Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PIONEER POOLS INC

Founded 1983 • With Angi since July 2006

14 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. LICENSES: #ROC171527 & #ROC171528.

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
ROC171527
Trade License Authority
ROC
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(29) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 29 reviews
Don R.
5.0
04/18/2018
well - not done yet
Description of Work
drain pool and replace drain cover
Category
pool cleaners
John P.
5.0
06/29/2017
Excellant job
Description of Work
Clean the pool tile
Category
pool cleaners
J H.
5.0
01/22/2016
Bill is both competent and courteous and every confidence in his ability and judgement.
Description of Work
Replaced the lower half of a badly leaning and split cartridge filter.
Category
pool cleaners
John C.
3.0
12/06/2015
We did not use this Pioneer Pools. We met with the representative on multiple occasions but we found him to be too opinionated about what we could and could not do. We ended up going with another company who was able to fulfill all of the construction requirements. I was surprised to receive an email from Pioneer Pools that criticized us for not choosing to go with them. I felt that this was unprofessional.
Description of Work
Pioneer Pools did not perform any service
Category
pool cleaners
Dorothy G.
5.0
04/19/2015
We have dealt with these folks since we bought our home 15 years ago. Patty and Lee run a nice shop. Small, personal, professional. Good find!
Description of Work
Repaired our Shark machine for cleaning the bottom of the pool.
Category
pool cleaners
William P.
5.0
04/08/2015
Quick, professional. When the work was completed, he even painted the new piping to protect from sunburn. I've used them before, and I'd use them again.
Description of Work
Changed broken backwash valve.
Category
pool cleaners
Christopher T.
5.0
02/28/2015
on time, cost as quoted, no worries
Description of Work
new pump, chlorine controller
Category
pool cleaners
Sharon S.
5.0
02/18/2015
Pioneer pools is probably the best company I've ever dealt with. From the very first they were professional and extremely helpful. It took several months to come up with a final design. My contact was Ken. He never ever showed any impatience with all my changes. He wanted me to have the pool I want. He had many, many great suggestions for which I am grateful. His advice was always correct. I'm glad I listened. He was familiar with pool regulations for my area so I didn't have to spend hours on research. He listened to my concerns and tried to suggest novel ways of meeting my desires. He even called the county agency to help with design --specifically fencing-- concerns. The work crew always arrived as promised. They also were ready to listen to my concerns and didn't need to always run back to company for minor changes. I made several changes with the decking. They worked with me 1:1, redrawing lines and offering ideas that I hadn't considered. I moved lines many times--never a complaint. The billing agent was very helpful. I was traveling a lot during construction and was a few days late with payments. I was never scolded or made to feel guilty. My HOA was concerned about possible damage and worried about waste materials. Not a problem. They cleaned up perfectly. I never had to nag. I am so happy to have chosen Pioneer Pools. I have never had a company so concerned with my satisfaction. I didn't have a single negative issue. I highly recommend Pioneer Pools--no reservations at all.
Description of Work
Custom inground pool
Category
pool cleaners
Robert B.
2.0
12/05/2014
I called and asked to have someone come out and look at my leaky pool pump, potentially opting to have it replaced. The sales person I talked to said she would have someone call me back. It has been 3 days since the first call, and after a second call 2 days after the first, I've received no return call, so I've given up and will call someone else.
Description of Work
Nothing. Did not return my call.
Category
pool cleaners
Robert W.
5.0
06/13/2014
Bill Winters and crew did a great job. They were punctual and did exactly what they said they would. No surprises.
Description of Work
Cleaned and sealed tile; acid washed pebble tek; replaced light.
Category
pool cleaners
Craig K.
5.0
08/12/2013
Awesome work and right on schedule. Very professional yet very friendly. Would highly recommend
Description of Work
Took 40 year old concrete pool that has been dry for the last 10 years and brought it back to life! Replumbed, rewired, added an LED pool light, connected new pool equipment and replastered the pool.
Category
pool cleaners
MOHAMED T.
5.0
08/05/2013
My wife called the company, scheduled and appointment, the guys came to survey the problem, gave us a quote by e-mail, and a week later they came and fix the 2 problems.
Description of Work
They fixed 2 things: 1. I had a major leak in the pluming of the pool. The dug the area, found the leak and fixed. 2. I had a problem with my Spa. The water level used to drop below the blaster, and for 10 years I called many companies and none was able to identify and fix it. These guys were great, all what they did was install another check in valve. Problem solved.
Category
pool cleaners
gary W.
5.0
05/16/2013
Outstanding work and quality, very professional. We love our pool and it is so easy to maintain.
Description of Work
Designed and installed pool
Category
pool cleaners
Anne B.
5.0
04/25/2013
When they came up, I explained the situation to them and they said to me "It is very simple. Your pool needs to be drained just like Luna Pool sad and just like E-Konomy Pool said but it is not the right time to do it. It is just too hot to do plastering". I told them what I was doing and I showed them the product that was sold to me and they said "This is not the right stuff. He should have never sold you this stuff. It is creating a problem". Apparently, the stuff that they sold me was clogging up my grids. I cannot speak if that is exactly true but I had them suggest to me. So I bought from Pioneer Pools Inc some other stuff to use and it seemed to get me through at least this summer and they gave me some ideas that helped me get through it. Plus, they had to redo a job that E-Konomy Pool has done on two separate occasions. Now, I am not suggesting that E-Konomy Pool made a mistake by doing that job twice because with the chemical and the algae that I had in the pool that created me the problem, but they told me that the grids inside still had to be cleaned and they had been done twice by economy pool and I paid for that twice and I am not suggesting they should not have gotten paid but I am saying that if they had them cleaned and put back in and I did not use this product, I am just suggesting maybe I would not have the same problem.
Description of Work
I used Pioneer Pools Inc.
Category
pool cleaners
marylyn E.
