and built a open tile shower.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/20/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and [Member Information Removed] hug for your wife.I am gonna miss you guys.
5.0

01/22/2017


Neil N.

They were on time, finished on time and were very professional the entire time.

Description of Work
Remodeled our bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2017

5.0

11/04/2016


Norman M.

We hired Signature Design after getting three bids on our project. They weren't the lowest bid but were in the same general area as the other two. What made the biggest difference in our selection was that Robert had very strong design skills and was quite energetic when it came to recommendations as to the layout of the kitchen and bathrooms and the selection of materials and colors. He also had the ability to do the entire project without involving a lot of subcontractors, which we believed would eliminate a lot of cost and potential delays. As he said, they can do pretty much anything except concrete, and throughout our project this turned out to be true. We were fortunate enough to have the house vacant for the entirety of our project, so Signature Design could move at full speed. Robert and Mirek were superb at keeping on schedule and keeping us appraised of the status of things. We were even gone on vacation for a period during the construction and everything was under control back in Tucson with Robert on the job. We elected to choose and purchase most materials ourselves, and Robert would let us know when it was time to bring in the laminate flooring or light fixtures, etc. He was always available to help us narrow down selections or give us opinions on paint or tile colors. The results were outstanding - a jaw-dropping update of our old 60's rancher to a beautiful contemporary look. New custom cabinets (built by a friend of Robert's), quartz countertops, a huge kitchen island, all LED lighting, all new stainless steel appliances - the place was unrecognizable. And not everything was tile and paint, much of what they did were less cosmetic updates such as removing a wall and raising the ceilings in the kitchen, redirecting ac ducting, opening up the main entryway and installing a new custom glass double front door with sidelites, not to mention installing all new energy efficient windows throughout the entire house. We were so happy with the process of working with Signature Design throughout the project and are ecstatic with the final results. We would absolutely use them again if we start another remodel.

Description of Work
Our older (1960's) house was spacious and had good bones but had never been updated and needed extensive remodeling to bring it into the 21st century. This involved a complete Kitchen remodel, plus complete remodel of two Bathrooms, plus other updates including new flooring, all new windows and new entryway.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2016

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 33858781

+7 More

5.0

09/06/2015


H H.

Robert's work was outstanding, as was that of his assistant Mirek. The home is stunning. He recommended an interior designer who was extremely helpful in the design of the spaces and finishes. He is patient and understanding; he made sure that all of his work was at the standard we expected. We would recommend him unconditionally. Our only minor concern was that once 95% of the job was complete, it took some time to get him back to finish the job.

Description of Work
Robert and Mirek completely remodeled the interior of our home: the kitchen, laundry room, three bathrooms, living room, master closet. He also installed tile throughout and painted the majority of the interior walls.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2015

5.0

04/21/2015


Hilary E.

It went fantastically. His was the third estimate I received - the first from a contractor I'd used before - loved the work but the bid was WAY too high. Called a highly rated Angie's List contractor and thought he was great, but again, the price just seemed far too high for the work involved. Finally, I called Robert based on Angie's List reviews. He came out within a couple days and provided a labor-only bid, which really allowed me to gauge whether the price felt right or not, and his felt spot-on for how much I'd expect to pay "per day" for work of that sort, which included electrical, plumbing, tiling, demo, installation of new vanities and sinks, and painting and trim work. I checked a reference and got good feedback, so I went ahead and hired him. The job was completed on time and on budget. Both Robert and Mirek were friendly and trustworthy, and I felt comfortable with them being in the house when I wasn't home. Robert was happy to give advice on tile, style, and design. In sum, the job went great, and now I have a perfect bathroom - finally! I plan to hire Robert again to remodel my downstairs bath as well, since the experience went so smoothly.

Description of Work
Robert remodeled my master bathroom that was sorely in need of an update.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2015

2.0

08/18/2014


H. Thomas C.

Plans were left on our front porch 2 weeks later with no note. Robert had stated at our 07/09/14 meeting that he had just signed his largest remodeling contract for $ 150K and that would tie him up for 2 months. We stated that we wouldn't be looking to start our project until late September so that would work. I am sure the large project was a large part for the reason for the way things turned out for us. We are looking at other remodeling contractors.

Description of Work
Robert met with us at our house on 07/09/14 to review our 2 bathroom remodeling project. Robert reviewed the plans and details and discussed the project and project timing. We gave him a set of plans to review and price.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Work Completed On 07/09/2014

Service Provider Response

.
5.0

05/27/2014


Jeanne M.

