Rite Way Heating Cooling & Plumbing

About

Founded 1959 • With Angi since July 2006

Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing has been helping improve customer's homes in Southern Arizona since 1959. We are of course fully bonded, licensed and insured. We are locally owned and a well know fixture in the community. We currently employee over 150 wonderful people in Tucson and you likely

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.5

(273) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

204

4

27

3

13

2

9

1

20

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (230)plumbers (65)water heaters (21)air duct cleaning (19)electrician (9)drain cleaning (6)gas leak repair (2)water softeners (2)drain pipe installation (1)well & water pump repair (7)bathtub refinishing (7)dryer vent cleaning (1)
Showing 1-25 of 273 reviews
3.0

11/29/2022


Doris S.

We have no problem with the product or installation or service. We DO have a problem with the billing. An Annual contract for service for the HVAC system is $264 for a "VIP" yearly membership. The same VIP service is $19.99 per month if billable to a credit card. That's a $24 penalty for paying cash. The invoice tendered by e-mail itself adds $19.99 and $264.00 for a total of $283.99.

Description of Work
Charge for 2X annual checkups

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

11/05/2022


Ben T.

In 2017 we purchased our home in Oro Valley, AZ. The heat and AC were about 25 years old so we decided to proactively replace everything. We called Rite Way as they were the Costco heating and air company at the time. The salesman was very straightforward with our options and pricing. In retrospect the simplicity was probably more due to the Costco purchasing program than Rite Way sales practices. The system was installed in the summer and everything seemed to go well. We enjoyed our new AC. Six months later it was winter and a tech came out for our first complimentary service call. It was starting to get cold and we'd be needing the heat soon so the tech ran a test. As soon as he started up the heat black smoke started billowing out of every vent in the house. The tech ran to the garage where the heater was on fire. After getting the fire out the tech removed the gas heater core and found that part of it was cracked. Flames had been shooting out of the heater core and burning the insulation around the heat exchanger. Another minute or two and it would've been burning the walls and ceiling around it. Rite Way blamed it on Lennox. A manufacturing defect they said. Maybe it was. Or maybe an installer dropped it. Or maybe a Rite Way warehouse guy hit it with a forklift. Who knows? It doesn't really matter. At the end of the day, it was Rite Way who didn't notice a giant crack in it. It was Rite Way who failed to test it in the first place. We were very lucky that the first run happened while we were home, awake, and with a tech present. Obviously, Rite Way replaced the heater at no cost to us. They tested the replacement extensively and it didn't burn the house down. Fast forward to 2020. Our water heater died and we decided to go tankless. Here comes the shame-on-me part. I called Rite Way. To this day I'm not really sure why. Maybe because they were able to get someone out the same day and install a few days later. We didn't want to live without hot water for weeks waiting for another company. The salesman didn't seem to know much about tankless water heaters but he was nice enough and told me the options. His recommendation turned out to be the most expensive Navien model. Go figure. As he extolled its virtues he mentioned wifi connectivity, so you could turn it on/off, adjust the temperature, and start/stop recirculation (if we decided to have that installed separately). I thought that was pretty nifty and went with it. We were going with an exterior installation to create space in the garage. I asked if pipe insulation would be included and he said yes. On the day of installation I was surprised to see that the salesman was also the plumber. He and a helper installed the system in pretty sloppy fashion. The pipes are every-which-way-but-straight and the 2x4 mounting board is angled off the wall like the whole thing could fall at any moment. The "included" wifi and pipe insulation were nowhere to be found. When I asked about the wifi he didn't know whether it was actually included as he told me during the sale and said I'd have to call the office. A Rite Way manager said it wasn't usually included but since the salesman/plumber said it was they would include it. When I asked about the pipe insulation the salesman/plumber seemed annoyed that I had remembered and said he forgot to bring it and made it clear he'd rather just not do it. I said there's a Home Depot and an Ace within 5 minutes, why don't you go get it? Which he begrudgingly did. He slapped the insulation on without any protective tape so just 2 years later it's mostly destroyed from the sun. Later, when a different plumber came out to install the wifi module, I happened to walk up just as he was looking at the water heater for the first time and saying something like, "What the ****?" We then had a just-between-you-and-me moment where he said the original plumber had done a sloppy job on the installation and didn't seem to know what he was doing. Which brings us to today. November 2022, I decide it's probably time to descale the water heater for the first time. Working in close proximity to it, I smell gas. That's not good. I bet the genius installer didn't tighten one of the fittings all the way. I call Rite Way to see if they'll come fix it under warranty. Nope. $149 "diagnostic" fee plus labor. No thanks, Rite Way. You've got enough of my money for shoddy work. I'll find someone who knows what they're doing. Thanks.