5.0
08/16/2012
They were well informed and easy to deal with. They knew the product well and installed it very quickly. The men who installed the bar did a wonderful job and came when scheduled. Everyone in the store was wonderful to deal with. When I remodel my pool, I will definitely call them!
Description of Work
They i8nhstalled a security bar so I( could get i9nto my pool easly after a hip replacement.
Category
pool cleaners
Petra B.
5.0
05/11/2012
Called on a Wednesday, came out on Thursday to assess the problem and returned on Friday to install the pump. They were punctual and professional. The pump is of excellent quality and stae ot the art. We are vey pleased.
Description of Work
Installed a new pool pump.
Category
pool cleaners
Anna P.
5.0
04/15/2012
They came and did some trouble shooting on my pool pump and motor. They took the time to clearly explain all my options and the costs associated for each. Ultimately, they replaced the pump and motor and did a great job. Very professional, very good clean installation. They did a great job explaining how the new viariable speed motor and pump work. The pool cleaning system is working much better and I am using less energy. I highly recomend these guys for system maintenance and repair.
Description of Work
Service reqired: trouble shooting on my pool pump and motor. Replaced existing pump and motor.
Category
pool cleaners
Petra B.
5.0
08/24/2011
Called Monday and explained the problem. Repair scheduled for the following day. Repair man called a little after 8am to let me know that he was coming in the afternoon and told me that he had found a different valve than the one I had as I requested. Came in the afternoon and redid the valve in about 40 minutes. I am very pleased with the repair.
Description of Work
Install new back wash valve.
Category
pool cleaners
Eleanor L.
5.0
07/08/2011
I was tired of being a slave to our pool and roping in neighbors to fill it when I was out of town. I called 3 pool companies for estimates, Patio Pools charged $80+ to come out to look, Progressive came out immediately at no charge and provided an estimate about $50 more than Pioneer. I was initially told by the Pioneer's receptionist that it would be into the next week before anyone from Pioneer could come out. Within a few hours Bruce Carrabba called and made an appointment to come out the next day. The proposal was a few days in coming but it proposed the same work and detail as the other company but at a lower price so we accepted that. Bruce made sure that the work was done immediately (over the weekend) to insure that the autofill worked properly before I was to leave town. He was very pleasant, thorough and accommodating as was his crew.Work included setting the pump, draining the pool overnight, installing the autofill in the deck to include core hole, all plumbing, deck patch and then fill and start up the pool with stabilizer. The workers arrived as promised, were very neat and finished on time. Bruce followed up in person for a final check. He made a second follow-up visit when a faucet leak was discovered. I would definitely recommend Pioneer Pools and would use them again.
Description of Work
According to the proposal: Set pump into the bottom of the pool. The pool was drained overnight. A core hole was drilled into the side of the pool and into the pool deck, near the water supply. The autofill device was installed and water supply/plumbing adapted. The deck patch was nicely matched and repaired. The pool was filled and started up with stabilizer. Plumbing adjustment was made when a faucet leak was discovered.
Category
pool cleaners
William P.
5.0
09/03/2010
The problem is fixed, except the pop up valves, which would have to be fixed by a diver. I elected to leave that problem. In the meantime, I was given information for preventing further problems. They are the top number on my list for future problems.
Description of Work
Pool Valet system was not functioning properly. They came out and replaced the six way valve on the system. That did not entirely solve the problem, so another visit was made in which small mechanical changes were made that got the system functioning properly. One expensive part was worn out and replaced. The backwash valve also needed service.
Category
pool cleaners
LYNNE W.
5.0
07/28/2010
I called and arranged for them to set up a time with my tenant, then to fix whatever was not working. They have been very responsive, very professional, and very reliable. I can count on them to figure out what is wrong, fix it economically, and keep my tenant happy. They are my go-to people for pool problems, and I really appreciate their work.
Description of Work
I have used this company several times to fix pool problems--kreepy krauly had stopped, sand trap wasn't working correctly, pool line had electrical problems, etc. Fees varied with the problem, but were certainly reasonable.
Category
pool cleaners
Mark M.
5.0
06/17/2009
The repair tech arrived at the appointed time and examined the situation. He found and repaired two defective relays in the control box. He set up a test to check for leaks in the pool. He did not suggest the unnecessary expensive repairs that another company we talked to said would be required. He followed up over the next two days to make sure that there was no leak and that the check valve was functioning properly.
Description of Work
Performed troubleshooting of pool leak and stuck pump.
Category
pool cleaners
PATTY B.
5.0
10/28/2008
In the summer of 2007 our pool pump died. Pioneer Pool was recommended to us by our original pool service person who, unfortunately, had retired. Pioneer came out the next day, evaluated our situation, and recommended a new pump that would be compatible with our pool and our system. They ordered the pump for us and came out and installed it within a week. The pump has been working fine ever since. These people are extremely prompt, courteous, and eager to please. They are the first people we will call for all our pool needs in the future.
Description of Work
Replaced a worn-out pool pump.
Category
pool cleaners
lynne W.
5.0
09/12/2008
We called them on a Sunday and left a message letting them know our problem. They called us back on Monday and told us they were in the area and asked if it would be ok if they came out and looked at the filter. We were not home at the time but told him to go ahead. He called us back when he had fixed the problem. They were very responsive. It was great service.
Description of Work
They came out to the house and fixed a pool filter.
Category
pool cleaners
5.0
07/31/2006
I DON'T KNOW HOW WE EVER LIVED WITHOUT OUR NEW POOL. THIS COMPANY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB INSTALLING IT. THEY WERE VERY PLEASANT TO US, WHICH IS AMAZING CONSIDERING WE WERE ALWAYS IN THE WAY.
Description of Work
WE HAD THIS COMPANY INSTALL OUR NEW 100 BY 50 SQUARE FOOT POOL.
Category
pool cleaners

