Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Santa Rita Landscaping Inc

Founded 1985 • With Angi since August 2010

4.5

(90) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

755 W Grant Rd # 105

Tucson, AZ 85705

Description

Santa Rita Landscaping has been in business with landscaping & landscape design in Tucson and Southern Arizona since 1985. The company was originally started by Tucson landscapers, Brian & Garrett Ham, as a custom residential construction and a residential maintenance company. Although the company

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/12/2022


Kathy C.

I contacted Santa Rita Landscaping (SRL) in July to get a bid for placement of a new storm drain to address some ponding problems in my back yard/patio due to failure of an old storm drain that was no longer functional. Jeremy Ivey came out within a few days of my request to look at the property, to communicate a plan, and provide a bid. He did so in a timely manner. After reviewing multiple bids and doing some research on the businesses that had provided bids, I chose Santa Rita Landscaping (although they weren’t the least expensive bid) based on SRL long history in the business, generally good reputation in the community, experience with my project, and what seemed to me to be a commitment to quality service based on my interaction with Jeremy which seemed consistent with the focus on quality service put forth on the company website. I was told I wouldn’t be able to tell they had been there at all when the work was completed. The job was started August 3rd. The job was supposed to take 1-2 days. I was concerned about the crew damaging buried water, electrical, gas, irrigation lines, etc. I told Jeremy what I knew about underground utilities in terms of location and he told me he would be contacting “Blue Stake” who would be marking all the lines with different colored markers and the crew would be very careful hand digging the proposed path of the new drain. I later learned that blue stake would only be marking the gas line as there was “no conflict” with electrical and water service. This was distressing to me as I was assured there would be flags all over my yard to alert the crew to the location of the utility lines. I wasn’t aware that there were conditions that would preclude Blue Stake from marking the locations on my property. However, I was reassured by Jeremy that the crew would be very careful digging and if any problems came up they would be taken care of. This was sort of the beginning of the problems. There were a couple of days that work didn’t take place because of monsoon rains although rain had ceased before start time or shortly after their usual start time at my house. On the last day of the job, and just a short time before they planned to leave I checked in with the crew as they had reached the end point of the drain but it was so deep it would have to be extended in order for the drain to be functional and I was informed this would cost an additional $700+ (about 25% more than I had budgeted for). This was quite unexpected and distressing, and I hadn’t been informed earlier that this would be the outcome of having to trench deeper than apparently was originally planned. I was feeling like I had been mislead and not kept informed of the issue and the consequences. I spoke with the crew and eventually Jeremy, to see if there was an alternative. Jeremy said that in order to do what I “wanted” (extending the trench) I would have to pay the extra amount. I told him that extending the trench was not some whim of mine and something I suddenly wanted. It was that the drain would not be functional as a drain if stopped a foot below grade. I asked about why I wasn’t informed earlier as it seemed this could have been anticipated by the SLR team as they apparently trenched deeper than planned. I didn’t feel like I got an answer to that question. Ultimately they did extend the trench a few more feet and some rock was placed to direct the flow of water. The crew then told me they were told to leave and not do any more work. They left shortly thereafter. The site was not returned to it’s pre-work state with debris remaining. They didn’t take care to compact the dirt around the drain grate and it was collapsing when tested to see if pooling water could make it to the grate. It drained around the drain but not through the grate until enough accumulated to finally go through which only caused more erosion of the the dirt. Other issues were communication problems with Jeremy: several no shows/no calls for scheduled appointments because he was too busy or hadn’t been aware of the time, and information given was incomplete or misleading. In the end Jeremy did not charge extra and did commit to having the crew return to clean up the worksite and to deal with continued erosion around the drain if it persisted as a problem in the future. I did give him the final payment and I hope he will keep his word on his commitments for the crew to return to finish. Unfortunately I can not give a positive review of my experience with Santa Rita Landscaping.

Description of Work
Placement of storm drain

Category landscaping, drain pipe

5.0

12/22/2021


Douglas J.