Description of Work
New AC/Heater and New Tankless Water Heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, gas leak repair

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2020

1.0

08/17/2022


Khanh N.

Zero star if possible. We called these guys back to install a mini-split about 2 years ago. This mini-split worked for the first month then it stopped blowing out cold air. I called them back for service. They claim the unit came from the factory with little to no freon. So they added freon. This worked for about a month then no more cold air. They came back out, added more freon. Repeat a month later. Now they said they didn't have the right "tool" to open the unit up to look. So they had to "order" this "tool" and said they would call me once it came in. NEVER HEARD BACK FROM THEM. I initiated the call. They came out. Now they've concluded it was a broken valve. They promised they'd order it and call back once this "part" came in. NEVER HEARD BACK FROM THEM. Fast forward 1 year. I called them. They came out and said they had to order this "part" and promised I'd hear from them. NEVER HEARD BACK FROM THEM. I called them, promised me they'd call me back. You guessed it, NEVER HEARD FROM THEM. So RiteWay, it's been 2 years since you sold and installed a lemon min-split. I have suffered through 2 brutal summers without AC. My warranty ends in a few months and have no guarantee from them that they will honor this once my warranty period is up. If a part is on back order for over 2 years... YOU as a reputable company... should fix this and replace the entire unit. To think it's ok knowing that you sold a customer a lemon and be fine with 'waiting' over 2 years for a part while the customer suffers in the heat... I have no words. Regardless, I was sold a lemon. I have lost all patience with this company. A report is being filed with the Better Business Bureau. This seems very shady right now. Riteway, you have my number... you know how to get a hold of me.

Description of Work
Purchased and Installed Lennox Mini-Split

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $5,258

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2022

4.0

08/10/2022


Lilian V.

They are reputable company. They are responsive. If there is problem they will help you.

Description of Work
We had a problem with the compressor. They replace the compressor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2018

5.0

07/02/2022


Debra M.

After numerous quotes and inspections , I decided to contract with Done Rite for a new HVAC system on my 114 year old house, which never had a central air conditioning system, only evaporative cooling. I was a bit nervous about drilling holes though plaster and lath ceilings to accommodate new vents and returns. From start to finish , these guys were amazing! This was not a cookie cutter project and they handled it with ease. Big shout out to Marcos and Brandon, etc., and to Jordan for taking the time to explain and suggest a superb system for my home. I also contracted for an electrical panel upgrade, which was also very labor intensive and multi pronged. Darren did an amazing job, wow! I honestly can't say enough nice things about Done Rite. I will be using them for all my electrical, plumbing needs in the future and recommending them to friends, some who have already used their services and quite pleased with the results. So happy to find them!

Description of Work
complete new HVAC system with new duct work and upgraded electrical panel

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022

5.0

04/16/2022


David S.