Phone

Address

302 S Plumer Ave

Tucson, AZ 85719

Other Information

Services offered

RESIDENTIAL POOL REMODELING, POOLS & SPAS REPAIRS.

Services not offered

Pool Installation, Commercial Pools

Payment options

Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

FAQ

PIONEER POOLS INC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

PIONEER POOLS INC is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

PIONEER POOLS INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

No, PIONEER POOLS INC does not offer free project estimates.

No, PIONEER POOLS INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, PIONEER POOLS INC does not offer a senior discount.

No, PIONEER POOLS INC does not offer warranties.

PIONEER POOLS INC offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL POOL REMODELING, POOLS & SPAS REPAIRS.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Apexx Enterprise LLC

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Apexx Enterprise LLC

Adam Ortega founded the company Apexx Enterprise LLC, ROC#327268, in 2016 at only 20 years old. Mr. Ortega has become a licensed contractor in the state of Arizona, like his father and grandfather before him. He grew up in this industry, and this sparked his interest in creating his own business, which led him to take part in courses to better his career and obtain his license and certification. Apexx Enterprise LLC is licensed, bonded, and insured, and it is available for review at the Better Business Bureau. Our company has won many achievements within the Home Advisor platform, and we have multiple reviews as well.  

We are a local landscape company that specializes in installing complete landscapes and creating landscape designs centered around water conscious plants and material . Although we are a new business the owner/operator has over ten years experience in the landscape industry and his multiple landscape tech and landscape lighting certifications. We believe in quality work producing good leads and vow to have a satisfied customer with every job. Call us today to get book the yard of your dreams!  

JC Pavers

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

JC Pavers

We guarantee your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!