My driveway was over 25 yrs old and the asphalt was coming apart. Not only was it unsightly but dirt was regularly tracked into the house. There was also an issue of drainage after rains which often backed up on my carport and drained into my neighbors yard. After consulting with several contractors considering both concrete and paver options, we chose Santa Rita Landscaping. The price for the pavers was only about $2000 more than concrete and provided a much more aesthetic look that matched our adobe block house. In addition, Ryan was the only one who offered a solution to the drainage problem which was to install a small drain in the tree swale and route the water via a 4 inch pipe to a lower point in my backyard which could water trees with the excess water. The workers did a great job in all stages of removal of the old asphalt, configuring the elevation so water would drain gently to a particular point, and carefully installing AB sand/gravel underlayment, then sand, then the pavers and finally a coat of fine sand between the pavers. I am very pleased with both the appearance of the finished product and its functionality. Many people have commented on how attractive and well done it is. the Crew was great to work with and kept me informed of progress and any issues along the way. I would highly recommend them for this type of work.

Description of Work
Replace deteriorating asphalt driveway with pavers and install drainage system for overflow water

Category pest control, hardscaping

5.0

12/21/2021


Randall G.

Ryan and Jeremy were great. Great communication and proactive. Will do business again with Santa Rita Landscaping. Very pleased.

Description of Work
Needed to upgrade landscaping and fix problems

Category landscaping

5.0

01/08/2019


Gerald A.

Very pleased,, We were not here but when we returned it exceeded our expectations and were prompt to address a few issues that occurred,

Description of Work
design and install a natural garden with water feature

Category landscaping

5.0

01/08/2019


Gerald A.

We were not there to observe but reports are that they did very professional job and were a pleasure to work with during design and planning stage. Knowledgable, about local vegetation, hardscape and process. First located by researching the local firms on web and their projects seemed superior to others. Would definitely recommend

Description of Work
landscaped our yard

Category landscaping

2.0

12/10/2018


Christy E.

My experience with Santa Rita was horrible and I would never recommend this company to a friends. Santa Rita was the highest bid we received, but at the time they sold us on the fact that they 'said' they'd do the job the best. And, I am willing to pay good money if the job is done well. This company did far from well. No return calls, few return e-mails, the lawn was put in so poorly the first time it had to be redone (the redone lawn is still sloppy work), and the trees and plants died in weeks to months later. To get this company to come out on warranty items was a huge pain. It such POOR communication. If you want the job done well or even have good communication, this is not the company you should hire.

Description of Work
Landscaping (Irrigation, plants, and lawn)

Category landscaping

1.0

05/17/2018


Greg M.

Don't bother these guys. They will pay you a visit and then not bother to bid the job at all. And forget calling, the kids in the office can't tell you anything.

Description of Work
Replace an Irrigation System

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We do apologize for the wait time with your bid. The spring is a very busy time for us and can create longer than normal wait times, I am sorry it has delayed a response for you. I did check in with our sales staff and a proposal was sent yesterday morning. If it was not received please let us know so we can follow up. Thank You.
5.0

01/22/2018


Ellyn M.

Everything went very well. They are a very organized professional company.

Description of Work
put in drainage system pitched yard correctly installed artificial turf, and planted some plants

Category landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, drain pipe

1.0

11/25/2017


Paul R.

They replied by thanking me for communicating through Angie's list, and I never hear from them, again.

Description of Work
I wanted an estimate on replacing a gravel path with pavers.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/06/2017


Dan C.

They did fantastic work. They had to rip out some prior work, level the surface so it was ready to be landscaped again. The price was intimidating for a little bit but after I sat back and they were done, it was worth it.

Description of Work
Reengineered front yard, planted about 20 plants, laid paver work to my entryway.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/17/2017


Laura S.

The first round or so with SRL was a bit rocky with an inexperienced design manager. After reaching out to the company, their responsiveness was top notch. They went above and beyond to live up to the excellent reputation SRL has earned. Special thanks to Garrett Ham, Veronica Leyva, Tanner Spross and John, the field supervisor who made sure the job was completed in an exceptional way. I highly recommend SRL and encourage early communication with the company if questions or concerns arise. They are committed to quality work!