I am very pleased to have contacted Rite Way for servicing my HVAC system. Within a short time from submitting an online request, I was contacted by friendly voices who got me scheduled for an inspection for the same day. Technician Charles showed as scheduled and took the time to hear and understand my ac problems and concerns and then he proceeded to check my system. He kept me up with his findings as he worked around, ready and equipped with all needed tools and even a/c parts. He explained causes of the problems and solutions and he was ready to perform the work right away, without pressuring, giving me the options and pricing. He was knowledgeable, friendly, congenial, attentive and professional. I was happy to have Charles get my a/c system issue resolved. It is very comforting to know they stand behind their guarantee if the repairs do not fix the problems. Definitively I am keeping this company for my future a/c needs and I will recommend to those around who ask me. Thank you, Rite Way!

Description of Work
A/C Home System

Category bathtub refinishing, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2022

5.0

01/03/2022


Diane H.

We have been with Rite-Way for quite a while now and have been very happy with our unit, thank you for your quality product and service. Kenneth Beam was the technician who recently came and was exceptional. He was prompt, courteous, personable, and instructive. Thank you, Rite-Way!

Description of Work
Semi-annual maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2021

5.0

12/09/2021


Jim F.

I’m very satisfied. Rite way is very professional and fast. Both heating/cooling and water heater installations were done extremely well and professional. I would recommend rite way to anybody who needs their service.

Description of Work
New heating and air conditioner. 2 months later new water heater

Category bathtub refinishing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2021

5.0

11/02/2021


Annette D.

They were good they were efficient they provide cool air they were expensive 7000 for a whole unit but they did a great job.

Description of Work
Put a whole new unit air-conditioning and duct on attic

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2021

5.0

07/14/2021


Richard H.

July 14, 2021 I contacted Rite Way because my air conditioner condensation pump was not working properly. Jesus came out and replaced it. It was a smaller unit and not the size we needed but he said it should work until they ordered the right size. Long story short, that unit made a hellacious noise, would not shut off, ran loudly for 24 hours around the clock. It eventually stopped running altogether which in turn stopped our air conditioner in this over 100 degree Tucson temps. I called Rite Way and spoke to Shelby, a very accommodating, pleasant woman. So, Rite Way sent Markus Knauss out the next day. That turned out to be an incredibly wonderful choice! He came on time, was dressed neatly and professionally and addressed us very pleasantly. Markus assessed the situation quickly, changed out the condensation pump with the correct size and replaced some leaking copper tubing on unit and also on roof. He spent a lot of knowledgeable time on making sure our problem was fixed correctly. He knew his products well and did not try to up-sell anything we did not need. Markus, with his professional, knowledgeable, pleasant ways is certainly an asset to Rite Way. I am basking in the wonderful air conditioning!

Description of Work
Our original condensation pump was making constant noise and not pumping well.

Category bathtub refinishing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, wells, drain pipe

Cost $475

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2021

5.0

01/13/2021


Cindy B.

The serviceman was professional and efficient. Work was performed on the date promised and all of my plumbing problems were fixed. All the new fixtures work fine, and the job was neatly done and looks good. I would definitely recommend this company again.

Description of Work
Comfort heater for kitchen, new kitchen faucet and 2 exterior faucets replaced

Category plumbing

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2021

5.0

12/20/2020


kevin L.

Jerry Anaya was a nice and professional young man. He and his assistant, AJ cleaned up a stubborn clogged kitchen sink. I have found the company to call for our plumbing needs. Thanks Rite Way!

Description of Work
Clogged kitchen sink

Category bathtub refinishing, drain cleaning

Cost $132

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2020

5.0

10/24/2020


James V.

Great - love the quality of the products, found several discounts which were appreciated, and everyone could not have been more professional or service-oriented. Great experience - one of my best here in Tucson!

Description of Work
HVAC replacements and duct evaluation

Category air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2020

5.0

08/26/2020


MICHAEL C.

They were on time, early, could track where they were. Showed up with mask and all safety for the Covid stuff. Reasonable and very knowledgeable. I’d definitely give them an A+

Description of Work
Air filters, humidifier and over all maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

5.0

06/26/2020


Annq C.