We hired Robert to remodel our three bathrooms. He did all the plumbing, electrical, rough stucco as well as the tiling. His price included all labor and installation. He also provided mirrors, cabinets,sinks a window and quartz counter tops in two of the bathrooms. We provided the toilets, plumbing fixtures, light fixtures, paint, and tiles. The bulk of the work was done in master bath. It was basically gutted. Robert removed the large garden tub and enlarged the shower, replaced the carpet with tiles. We had a large window replaced with a smaller slider. We wanted a snail shower or one without a shower door or shower curtain. Robert helped us design it. It turned out better than our expectations. We took most of Robert's design suggestions and were happy we did. We have a gorgeous new master bath. Robert's work is meticulous. He pays close attention to detail and knows how to do just about anything. He and his two assistants do all the work themselves and do it well.The project took one week longer then expected as one of his assistants was sick with pneumonia for two weeks and that slowed the progress. The wait was well worth it. We have 3 updated, new and beautiful bathrooms. All builder grade materials are gone. Robert removed all debris and cleaned up after himself. I recommend him most highly.

Description of Work
Remodeled and updated 2 bathrooms and a powder room.

Category home remodeling

Cost $16,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2014

5.0

11/12/2013


Martin V.

Robert and his team completed the kitchen, including gutting the old kitchen and installing new cabinets and re tile in two weeks. Robert replaced the old lighting in the kitchen with recessed lights as well as hanging lights that just add to the beautiful atmosphere that our home now has. The kitchen is gorgeous. The bathrooms are beautiful . He installed a bubble tub and completely remodeled the shower in the master bathroom. When Robert knew we were struggling with choosing the right tiles, he shopped with us and gave professional advice. Robert knew what tile would work best for our downstairs and ultimately understood what would best meet our needs.

Description of Work
Robert remodeled our entire downstairs, including the kitchen, master bedroom, master bathroom, guest bathroom and upstairs bathroom. He and Mirek tiled the entire downstairs, the kitchen, living room, dining room, family room, laundry room and foyer. Robert and Mirek laid laminate wood flooring in the master bedroom. Our entire house has been transformed into a beautiful elegant home. The house looks gorgeous. Robert has a wonderful sense of style and color. He guided us through the remodel with professionalism and patience.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2013

5.0

09/16/2013


Melissa E.

Robert's work is absolutely excellent, phenomenal. He and Mirek, his assistant, completed a serious remodel in just two months when other contractor's wanted three to four. They are incredibly efficient and hard working and THEY do the work. I was totally comfortable having them in my home knowing they were there, not subs I had never met. The quality of Robert's work is evident in the finished product. People are floored by our home and the level of detail and amount of effort that went into the complete remodel. Robert is very responsive in either picking up his cell right away or calling you back quickly. His experience and skill in so many areas of home remodeling was amazing to watch. He was familiar with "old" houses which was key for us in dealing with a 60+ year old home that we knew had "quirks". Robert was patient with us when we were uncertain about a decision and provided many suggestions. When I asked for something to be done, it was done and done on time. If something was done incorrectly (very rarely), it was fixed as soon as mentioned. Robert was able to recommend great suppliers for home materials, both in quality and price. Robert is direct which means things get done and done well. It also means that you need to communicate your ideas and decisions to him clearly. I would also recommend really having your project scope down as we added things later, which happens, but it was harder to get an accurate cost estimate for the add-ons. We ended up slightly over budget due to material costs fluctuating and not giving ourselves a 10% cushion - which I highly recommended for major remodels. New situations and needed adjustments do arise. Robert's bid was one of the lowest as he bid the labor and estimated the materials. The three other higher bids, which were inclusive, were one and a half to double the cost. I would use Robert again in a heartbeat. We are thrilled with the results of the remodel and constantly amazed at the quality of his and Mirek's work.

Description of Work
Robert completed a MAJOR home remodel of our 1600+ sq ft, 1951 Winterhaven home. He and his assistant, Mirek, completely remodeled two bathrooms, moving the plumbing and sewer lines and installing sky lights. He installed custom vanities, tile work and glass door/wall in the bathrooms. He completely remodeled the kitchen, installing custom cabinets, a glass tile backsplash and creating a pantry. He extended our enclosed AZ room, re-wired, insulated and dry-walled all walls and the ceiling. He replastered the living room and AZ room. The floor in the AZ room was floated (leveled to the rest of the house). T1-11 material on outside of house (plywood type siding) was stuccoed. Thirteen old casement windows were removed and new windows installed. Tile flooring was installed in bathrooms, AZ room, living room, hallway and kitchen. A new point-of-source water heater was installed for the laundry in the garage. Recessed lighting was installed in the AZ room and kitchen. Slate tile work on the fireplace was completed. A coat closet was removed from entrance. Kitchen and living room walls were moved/removed to create a new layout between the living room and kitchen. A decorative ceiling beam was installed. Inside and outside of house were painted.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair, replacement windows, skylights, stucco, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2013

Images

Review for Signature Design & Construction - 245 E Sunburst Cir., Tucson, AZ - 6858881

+3 More

5.0

09/13/2013


Wendell G.

Robert started the job before any other bidder and even finished a half day before planned. He and his partner were punctual and professional, and extremely hard working. They communicate effectively and are incredibly knowledgeable in their field. We were so happy with the work we had done that we will only be using Robert in the future.

Description of Work
We took a broken shower stall down to the studs and had Robert remodel the space to include a bathtub/shower combo.

Category home remodeling