Description of Work
Redesign and installation of watering systems, rework and augment hardscape, enlarge paver patio areas, replace lawn, relocate existing plants, augment with additional planting, rework river rock terrace.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

5.0

05/01/2017


Jim M.

Found the problem before they could give me an estimate. Therefore didn't use them. They were responsive to my phone calls.

Description of Work
Wanted to have them replace fountain pump.

Category landscaping, fountains

5.0

07/05/2016


d P.

Project completed as requested. When Santa Rita ran into some issues with the construction, John, the Santa Rita foreman, and Garrett, the Vice President, did an awesome job resolving everything to my satisfaction. Very refreshing to work with folks who were so professional and customer-oriented.

Description of Work
Created a built in bbq and adjoining bar height table with cabinet storage

Category outdoor kitchens

5.0

04/15/2016


dan B.

The design phase took some time as there was some discussion of what was needed, what was wanted and what would be in our best interest. Lots of back and forth regarding what we wanted and what would work. They were exceptional in wrinkling out what was important to us and how to ensure that the high points were met. First of all, they coordinated their schedule with the pool company (Omni Pools - who were also awesome) to begin the transformation as soon as the pool was completed. The estimated time of the project was two weeks but expanded to four due to the flu bug making the necessary staff unavailable as often as they normally would be. what was done... they cut down a superfluous desert willow modified the driveway to allow a more pleasing display of our front yard moved landscape boulders installed artificial turf in the front courtyard and back yard added screening trees and shrubs for privacy modified the irrigation to the front, side and back yards installed a stacked flagstone fountain in the front courtyard allowed some water retention areas trimmed existing trees to provide canopy feel and enhance views laid gravel and crafted mounding for plant display so, all in all, a comprehensive overhaul of the main features of my property. Awesome unique touches involved: using ash and sissou trees and mountain laurels instead of the traditional mesquites and palo verde varieties Arranging landscape boulders to create features for plants the use of kino blue rip-rap to add color to the the stacked flagstone fountain also using kino blue stones to add iridescent color to the feature If you want to see it, ask the vendor, they took quite a few pictures

Description of Work
created a landscaping plan in conjunction with our pool installation in the back yard and to modify and transform the back yard, the side of the house and the front yard and courtyard. Worked with a design specialist via the Angie's List offer and took our pictures, then scheduled a site visit to get an idea of the views and area and how it could work with our wish list.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, fountains

4.0

12/02/2015


Mitch D.

The plans did not fit our property layout exactly, it was more of a generalization but it was very thorough. The cost to implement the plan was almost $40k which was well beyond our budget. The effort Santa Rita put out was far more than the price they charged us for their service. It was a really great value. If you have a large project, I would highly recommend contacting Santa Rita.

Description of Work
Came onsite and made field inspection for landscape plans. Developed a set of plans. Met with us to go over the plans.

Category landscaping

4.0

11/12/2015


Robyn S.

The experience started off great. They set up my initial appointment and I meet with the Landscape Designer. We discussed what I wanted and he started the design. I meet with him about 4 weeks later to review the plan. I asked for a few changes and the designer was very accommodating. After a few emails back and forth a design was settled upon, a deposit was made, and I was told that the scheduling person would contact me in the next day or two to schedule the work at my site. This is when things went downhill. I did not hear from anyone for almost 2 weeks and I finally called the scheduling person and left a message. When I did not hear from the scheduler after a few days I called the designer and left a message. I finally received a call from the scheduler and she had scheduled my job the exact week I had told them not to schedule my job. After several calls to her answering machine she finally called me back and we discussed a reschedule. At 6 PM the day before they were to start work on my project I received a call from the scheduler informing me that their previous job had run over and they would not be starting my job the next day, but the day after that. I called her back and informed her that the new start date would not work as I had already arranged to be there on the original day and no one would be there on the new start date. We finally agreed upon a new start date, but the weather was looking unpredictable so she told me she would call that morning and let me know if the crew would start. The weather was questionable that morning and I expected a call from her first thing to tell me if the crew would start, but she did not. I finally called at 9 am to make sure they were not coming. In the meantime their subcontractors had delivered landscaping materials to my job site. One materials company delivered rocks in such a careless manner that they spilled and covered ¾ of the roadway and they did not bother to move them. My husband returned home to see this issue and went out and moved as much of it as he could so that at least half of the roadway was passable. Our streets are not lit so we parked our cars on each side so that someone would not hit them when traveling by at night. The next day I requested that Santa Rita bring some traffic cones over so that we could move our vehicles and they responded to my request promptly. Once work started the landscape execution team arrived promptly every morning to work on the project and they were very friendly and professional. This job included paver work and it is beautiful. A couple of the plants are not doing well and the foreman is going to replace them. Overall the landscape turned out beautiful, although I felt the cost was a little high. I was very pleased with the designer (A), not pleased at all with the scheduler (D), very pleased with the foreman (A) and especially pleased with the landscape execution team (A+++).