Upon returning from the cemetery in 100+ degree heat, we discovered that our home A/C was broken. The office sent Delbert Valdez who came within the hour and discovered that a part was broken. He was so sympathetic to our loss and, even though it was late, he went to the shop to get the part and made the repair that evening. He was caring, friendly, professional, and got the job done. We were not charged for the repair because we have a service contract with Riteway. Thank you!

Description of Work
Repair A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2020

5.0

06/24/2020


Kathy M.

Once Michael and Wayne diagnosed the problem, they fixed it on a timely manner. Whoever had installed the original wiring didn't do it correctly and the wiring was frayed. The technicians kept me advised of what they were doing.

Description of Work
A/C Thermostat

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

5.0

06/21/2020


LYNNE J.

My AC works but it’s very old so I scheduled a meeting with Rite Way for a bid. Before the appointment, I received a text telling me about the technician who would be coming to my house, his name, his background, and cautions regarding COVID-19. They even included his photograph! Brandon was extremely thorough. First went up on the roof to check out my AC/heating system, created a floor plan of my house, measured all of the windows, and then met with me for at least an hour providing information about the condition of my system, the benefits and different aspects of a new system, the options, and the costs. At no time did I feel that he was trying to "sell" me. I learned a great deal from him. At one point, I asked if he had looked inside the AC/heating unit because I was considering having it cleaned. To give me accurate information, he went up on the roof again, looked inside the unit, and provided me with 10 photographs showing how dirty it is. He also was clear that I could manage without a new system, that my electricity bill was reasonable, and what I should be cautious about when getting a bid from other companies. Ultimately, the cost of a new system was too much for me at this time and I decided to go with having the ducts and AC unit cleaned. However, when I'm ready to get a new system, I'll go directly to Rite Way. I was extremely impressed with Brandon's knowledge, honesty, and integrity, which must reflect the policy of the company.

Description of Work
Information re: need for new AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2020

5.0

06/10/2020


Paul C.

Excellent Part was ordered and installed Its cooling the house again

Description of Work
AC major repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2020

5.0

06/05/2020


Kattina F.

We want to give a Huge Shout Out to "Rite Way" Heating, Cooling, and Plumbing! Particularity to Project Manager, Brandon Hughes and service technician Chris Munoz. To not go into all the details, but to share that I was looking around for a company with good reviews to tune-up our air conditioner. Well, the service tech that came out looked like he was doing something, but didn't. From one email to Rite Way, I immediately received a phone call from Rite Way and a few days later Brandon and Chris came to our home and made it right!! This is a company with Integrity and honesty and really provides superior customer service and work. They do not over charge and I can not recommend them enough. Thank you, Brandon and Chris for making this right!! You guys "ROCK".

Description of Work
Air conditioner tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2020

3.0

05/31/2020


John P.

Very prompt in contacting us and scheduling repair. Was on time and completed repair. Unfortunately, plumber used an old hose from his truck. The next day we had a flood under the sink and water spraying everywhere. I called them back and they sent the same plumber to do the repair again. He brought a new hose this time. So far, so good!

Description of Work
Hoses under outdoor sink needed to be replaced

Category plumbing, air duct cleaning

Cost $235

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2020

5.0

05/27/2020


Gary D.

All went well. Nate was masked and prompt. He serviced the A/C and blower in less than an hour. He gave me a quick update on future needs and e mailed the invoice and future work's estimate, all part of the VIP program.

Description of Work
Serviced A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2020

5.0

05/18/2020


Judyth L.

Jorge was totally professional, friendly, conscientious and patient. It was a pleasure to have him at my house. I have never had a bad experience with RiteWay staff. Bravo!

Description of Work
Semiannual AC check

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2020

5.0

05/18/2020


Earl J.

Very well. Technician essentially informed me that the swamp cooler was DOA, and offered suggestions and advice if or when I would want to replace it. Technician did not charge full price as there wasn't much to be done since the existing cooler is out of service.

Description of Work
Evaporative cooler start up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2020