Description of Work
Designed and executed a front yard landscape project.

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

5.0

10/28/2015


Kim G.

After reviewing several contractors, my wife and I contracted with Santa Rita Landscape (SRL) to design and complete a backyard project for a new home we purchased in Marana, AZ. From the design phase to the completed project, I have nothing but praise for how the job was handled. Rich Doering was insightful throughout the design phase and was extremely patient with us as we fine tuned the initial design. By the third draft we had what we wanted. The work began and finished in the time frame that was established, and the crews were fantastic to work with. Arriving each day at pretty much sunrise to start the work and at the end of the each day, the work areas were cleaned up and all trash/debris was removed. All the crews (landscape/patio pavers, barbeque, fire-pit, trenching, water system and others) were professional and knowledgeable. The foreman for the project, Ismael Valle, nicknamed (Smiley) was on top of the project in regard to the work crews, equipment, supplies, and schedule. He was accessible and easy to work with. I will note, as with any project of this scale, a few issues did occur. Smiley handled each issue and the discrepancies were immediately addressed and rectified. I was also a bit surprised to have the owner of the company (Richard) and his Vice President in charge of operations (Garrett) show up at the site one afternoon just to check in and see how everything was going. We spent some time talking and it was obvious to me that they were very genuine in the desire to ensure the project was going well and in the manner that I expected. A very personal touch that was much appreciated. In the end, the backyard looks great and we are of the opinion that we clearly made the right choice for our project. I would highly recommend Santa Rita Landscape (SRL) for any project you may be considering. Tony and Kim

Description of Work
Complete Landscape and hardscape of a backyard for a new residence in Marana Arizona.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

5.0

10/05/2015


Steve G.

Very good plans and service. Ed Fagin and the other office folks were very professional and nice. I felt very comfortable working with the architect, Ed Fagin. Ed listened to me and presented a design which was in line with what i wanted. He remained flexible, allowing me to change my mind.

Description of Work
Met with Ed Fagin, who interviewed me about my landscaping needs. Based on my criteria, Ed's crew developed a design that appeared to work well for me and the yard.

Category landscaping

4.0

09/21/2015


Jill J.

I just bought this house and it's on a 1.5 acre and I was really pleased with their product, they were professional, and knowledgable about the plants.

Description of Work
They did a beautiful landscaping plan for me

Category landscaping

5.0

08/24/2015


Katherine S.

Excellent plans and service. All the people are very nice. My husband and I felt very comfortable working with Ed Fagin, the architect. Ed listened to us and presented a design which was in line with what we wanted. He remained flexible throughout allowing us to change our minds and/or ask questions.

Description of Work
Santa Rita designed the landscaping for our yard.

Category landscaping

4.0

07/18/2015


Laura B.

The overall experience was very good. The designer, scheduler, site supervisor, and installers were great. After the job was done, I received an email from the general manager asking if there was anything that needed attention that he could correct. I replied, sending photos of some touch up that needed done due to some minor damage which occurred during installation. I never received a reply..... Other than that, everyone was very responsive and great to work with.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

07/13/2015


Antonio U.

They did great. The price was high but the deal we got for $100 was the exact price.

Description of Work
I used the big deal of Santa Rita Landscaping.

Category outdoor lighting

1.0

06/17/2015


Georgina S.

Not good since they never bothered to call me back.

Description of Work
They never bothered to return my initial calls. I called twice and left messages both times thinking maybe the first time I had maybe my message wasn't clear.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], We sincerely apologize for your negative experience with Santa Rita Landscaping not returning your calls. It is certainly not our norm - we staff a full time receptionist and customer service representative, and we strive to answer all calls as quickly as possible. We are currently researching why your calls were not returned and we want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you are still willing to give us the opportunity to assist you please let us know and we will return your call asap. Thank you
5.0

05/02/2015


ELLEN P.

Great experience! They were exceptionally professional showing us how to improve the design as they discovered ways to save us some money. Great plants......lasted the past year. They called just before the year anniversary to remind us of their one year warranty on all plants. All the plants were fine and we had no need to replace any of them.

Description of Work
Put in new flagstone, built a planter, and planted new plants

Category landscaping

5.0

04/15/2015


Amanda U.

John Harlan came out to give us ideas and our quote. He was very easy to work with and get a hold of when we had questions. The workers always showed up on time and were very friendly and helpful. They were able to answer our questions while the work was being completed. Everything was completed and we are very happy with our final product. Santa Rita wasn't the cheapest or the most expensive, but we are very happy with the quality. The guys had to do alot of extra work jack hammering concrete near the edges of our fence, so we could place our sprinkler heads right up against the fence and have good water coverage. It's been 7 months since the work was completed and our grass looks great! When it rains, the water drains right out of yard like it should. After seeing all the work it involved, my husband was really glad we decided to hire Santa Rita instead of completing the job himself. I had bought several plants and trees to plant in the backyard. Santa Rita planted them for me at a man hour rate of $35/hr. That is a great deal considering how difficult it is to dig a large hole here in Tucson. We are still planting around our pool, and it so easy since our drip irrigation line runs throughout the yard now. Now we are ready for some lighting and stepping stone pathways in the backyard. I just called John out for another quote.

Description of Work
We needed a sprinkler system for new sod placement, and drip irrigation ran to the rest of our backyard. Here are the specifics for our quote: Install 2” of top soil and amendments Install Turf Irrigation, all valves installed to be programmed with existing controller Install 3-turf valves Add (1) drip valve to extend to and thru to the southeast perimeter of backyard and extend to eastern gate and around pool to patio, also to extend to and thru the upper rip rapped wall for future plantings (may require tear out of small area of rip rap to install a sleeve to run lateral) Install (1) vacuum breaker Multi strand wire- required approximately 112 linear feet This includes all grade checked for positive flow.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Your Friendly Gardener

    We have been serving the local Tucson community for over a decade. Lawn maintenance has been our passion. Now our service specializes in synthetic lawns. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Uriels Landscaping LLC

    A local landscaping company. We remove weeds, trim trees, trim bushes, hedge’s. We also place pavers, decorative rock, artificial grass & more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Elite Rooter

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial Landscaping - Maintenance, Design, Planting, Irrigation, Paving, Seatwalls, Fireplaces, Fire Pits, Water Features, Artificial Turf, Grading, & Service Work.

    Services Not Offered

    Residential Grounds Maintenance.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Santa Rita Landscaping Inc

    How is Santa Rita Landscaping Inc overall rated?

    Santa Rita Landscaping Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Santa Rita Landscaping Inc open?

    Santa Rita Landscaping Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Santa Rita Landscaping Inc provide

    Santa Rita Landscaping Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Santa Rita Landscaping Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Santa Rita Landscaping Inc?

    Yes, Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offer?

    Santa Rita Landscaping Inc offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Landscaping - Maintenance, Design, Planting, Irrigation, Paving, Seatwalls, Fireplaces, Fire Pits, Water Features, Artificial Turf, Grading, & Service Work.

    Are there any services Santa Rita Landscaping Inc does not offer?

    Residential Grounds Maintenance.